Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Immigration To Hike Price For International Passport

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Nigerian Immigration To Hike Price For International Passport

Do you have a Nigerian international passport? well the price is set to rise in the next couple of days, as the Nigeria Immigration Service, NIS, yesterday, said it had commenced the process to review its charges. 

Do you understand what this means?

According to the service, it is no longer possible to produce the passports at the current rates. Comptroller-General of the NIS, Mr. Muhammad Babandede, disclosed this at the flagging off ceremony for the capacity building programme on Information Communication Technology, ICT, for Immigration officers, organized in conjunction with Huawei Technologies Company, in Abuja.

The ICT training programme, according to Managing Director, Abuja Office of Huawei Technologies, Mr. Tank Liteng, is part of its Corporate Social Responsibility, CSR, and had been carefully designed for 500 staff of the NIS for a period of five days in batches of 50 officers per training time at nine different locations across the country.

Liteng expressed optimism that the programme would empower officers of the NIS with appropriate ICT skills, awareness and soft skills that give competitive advantage globally to catch up with the world trends, change Nigeria into the ICT talents centre of the region and the world.

Commenting on the plans to hike the charges for the issuance of the Nigerian passport, Babandede, who did not disclose the take-off date for the new charges, stated that the NIS had written to the Presidency on this issue, and as soon as it receives approval, it would proceed with the review, which would also enable it to deliver better services.

He further warned that if the prices were not reviewed, its revenue to the country would be negatively affected. He said: “It is not easy for us to pay for booklets because of the cost. You will agree with me that air tickets have doubled in this country. You are aware that a lot of things have changed, but the passport fees have not changed.

from vanguard.

*Recession is gradually touching on everything in Nigeria and i wonder what will be next to go up.....In Nigeria,what goes up NEVER comes down!

41 comments:

1. Chai! This is bad o.
    God help my country.

1. 90% don't pay the official price. Hike or no hike, we're used to paying more.

2. Na them sabi . Am I travelling out before?

3. Please is it true that they are doing change of name on passport and renewal of passport in passport office at festac and island?

4. Have they gotten booklet?
      No be the one u go do n they go tell u to come in one year time

5. Ma sister Na soo hmm Nigeria

6. Greedy people....thats how they keep increasing the price of the int'l passport...you wan make new one na money...you wanna renew na still money...It aint gon kill us fooooooooools...

7. They have booklet now. Collected mine last month

8. Thank God I recently renewed mine for 25k including change of name.

1. Ayam not understanding this government oo

2. well...on the contrary Stelz, the price of tomato came down after tomatoes ebola o.

3. I know that this country is in a bad shape. 2017 may God help people.

Shame on this APC government. Shame again.

1. A very big shame!...
      And shame to all those people that voted Vuharia and his cohorts in to render us this useless...
      The worst is that most of them have gone into hiding!...
      Nobody accepts he voted for APC again...
      Infact,
      Where is Sisi Eko and Jaymoore that was shouting Sai baba?...
      Make una come out and defend this market wey una bought!!...

2. And he's there preparing for one useless wedding..may God punish them all

4. Which kain yeye country be this na? Data-Hike. Fuel-Hike. Now passport too-Hike!
    God i want to leave this shit hole oooo tufiakwa

5. Wit God, efri intainding trafler is supaflous.

6. something that i and my family still renewed early this yr for 27k and collected it the following day, na wa o.

7. It's driving licence that is remaining!...
    2016 is childs play compared to what we will see next year!...

8. Inflation, you mean.

9. There is nothing good anyone can hear other than hike in commodities, high cost of everything but low salaries. Chai! What kind of mistake did Nigerians made to vote this evil, wicked, clueless, selfish, deceitful, fake, callous, greedy government? God punish Apc government for all the suffering they have inflicted on Nigerians and still inflicting more with any form of pity.

10. There is problem in the country.

11. Haba APC is this the change u promised us? Remember that theriz God ooooooo.

12. They should hold on until I get my own.

13. This is madness.Our problem in this country is our Leaders.They want to increase cost of Data,bcos it is the poor masses dat use it.They want to increase passport,so the common man can no longer get it again.What is d govt doing for d masses?we don't have light,water,roads,shelter,schools,transportation system is Bad,no life,oppression everywhere.I paid N30K to get my passport and it took 3weeks for me to collect.so how much will they increase to now?Useless leaders

14. Dis change is a change indeed! Chai

15. The bastards that voted for this government. Make una wait oh. The thunder that will fire all of you will come with the next rainy season. You all have enough time to prepare yourselves. Idiots, sycophants.

16. Nigeria my country chai!

17. Father Lord, catapult me to "the abroad". I yaff tire for naija, I yaff tire. *wailing*

18. Just when I was thinking of making mine.

19. This is not good ooo...chai

20. I called a contact at the passport office and was told it's now N40,000 to renew. That from next year,renewal will be between 60k and 70k.

21. I still renewed in Akure for 25k just last month.

22. i did my son's own for N35,000 in August and it took 4 weeks. this is just ridiculous. will anything ever come down in Nigeria?

23. They are hiking prices of everything and they say we shud free MMM??? Yinmu! MMM all the way!!!

24. Since early November; Festac office hasnt released my passport....claiming no booklet