Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's MMM Ponzi Scheme: Will Investors Get Their Money?

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Nigeria's MMM Ponzi Scheme: Will Investors Get Their Money?

This reports states that MMM is under no legal obligation to return your money because it is not registered .....However....

This Writeup was compiled by the BBC and contains some home truth.

The MMM financial scheme caught on like wildfire in Nigeria but it has frozen its transactions, leaving many investors unsure what will happen to their savings. The BBC's Stephanie Hegarty explains how the Ponzi scheme found its way to the most populous nation in Africa and how it managed to survive.

What is MMM?

Well, that depends on who you speak to. According to MMM itself, it is a "social financial network of people providing help and getting help from each other".

Members are supposed to receive 30% back on their investment in just 30 days. It launched in Nigeria in November 2015 and according to its founders, has three million members.

But it has a murky history. It started in Russia in the 1990s and collapsed a few years later losing an estimated $100m (£80.3m) belonging to its members.

The Russian government outlawed the scheme and founder Sergey Mavrodi was jailed for four years

It made its way to China where it was also banned. But in the past two years, the scheme has appeared in South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Uganda and Nigeria.

Nigeria's financial regulator, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), say it is a Ponzi scheme.

That means money paid in by new members is used to pay back previous members. It doesn't generate any profit but relies on new members to keep going, which means that sooner or later it will collapse.

"No profit is being created," says economist Tunji Andrews. "And the people that are going to pay for all your profit right now are the people that are going to get stuck when MMM finally crashes."

How does it work?

Members either sign up online or with the help of a "guider" - a member who gets commission to recruit more investors.

To start, one can invest as little as 15,000 naira (£32; $40). That money gets paid directly to another member.

The idea is that after 30 days, every member reaps their profits. "Guiders" get a 10% cut of the new members' investment.

Over the past few months, MMM Nigeria has undertaken an aggressive advertising campaign and used community forums and church meetings to recruit members.

Why are people talking about it?

On 13 December, the scheme was frozen. Members who expected a pay-out since Tuesday have been disappointed.

MMM claims it froze the scheme to deal with heavy traffic that it experienced in the run-up to the Christmas holidays.
It says it will re-open in January and though many people are sceptical, others have staunchly defended the scheme.

Nigeria is in the middle of its worst recession in decades. Banks are not lending and so many people are hailing MMM as a source of capital.

Since it first appeared in 2015, authorities have issued warning to Nigerians against investing. In a country that does not have a huge amount of trust in its government, millions ignored that advice.

Seven people, who do not wish to be named, explain how they got involved in the scheme. We will call them by different names.

Margaret, a farmer from Port Harcourt told me that MMM was "a blessing". She used it to pay rent when her business slowed due to the recession.

Similarly Yinka from Ilorin described MMM as "beautiful". He was able to pay his school fees and buy a printer. Both are optimistic the scheme will work again.

Most of the people who spoke to our team had initially made good returns on their investments, compelling them to invest huge amounts later. Unfortunately for them, the company froze its operations.

Isaac invested 50,000 naira in the scheme and got his returns. Two days later he invested 950,000 naira. He was supposed to get his money back on 14 December. So far, he has received nothing.

MMM say it is up front about the risks. A warning on its website reads: "The only rule is no rules… "Win" might not be paid without any reasons or explanations."

All the investors we spoke to admitted that they had been aware of the warnings but thought the risk was worth taking.

Have people lost their money?

At the moment, it is unclear whether investors will get their money back but authorities in Nigeria believe that it is inevitable that people will lose out. There is not enough money in the system to carry on forever.

Folusho Awosanya claims to be the spokesperson for MMM. I found his number after browsing the MMM website.

He told me in a phone interview that the earnings of investors "are being calculated but will be paid to them when MMM Nigeria unfreezes its activities".

He however, was unable to indicate exactly when that will happen.
Even if MMM reopens in January as it claims, it is likely that the scheme would collapse at some point.

