Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Scientists Say They Have Found Cure For HIV/AIDS

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Nigerian Scientists Say They Have Found Cure For HIV/AIDS

A research team at the Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU), Abia State led by Prof Maduike Ezeibe has been able to prove that Medicinal Synthetic Aluminium-magnesium Silicate (MSAMS), which it developed, can cure HIV/AIDS.

The result of the clinical trial of the anti-retroviral efficacy of MSAMS in male and female HIV/AIDS patients was published in the British Journal of Medicine and Medical Research .
It was also among the papers presented last Wednesday at the World Virology Conference 2016 held at Texas, U.S. Though Prof. Ezeibe could not attend the conference because of his inability to raise money for his flight tickets, the organisers insisted that he sent a video presentation, which was played and applauded at the conference. 

Speaking with journalists at the weekend on the lukewarm attitude of Nigeria’s health authorities to his medical breakthrough, the professor of Veterinary Medicine said that since 2014 when he was issued with the national patent right (Ref. No. NG/P/2012/639, 2014) no further step had been taken to commercialise it or get the international patent right by Nigeria.

“We Africans lack confidence in ourselves,” he lamented, adding that the medicine that he had discovered to have anti-retroviral properties is an old medicine which had been in use.

“The only science we did is that we discovered that it has charges – negative and positive and since HIV has positive charges, the MSAMS use its negative charges to attract and destroy HIV,” he said.

He said that HIV/AIDS had remained incurable because of the small size of the virus and immune deficiency it causes hence any anti-retroviral medicine that could effectively tackle the problem must be smaller (nano-particles).

According to him, particles of HIV could be as small as 110nm which was why they easily crossed physiological barriers to ‘hide’ in cells of the brain, bone marrow and testes, which existing antiretroviral medicines with bigger molecules could not reach.

Prof. Ezeibe explained: “HIV destroys lymphocytes (immune cells that clear infections from organs that are inaccessible to medicines. So, nothing was known that could terminate its infections (and) for that the infection was said to be in ‘sanctuary’.”

The professor reasoned that since Aluminum-magnesium Silicate (AMS) molecular platelets (nanoparticles) are smaller (0.96nm) than HIV, the nanoparticles cross physiological barriers to act on all body cells.

“We are using medicine that is so small that wherever HIV goes it can get there, catch it and destroy it,” he assured.

The efficacy of Ezeibe’s synthetic medicine is already generating interest among medical doctors and those that were involved in the clinical trial have already joined his research team after using the drug to treat their patients with astonishing results.

It is now expected that the university authorities in Nigeria would take up the advocacy to recognise and commercialise this important breakthrough in medical science by a Nigerian.

from entertainmentin4

69 comments:

1. Has it been tested?
      I hope it works

2. @ Portable, did you actually read through this post or just the heading?

3. Reading is difficult for fools ..portable is a known fool.

2. Good one. The govt shld give him support o.

3. Dear Jesus. Let this news be true. It hurts so much watching your entire family disappear because of this diseases. Thank you Jesus. I'll do anything humanly possible to get it for my family. My dear family, just hold on there. God is still saying something. Amen

1. How did your whole family contact HIV?
      Were they distributing among themselves?

2. Darling am sending hugs and kisses your way okay , all shall be well with you and family in Jesus.Hope, believe and have Faith for your family. Bless u.xx

3. Darling am sending hugs and kisses your way okay , all shall be well with you and family in Jesus.Hope, believe and have Faith for your family. Bless u.xx

4. Hugs Darling
      This just brought tears

5. This got me teary.
      Be strong dear. Be strong.
      Sending u loads of warm hugs.
      It shall be well with u.

6. Thanks a lot y'all for the support. @portable, it's a long story. I sent the story to madam Stella. Pls do help me beg her to post it as I am in desperate need of advice right now. My whole world is crumbling at my feet, I'm loosing it already. Thanks alot

4. Stella has it been tasted already on somebody?

1. You missed where they said clinical trial and astonishing result

2. Anonymous 7:37...please it is TESTED NOT TASTED

5. Wow just wow congrats to the team of scientists
    Hope this wont be another Dr Abalaka brouhaha
    Yours sdkly dazzlinglizzy

1. You spelt Abalaka so well are you Igala?

2. Is it rocket science to spell Abalaka?

6. Wow! This is great news. We need to learn to have confidence in ourselves more.

7. My own Umudike!
    God let this news be true.

8. An anonymous bv shared this yesterday. Great news indeed. I wish we can find cure to sickle cell anaemia or a cheaper prevention option since sickle cell is predominantly a west African problem.

Then cancer, all these diseases threatening humanity pls

1. Sickle cell is actually PREVENTABLE & much more cheaper than managing it but infatuation and unawareness is just plunging families into this pain

2. There is a cure for sickle cell already via stem cell transplant. A friend of mine did it and he is doing fine.

9. This is great news.

10. Wow. I pray it is proven to be true. This would put us on the map forever. Nigerians are one of the most intelligent people in the world, just so sad we've had horrible leaders.

