Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Domestic Violence Victim Succumbs To Excessive Beating From Husband

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Domestic Violence Victim Succumbs To Excessive Beating From Husband

An official of the Western Naval Command, Apapa, Lagos, Omojoye Ayodele, has been arrested by the Lagos State Police Command for allegedly beating his wife Mary Egbailo until she breathed her last..

PUNCH Metro gathered that Ayodele on Tuesday allegedly beat up the victim till she gave up the ghost at their house on Eze Anthony Street, in the Igando, Alimosho area of the state.

Punch  gathered that the 30-year-old suspect had gone to bring back the wife from the Cherubim and Seraphim Church in the area, where she was said to have been since Sunday.

Shortly after they entered their room-and-parlour apartment, an argument reportedly ensued between them, which led to a fight.

The Ebute Irele, Ondo State indigene, allegedly beat his 29-year-old wife till she became weak and died.

She was said to have been rushed to El Dunamis Hospital, a private medical centre in the area, where she was confirmed dead.

An official of the hospital told our correspondent on Wednesday that Egbailo was confirmed dead while in a tricycle that brought her in company with her husband and two women.

The official, who did not want to be identified, said the husband claimed she took a local insecticide, Sniper.

He said, “She was brought around 11.30am in a tricycle. A man, who wore military uniform and claimed to be her husband, was screaming that she took Sniper insecticide.

“Doctors went to check her in the tricycle and it was discovered that she was dead. We immediately asked that she should be transferred to a general hospital. The husband was shouting to the hearing of everybody that she took Sniper.”

The victim would have been taken to her hometown for burial, but for the insistence of the landlady, who maintained that Egbailo did not take Sniper, but was a victim of domestic violence.

The case was said to have been reported at the Igando Police Division, leading to the arrest of Ayodele for allegedly beating the victim to death.

The landlady, who spoke with our correspondent on the condition of anonymity, alleged that Ayodele had been assaulting his wife since 2016.

She explained that on the morning of her death, Egbailo did not show any sign of depression.

She said, “The man complained that for the past three days, his wife had been away from the house and gone to a church.

“Around 10am on Tuesday, both of them entered into the house. I guess he had just gone to pick her from church.

“It was not up to three minutes that I started hearing noise. I went to their apartment and asked the man what the problem was, but he pushed me away and kept hitting her. He dragged her on the floor, among other things.”

She said she ran out to call for help when the beating was excessive.

The landlady claimed that as other residents approached the house to mediate, the suspect threw his wife into the gutter.-OMG

“I begged her to wait outside till her husband calm down, but she said she wanted him to kill her,” she added.

She explained that the victim entered the house again and was beaten up until she became weak.

“She could not walk, so I decided to take her to a hospital. But nobody was willing to help me. If we had a vehicle on time, we would have probably saved her life. We were in front of my shop for about one hour, without any help.

“She was still talking to me before she passed out. The last request she made was that she needed palm oil,” she said.

She said after the victim passed out, a tricycle was brought, which then conveyed her to El Dunamis Hospital, where she was confirmed dead by doctors.

She said she decided to report the case to the police to prevent the suspect from escaping justice.

The landlady described her as gentle, saying for the past four years that she lived in the house, she never had a quarrel with her.

“We discussed together and she always shared her challenges with me. When her father came after she died, he kept saying his daughter never told him what was going on in her marriage. She was always covering up for him,” she said.
Punch gathered that in 2011, the couple had a child together, named Israel.

Efforts to have another child were said to have been abortive. The issue was reported to have been responsible for the tension in the family.

The landlady threatened to eject him from the house for allegedly hitting her during the scuffle which led to the death of his wife.

A close friend of the deceased, who did not identify herself, said Egbailo did not give her any impression that she was being assaulted by her husband.

She said the husband told her that Egbailo had been abducted since Sunday when she went to church and was returned by the captors who discovered she was not useful for their money ritual.

She said, “The man said on that Tuesday, they had an argument after which she threatened to kill herself. The man said he joked with her that if she wanted to kill herself she should go ahead. He said in a jiffy, she had taken a bottle of Sniper and drank it. He rushed to my shop to call me that his wife was dying.

“We rushed her to the hospital where she died. It was later I was told she had been a victim of domestic abuse. She had never opened her mouth to tell me anything like that.”

The spokesperson for the Western Naval Command, Apapa, Lt. Commander Chinwe Umar, said Egbailo committed suicide.

“From the information available to me, the woman in question allegedly drank Sniper,” she said.

The Police Public Relations Officer, SP Dolapo Badmos, said the corpse had been deposited in a mortuary for autopsy.

She said, “We received a report that a naval rating fought his wife and she slumped and was rushed to El Dunamis Hospital, where the doctors confirmed her dead. The corpse was deposited in the Mainland General Hospital mortuary for autopsy. The case is under investigation.”

