Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ooni Of ife Reacts To Oba Akinruntan Calling Him Out For Celebrating Moremi Ajasoro.

Sunday, December 04, 2016

Ooni Of ife Reacts To Oba Akinruntan Calling Him Out For Celebrating Moremi Ajasoro.

The attention of ILE-OODUA has been drawn to a statement credited to Oba Frederick Akinruntan through the Olugbo-in-Council berating the people of ILE-IFE for celebrating MOREMI AJASORO as a heroine and goddess of liberty. 

This outburst of OLUGBO can only be viewed by the well meaning people as a mere royal rascality and a pitiable act of absurdity that doesn't deserve serious attention by serious minded people.

How on earth should a Yoruba king refer to Moremi as a traitor just because she used her power of a woman to liberate her people from incessant invasions by some faceless terrorists?

While we remain very proud of the great queen Moremi Ajasoro, a brave woman who sacrificed her only son OLUOROGBO for the victory of her people over the faceless terrorists who used incessantly raid Ife markets, we will not dignify this rascality of royalty with an expected response as we are not ready for any useless supremacy battle incapable of taking Yoruba to a greater height.

Most paramount on the mind of His Imperial Majesty Ooni Adeyeye Ogunwusi Ojaja II with the unflinching support of baba Alaafin, baba Awujale, baba Alake, baba Orangun, baba Deji, babe Ewi, baba Osemawe, baba Olubadan, Oba of Lagos and other relevant peace loving monarchs in Yorubaland and in other parts of the country is and remains the much needed progress of Yoruba nation which can only be catalyzed by peace and unity, this has necessitated his unimaginable barrier-breaking unity visits he has been taking around not only in Yorubaland but also across Nigeria and internationally. his activities in the last one year on throne are enough to attest to his personality as a king of peace.

It is a pity that at this time when everybody is lucidly tired of retrogressive royal discord generally agreed to have colossally hindered our pace of progress as a people of common heritage politically and socio-economically, the OLUGBO who claims to be the chairman of Yoruba Obas Committee on Peace and Reconciliation has suddenly without a deep knowledge of Yoruba history woken up to see royal controversy as the only tool for cheap publicity.

Kabiyesi Ooni is not interested in joining issues with Oba Akinruntan or anyone on any matter that can jeopardize his peace and unity project which is already making impact in so many sectors such as Youth development, women empowerment, cultural tourism, agric revolution, unification of our elders and traditional rulers, to mention but a few.

We therefore urge every lover of peace and unity in Africa to ignore any reckless statement capable of further dividing us, they should rather see the author of such statement as a person who poses a too armful danger to our peaceful coexistence.

Yoruba must remain united, Nigeria must remain united, Africa must remain united and the entire black worldwide must remain united because we are one before the Almighty God.

OBA AKINRUNTAN had said:
“Our forefathers descended from heaven, that is why we are called ‘Ugbo Atorunwo.’ We are not Ibos (Igbos), who are from the South-East, and who have their own clearly researched and defined ancestry. To set the record straight, Moremi remains a traitor. She was a slave captured by Ugbo warriors during one of their many raids on Ile-Ife. 

She later became the wife of Osangangan Obamakin, the son of Oranfe, of who was the paramount ruler of over 13 aboriginal communities of ancient Ugbomokun, which later came to be called Ile Ife.

”The statement said further, “Oduduwa came to Ugbomokun as a stranger and was welcomed in Ilero, the aboriginal palace of Osangangan Obamakin, which is still in existence in present-day Iremo, in Ile Ife. During the dynastic struggles, Osangangan Obamakin was directed by the oracles (Ifa and Osanyin) to leave Ile Ife. Moremi betrayed her husband’s trust when she exposed the secret of the Ugbo warriors’ gallantry.” 

23 comments:

1. Let the fight begin.where are their supporters,come & defend your kings ooo.

God Bless Everyone.

1. It seems iz only the binis dat truly know their history. For the yorubas, iz just guess work.

2. Real guess work,history could be a set of lies agreed by a group of people.

3. Lol@scoundrels. Now I know why they are traitors

2. Yoruba people should please go and sort out their conflicting and confusing history.We hv other more important issues in the country to deal with.

1. I love this kinda banter. People can see the middle line. To we Ilaje people, Moremi na traitor, but to Ife people, na brave warrior. From there, one can see the middle link between Ilaje and Ife. That's historical fact

Ayemafuge Ilaje.... Awayeeee

3. History will always be according to the narrator's point of view......An heroine to some,traitor to another.....Ko to ro Jare..

4. Majority of people who are mostly consumed by "now", do not understand the importance of setting history. It is very important that we have these banters as they help to well refine our heritage.

By large, the history of our people have been passed down orally and as it the case with this medium, there will be alterations and adulterations along the way. With these arguments, we will have a well informed view of who we really are.

5. wetin social media go cause hmmmm.

6. Anonymous gangster.4 December 2016 at 11:10

These ones too will claim Christian but are openly acknowledging deities n juju. Scoundrels in high places.

1. Stupid ,thats history and not acknowledgement of any diety.

7. so which one should we believe now traitor or heroine

8. Why oba akinrintan wan fall oba enitan hand now? After all d praises the oba has gotten because of moremi statue, na now u decided to tell us moremi na traitor. Anyways u both should sort ur selves

9. The Ayaba Moremi hailed from Offa, married to the then king of Ile Ife, a kingdom that is said to have been at war with an adjoining tribe who were known to them as the Forest people (Ìgbò in the Yoruba language, though the said tribe is believed by scholars to have had no relation to the contemporary Ìgbòs of modern Nigeria). Scores of Ife citizens were being enslaved by these people, and because of this they were generally regarded with disdain by the Yoruba city-states.

Moremi was a very brave and beautiful woman who, in order to deal with the problem facing her people, offered anything she had to give in sacrifice to the Spirit of the river Esimirin so that she could discover the strength of her nation's enemies.

She is said to have been taken as a slave by the Igbo and, due to her beauty, married their ruler as his anointed queen. After familiarising herself with the secrets of her new husband's army, she escaped to Ile-Ife and revealed this to the Yorubas who were able to subsequently defeat them in battle.

Following the war she returned to her first husband, King Oramiyan of Ife (and later Oyo), who immediately had her re-instated as his Princess Consort. In order to fulfil the pledge she made to Esimirin before embarking on her mission, her son Olurogbo was given in sacrifice to the Spirit because this is what it asked her for when she returned to its shrine.

The Edi Festival is said to have then been started as a means of celebrating the sacrifice the princess made for the people of Yorubaland. Furthermore, a number of public places are named after her in contemporary Nigeria, such as the female residence halls at the University of Lagos and Obafemi Awolowo University.

1. Like seriously this is a nice storyline,I never knew she married an Igbo ruler.Just that I keep wondering why history class is on the hanger in nija schools

2. Wow,so much love Yoruba histories

10. Later they will claim to be united,I never see people with so much propaganda.

11. I love this kinda banter. Sensible people can see the middle line. To we Ilaje people, Moremi na traitor, but to Ife people, na brave warrior. From there, one can see the link between Ilaje and Ife. That's historical fact

Ayemafuge Ilaje.... Awayeeee

12. Don't mind them they are jealous of ur high rising n iiii

13. Oba Akinrunta should not be taken seriously he is just an attention seeker full of Jealous. Why is now that he is talking about Moremi,just because the new Ooni is a young man why can't he say this when Sijuwade is alive. One can see that this King despite his wealth no first class King in the whole Yoruba take him seriously because of his inferiority complex and pork-pie stories.