11. *peaks up gong, saunds gong raund the wole plase*
    #Wit a laud voise#
    to whum it may consign, al rodes now lid to mykiel ogbara uni. *drops gong, dosts hans n wolk awey*

1. Lol😀
      This villager nor go "kee" me

12. WOW!!! This is going to be a sweeeet relief for patients living with HIV/AIDS. God bless Nigeria.

13. Good news. I hope will not be silenced. Today is my husband's birthday.

14. I pray it is very true. A lot of people are really suffering from this.

15. What is Nigeria waiting for? Mtcheeeeeeeeeeew

16. This is what we need in this present dispensation (innovation and creativity). God bless Nigeria!

17. I pray the whole world recognises it and hope the jealousy that runs in the vains of their colleques don't bring an end to the research. Amen

18. i have heared this story since i was a kid....nothing happened

19. Let them test it first before we start rejoicing biko

20. God's grace great people.

21. Not sure "Cure" for AIDS/HIV is the right thing to say. The synopsis of the paper that Prof Ezeibe presented is as below:

AIM: For an affordable therapy for Human immune-deficiency virus (HIV) infections, antiretroviral effects of a synthetic aluminum-magnesium silicate (AMS) were tested.
    Materials and Methods: Plasma that tested positive to HIV and the AMS were mixed, on equal volume to weight basis, incubated one hour at room temperature and centrifuged for ten minutes at 3,000 revolutions per minute. These procedures were repeated on each supernatant. HIV titres of the two sets of supernatants and the titres in portions of the plasma, not incubated with the AMS were assessed by direct passive hemagglutination test.
    Results: Mean HIV titres of the plasma increased from 4.00±1.60 to 14.00±2.00 when incubated with the AMS. Repeating the incubation, reduced mean HIV titres in plasma from 14.00±2.00 to 6.50±1.50 (P=0.024).

CONCLUSION: It was concluded that the AMS has antiretroviral effects and could be an inexpensive antiretroviral therapy for regular treatment to reduce high rate of HIV infection among low income groups.

Keywords :
    Opposite electrical charges; human immune deficiency virus; aluminum-magnesium silicate (Nanoparticles).

22. Great news! Hoping our government will help Prof Ezeibe and propagate the cure properly. To even think he didn't have enough money to travel for the conference? No grants in this country.smh. Ministry of Health pls take this seriously! The world is watching. Otherwise some serious nation will take Prof from under your nose!

23. I hope it doesn't end up like prof. Jeremiah Abalaka's case

24. If this is a success, then Nigeria will be put on the map forever. Like we will really become Giants and not giant for mouth plus the funds it will bring I to the country

25. Wow that's great news indeed. Hope it will be acknowledged though. Nigeria can kill people's dreams.

26. This is a great news and a welcome development!
    But they should be very careful of the outsiders that will come to show interest or those big international pharmaceutical companies. They never wished for these diseases to have cure.
    They have made some very expensive out of reached medicine only for those very rich and wealthy HIV/AIDS carriers.

I am so proud of these doctors.

27. I hope this is for real and it's not "shot" down. We should keep faith, there's surely light at the end of the tunnel.

28. So the Nigeria government could not support him to go for the conference abi,if it is wedding or other frivolous activities they would arrange their big belly to go, foolish people

1. I thought I was the only person that felt the frustration of that fact. Plane ticket to Texas is such a colossal amount that FG can't pay it. Nigeria I hail thee...fumbling since 1960!

29. Knowing the proposed mechanism of action for a future HIV drug is a no brainer. Its clear that all is needed is to find out a drug particle that will be small enough to permeate the membranes and reach the diseased cell. For this research to state he is only just discovering this is a bit funny cos lots of therapeutic drugs have been formulated in the past that their molecules are small enough to permeate the membrane, but the catch is this: these small drug particles passes thru the membrane quiet alright but they end up destroying all the cells they see both HIV diseased cells and non HIV diseased cell due to their inability to differentiate them!
    So you see the dilemma now, the drugs end up making them more sick due to apostosis (cell death) of healthy cells.
    Researchers are no longer looking for just smaller molecules rather they are looking for smaller drug molecules with the ability to recognise just HIV virus and destroy it without destroying other surrounding cells.
    Im not sure this Mg-Al-Si combination does that.

1. Teacher don't teach me nonsense...wey your own research and paper? Or you're just out to shit on someone's parade?

2. Exactly Sugar..
      The challenge is the attack on all the cells.. this has been the hindrance over the years.

3. Sugar drops is really smart and makes a whole lot of sense! Anon 10:47 ! Pls focus! Read sugar drops comment, digest it before shading her!

4. Enlightening. I always thought the main challenge was how fast the virus replicates.

30. Anon 11.04 God is your strength.
    Stella pls post this persons story let us all learn from it.
    A whole family HIV positive??? I wish you well.
    Maybe you shld mail Stella the story again, its possible she didn't get it. I know she usually responds to ppls mail. So far ur story is accurate.

31. I know some countries are making money off this virus! Yes , some of the medication is free but some charities are making money from it! There is a company in Canada, they already have the cure for HIV and some other viruses that are deadly but they come out and say they have it because USA has to stamp and approve.

32. Hmmmmm! This govt am very disappointed. If it's past govt, d Dr must travel bc it's a welcome Dev

33. They should patent the drug fast, fast if it has been tried and tested for sometime o.