Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Reasons Senate Rejected Magu As EFCC Chairman

Friday, December 16, 2016

Reasons Senate Rejected Magu As EFCC Chairman

There are now more details about the security report that prompted the senate to reject the nomination of Ibrahim Magu as chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

In the report, Magu is accused living in a N40million mansion paid for by one Umar Mohammed, a retired air commodore who is allegedly involved in shady deals.

“Investigation on the chairmanship of Magu revealed that in August 2008 during the tenure of Farida Waziri as the commission’s chairman, some sensitive documents which were not supposed to be at the disposal of Magu were discovered in his house. He was subsequently redeployed to the police after days of detention and later suspended from the police force,” said the report.

“In December 2010, the Police Service Commission (PSC) found Magu guilty of action prejudicial to state security – withholding of EFCC files, sabotage, unauthorised removal of EFCC files and acts unbecoming of a police officer, and awarded him severe reprimand as punishment.

“Notwithstanding, sequel to the appointment of Ibrahim Lamorde as chairman, he made the return of Magu to the EFCC a top priority. Magu remained a top official of the commission until he was appointed to succeed Lamorde.

“Magu is currently occupying a residence rented for N40m at N20m per annum. This accommodation was not paid [for] from the commission’s finances, but by one Umar Mohammed, air commodore retired, a questionable businessman who has subsequently been arrested by the secret service.

“For the furnishing of the residence, Magu enlisted the Federal Capital Development Authority to award a contract to Africa Energy, a company owned by the same Mohammed to furnish the residence at the cost of N43m.

“Investigations show that the acting EFCC chairman regularly embarked on official and private trips through a private jet owned by Mohammed.

“In one of such trips, Magu flew to Maiduguri alongside Mohammed and Nnamdi Okonkwo, the MD of Fidelity Bank, who was being investigated by the EFCC over complicity in funds allegedly stolen by the Immediate past petroleum minister, Diezani Alison-Madueke.

“Furthermore, the EFCC has so far maintained a high-profiled lifestyle. This is exemplified by his preference for first-class air travels. On 24 June, 2016, he flew Emirate airlines first-class to Saudi Arabia to perform lesser hajj at the cost of N2.9m. This is in spite of Mr President’s directive to all public servants to fly economy class.

“Magu has fostered a beneficial relationship with Mohammed who by his confession approaches clients for possible exploitation, favours and associated returns.”

However, in the report, the secret police cleared members of the board of the anti-graft agency — Nasule Moses, Lawan Maman, Garandaji Imam Naji and Adeleke Adebayo Rafiu — of any wrongdoing.

Usman Abusidiq, a blogger, had made the same allegations for which the EFCC arrested him, keeping him in detention for about 48 hours.

As of the time of filing this report, calls to Magu’s phone line did not go through.

Also, calls and a message to Wilson Uwujaren, EFCC spokesman, for a reaction to the report, were not answered.

from www.thecable.com

20 comments:

1. Whatever rocks their boat
    Been up since 4am
    This Christmas is looking so gloom
    God I need a miracle that will look like a lie
    #Ineedajobdesperately
    Yours sdkly dazzlinglizzy

2. Why rent an apartment for 40million when you can simply build for less.All these people re foolish thieves jor.😠😠😠

3. I WEEP for Nigeria. See the profile of a person at the helm of affairs fighting corruption. This country is finished. Just watch, they will still clear him and tell us all these info are false. Thank God I don park comot from this yeye country.

1. Pls which country are u in? I hav visa to us

4. Lol so he is a thief too? Naija my country

5. Buhari is indeed fighting corruption. His stooges are all fantastically corrupt.

6. Wow!! I hope this not fabricated lies not to confirm him. All I know is that this man has a truckload of enemies who do not want him as chairman. See how corrupted politicians are fighting back "smh"

7. Unam ikot

He must be prosecuted

8. You see the EFCC, forget that time. They are all very corrupt. Very very corrupt. They go after people, then collect bribe and the case ends. If you report someone to EFCC they will ask you to pay huge amount of money to pursue the case for you. After which they can end up collecting money from the order side if he agrees. The onde you here about the politicians is because buhari has giving them the go ahead and asked them to disgrace those people. Bunch of corrupt people.

9. Will this investigation end well?

10. He shouldn't just be rejected... but dropped as acting efcc boss and also persecuted for shielding corrupt business men and politicians....

11. Na new thing ? Abegi!

Him village pple go cry out now to let us know that all former EFCC chairs were currupt (Ribadu, Waziri, Larmorde), so why we wan begin probing from 'their broda & son'? We shd start from since the inception of EFCC.

The next group would even tell us 'we' have 'forgiven' him. After all , na 'Nigerian money' him thief & as a forgiven pple with very short memories, we have forgotten as well. Besides the money sef too small. A man of his position shd receive 'gifts' & be able to live a such lavish lifestyle.

Sorry state of Nigerians !!!

*ghanaman signing out*

12. hahahaha Mr. Magu. You kuku resemble magu wey yoruba people dey use catch adulterers.

Chai only you and you still tell us you are fighting kwarruption. You and your brother na ten and six pence