Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Service Year Boulevard 10

Tuesday, December 06, 2016

Service Year Boulevard 10

Laughing out loud!!!

Hello Stella, Good day.
Love , love your blog. Here is my NYSC boulevard story.

I served in a town called Iro-ekiti in Gbonyin LGA, Ekiti state. It is bounded by two Ondo communities (Afin-akoko and Irun-Akoko). 

I can still remember my reaction when I saw the name of the Local Government I was deployed. Telling my plantoon inspector didn't make it easy also as he didn't hesitate to tell me 'it's a village'. I cried my eyes out, all my friends were deployed to towns and some redeployed to Lagos ,Abuja and Port-harcourt, so imagine my dilemma.

I was all alone, that thought didn't hold back the tears either. On getting to NCCF house I met batch B corpers and trust me to start looking for a corp member from my ppa, immediately I met the guy , the questioning started. I told the guy I needed a self contained apartment with toilet, bathroom and kitchen. Oh boy can I dream, he nodded and agreed to get me my accommodation. I was happy.

As i entered the village the first thing I saw were goats, lots of goats, the water works started again. I was consoled by some and others laughed. It was time to pick rooms and I went to meet the guy to remind him about our deal, he smiled, I still didn't get the hint until we started seeing the houses, some with pit latrines, others with none. I was able to get one eventually that was manageable. 

It was both the worst and the best year. The town is filled with nice and loving indigenes who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. I had some of the best corp members always partying and it was never a dull moment in that community. 

There was a lot of downside as it was a village, no constant power supply (usually Friday nights and Saturday mornings), poor network coverage. A particular week, we couldnt make calls, surf the internet or make calls. It wasnt funny at all.

We have to travel to Ado-ekiti to buy things like ice cream, meat pie and other things.As a Bini girl, my tribal name was remixed into different versions, as some persons even called me 'Susan', 'sesan' etc.
I prayed to leave the village because it wasn't comfortable. We had to fetch water from a well down a rocky and lonely path, imagine carrying buckets of water on each hand climbing a hill, because that was where my house was situated. 

Due to my petite nature, I was often mistaken for a student (secondary school) and was referred to as 'small Corper' , it was annoying at first but adjusted later.
Though it's downside, I miss the scheme and I miss the town. Met a lot of people who turned out to be great friends and others who didn't.

*What about the goats?You didnt mention them again..LMAO!...just kidding.

32 comments:

1. I love goats I rear goats . maybe I will send one if my pics wid my latest baby (kid) as face of ihns

2. I schooled in Ado ekiti. I can Never forget my 'horrification' when I arrived there back in 2003. I feel you.

2. I see you caught a lot of fun there, sometimes it's good visiting this places to see the other side of life.

3. you are lucky you were not sent to a witchcraft infested village... God bless all Kopas e no easy to serve ooo

4. Ekiti that was where I served was posted to ikere which is very close to the state capital. Even the capital Ado ekiti is like a village. Very annoying service year. The state is too dry jare.

1. Haba! Stay at home daughter, how can you say the capital is like a village. Yes, it's a dry state but the capital looking like a village, nah, I disagree.
      I finished from unad now known as eksu in 2007.The state capital is very fine compared to what it was back then in 2002 when I gained admission.

5. Hehehe but I love goats na... i think they're cute. Minus the smell ewwww
    Cool story! Experience is the best teacher

1. Cool story.
      Lol@the guy smiled,meaning in his mind,he is saying,you go soon ask for palace.

6. Replies
    1. Reading all these made me check if I really missed anything cos I didn't stay in the camp,and my Ppa was a town and place of my choice,#long legs thing#

2. You get long legs and you still dey beg for Santa to give you foodstuff? Some bvs can lie o.

7. LMAO stella.... Abeg ask am o

What happened to the goats,,, as na goat full the village no b human beings.

8. Na my state you dey yab like that oh. Lol. Even me sef, I have never heard of that particular village.
    You tried a lot staying the whole of the service year.

Six things I did I November

You are a prophet- God wants you to hear from him too

9. hahahaha firs thing you saw na goats. you are a case

10. Lols.. Shout out to all the platoon 3 batchC 2014 corpers,Wailo camp in Bauchi rocks

1. Yaay I was Batch c 09 Wailo Camp Bauchi. I can't even remember what platoon. I chop Suya tayaa! I even added weight lol

2. Currently serving in bauchi too

11. I can relate. I schooled in ekiti though in ado ekiti. Their goats there can be so annoying. They eat up anything you forget outside and I can remember a particular day I bathed one with water(washed plates water filled with palm oil) and I turned the white skin to red...hahahaha

12. Wow, that is my village. And am happy you enjoyed your service year, we are good host you know

13. I was one of those lucky ones that were posted to ado-ekiti. Trust me the pple in dt state r very nice ND good to corpers

14. "As i entered the village the first thing I saw were goats, lots of goats"....... LMAO o u killed me with this i don laff tire for here o.

15. Will send my SYB soon because that was where I met hubby

16. Wow! Your store reminds me of my best days in Omuo Ekiti (Ekiti East LGA), Ekiti State, I never believed the whole enjoyment and good memories that come with those loving and caring village peeps s and the corp members too. Before we left the camp i was really one those guys that spend every night in mamini market with hot babies and friends drinking and laughing hard at crazy lifestyle of native corp members. I remember going for morning mass and evening mass (catholic) but still did not resist the temptations of being tipsy before going to bed most night. Our room was really crazy one because we had in our room guys from Niger Delta states who are among the militant groupies enjoying federal govt amnesty program settlement pay package then. Even now that i live in oversea country, i still feel my service year was the best moment in my life. PLEASE WATCH OUT FOR FULL GIST SOME TIME SOON. #Sawggerpapa. That was the nickname i was giving by my follow corp member.