Is MMM breaking the law?

According to the privacy laws of SEC, once a scheme like this gets a certain level of investment it must be registered.

MMM is not registered with the financial regulator so technically, it could be breaking the law.But the SEC has not yet taken any active steps to prosecute it.

What happens next?

Members have to wait until January to see if MMM is as good as its word.
Until then its investors can only hope to get their money back.
But MMM is under no legal obligation to return it.
If the scheme does "unfreeze", that might encourage more people to invest.
And that means even more people are at risk of losing their savings.

121 comments:

1. Hahahahaha see trouble. E yaaa make una take heart

1. I don't belIeve it.. Mmm is so coming back, yes it will crash but not today.... Not in January.... Mark my words Mmm na spirit e never suck Nigerians blood reach.... Its coming back to take more people.

2. Its Owk let's wait till then

3. I want to believe that CBN can do something about it if they want to. I know that there is no central acct. But

4. First stage is DENIAL...then comes DEPRESSION...finally ANGER....Notice most MMMIETES are in stage 2 hence the many prayers and fasting for it not to crash...stage 3 actively loading....

2. MMM will return in January! I don't think the site has crashed one bit. Business is good in Nigeria.

But more people need to register and provide help. Let's do this.

Ultimate cycler is back online... Yippie

1. PG18
      Getting your money back from MMM is as simple as ABC. Just call the person u gave help to and ask him or her to kindly return back ur money and that you dont feel like helping him or her anymore. If the person no gree, then u find him or her and get ur money by force.
      ASHAWO WAS 1's A VIRGIN.

2. Hmmmmmm..after una pay me my money by January..I don run..

3. Scarlett I paid 12500 to someone's account I was directed to 2 weeks ago.I was told it's not mandatory if I bring someone to join.Yet I av not been marched with anyone to pay me.

1. I've already padded my shock absorber, not givin up my hope

2. Intelligentsia princess loves the Queen.17 December 2016 at 12:27

Mmm participants in my area here have started singing the song of Moku,Mogbe,Modaran(mmm)
      I pity my doctor friend whose all life saving is gone.
      Chai, thank God for his mercies bcos this Doctor actually registered me but I didn't check my email on time to see who I was supposed to pay to. The next day they blocked me,I kuku no send them. Later, the doctor asked if I want to join again and I told him I will let him know when am ready not knowing its was thy Lords doing I was blocked in the first place. Hmmmmmm I could have been singing that song along with them.

Thank you God of oyedepo for your mercies endureth forever.

4. The writer of this article doesn't really understand how MMM works..he sounds like the money is being paid to a central account..@'MMM is under no obligation to return it'

1. I am tired of all these mmm posts. I'm trying to move on. These ppl are not making that easy. I want to stop reading about it, I want to stop thinking about it. If I get my money back in January fine, if I don't, what doesn't kill us only makes us stronger

2. I don't want to think on this anymore. Let's wait patiently. Everyday I check the website oh. I have sleepless nights. They better come back pls

5. I dont understand why a lot of ppl who r not participants have one thing or d other to say abt mmm. Izit ur money? Izit ur crash? Busy bodies everywhere.

1. Have you forgotten that average Nigerians are wicked. They just wants to see others cry,just to tell them "Shebi I told you" Nigerians wu ndi obi akpo!
      Witches and wizards everywhere!
      Anyway,my God will not allow me to be put to shame.

2. Get help worldwide still remains the truth... Contact me for registration

3. No body is pained by ur "increase", it's worrisome that we would know that something is wrong and still go ahead to do it coz of money, there are interviews online of the founder clearly stating its a fraudulent org but out of greed we continued in it . I am sorry for the people that lost their money but the problem is they have still not learnt their lesson and if mmm happens to return January I pity those that would reinvest coz he crash would be worse . I mean this is exactly what he did in Moscow , crashed and came back again of coz people still fell for it . Don't Cary your lazy self and work be looking for free money and be claiming people r hating

6. Here's what I read online.

All Top members cashed out before the Monday. .If your guider is a top member in mmm. .you can confirm it.. .they made people put money with that deceptive 20% interest and they cashed out and frooze the system. .

