Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Service Year Boulevard 32

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Service Year Boulevard 32

*Side eyes*

Hello madam SDK,

I say make I send my own NYSC Boulevard (I was the lady that sent my LRD, pin pointing Cs and creating awareness on it.)

Oya to my NYSC wahala and blessed days, I actual did my service in the year 2011 and passed out 2012. I was posted to Oyo state but wanted to be posted to Delta State, Asaba to be precise. 

Camp was at Iseyin, the camp no be here, I never enjoyed camp one bit, I wanted to leave the minute I entered. The road to iseyin was okay, but the distance from Ibadan to the place, na story for another.

I got to camp, did my registration, got everything I needed. I made some good and nice friends. I never ate their camp food because it was rubbish, the only food I ate was when my platoon cooked and the jollof rice came out SUPER TASTY. Heheeehehehehehe.

Fast forward to POP day, (I forgot to chip in, that I already had it in mind that I will be serving in a very good organisation. Had someone helping me with that, lol, who no want wetin good, meanwhile the person that was supposed to do my posting to Delta, was still giving me hope) People were collecting their posting letters to their PPA, others were smiling, others were crying. Me I was anxiously waiting for my turn, finally mine was given to me. Lo and behold, my letter was handed over to me and guess what? IT WAS JUST A FENCE THAT WAS SEPARATING MY PPA FROM THE CAMP…. I cried for Africa that day, my friends were consoling me, other corpers, serving there were encouraging me that I will love the place. Love fire, me I don already hate the place before I enter ooo, no light, no water. How was I going to cope? 

All my friends were entering buses and going away and with my sad face, I carried my back and after making all the photocopies I went to the secretariat. Fortunately and unfortunately, I received a call that I should go to Ibadan and report at the big organisation that a request letter will be handed over to me to be taken to the state secretariat.

Who I know for Ibadan? Na so I carry myself, without doing clearance at the secretariat I left for Ibadan. ( made a friend at the camp, who came to do business, asked her if I could follow her to Ibadan and stay at her place, she obliged. THIS ONE NA PERSON WHEN I NO KNOW BEFORE, WEDA NA THERE MY HEAD GO PASS GO, I NO KNOW. LOL) I could not sleep that night, in the morning, with my complete NYSC Regalia, as the corper serving a country, na I enter road, to the BIG ORGANISATION. Meanwhile, the conductors, drivers even the people living in IB, no dey speak English everything is in Yoruba, IB dirty no be small, IB people make una no vex oooo. 

Got the letter and went to the secretariat, na there I come meet SHE DEVIL. She say if I like, make I bring letter from presidency, that if my PPA do reject me that I will be posted to another PPA within the local government. Went back to the BIG ORGANISATION to inform them, I was told to go back to Iseyin, to pick a rejection letter. EWOOHHHH. Who I wan go meet, for where I no even answer present.

Na so ooo, I cum go back to Iseyin, for the rejection letter and was told to meet one Mr. Taiwo, the Admin personnel, Mr. Taiwo use me shine for iseyin, I cum begin act drama, kneel down, crying my life then in cum start to preach. He latter reasoned with me and then took me to the Chairman of the secretariat. The CHAIRMAN, was more than good, he was God sent to me, he asked what I wanted and I explained everything to him, and he then requested for the REQUEST LETTER form the BIG ORGANISATION. When he saw it, he said he cannot be a stumbling block to me, that where I was going was far far better and ordered the Mr. Taiwo to give me whatever I wanted. After coming back from Iseyin, to the Secretariat, the coordinator said she wasn’t going to sign any paper or post anybody to any other place that we should go back to where we have been posted to. My crying come resume again. Going to Iseyin and back to Ibadan until 24th of December, 2011, as I tire with the many wahala, carry my bag come house ooo, say after the Christmas and New year I go go resume NYSC wahala for Oyo state. Meanwhile, I was nowhere yet, clearance I haven’t done.

Fast forward to 3rd January, 2012, I already made up my mind that I wasn’t going to continue with the wahala, that I will go straight to Iseyin, get over with the service year and come back. Right inside the taxi, my phone rang; I was told that I have been re-deployed. That I should come with a rejection letter from my local govt. head, inside the call, I dey correct the caller, say na relocation not re-deployment.

Got to the secretariat, and I was told the same thing (The re-deployment to Delta State worked oooo) because of the BIG COMPANY, I told them I didn’t want to re-deploy again, there, I met this good muslim woman, who advised me to redeploy or else I will end up having extension. Na I say okay oo, since BIG COMPANY and coordinator dey frustrate me, make I just redeploy. Meanwhile who dey help me with the big company, say him don remove hand for my wahala. I said to myself, let me go to Delta and do the service and forget about it.

I had to call the local govt, chairman of Iseyin, explained everything to me and he said I should come over. I went to Iseyin at about, 1pm, got there 4pm, met them, explained everything and I was given both acceptance and rejection letter the same day.

Make I cut the long story short, redeployed to Delta, went straight to Asaba, reported at the secretariat, (the big company helper, called and said I should go to Asaba and pick the request letter) Got to the big company, picked it went back to the secretariat and dropped it. Na so I come serve for the big company. 

Make I no list wetin I carry go house after my service year, it was as if I was getting married, with all the gifts that were showered on me by my Ogas and my madams. Na jeep I take pack my gifts.

At the end, I had the BESTTTTTTTTT service year. Hmmmmmmm, Hope una like the story? LOL….

*side eyes*

Gaps pleeeeeeenty for this story ooooooh...You are a vry stingy story teller.*tongue click*

29 comments:

1. IB people will come for your head now lol

Glad it worked out for you

1. See enjoyment. This ya long leg ehhn...

2. Story of life

Public announcement:

Calabar carnival 🎠 is Ongoing

3. Boring
    Only the middle was a little interesting

1. Too boring dear... My eyes were spinning reading this ur narration. When will I find time to write my own nysc story o,,,, I will show you how to write like the 'metal on concrete jazz my ear lobes' writer...Yea he is my role model in the literary world.

4. Pls what's the name of the big organization o? Help a sister out, I want to relocate to Asaba.

1. She slept her way through, can you?

2. You can't get all she got in asaba genuinely. Asaba headquarters of runs

5. #If there's nobody to hold your hand. Put your hands in your pocket and continue your walk*

6. So you are comparing Ibadan of 2011 to Ibadan of 2016? Fear God na. Even Lagos had problems then.

1. I love Ibadan but the truth today as it was then is that the place is dirty.

7. Unnecessarily long!

8. imagine the way she was traveling back and forth, something will happen and they will start sending message of condolence #mstchewww

9. I also served in Ibadan,it is an ancient city,it is not a place to make money but a place for pensioners or retirees. Dirty??? Yes!! You can say that again.
    Iseyin,where cold nearly killed me.but I missed that place though.
    For people looking to write books,or use their mind for productivity,Ibadan is a place to be but remember witches fly in the day there.

10. Service wahala no be here. My own tori na story for another day.

11. Happy u got where u wanted...but omo d stress no b hear oooooo.

12. This your story no dey interesting o, but you try.

13. Continue chewing my Akara and bread...you try shaa

14. Dryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy%. Next. Happy new year in advance to aunt Stella and my fellow bvs

15. Super boring... Got confused at a point sef.

16. Oyo camp is now dope oooo, just got back from the orientation camp, the food is good, atmosphere conducive and the camp officials are wonderful especially the camp director. Iseyin now have constant light. If you are not in Oyo you are wrong

17. Your story is normal NYSC experience. Those coordinator can frustrate people tire especially if you're female