From Punch

*Instead of all this long talk and them say them say,they should check her corpse for traces of Sniper!

82 comments:

1. So the idiot could not go to simbiasa and put his frustrations on boko idiots.

I pray the wife families get justice.

What a pity. Idiot man. Army man for that matter. They show their frustrations on civilians. God punish devil.

1. He's a Naval Officer I think.

2. An autopsy is definitely required in this case. I read somewhere where she requested for palm oil, so it is possible she ingested sniper out of frustration while being beaten. Her death could have also resulted from blunt force trauma due to the blows she received and the impact of being thrown around, so it also appears the husband is culpable in her death. Btw, Mr. Man of spontaneous post that is considering domestic violence because his wife does not wash his clothes, get in here, read, digest, and may the Lord give you wisdom and guide you in the right path.

3. At some point I got tired of blaming the men and started asking myself questions like "did they tie the ladies legs to these men". You are shouting what will society say now that she is dead will it stop society from talking? Even some will insult her in death claiming she was a stubborn wife. My heart goes out to Isreal, I can't but wonder what will happen to him.

4. Even if she drank sniper, which sane human being would just decide to end his/her life if not as a result of depression.
      The woman was probably tired of life because of the beatings she was receiving.

5. Yet another one..... 😢😢😢😢😢

6. She wouldn't request for the palm oil if she drank it on her own, it would have been forced down her throat but she was too weak to narrate it
      Who slits their wrist and then walks outside to ask for stitches

2. That's why the body has been sent for an autopsy Stella.. so hopeful we'll get the actual cause of death
    Rip young lady . So sad.😢

1. Sabongida!! Welcome back.

I can't even say anything.

2. If traces of sniper were found in her body, i'm sure he forced it down her throat. Demon!!!

3. What of if ths husband forcefully gave her snipper,hence the lady asking for palm oil. They will definitely see traces of sniper in her blood stream.

3. Uniformed men are always very violent and abusive..
    Esp the military and the police force men.
    Look how she killed herself just like that.

Dum Vita est spes est.

1. RIP i dnt just get d satisfaction these men gets from hitting a woman over n over until death.

Its getting scarier by d day.

BTW, Stella, 4 sponsored post we aint allowed 2 comment ni?

2. Some are very disciplined, responsible and admirable.

3. Shot the Fuck up, so many domestic violence perpetuated already, how many of dem ar by military -men? Military men ar gentle to der wife

4. Sunkanmi, I belive her analysis is somewhat true. A lot of military men beat their wives.

5. Well anonymous I live in the barracks and d@s not true cos such cases of DV must not be heard by d authorities

4. Hmmmmm!!!
    This DV of a thing is getting out of hand ooo..
    The fed govt should enact laws that will sentence abusive men to death by hanging.. I can't deal joor.
    This is so pathetic.

5. What a very sad and pitiful tale!
    Men should quit laying their hands on their wives.. It is very so wrong,inhumane,barbaric & unacceptable .They r not strong physically like men.Always reach out for the good old koboko when she start to misbehave .Don't become a murder and render u children parent less.

1. And koboko is not beating eh trouble maker?? Stupidity!!!

Where is thy fool that said women should endure dv as good women. Oya go and give her an award in d mortuary, decorate her with virtuous dv enduring certificate.
      Tell her son d mother is a good woman for opting to die from his father's fists rather than living to be his mom.
      This will continue to happen as ling as society keeps judging women who leave abusive marriages.
      #ssy no to dv and yes to life, LEAVE ABUSIVE MARRIAGES

6. May her soul rest in peace.Amen

7. A father and mother will birth a child, nurture her,love her,toiled for her,send her to school up to adulthood. Then one bastard wld come one day in the name of fake love and marriage and maltreat the person,kill her in d name of marriage.
    It shall not be well for that man.
    Is she God that gives children? you have a son already and you are just 29 and 30yrs old. There is still time. Women pls when it starts getting to d extent that u ppl are threatening each other with death. That marriage is over, no prayers can work with such husband. Except you want to still keep praying from the cemetery.

8. What a waste of precious life.

Lord have mercy.

9. Stella make sure you bringback this Gist when the autopsy result is out.

Until then I have notin to say.

1. He could have forced sniper down her throat before people came and she didn't have strength to narrate what happened so she just asked for palm oil to at least relieve her, God help is all o!!

10. See talk...Comm Chinwe Umar..no wonder aturu awusa don turn your head..."she committed suicide" The truth will come out korokoro...uniform people sabi cover things eh.

SO sad.

