Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Arik Air Condemns Incessant Attacks By Passengers On Its Staff And Property

Friday, January 06, 2017

Arik Air Condemns Incessant Attacks By Passengers On Its Staff And Property

This is a press release.

''On Wednesday, 4 January, 2017, our Lagos-New York JFK service which was to operate at 11:30 pm had to be rescheduled by 24 hours to operate at 11:30 pm on Thursday, 5 January, 2017 due to the shortage in supply of aviation fuel by the major fuel marketers.

Our Lagos-Johannesburg service and Lagos- Accra service were also on ground awaiting fuel while the Lagos-New York service was standing by for fuel. Aviation fuel supply has been epileptic in the country over the past weeks where availability of stock and terms of service are not guaranteed on a consistent basis by the marketers.

Arik Air pursued all possible options to source fuel for the international flights on 4 January, 2017 but when our Customer Service Manager at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos approached the passengers to explain the situation to them, one of the passengers chased and attacked him. This was followed by a mob of passengers who brutally beat, kicked and chased the Arik Air staff throughout the terminal building leading to the Immigration Section of the terminal. The staff was later rushed to the hospital where he was treated for injuries sustained during this reckless and inhuman attack.

Arik Air managed to source a small quantity of fuel and despite eventually sorting out the departure of the Johannesburg service, some of the passengers from the affected services damaged the check-in counters, check-in systems and equipment, preventing the airline from being able to service or checking-in passengers on 5 January, 2017.

Again on 5 January, 2017 some of the passengers continued to disrupt the airline’s check-in process by preventing Arik Air staff from performing their duties by sleeping on the conveyor belts, sleeping or sitting on the floor in the check-in area and forcibly occupying the airline’s ticketing and administrative offices, resulting in the cancellation of some of the international flights, including the Lagos-London Heathrow-Lagos service.

Arik Air strongly condemns the incessant and increasing number of attacks on our staff and property in the recent months. As a flag carrier for Nigeria, the airline expresses it disappointment and dismay that the Aviation Security department (AVSEC) of the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) and all the other security agencies in the country cannot ensure or guarantee the safety of our personnel when on duty across the various airports in the country. This serious breach of security and lawlessness by some of the passengers to assault and cause bodily harm to the airline’s personnel cannot and will not continue to be tolerated. Passengers continue to take the laws into their hands and the severity and frequencies of such criminal acts are on the rise due to lack of appropriate action or preventative measures from the security agencies.

The resort to verbal or physical violence in any form by a passenger is not acceptable to Arik Air and the airline would henceforth deploy all measures necessary against any passenger who takes the law into their hands. Arik Air will also pursue legal action and engage local and foreign security agencies including private security firms to investigate, identify and prosecute to the full extent of the law all of those passengers in Nigeria and overseas, involved in the attacks against our personnel and property. The airline also intends to formally address the regulators, security agencies and aviation authorities both in Nigeria and overseas to get an immediate resolution to this matter.

Security at our airports ought to be improved to guide against unwarranted and uncalled for assaults on airline personnel and passengers. Despite repeated appeals and calls for intervention on numerable occasions, the airport authorities and security agencies have done nothing to protect the lives of staff and property of Arik Air in the wake of these attacks. The same authorities are however spontaneous in sanctioning the airlines whenever there is a service disruption without providing adequate support or security to prevent passengers from disrupting the service in the first instance.

Arik Air once again makes a final appeal to all the security agencies (AVSEC-FAAN/Nigerian Armed Forces/Directorate of Security Services/Nigerian Police Force) in the country to intervene immediately and protect the airline personnel and property from unwarranted attacks by passengers. Arik Air also appeals to its passengers to be civil and refrain from such disruptive and unlawful actions that risk the life of airline staff and that of fellow passengers.

Arik Air is fully committed to the safety and security of its passengers, staff and assets and will do all possible within its means to pursue and prosecute to the full extent of the law, all perpetrators of such criminal acts against the airline''.

29 comments:

1. I blame the people that still bother to use this airline. Mtchew!

1. WAIT!!! Is Arik the only airline operating now

2. This is the craziest thing ive read today. Who gives a rats arse what you think? Instead of finding a way to give efficiwnt service, youre here saying "it is not acceptable to you"

You thinking sleeping in yhe airpirt is acxeptable to your passengers? You hink cancelling their flights wihoit explanations is acceptable? How about the incessant delays? This is not a one day, 2 day or even.once a month thing... This has been ongoing for a long time now.

So close shop!!! If you can't deliver, pack up! Don't make it possible to book and then take someone's money and be spewing rubbish. Are you the only airline sourcing fuel? 3 whole days, haba!!! And then you come here to spew this garbage...

Gosh, I'm so vexed!!!! So somehow in your mind, you cancelations were warranted and so should be excused.

Warrahel. This country is messed up for real

Say what 😱😱😱😱

3. Aerocontractors, air peace, medview, air nigeria, azman. There are alternatives.

4. When their staff were looting people's monies and property, they did nothing. Now small beating, they are crying wolf.

