Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians And The Get-Rich-Quick Syndrome..

Thursday, December 01, 2016

Nigerians And The Get-Rich-Quick Syndrome..

Nigerians are generally (BUT a few) suffering from the Get-rich-QUICK syndrome.

Am going to make this as brief as I possibly can, so you could read.

why is it always Nigerians that get caught on drugs trafficking in, and fraudulent activities around the world, and not some other Africa countries. Isn't it glaring to us that Nigerians are given to making quick money. 

That's why ponzi schemes have always thrived in Nigeria, so this get-rich-quick syndrome is not peculiar to the youths alone, it's in our sub-concious as Nigerians, (not entirely generic) to find a shortcut to everything, one of the reasons we not ardent readers, hence excel in academic malpractice, and of course ruin our future by aiding election malpractices and turn to find who to blame for our shortfalls.

Now the economy is comatose, some will have the temerity to say we are looking for ways of making a decent living, then of course i'll ask, during the oil boom and supposed economic progression, were we void of fraudulence and depravity, or that's even when it all started?

So the next time you want to tell that young boy to take it one step at a time, ask yourself, if you are taking it one step at a time.

Hope that was cursory enough.

by Emmanuel Maduneme

59 comments:

1. Torr....

nevertheless,kindly note that DRUGS and PONZI SCHEMES are not the same or related in anyway..

If an individual decides to venture into any ponzi scheme;its A matter of choice!!
      You dont tell someone how to take risk with their own money biko!!!

Is it your ponzi??
      Is it your scheme??
      Is it your money??
      Is it your risk??
      So why bother??

Ndi uwa self!!!

@MARTINS ABOY

2. It is a real disease, that becoming an epidemic. Most of the time the results of this syndrome is more poverty, prison or even death!

3. U CNT blame any1 jare. The country is in chaos, soo many responsibilities n every1 is looking for a way out period !

4. Stella is it your scam?

5. Princess Scheherazade1 December 2016 at 11:25

@Emmanuel, it isn't just Nigerians involved in fraudulent stuff around Africa.
      It's just that we have a large (the largest in Africa) population and even if a tiny fraction of that population is involved in fraud, it comes to a large number in total.
      In reality we may have a smaller percentage of our population involved in such fraudulent practices than other African nations.

Same goes for Ponzi schemes and Multi Level Marketing (MLM)
      The principle of successful MLM is really based on Pareto's rule, or the 80/20 rule.
      Basically, the greater your exposure, the higher your probability of converting prospects to members.
      A large population increases access to exposure, and so on.

Of course, the economy being in recession doesn't help matters as people seem more desperate now and will do practically anything to survive but I don't believe that outrightly makes us the most fraudulent.

6. Epic reply Martins! Is it Ponzi or Ponce? Mind your business on Emmanuel Maduneme! #Uchefaceyourwork!

... Jesus is my worth!

7. I'm the number one sufferer of that syndrome and I'm highly proud to say it. Who in world doesn't like quick money? Nobody.. .

Your comment will be visible after approval.

8. I'm the number one sufferer of that syndrome and I'm highly proud to say it. Who in world doesn't like quick money? Nobody.. .

Your comment will be visible after approval.

9. You might even be surprised he's a GUIDER!!! That was how one foolish guy was one my street was screaming PONZI SCHEME & at the end of the day he's a guider or what ever the hell it's called!

... Jesus is my worth!

10. @Emmanuel Maduneme
      Seems to me u r a young graduate/NYSC member who has a passion to write. I won't discourage you but when writing/addressing a large constituency, u need to be widely read and have an open mindset.

Fantastic issue to wrote about; delivery wasnt excellent.

Your example (drug peddling/pronzi patronage) dosen't make sense. You could have done better with other vices such as armed robbery, kidnapping, money rituals, and Corruption at the higher level cos those who are rich wants to remain rich or get more rich.

Having said that, your conclusion also is so harsh..... Anyone on the wrong lane knows exactly where he/her is, that dosent stop him from advising other to maintain the right lane.

Afterall, all we heard from our parents while we grew was "I WAS THE BEST IN MY CLASS"........ Blah blah blah..... If my dad was the last in class and needed to encourage me, of course the phrase above is his best bet.

Thanks Emma. Next time, consult widely before you put pen to paper.

2. Don't understand this write up?

Someone should please explain

1. Ideto Idioto if you can't comprehend this, you urgently need a brain swap. My prayers will be with you during the surgery.

City Nuisance.

2. Ideto Idioto if you can't comprehend this, you urgently need a brain swap. My prayers will be with you during the surgery.

City Nuisance.

3. Poster abeg leave story and join ultimate cycler jare

3. Not a few but everyone suffering from the get rich quick syndrome. Even 1 day old baby self knows too that he/she wants to get rich before them reach 5 years.

4. Ejoo po
    Toomuch talk

Everyone wants to have a say on how people should live their lives

Do your thing and let people live.