11. Why do I have a feeling that she indeed committed suicide? Else why would she be asking for palm oil? Well an autopsy will tell the truth

12. RIP young woman. If she had known about the impending death, she would have run for her life
    Am not trying to take sides here until autopsy is out but we should learn how to open up to our loved ones/family members when in such situations
    If she had told her father or any close relative about the happenings in her marriage, maybe her death would have been averted. I know a lot of people will say 'don't expose your family,' but I beg to defer my darlings.
    Marriage is sweet but it’s scarring me already.
    Continue to Rest in peace young woman.
    Let justice prevail.

1. Me too! Its scary! You never know what beast is going to rare out of your once "loving charming prince"! If only this lady knew what she was getting into when she got married. For better for worse??? Where did she go wrong? I begin to wonder now...

13. Can you imagine! And she was just dying in silence just to cover up her marriage problems, now she's dead and in a year or two the devilish husband will re-marry

1. Remarry in a year or two in which country? Not even our pastors stay that long before remarrying. He's going to her burial with his mistress for consolation.

2. Quick weight loss with..... Lwkmd so true

14. God bless that landlady for speaking out.
    I hope he pays for this wickedness.

Pretty woman. Hope u are at peace now.

15. Another victim of domestic violence.... lord have mercy... rip to d lady

16. the sad and bitter truth is dat in a little time this buffon of a man will be let out of prison n he will carry on like nothing happened.dats bcos we are in a messed up country.RIP to d dead.

17. Sad story. She probably got tired of living and wanted to end it.
    Just telling my stylist whose husband has been beating her even while pregnant to think twice.
    I blame our mothers for this. Bringing up female children without any form of self esteem is wrong and should not be discouraged.

1. Yet yore still blaming the mothers. Did someone tell you those mothers were raised with the elf esteem you speak of? How can you show your kids something that wasn't shown to you either? It was even far worse in their time. At least now we have so many other mediums to educate and enlighten us. Back then, things were so dark and women were treated much worse..... Just Saying

18. OMG!!!
    When will our women learn???? Why stay in an abusive marriage where you been used as a punching bag? Gosh.
    I can't deal

1. My dear, no one wants to end up dead or maimed. Do they have places to run to? Can they fend for themselves and the kids, if any on their own? There's a tendency for these women to want to give him another chance. They want to hold on to the picture that things can be better again.
      Talking from experience, I stayed because I had no other option. When I did,freedom was sweet! It felt so damn good,I recall. The physical abuse wasn't even the main...the emotional abuse was DAMAGING. I still suffer the wounds till date. I pray for wisdom for every victim. Wisdom to know what is right, accept the truth and act upon it!
      #LiveAndLetLive

19. If she asked for palm oil there might be traces of sniper in her.

20. Don't think any woman should continue living with an abusive husband. If only she left earlier, now see the outcome.
    God rest her soul.

1. Inasmuch I blame the man, but ladies should please, find an escape route and leave, why would the woman go back when she was told to stay back. Anger is like a small madness, ps ladies, I am a man, no not fight with your husband, or try to engage him, just run during the fit of dv, and don't come back, do not challenge or dare him. RIP to the dead.

21. I used to dislike Uniform men (but I have since changed my attitude towards them, after I met and befriended some cool uniform guys back then, through one of my friends who married one army commander.....)

Some can be very aggressive! He should face the law.
    But, a test or an autopsy should be carried out to know the real cause of her death.
    If he's guilty, may he rot in jail.

22. She covered up for him till he took her life.
    If only she had spoken out or take a walk.
    It's all too late now.
    RIP to the dead.

23. Uniform menare always very violent,nobody should come here and start pointing fingers at yoruba people.The thing is men in uniforms are fond of beating up their wives and children and they are brutal and merciless.This lady in this story took rat poison I think,that was why she asked the landlady for palm oil before she died,the man has been beating her so long she has become depressed from the whole suffering.Theis horrible should be sentenced to life in prison.wicked soul

24. I would have believed the domestic violence story until i got to the part where she requested for palm oil. well stella palm oil and aligator pepper is the best first aid medicine you can give to someone who has just taken poisonous substance before he or she can be taken to the hospital. But unfortunately she requested for palm oil too late. I believe the event that happened in that church could have played a big part in her death.

1. Or he could have force fed her the poison after beating her to stupur and she couldn't speak but only mustered her last strength to ask for oil because she didn't want to die. If she really wanted to kill Hershel, she wouldn't be asking for anything that would help her

25. Uniform men are always very violent,nobody should come here and start pointing fingers at yoruba people.The thing is men in uniforms are fond of beating up their wives and children and they are brutal and merciless.This lady in this story took rat poison I think,that was why she asked the landlady for palm oil before she died,the man has been beating her so long she has become depressed from the whole suffering.The horrible man should be sentenced to life in prison.wicked soul.....had to come back to proof read,na wah for this auto type self,it can make someone write gbagaun like kilode.you go type something jeje,auto will change your words to another thing,abeg I go school ooo...lol

26. Uniformed men,claiming to be above the law.His eyes will clear now by force,useless man,.

I pray the girls family gets Justice..