2. It is bad when ur parent are educated cuz u cant even tell them you want to buy photosynthesis.

Between

Anywa, thanks to u all bevees.. Am good now,. Gone for check up about my chest pain die to the accident and i was told am good to go.

Mc pinky

3. Passengers should stop being unruly and Arik Air should learn how to satisfy their passengers.

4. Arik air, it's 2017 for Pete's sake, stop frustrating your customers pls.
    I have read and heard so many complaints about Arik air, bad reports and all..

If I want to fly right now, arik air would be the last airline on my mind.
    Go back to the drawing board, come up with better ways to satisfy your customers, train your staff pls.
    I totally condemn the actions of the man that beat up the manager.i pity the man's wife or gf, cos thats the same way he will be wrestling her to the ground at home..

Carpe diem

5. Foolish people always full of excuses,i didnt bother to read.

But how did that short okeregbe throw that giant like a wrap of fufu to the ground? Nawa!

1. @shantelle It's not by height Oh.

I almost fell on the floor when I read people laid on the conveyor belt and occupied their space. Typical naija show! Nigerians and vandalism are like 5 and 6.

😂😂😂😂

6. There is a reaction to every action Arik!!! Act right or close that nonsense you call an airline... Do you know how many appointments people have had to miss cause of your incompetence? Arik, I still await a response from you as it concerns my refund o... If not I will do more than sue. Please, people really, stop flying Arik... Stop o!!!
    From a disgruntled and hurt customer...

7. You have been so unfair to your passengers of late and never for once tendered a public apology addressing this issues but your staff and property is most important right, if you can't deliver then why collect money and schedule flight SMH.

8. Ko ni da fun arik air

9. They should sit up asap then. The passengers have heard enough and not to be blamed abeg

10. As much as Arik Air is frustrating and annoying, there was a 10hour delay yesterday, I don't support the barbaric nature of some Nigerians.. Like how do you beat up a human being like you?

11. You are good at condemning but can't improve yourselves. You are so poor in business

12. The major reason Arik's flights are delayed is because the airline refuses to pay its service providers or remit all charges and taxes already paid as part of air fares.
    So, everyday, a regulator or service provider is holding the airline to ransome in various locations to ensure that the airline settles part of its debts.
    While aviation fuel is a bit low on supply, the fuel companies are refusing to give the little supply they have to n Arik that will refuse to pay.
    While I feel for the staff beaten for the sins of the employer, Arik staff too are always very insolent. A barely literate security staff of the airline threatened to "de board" me once because he said I was rude to him for telling him to be careful with my luggage. I told him the flight will not move an inch without me on the plane

13. Arik air should just shut up already. As much as I will never agree to any violent behaviour of any type I see no reason why Arik cannot go to Ghana to source for fuel like other airlines. But as usual they are owing their oil marketers huge sums of money hence they cannot go elsewhere to source for fuel. If you have ever had your flight rescheduled you will understand how frustrating this stuff can be. To make it worse Arik customer service will not pick up your calls when they cancle flights. You will not see any representative at the airport to attend to you. Rubbish airline. My nigga people learn from others experience this airline have nothing to offer you

14. I stopped reading at the point when they mentioned seeking legal actions against whatever.

ARIK AIR ... big joke.

15. Even staffs haven't been paid sef....But why bother fly Arik?

16. Which one is "source small quantity of fuel" pls they should not use the word "small" with airplane, before plane go stop midair due to fuel din finish and crash. Abeg they should better stop that rough play and fill their plane with "large quantity of fuel".....na beg I dey beg.

17. Whoever is in charge of their PR should be sacked. Are you kidding me??!! You're angry with customers rather than get to the root of the problem? Arik just continue in 2017 and you and your employees would be mugged at that airport one day. This person has just shown you what it means

1. Your comment is so good that I can only do this.. 👍👍👍👍

18. Arik should do the needful and grading all these press releases. They are endangering the lives of their staff who are in no way responsible for their stupid way of running their business. They are neck deep in debt that it's only the grace of God that will pull them out. They are still charged millions by the government cos of defaulting, compensation of the people they messed up their international leg of journey and above all, staff wages of plenty months. If it's so bad, they should file for bankruptcy and let better investors come and buy them over. No be by force to do business.

19. To say person dey rush go born for US na so dem go use delay allow person born for naija airport,useless pple

20. To say person dey rush go born for US na so dem go use delay allow person born for naija airport,useless pple

21. Im just waiting for airpeace to start flying abroad.

22. I cant wait for Airpeace to start flying international.

23. Why are they sourcing for fuel on the very day of the flight? Wouldn't they have secured their fuel in advance if they were aware of scarcity. Their business model needs reevaluation. Stop taking ppl's money if you can't provide the goods, 24 hours is a long time to wait. Why did they not offer to put them on other airlines?