Mmm was 1000 steps ahead of all its members except the few wise ones that didn't provide help this December.

May God help us

1. Lie lie pant on fire!
      One of my elder brothers is a guider in MMM,and I've asked,he told me that he is not aware. He said the tendency of MMM coming back January is high,but the only problem is that GH will be higher than PH,which will not be good enough for the system. Hopefully it will bounce back.

So dear,you and lie Muhammad should get behind me!

2. PG18
      Dear mr fan if you like dont wake up from ur sleep,if you like sleep for 10yrs, old age most still come meet u for ur bed.no need talking about MMM to the greedy people that invested money in it, it is the same greed that drives them to put money in it that is still making them think it will come back and last forever.a greedy person will always be a greedy person and a greedy person is also a foolish person, cos dey get blinded by greed.
      ASHAWO WAS 1's A VIRGIN.

3. Hopefully it ll bounce back? , and you are still supporting a scheme that the founder told you is fraud? Criminals!!!! You want to seat at home and revive income doing nothing, encouraging laziness. Greed' greed!! Greed!!! Wise up and recieve sense

4. Are we still on this matter ? The last minute 20% was the finally blow. Why telling people to pH with the promise of mpre bonus, just for it to close shop some days later.

All I know is MMM is now in Kenya and if you still interested you can face Nairobi but for Nigeria, we should forget about it, 90% of participants want to cash out by January, from whose wallet is the money coming from ?

Buy, you no buy, sell you no sell but you want collect 30% after thirty days. You be armed robber.. Lol.

5. What u said makes sense @don.ppl will have bp due to this ooooo.Bt dats da bitter truth.

BV 'yar kano

6. Mmm has been in kenya since September stop advertising your ignorance here don' mayo I have 2.3m mmm and i dint think that should b any body business my friend has 2m she put all her savings she has been crying 247 I told her hey,brace yourself up if I can make 2.3 I can make more than that life goes on with ot without it.
      Wether mmm comes back or not at somepoint in life there are bound to be losses wether through mm.,arm robbery or any means na person get hallmark for Benin way burn go ground.
      So oga uche face your work.

7. I heard you have to pledge help of 30 percent of your money stuck in the system before you can get help.
    I'm regretting my decision on registering on the platforn in the first place. If only i had listen to my instict and people around i won't be in this mess. My first time fa what kind of jinx is this?

8. Am not an investor in this scheme,but I got this feeling that mmm will come back like they said in January.

1. Use your ID. I will give you 50k if MMM come back by January.
      Stop dreaming, it's gone for good.. Lol

9. God i pray dey come back oo cos i'v already accept my fate for dis chrismas but january hehhhh ao wilk my children survive

1. Your new name is pennywise poundfoolish.

10. Make Una leave MMM matter na. Pets keep our fingers cross

1. MMM is over. Silly scheme. Why freeze it if all was going fine? Scammed people into joining for the fictitious 20% bonus and now they just froze it without a simple by your leave.
      The strong believers of the scheme are now shaking.

11. Hmmmm, I pray MMM will be back by January. I have friends & relatives that invested their hard earned money.

God Bless Everyone.

12. Please ooooo. My 1M is stuck there. After i collect my money January,the scheme can collapse. Even if i want to invest again,it will be 15k max. Anywhere i see MMM,my blood pressure goes up. Abeg oooo MMM,na beg i dey. You people have become my prayer point day and night.

1. 1m?
      Choi!!!
      Jide obi GI aka nne!