Rip lady..

27. This is terrible. That man should be thrown into the darkest pit in hell.

28. The land lady's version sounds more sincere. What if he was the one that poured the sniper into her mouth before finishing her off? I know that situation of stubbornly going back inside for him to kill you. I experienced it first hand with my ex, i held him down to finish what he has started o... that he must kill me. It wasn't until i woke up in the hospital after being unconscious since the previous day that i realised i would have actually died for nothing out of my foolishness. Had time to think over my life on that hospital bed. Ran for my dear life after that and never looked back. My life may not be perfect today but i'm a happier and more confident woman. I got my grove back. I'm commenting with my ID i know and the internet doesn't forget, but this story replayed my life. If your earthly father won't want his daughter to be in harms way, why then would you think that your heavenly Daddy who loves you much more will want you to remain in an abusive relationship? I'm a DV survivor. Why i even open this post sef? Sad much.

1. God bless you for sharing.

2. The way the man was screaming 'she took sniper'showed that he shoved it down her throat.If only Nigerian cops will investigate this thoroughly.

29. Smh RIP, say NO to domestic violence .

30. WHY are people in Abusive relationship always finding it difficult to leave?

She wanted him to kill her,I guess he granted her her wish..

Rip to her.

31. Hnmmm such a sad one. May she rest well with her maker. It is well.

32. What a waste!She just died like that, may her soul Rip

33. RIP to her. This is what happened two strong headed people marry. No one is willing to back down which always result in two fighting

34. The landladys story sounds sincere

35. Dv victims rarely talk,we as human barely talk about our problems sef, sometimes when life gets to me I just lock up,thank God For the gift of good friends, the min they notice I'm lowkey no chats updates or "looking for trouble " they call visit till n encourage me.i do same too.families and friends should always reachout! No its not doing Amebo it's called care. If my married friends start updating one kind memos n dps,i try to visit or hangout.scars don't hide, unhappiness don't hide!

36. Igando 👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎

37. “I begged her to wait outside till her husband calm down, but she said she wanted him to kill her"

Okay.

MISS Jacobs.

38. She was rescued by a good neighbor but she said she wanted to be killed and went back inside for more beating. She killed herself,simple

39. #Don't complain about things you're not willing to change*

40. “I begged her to wait outside till her husband calm down, but she said she wanted him to kill her,” she added.
    Very well deserved death. Evil bad wife. Now the poor innocent man has to go and face the wrath of the law with consequences of his actions.
    This is why I keep telling men, be sensible and send her packing; thuggery and domestic violence or any form of molestation will do you no good.
    Unfortunately, neither the woman actually wanted to die, nor the man wish to murder her.
    Mtcheeew

1. thanks to God despite how she frustrate me and even mock me of situations and she was saying all she needs was for me to hit her and she could use it against me, I thank God for his glory in my life today. Men should learn to control their anger and leave the scene immediately she tries to frustrate you, some woman are built to be verbally abusive but it takes a tough one to overlook but just keep saying to yourself I'm not gonna be a murderer just walk away. She said she wants to do when she was told to stay back, just imagine. May God keep meb away from Ogbanje wonen who are on mission to destroy one's life. The moment she provokes you, just walk away.. Rip to her

41. This matter no suppose too hard. I think the man beat her, yes; I think she is rude, yes; I also think she drank poison to implicate and frame the man otherwise why the urgent need for oil in the hospital. The landlady is a miscreant trying to bring the man down.

42. I am very peeved right now and I am going to say my mind truthfully: How many times have a man been killed by another man in a duel or whatever. Irrespective of the difference in strength? It's because, if you see person wey get power pass you, and you don already engage the fight mistakenly, just surrender early or back out. These women are very abusive and controlling and manipulative and looking for early grave. Divorce them early and send them packing at the first notification of bad character. I feel for Israel. Every violent man is a fool. Even if she no gree divorce or to leave your house or she tear your cloth, or destroy your property, send her packing. It's better than stories that touch. Most of them na time bomb, living corpse. Don't be a murderer. Na person pikin, sister, aunty, etc.

1. Some Women just dey find who go kill them last last.

2. Exactly what i learnt so far In life, some women just want U to commit but be wise enough to ignore all her abuse. Today I left her to God to judge between me and her. Living in luxury peace now since we seperated, let her keep lieing to people but one thing I sure believe is that, I leave everything to God to judge.

43. Wicked no evil husband 😈😈😈.

44. Most Uniform men Are wife beaters

45. Autopsy should be conducted on the body to know cause of death. Men are wicked oh.......beating your wife because she couldn't have a second child....OMG, what's wrong with world people.....to think that they have a son already.....hmmmm

46. This man deserves jungle justice