1. True talk @chi exotic. Some people be like, do as I say not as I do.
      Biko! Live and let live!..

5. Okay. I don't do drugs but leave my ponzi scheme alone.

6. People are hungry here and you ate busy talking get rich quick syndrome.I don't blame those who are into Ponzi now.Everyone is complaining!

1. Since MMM we've experience a downslide of beggars on this blog

7. WHo one step at a time don epp? when responsibilities plenty, and bills boku.
    Odiegwu really.

8. Uncle Emma it's not just our people that are involved in doggy suff. It's everywhere both home and abroad.

9. what is this one saying sef? everybody wanna write something! do you live in Nigeria or in the abroad? this "get rich rich" syndrome is not only in Nigeria o. who take one step at a time help?

10. I don't even understand this writeup. be there writing epistle when your mates are hustling. I wonder the kinda advise you will give to your kids. broke ass nigger. so we should not hustle abi? we should fold our arms and take one step at a time. who u help sef? mtcheww

11. All these people hating on MMM. Presently it's helping a lot of people to feed themselves.

12. sipping from my coconut oil as i check my raining data balance

13. Hey that's the blogger guy. Okay I have seen you.

14. I hear...abeg dude no ruin my huzzle jare...I was able to raise times two of my salary in less than
    Two weeks....you really don't know the peace of mind it gives me knowing I have the money to pay for my bills...Just jide ya there...

Is it your 'get quick syndrome ni'

Q

15. Live & let's live abeg! Its still people like you that insult people on this blog who come to ask for help. Is it your Ponzi?

1. A friend of mine is a B. Sc. holder & works as a maid in a senator's house! Oga senator knows oh & hasn't done anything about it! & she keeps seeing Ghana must go bag going it n coming out & all his children are in that abroad! I tell her wake up @ night & fill a "Ghana must go bag" & bring it home! She's doing holy, holy mtcheew! Who you epp Emma d blogger!

2. A friend of mine is a B. Sc. holder & works as a maid in a senator's house! Oga senator knows oh & hasn't done anything about it! & she keeps seeing Ghana must go bag going it n coming out & all his children are in that abroad! I tell her wake up @ night & fill a "Ghana must go bag" & bring it home! She's doing holy, holy mtcheew! Who you epp Emma d blogger!

3. Anonymous 11:51,what a terrible advice and "friend" you are. That girl needs to cut you off. You are a destiny destroyer. She should steal and when she's caught, would you serve the sentence for her in jail?
      God forbid your kind around my children cos I definitely can't keep your type around me.

16. Emmanuel Maduneme the writer will soon be caught with Cocain in 1 airport...

17. Bia emmanuel is dis aw u wnt 2become a better blogger dan stella? Omo check her posts well eh,u wil see dey r nt dis dry,even if she wnts 2critque somtn like d ponzi scheme u talking of nw,she wil do it wit humor n @ d end it's gonna be refreshing,urz is dry, find ways 2spice it abeg.crawls outta post like my 5months old baby dat jst started crawling

18. MMM, can't believe people are falling for it!

1. It is really helping us now. I pray it doesn't crash soon.

19. Let me say ponzi schemes and drugs are two different things. Drugs have a more damaging effect to the carrier and the entire populace. Ponzi schemes will only damage your pocket. We all want to make money and be rich so don't let us deny that fact cause we all have bills to pay and responsibilities. The problem with Nigerians is greed..... not being contented. People will stuff their bank accounts full and fill their houses with money and still be scared that their generation yet unborn might go broke. Bunch of insecure people in government. Having. Majority of people patronising ponzi schemes are hard working people who can't pay their basic needs and need additional sources. They mean no harm....the only harm in it all is the ponzi scheme operators who are ready to scam them. But they also know it's a risky business. So what's life without taking a few risk.

20. Oh well, that's the essence of a conversation right?. I adore this family, with massive and well articulated point of view. Pls don't cut my head, we are just having a simple conversation.

1. Guy leave people hustle. Why didn't you talk about your pastor that's preaching you prosperity all the time, tell you the lore your offering, the more your blessing ? Is that not a get rich quick teaching ?

What's your concern how people make their money

Abeg go away.

21. all ha hustling. i will even join the new one next week. ultimate cycler here i come.

22. Get money quick is directly proportional to the number of churches that preach ONLY prosperity and "making it". What is the ratio of these "churches" in Nigeria to other African countries.

As paul wrote to Timothy; the foundation of the Lord's house stands sure with this inscription; "the Lord knows those that are his and let he that name the name of the Lord depart from iniquity".

23. Abegi!!!! Who don hear of MMM West Africa? That is the next level now, 50% here I come!! I am getting paid on the 9th, rubbing my hand in anticipation. I agree, I get the get rich quick syndrome.

If you are interested in MMM West Africa, holler me for Whatsapp: 08032192912.

Make I buy bread and bean come first!!!