2. You're VERY stupid! Who do you think will pay your money? MMM is done, capput

3. Hahaha.. My dear I honestly understands how you feel.
      Mu na gi no na the same ship!
      But I tell you,if they comes back as promised,you will certainly invest 1.3m
      Lmao

4. Lmao. I am using my vibrator and laughing like a mad woman reading this comment. I see you put your husband's 1m. Omo people like you can destroy their husband's o! For your sake I hope it comes back. So you don't lose trust, respect and even possibly your home. I am sure you are one of those fools that follow Linda's advice here to be smart and deceive your husband. Only daft women listen to Linda. She obviously does not have a husband or a home of her own. Never follow another person's advice who will advice you to kill your husband or take him to Jazz people or do things that will throw your home in shambles once discovered. You better wise up and start thinking for yourself. Or this MMM mess will be the beginning for you.

13. Fingers crossed!

14. A million dollar question. but I just hope they come back as plans for Xmas has gone in disarray

15. Thank God I didn't do this!
    I contemplated putting my 300k to multiply for a business I want to do in Jan
    I don't know what I would have been saying by now
    Fan,nwanne m nwanyi kedu kwanu?

16. Stella, as an MMM insider and one very close to the person(s) who brought it to Nigeria, I can categorically tell you that MMM is over. I wish I could grant an interview anonymously to this effect. Sadly, delay tactics are just being used to deal people who have invested the brutal blow. No one is getting anything come January. And honestly, it wasn't our intention.

1. people reading this now will believe you think you know what your saying... I was at the meeting held yesterday on how to manage the rush we will face come January.. Stella I will send a mail to you in details.

2. Thank you. Nobody got any money back in SA and no one is getting any in Nigeria either.

3. May thunder fire u, idiot

4. May thunder fire u, idiot

5. Taaaaa
      Who know you??? Angel of doom! I reject you and your kinds in Jesus name. AMEN

6. May you forever remain blind useless pikin. My money cannot be stuck. I worked hard for it I will enjoy MMM before it crash. Now get lost Ewu.

*grabs cucumber*

7. Hmmm. Na wa o. Tell us wat happened nau.

8. Oh pls shut up!!!
      See ur mouth one of those that brought it to Nig, who knw u?? Rifraf

9. Hahaha...@anonymous 12:13, no be small riffraff. The idiot wants to claim what I don't know ooo

10. Have told you long before now, they are just positioning the judgement day. MMM is over with.
      Its a simple arithmetics, you sef look am well.

11. @stephysofly: see what we r saying, GREED!!! U ll enjoy MMM before it crashes so you know it ll crash and somehow in your world of delusions it ll not affect you, oh but of cox it can affect the people you convinced to join ba? Hard earned money indeed!

17. Who will be my santa now.xmas is here and i dnt have even a cup of rice

1. Must you eat rice,cook beans if rice no dey now. Abi your stomach is so transparent that your neighbours will know you didn't cook rice ni. Whiteberry incarnate.

2. LOL @ transparent stomach

18. Since they claimed dere is no central account where all d money goes to....someone shuld den explain to me y d thing was frozen cos people were rushing to collect money... Frm where? From whom?

1. The money that u invested, didn't you pay it to your follow Nigerian? So what are u asking?

2. Shut up stupid boy,see his head like a deformed chromosome.

3. Whatever was frozen is imaginary money, doesn't exist anywhere else but on their phone/computer screens.

It's peer to peer as they put it.
      They pay to their fellow MMM peeps directly.

I even feel it would have been a whole lot easier if there is a central account.
      As it is, whenever MMM resurrects, there would be more people requesting for help_ Demand will exceed supply, we all know what that leads to.

The problem is, who will give?
      Let's not forget that the functionality of that scheme is dependent on new entrants.

I wish them the best. Panic is what would lead to MMM's death.

4. Lol...to collect money na, the number of new people providing help reduced there was nobody to pay the backlog of people that provided help in November.. They sound as if the money is somewhere. If no body indicate interest to provide help (of which am sure very few people would want to) no body is collecting anything.. Sorry people.. WHO DID THE FIRST HELP PROVIDERS PAY TO?

