Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Judge Dissolves 5 Year Old Marriage Because Man Gave Consent For Wife's Womb To Be Removed Without Her Consent.

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Judge Dissolves 5 Year Old Marriage Because Man Gave Consent For Wife's Womb To Be Removed Without Her Consent.

The five-year-old marriage of a couple, the Muslius, came crashing on Thursday when the wife found out that her husband had her womb removed without her consent..

A housewife on Thursday asked an Ibadan Customary Court to dissolve her marriage because her husband rendered her barren by conniving with doctors to remove her womb without her consent, P.M news gathered.

“My lord, Musiliu has systematically rendered me barren, because I can no longer conceive due to the removal of my womb during a caesarean surgery when I was trying to deliver my first child.

“While in the hospital, he should have informed any of my relatives that for me to have a safe delivery, my womb must be removed.

“It is not until recently that Musiliu wanted to be having sexual intercourse with me that he directed me to go for family planning.
“Then, medical personnel told me that I no longer have womb.

“Worst still, Musiliu is a drunkard and insensitive in all aspect of life,’’ Kafilat told the court, sitting in Ile Tuntun area of Ibadan.

However, Musiliu Raji, who opposed the divorce, did not deny the allegation levelled against him, but pleaded with the court to help keep his relationship with Kafilat.

“My lord, it is true that her womb was removed but the doctor informed me that her womb had already been damaged and the only option was total removal for her safe delivery.
“The doctor also advised me not to let her know until over a year when she could bear the pain,” said Musiliu who lives with Kafilat at Ologuneru area of Ibadan.

Dissolving the marriage, the court president, Mr Henric Agbaje, held that it was clear that there was no more love between the couple.
He awarded custody of their four-year-old son to Kafilat and directed Musiliu to provide N4,000 monthly allowance for his upkeep, in addition to being responsible for the child’s education.

*I dont think the man deliberately did it though..what would be his gain?.I understand she is in pains but that act probably saved her life.I have heard of cases like this where there was serious bleeding and the womb had to be removed to save the Patient....In such cases,in that SOS moment,the woman is not asked for consent,her partner is made to sign papers not to sue later.
I pray she understands and forgives him.

47 comments:

1. His reasons for the action were good woman,why divorce him nah and he still was begging for you not to go,when in most cases the opposite will be what we will hear...just hope she knows what she is doing because before reality will dawn on her she might just come back to see another woman in her home

1. The woman is obviously feeling bad but it's been done. Let her move on with her life. God can still make her carry a baby without the normal process

2. Abi oh. Where is she going to? Since she has no womb and blames d man she is supposed to sit in his house so they bare it together

3. Exactly! No other man will marry her without a womb. She should pray for God's protection on her only child!

4. If indeed his reasons were good, he should still have told her once she came to . It's her body. Now that she heard from third party,...

5. Eyah the man did No wrong he only saved her life. She didn't talk to the right people before going to court, she wasn't well advised.

2. Yeah this is what happens in a country where women need their husband's permission to travel with her child.
    Why did she divorce him when she can pray and the womb will grow back after all he did it for her sake. Mschew.

1. Would you have expected the doctors to close her up, wake her up and tell her the have to remove her womb because it's totally damage and that's the way to save her life?

Isn't it the husband they will talk to and make him sign? What family member is above the husband? They are now one so everything goes thru hjm
      If he was having a procedure and he was under the knife and something needs to be taken off permanently, the wife will be the one to sign and give consent..

So what are you on about?? You are so bitter you loose logic in single matters

2. pardon my ignorance, does womb grow back?

3. The womb will grow back??? Wow! Just wow!

4. Pray for the womb to grow back kwa? OK na

5. What is this one saying?

6. She's just been sarcastic people! She doesn't really mean the womb will grow back,quite d opposite

7. I understand the situation.

Womb needs to be removed to save life -yes
      Next of kin is informed -yes

The only part I don't understand is the dr telling hIm not to tell her until one year. What kind of nonsense is that?
      Once she was awake they should have told her. Or maybe 2 weeks later after she has had time to bond with her baby. Or can avoid post natal depression.

Which one is one yr so she can bear the pain? These are the things that nigerian men do that I don't like.

