Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abia State Impeached Speaker Explains What Happened.

Wednesday, January 04, 2017

Abia State Impeached Speaker Explains What Happened.

Days after being ousted from office, Martins Azubuike, the former Speaker, Abia House of Assembly, says his uprightness cost him the job.

Mr. Azubuike, who made the disclosure at a reception by his community, Umunneato-Ngwa, said he was impeached because of not consenting to sharing of funds meant for projects.

He told the audience that he committed no impeachable offence but was removed because he did not accede to demands to share allocations to the house among the members.

Mr. Azubuike, revered by workers in the House of Assembly for his experience as a third-term legislator, listed the projects executed during his more than one year tenure as Speaker.

According to him, the projects include the completion of an office complex for the 24 legislators which was started in 2007.

Mr. Azubuike said other projects were the computerisation of the operations and a website for the Assembly to enable members track its activities from within and outside the complex.

He said he also procured vehicles for the members and two buses for committee assignments by members.

“These monetary achievements were the challenges I had with the members because I did not agree that the money should be put on the table to be shared by members,’’ Mr. Azubuike said.

He also reeled out a number of constituency projects he executed in his Isiala Ngwa North, to include the grading of roads in the area and bursary award to 100 students.

The former speaker said he organised free medical services for people of the area as well as schools competitions during which scholarships were awarded to the best students among other projects.

Mr. Azubuike said that at the inception of the sixth Assembly, his leadership articulated a roadmap for 2015/2019 on how to drive development in the state.

According to him, whatever the present administration of Gov. Okezie Ikpeazu has achieved from inception to date was as a result of the initiatives by the House under his watch.

He said since his emergence as Speaker, he supported the governor against the background that it was the first time a person of Ngwa extraction became governor since the creation of Abia.

Mr. Azubuike, however, expressed his readiness to continue to support the governor to ensure his success.

He also assured his people that he would continue to provide effective representation in the House.

The former Speaker also thanked the organisers of the event and elders of the area for the honour done to him.

He said that he had been consoled by their solidarity and kind words which he hoped to cherish all his life.

Speaking with journalists, Mr. Azubuike said he was not served a notice of impeachment to enable him defend himself against the allegations.

(NAN)via premiumtimes.

15 comments:

1. Abangwa
    Obingwa
    Isialangwa
    Umunneatongwa

Any other ngwa? Enlighten me please.

1. Isialangwa is divided into North and south, Ogunabgo lga, Aba Ngwa North and south, Osisioma Ngwa, Okpualangwa.

2. Lies! Chop alone die alone. Am average Ngwa man very tricky and greedy set of people. Serves you right.

3. That's a wrong pix... Ps change.

4. If he's saying the truth, then shame on the house members.
    When corruption has eaten deep into our bones, what can the 'righteous' do? Nada.

Sorry for your impeachment, Hon Speaker (former)

5. Opening of a website is now listed as an achievement! This country is a joke.

6. Epitome of greed! So this midget went from Federal House of Reps to State House of Assembly, just to remain in the system? Nigeria I hail thee! Maybe if the seat becomes too hot, he'll contest for LG Chairman...this is the type of regressive leaders we have

1. Lmao@midget.
      I will definitely wanna have a Tyrion Lannister by my side than have a brainless giant.

7. Uzo is a greedy man, is good he was impeached.. Is it not yet time for you to rest?

8. Uzo my dear uncle. As you no they gree the people of Umunna Nsulu chop ya money na. How many years in power now, you have done nothing for your people. 1st it was Aba North kicking you out after representing them in the federal house. How did they even make you speaker since you were commissioner of Agriculture early last year. Bye sir

9. This legislators are all serial joker's lol. How is setting up a website a project how is buying bus and vehicles for legislative activities a project. Nothing was done to directly improve the lives of their people. No road project,no water project. Chai! This legislators should fear God o!