5. People where rushing to collect their money,others couldn't wait till 30th before indicating interest to collect their money.once you indicate interest to collect your money the system was suppose to pair you with either a new member or an old member willing to provide another help.since everybody needs money this Christmas the number of people asking for their money exceeded those joining or providing help,the system couldn't pair people to pay, those already paired refused paying hence the suppose freeze.unfreezing it on January wouldn't change anything because already hundreds are waiting to collect their money the big ? Is ,who will be ready to provide help in January

6. @jumiasalesagent contact me has asked the most intelligent question. Who did the first help provider pay to?
      My instincts told me strongly not to invest. I got greedy. I'm trying to shake it off and move on but social media posts won't let me.

7. There was no first investor mmm started pairing when they got to 10 participants

19. People never listen. Use ur spare money or don't participate all.It can crash anytime

1. Spare money for this buhari time? Oya borrow me your spare money nau

2. Anythg like spare money again?

3. Oh if people have used just their spare money the heat would not be too much.

20. Enough of this Mmm nonsense, people were warned severally but they did number listen, everybody is looking for quick money, I don't pity them at all.

1. One eye who ask for your pity???

2. Nne,you have to pity us. We were only trying to better our lives,in order not to increase the number of beggy beggy in this country. Aguru di everywhere.
      Even I pray they shift this Christmas because,I am not understanding anything chaa cha!

3. You are a very stupid person for this comment..you are useless

4. He is not useless, he only said the truth. If he was lying why is it paining you?

5. He is not useless, he only said the truth. If he was lying why is it paining you?

21. If your account is frozen in MMM,please stop reading all these media gibberish!...
    MMM is coming back better!..

1. The foolest of the fools. You better nack pigeon on Sergey's head.

2. I hope it does ooh. My money is stuck too.

22. Bullocks
    MMM will be back in Jesus name. When I tell people closer to me how much I invested,they will be like Favour do you have such amounts of money as your spare money. They don't know it's my whole life savings. Who has spare money in this Buhari time? And as an Igbo woman that I am,greed can not be curtailed. I wanted to double my money,I've even calculated how much I will be having by the end of 2017 what&what to achieve with the money.
    And someone will come and tell me MMM has crashed? Ha,that's not possible! It means that my whole life has kpani! God forbid!

Anyway,my inner mind is telling me that MMM will not crash anytime soon cause even my Mavro is still growing successfully.
    Btw,Ultimate Cycler is back! That's a huge hope that nothing will happen to MMM. Long live MMM Nigeria,long live MMMits!

1. You will not die even if it crashes, let us be hopeful.

23. I don't die o,Jesus,what have I gotten myself into?

1. Hahaha that's how I felt but life goes on my sister money I not everything u would make it back but don't worry mmm woyl pay come jan

24. MMMites as your number one guider will say have hope January is fast approaching but if after January you refuse to learn idiota is your middle name

25. God abeg, I take God beg you... Mmm abeg never crash. My own no plenty just 3ok, but that money di very and highly important..It would have gone a long way for me this xmas, but God dey.

26. MMM baddest is about love baby

letter of appreciation,mavro blah blah

i laugh in hindu

#GODWIN

27. Please you people should stop increasing people's blood pressure.The pressure is much already,I have already prepared my mind for the worst.
    If it comes back,fine,if it doesn't, life goes own. I will not kill myself because of my money.I only pity those who invested with bulk money.

Those of you rejoicing over our misfortune,hmmmmmm! Life is full of up and down and full of surprises as well.
    I sincerely pray for them to come back.