8. Womb grow back ke!! That's laughable

3. Eeyaa! Sorry ma, shit happens.

4. That man and the useless doctors that did the hysterectomy without her consent should be send to jail.
    Namesense

1. Should they have stopped trying to save her life, wake her up from the anesthesia she is under and inform her they need to take off her womb?

2. Her consent how? When it was done to save her life?

It was a matter of life or death. They can't wait for her. Decisions has to be taken asap.

3. So they would have waited for her to regain consciousness or die to get her consent in a matter of life and death

4. Exactly! She is the patient, therefore must be told of every procedure to be carried on her! Except if she is too weak and not coherent enough to read and understand instructions! Also, why wait for a year before disclosing it!

5. Ah ah...well, your explanation makes it clear

6. Madam kafilat you would have died! So why are you bitter?

BTW, What would 4k provide? Like 4k per month? Mmmmmm this judge is not a Nigerian o.

1. Exactly.. She would have died. They wouldn't have stopped the surgery to wake her up to get her consent. .. They will only send 1 or 2 doctors to step out and speak to the man and get him to sign..

Or does this decision look like an easy one for the man knowing he is going to have one child with her only.

2. The wages or income justified the amount, mind you he bears responsibility of the child's education.

3. It's always 4k those winch judges always give..like wtf will 4k provide? 4k won't even buy bread for 30 days sef

7. Well may be he should have told her family, but at that moment he was her proxy so he gave his consent on her behalf.

8. the judge think say na USA $4000 he think say he talk. abeg o wombs dey grow back? instead say divine miracle can make her get a new one from God.

9. Mr. Agbaje no sense at all. N4,000 for a monthly upkeep inukwa. You are a foolish judge.

1. Do you know how much he earns? Do you think everybody can afford dt money in Nigeria of today? People are going through problems and the Nigerian issue is not helping matters.
      Aside dt, loveme jejely, I really loved your old personality but this new you is not you at all. you used to be so sweet and fun. pls bring back our old jejely.

10. 4k....chicken change lasan-lasan. Wetin that one reach for this economy?

11. But that act saved her life na

12. the man did what had to be done at that critical point in time. madam you two have a child together, Please reconsider.

13. This alimony law was made when 1 naira = 1pound. Now devaluation has bastardized the naira and that law needs to be reviewed

14. Let her stay with him and suffer the consequences together.

15. Divorce ke? She should have demanded he had a vasectomy.

16. Illiteracy at its peak.
    They probably did this Hysterectomy because the woman was severely bleeding and they needed to save her life.
    The man shld have left her to bleed to death so she wld be buried with intact womb and continue bearing kids in cemetery.
    If you already have 2/3 kids, pls tell me what you need the womb for again.
    Cant someone with logic explain this to the woman?

1. Why did he not tell her immediately after the procedure when she gained consciousness? That's the messed up bit. It's her body! She has the right to know ugh

2. And you think a woman who has probably been through a traumatic childbirth neseccitating a c.s and hysterectomy would have been in a condition to be told that her womb has been removed and she would never have kids again? What if she developed high blood pressure in her delicate condition and dies? The shock and sorrow alone could be too much for to handle. Think well nau

17. Madam why the divorce? You should have stayed with your husband and bear it together in love. It will only take the grace of God for you to get a man

18. But why is she asking for divorce?
    Looks like every litle thing now, someone will just go the divorce door. SMH.
    If she's angry that he signed up for her womb without her consent (even though we all know it's to save her life) why leave him? Stay put and deal with the aftermath together.

19. She should have stayed,her ovaries would have been left behind,so she can actually use a surrogate to bear more children.
    she can even use her sisters or Mother.

20. Something similar happened my aunt almost got in trouble, my Cousin had serious complications during the birth of her child, she kept loosing blood was transfused about 13 pints, the Doctors did their best to salvage the womb as it was her first but as a last resort to save her life had to do an emergency hysterectomy. Hubby was not on ground at the time, mobile phones were not very common so my aunt signed the consent. I don't know Why ever on earth her Husband was not informed immediately he got back. He was told when she was eventually about to be discharged and all hell let loose o