Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Godknows Igali In TROUBLE For Spending N1.5bn On Jonathan’s Campaign

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Godknows Igali In TROUBLE For Spending N1.5bn On Jonathan’s Campaign

A former Permanent Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Power, Godknows Igali, is in the soup after operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission discovered that he allegedly spent N1.5bn for the purchase of Sports Utility Vehicles which were used by the Goodluck Jonathan Campaign Organisation.

The Minister of Information, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, had alleged on Thursday that 40 SUVs and other vehicles were recovered from a retired permanent secretary but the minister failed to mention the name of the suspect.

However, detectives at the EFCC told PUNCH that Igali was the retired civil servant being referred to.

An EFCC operative revealed that the commission got to know about the vehicles through an artisan who had gone to do some maintenance work at Igali’s Abuja residence.

The artisan was said to have been surprised by the number of vehicles in the retired civil servant’s residence and quickly alerted the EFCC.

The detective said, “He (Igali) had allegedly secured the 47 vehicles in well guarded premises in an upscale neighbourhood of Abuja but he ran out of luck when an artisan who had come to fix a faulty utility got curious by the avalanche of state-of –the-art vehicles parked on the premises and tipped off the EFCC.

“The commission immediately commenced discreet investigation. In the course of investigation, it discovered that all the vehicles were supplied by Dilly Motors at the instance of Igali.”

Investigators, however, discovered that the money used in buying the vehicles did not emanate from Igali’s bank account but from Baseworth Insurance Brokers Limited, a company that was under investigation in another case of an alleged diversion of N27bn insurance premium of deceased staff of the Power Holding Company of Nigeria.

However, when representatives of Dilly Motors were invited, they told operatives of the EFCC in their statement that the payments were made by Baseworth Insurance Brokers Limited on behalf of the permanent secretary.

The EFCC source added, “It was initially difficult to determine the source of the funds with which the vehicles were purchased as it did not come directly from Igali’s account but a breakthrough came as the commission stumbled on evidence of a curious payment To Dilly Motors from the account of Baseworth Insurance Brokers Limited, a company that was under investigation in another case of alleged diversion of N27bn insurance premium of deceased staff of the PHCN.

“In one of the transfers, N300m was paid to Dilly Motors from the account of Baseworth Insurance Brokers. Operatives of the commission were curious to determine the service which Dilly Motors rendered to Baseworth Insurance Brokers to warrant payment. Dilly Motors on interrogation allegedly admitted that the N300m was part of the N1.5bn paid by Igali for the purchase of vehicles for the Goodluck/Sambo Campaign organisation to prosecute the 2015 general election.”

It was learnt that the permanent secretary had been released on administrative bail and may be charged to court soon.

**Hmmm that Whistleblower thingy is already working.

25 comments:

1. Nonsense, did APC not spend such amount of money too.

1. Why r u so weak intellectually early in the morning.... Why shud u say "nonsense"..? So d man shud b left alone abi? Ode buruku ni e

2. Comprehension can be an issue to some, don't blame her/him pls. WAEC wasn't easy for her/him.

2. Yimu!!!! He didn't settle well with this regime hence they have decided to deal with him.

1. Stupid comment, i guess u re still horny not to use ur brain. Why is everything about regime and Apc? U guys should borrow some brain please. Very annoying set of people most of u are.

3. Biko how do people name their children Godknows,Godpower,sunday,friday e.t.c. I like them d native style ikechukwu😁😁😁😁

1. Am telling you.i dislike names like that.i prefer them in native.it sounds original.t he ones in English sounds stupid.

4. I need to become whistle blower especially in this NDDC. They are all thieves. God will never give them peace as per what I am hearing

5. Wow! Finally, the last day of 2016! I had a challenging yr but I thank God for his mercies. Looking forward to a brighter 2017!!!! Good morning!

6. Intelligentsia princess31 December 2016 at 08:24

Whistle blowing my black a**... This is pure witch hunting by buhari.

1. Why r u so intelligently weak intellectually early in the morning.... WitchHunting.? So d man shud b left alone abi? Am still wondering how yu got DT blogID sef..

2. Another brainless princess my ass.

7. Tales by the moonlight. Buhari and his goons just want Nigerians to forget about the hardship in d country

8. The question is,who will investigate d source of buhari's campaign funds??..we all know Amaechi used Rivers money to sponsor Buhari and 5northern governors.isn't dat d reason y APC is hell bent on taking River State by hook or crook even d pple ve rejected them severally??.which politician is as corrupt as Amaechi and Fashola??.Buhari should deceiving gullible Nigerians dat he is fighting corruption.I am very sure if James Ibori should join APC upon his return and promises to deliver Delta State 2 APC,he will be declared a saint by buhari since we all know how desperate APC/Buhari is 4 an Oil state.dey use all these stories of corruption 2 distract d suffering masses when eva dey notice pple are starting 2 complaining about d hardship

1. The new Admin after Buhari is free do so too. They must all be held accountabe for all their actions and inaction while in the office.

9. Stella u don't want my comment ba?? Don't carry this attitude into 2017 ooo

10. Your source cos this story is a lie

11. Taiye Haruna,former PS on Environment and Petroleum needs to be investigated.Currently runs a loaning business and had sworn that the money he stole as PS he wouldn't be able to finish it in his lifetime.Corrupt Public servant