28. The Monkey Money Madness! (MMM)
    Once upon a time in a village, a man appeared and announced that he would buy monkeys for N100 each. The villagers seeing that there were so many monkeys around, went out to the forest and started catching them.
    The man bought thousands at N100 and as supply started to diminish, the villagers stopped their efforts. He further announced that he would now buy at N200. This renewed the efforts of the villagers and they started catching monkeys again. Soon the supply diminished and people started going back to their farms. The offer rate increased to N250 but the supply of monkeys became so little that it took much effort to even see a monkey, let alone catch one.
    The man now announced that he would buy monkeys at N500! However, since he had to go to the city on some business, his assistant would now buy on his behalf.
    In the absence of the man, his assistant told the villagers: ''Look at all these monkeys in the big cage that my OGA has bought from you, I will sell them to you at N350 and when my OGA returns from the city, you can sell it to him at N500''.
    The villagers squeezed out all their HARD EARNED savings and bought all the monkeys. The most greedy ones among them even sold their lands to purchase many MONKEYS, hoping to make a huge profit without labor.
    Then...
    They never saw the man or his assistant. Only monkeys everywhere!
    Welcome to MMM. The world of Monkeys !
    Be wise.

29. People who've never lost money shouldn't bother with things like this.

I lost so much money trying to set up several businesses before I eventually made it.

I have a 100k in there and frankly, I have moved on from it.

30. I feel so lost reading all these mmm stories...
    Mmm had better one back o, if not....

I need a hug...

31. If mmm crashes, I'd be in deep shit..
    Lord have mercy!!!

1. Same here but what can you do? life goes on

32. Smilin....smilin....datz d work of greed.

33. I'm grateful to God for Giving me the wisdom to cash out in November. Infact I was so skeptical I collected my money after 2wks because something kept telling December will be rough for MMM. I PH of 300k and got my money back mid November. I just pray my brother gets his.

34. Make una rest for the mmm na!!!!okay it has crashed,let it rest.what is it? Must u people keep talking about it. Let people who put deir money manage demselves. Did they beg you for money? Some of you its just peppering your body dt some people made money and some lost.the tin no concern anybody. In my opinion MMM is like borrowing money,or as it is giving help. If people keep helping each other,Nigeria can come out of recession.take for instance I get help and use it to buy a car,the person I bought the car from puts it back in the MMM system and provides help for a crayfish woman to improve her business. This crayfish woman improves her business and puts some gain back in MMM. Me the initial car buyer d crayfish woman provides me help,and I use the help to buy crayfish I urgently need,the same money wld just keep circulating allowing people to meet their needs at a certain time. MMM isn't as terrible and evil as people make it look, it is a very good way to help people in need. The only thing I wish is if it can be regulated and a price can be pegged on the highest amount to use to provide help as well as get help. It is becos of the million,million people put into it that wants to crash it.

35. I am not a guider but I somewhat understand the ideology behind it. What kills things like MMM is greed. People start to put millions,that is why dey specifically stated spare money. If I want to buy a car of 900k and I have 800k I can spare 200k from that my savings,and provide somebody with urgent help,and then in 30 days since I would need help by then I wld ask for help and some 1 who has the amount I need as spare money would provide help to me. I wld then put that money to work by buying a car, imagine if the person I am buying a car from is also into MMM,indirectly my money has bin put to work. It would simply b a circle of giving and providing help for people in need. MMM you people just need to regulate it properly, help of over 300 should stop being provided and help over 500k shouldn't be gotten.

36. I don laugh tire. This comments heeeeeeen! More comments please, tanx SDK for bringing this mmm issue again. I started cashing out when MMM froze people's mavro. Infact if not for the stupid Lydia that uploaded a fake teller for me. I would av had all my money with me. I pray it comes back sha. And if it doesn't, no wahala. I dey kampe

37. Abeg oo
    mmm must not crash oo
    My Moni is stuck
    I don't know how to do Christmas and new year
    I don't want my blood level to go high just recovering oo
    Santa please locate me

38. Who will open his eyes now and go and PH in January? And if no PH, then no GH...
    So all the people money in MMM now is the profit others have been enjoying since there is no central account, so your money is not with anybody...
    No new or existing member, even you, will carry ur money to MMM by January to PH, so where will u GH from?..
    Count ur loss, life continues..200k down just like that..it's always not true if it's too good to be true...I have learnt my lesson.