Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NYSC: Family Objects To Exhumation Of Ifedolapo’s Corpse

Monday, December 26, 2016

NYSC: Family Objects To Exhumation Of Ifedolapo’s Corpse

The family of Ifedolapo Oladepo, a member of the National Youth Service Corps, who died during the orientation programme in Kano State, has said the exhumation plan by the panel investigating the death is not necessary.

The father of the deceased, Mr. Wale Oladepo, said Ifedolapo, a first class graduate of Transport Management from the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, Oyo State, was killed because the medical personnel at the NYSC camp administered a medication which Ifedolapo reacted to, adding that they refused to heed the plea of the deceased’s sister, a nurse, who asked that the corps member be taken to a teaching hospital for a proper treatment.

Wale said there was no need to exhume the remains of his daughter because autopsy would only reveal what caused the death and not the negligence of the medical personnel at the NYSC camp clinic, which he insisted led to her death.

He confirmed that a Commissioner of Police called him from Abuja on behalf of the Inspector-General of Police, Mr. Ibrahim Idris, and told him of the plan to exhume his daughter’s corpse.

Wale said, “The person said I would take them to the place where Ifedolapo was buried, adding that we should bring the evidence we have.

“I told him that I would not provide any evidence now until they produce the call log of the conversations between the family and medical personnel at the NYSC camp clinic when Ifedolapo was taken there.

“I told him that exhumation for autopsy is the last thing to be done because that will only reveal the cause of death. But we must see the call log and we will match it with the telephone recordings that we have. We didn’t even know it will get to this stage but thank God we have the conversations recorded on the telephone.”

The bereaved father, who is a pensioner, said some corps members told him that Ifedolapo collapsed during the early morning drills at the camp, but was not attended to by the camp officials until later.

He said it was not true that his daughter reported to the camp sick and did not urinate for three days, saying she would not have been able to participate actively in all camp activities if she could not urinate for three days.

He said, “Some of my daughter’s colleagues, who were at her bedside at the camp clinic, are ready to testify against the medical personnel at the camp clinic.

“They ( medical personnel) administered a medication on her (Ifedolapo) and she reacted with rashes all over her body and she managed to take a photograph of the rashes on her hand and sent it via WhatsApp.

“Her tongue became twisted in a reaction to the medication administered on her. Her sister, who is a nurse, asked them to take her to a teaching hospital immediately, but they did not until five hours later.”

From Punch

44 comments:

1. Stella post comments now... ah ah

1. I don't blame them. Nothing will bring her back.

2. They should allow the girl to rest in peace. It's a sad one though. Ifedolapo continue to rest in peace

2. They should let her rest abeg

1. They should allow her to rest in peace biko...

It haff do..

2. you are really stupid for this and tomorrow same shit will repeat itself again, this is a case of negligence nd the government should release the call log and take responsibility for their mistake do you knw how it feels to loose a loved one and a first class graduate for that matter.am tired of all this shit happening in that stupid country of ours

3. The Family should sue them
      Our system is too poor
      That's why d so call **Big Thief** abi na **Big men** don't allow their Children to participate or school here

4. Anon 11:56 I hope it's not me you are referring to?

5. I no want add "buruku" 4 ya name26 December 2016 at 15:36

Mrs olori,even if anon 11:56 wasn't referring to u,well i am.It is this lazy attitude that got us here in d 1st place.Let them do all the investigations necessary to get d true picture of things to avoid or minimize reoccurrence.Her body without sentiment's now just a corpse/worm food.

6. All these let her rest in peace and medicine after death that people are singing cannot help matters, we must realize that the person who is now "resting in peace" could still be alive today if proper care was effected....this has gone on too long because Nigerians don't hold people accountable, we only say maybe it is the will of God, forgetting that the Bible says that it is not the will of God that we perish....eventhough suing may not bring her back, it would help put others in check and set precedence for things like this to be avoided in future....please the family should take serious legal actions, God bless them

