Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ronaldo Caps Dream Year With 4th Ballon d’Or

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Ronaldo Caps Dream Year With 4th Ballon d’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo called it “a dream come true again” as he won his fourth Ballon d’Or on Monday to get one over his nemesis Lionel Messi for the title of best player in the world.

It was the perfect ending to another fantastic year for the Real Madrid star, who won the Champions League for the second time in three seasons and then led Portugal to their first major title at Euro 2016 — albeit he went off early injured and in tears in the surprise victory over France.
As has been the case for almost a decade now, the 31-year-old’s main rival was Messi — but the Barcelona and Argentine maestro had to relinquish the crown after a less-than-stellar year for club and country by his lofty standards.
Ronaldo is now one Ballon d’Or behind Messi, who was second this time with French striker Antoine Griezmann third.

Ronaldo, the highest-paid sportsman in the world, first won the Ballon d’Or in 2008 after Premier League and Champions League triumphs with Manchester United.
But it was only in 2013 that he added his second — Messi had hogged it before then — and Ronaldo made it a hat-trick the following year.
United were quick to offer their congratulations on Twitter, calling a fourth Ballon d’Or “incredible”.
Real said Ronaldo, who last month signed a bumper new five-year contract, had enjoyed “a sensational year”.
The first Ballon d’Or was won by Stanley Matthews, at the time with Blackpool, who beat Alfredo Di Stefano for the inaugural title in 1956.

The Ballon d’Or is decided by a vote of 173 journalists.

Vanguard

22 comments:

1. Lucky guy. 7 is a lucky number and am sure that is shirt number.

2. Award well deserve congrats CR7.

3. Awww.. Thank God he finally made it.
    Chronic womanizer

1. If he no womanize na manize him go do ????? Oya you go womanize and win odeee

4. congrat my man...u deserve it jor

5. Very well deserved! I love Ronaldo, and I knew he was gonna be the one holding Balloon d'or this year.
    He has had a splendid year.

Congrats Cristiano Ronaldo.

6. ooshey Ronaldo. Not the most talented but the most hardworking player in the world and he stays winning coz of his hard work. Hardwork beats talent, all the time.

7. Replies
    1. Hug transformer

2. Wow, Tony! So it is not only in politics that u r a moron! Now I actually feel sad for u.

8. Correct guy, young but with a lot to teach the world.
    May God continue to bless the works of your hand.

9. Good for him... he deserves it
    Congratulations dude

10. Congrats CR-7,I've always been a fan....

11. Am a huge messi's fan but to be honest Ronaldo actually deserves it.

12. Kisses to SDK!
    Congratulations to Ronaldo.
    You surely deserve this.
    You are awesome!!!!

13. Viva Ronaldo...., Viva Ronaldo.... Running down the wings, hear United sing.... Viva Ronaldo...! Special guy!