7. If they do not exhume the corpse. They can never win the case. Never! That is the only way they will prove if she urinated for 3 days or not. The kidneys hold answers. Once they trash the medical personnel side of the story by showing that her kidneys are ok, then they might have a case. Unfortunately,they just shut themselves in d foot. Abroad,exhumation has been done severaLly to bring justice to the victims. The road to Justice is not easy, neither is it without hurtful doings,but in the end that's the only way to ascertain cause of death from a neutral body.
      If the family refuses, they are concealing evidence and the court will have to accept the current cause of death as stated by NYSC. That is the truth, you cannot refuse medical examiners yet,you want justice. Unfortunately, once someone is dead, he/she becomes a specimen as hurtful as it sounds. There are 1 million things that can cause rashes and anaphylaxis, there are different types of rashes so saying rashes alone means nothing. Refusing exhumation is equivalent to refusing your gun to be tested by ballistics to exonerate you from accusations.
      If you were sure of what happened, why hide evidence. What the family did is to the benefit of the NYSC officials. You just covered up their crime. There is nothing like resting in peace, dats what we humans use to deceive ourselves. Ants, maggots,termites etc will feed on every dead flesh,aint nothing like resting in peace. Exhumethe body,demand two teams of medical examiners,your own private examiners must work with those provided by the federal govt. Let justice prevail, don't deny her justice. Dats the only way she might even rest in peace.

3. The medical personel and NYSC officials should just take the blame especially the camp commandant that refused to allow her leave camp to a better hospital.

Daddy Ife, don't show them where u buried her. Let her corpse be abeg

1. Until the NYSC brings up a defamatory case against them. They can't win this case without following due process. If you demand justice,you must obey court orders, aid investigations if not you are a loser Already. They should hire a private detective, medical pathologists to work hand in hand with the authorities. Full stop.

4. Exhume what? Please they should just let her be and let the family grieve in peace.

5. They should let this girl rip please.

6. FG and Nysc dey show their self... Which mumu exhume body, they should let the poor girl rest

7. The father is a wise man. I love his boldness and wisdom. I pray God should fill the vacuum crated by their late daughter Ifedolapo. It's not easy for them to just forget about the whole thing and move on but I advice the police and others to let them mourn their child in peace, learn to heal from this sorrow and let the dead rest in peace too.

8. They should let the girl rest in peace jare...

Please what season was falz on jenifa's diaries... mumsy wants to watch and I stopped following the series a long time ago...thanks in advance

1. Go to Jenifer diary's page and state your question there.

2. The place she sang obi serenrense obi doctor lo ma da, obi olorire omo, obi robber lo ma da. I watched it just last week, the thing has been cracking me up since. I'm not home I would have checked d dstv catch up for u.

3. check Seasons 1 to 3. I'm not too sure if his role ended there though.

9. Medicine after death, they should let the gurl rest in peace jawe.....

10. They should allow this girl to rest in peace now.. Will exhumation bring her back.

11. Why didnt they do autopsy before they buried her. Which kain exhume. They should let her be biko.

1. Thank you o. They want to cause double agony. They should let the girl rest in peace biko.

12. They should plz let the family mourn their daughter in peace and at the same time let this lady rest in peace.

All these gra gra from the police men no go bring this lady back.

13. These people shld let this girl rest in peace. All the investigations in d world can't bring her back.
    We all know negligence killed this girl. I just feel for her family, u can see how scared d poor girl was towards the end of her life, all alone praying for her sister to come and meet her. I feel for her family, such a beautiful brilliant life wasted.
    All I know is I can't allow my son go for dis thing called NYSC if he's not in a place I can reach him easily. Any small headache I am there is a flash.
    You can always re-do NYSC, life has no duplicate.
    Pls anyone with junior ones in camp, pls if they are ill and they are not allowing them to seek proper medical treatment. Tell them to leave that camp ground and bone NYSC.

1. Even if they exhumed and did another autopsy, they will not hold anybody accountable rather they will cause more pains for the family. It's God that will deal with all these wicked Nigerian medical personnel.

14. #Whatever happens, happens. Don't stress*

15. The should let the family grieve without any interference. Afterall, the autopsy result won't make our health system improve either today or tomorrow. Rip Ife

16. I no more an more preshore wool be moaunted on the farmily ontil the sorcum to thier deman, I prey the dun giff in art the end.

Eat is reely shorkin dart sombori cannort dye an ress in piss enymore.

1. Reading your comment gave me migraine. Please go back to school

2. You are just an idiot with
      stupid English.

3. You are just an idiot with
      stupid English.

17. It will be going through the truma a second time.

18. Let the sleeping dog lay biko. All the plenty stories will never bring her back.

19. Hmmmmm! Hmmmmm! This ppl can be funny.

20. The world can see the type of country we are living.This jst one out of a million that came out.Others that we don't hear and known abt.Wicked Leaders.

21. so where did our stupid minister for health got all his report when they have not done d autopsy mtcwww stupid people