Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Judge Dissolves Marriage Over Phone Battery Brouhaha

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Judge Dissolves Marriage Over Phone Battery Brouhaha

A burst up between a couple, Alade Muniru and his wife Sadiat, over the removal of a telephone battery has resulted to the collapse of their 18-year-old marriage.

Sadiat had approached the Ogungun Customary Court at Agodi in Ibadan, seeking the dissolution of the marriage, explaining that her husband had turned her into a punching bag.

In her testimony before the court on Friday, the plaintiff narrated how her sweetheart of 18 years had beaten her mercilessly on New Year Day for tampering with his telephone battery.

He said, “Although he used to beat me at least twice a week but that of the first day in the New Year was beyond what I can bear.

“I have four children for him and he rarely caters for me and the kids, despite my total submission to him as the head of the family.

“I, therefore, pray the court to separate us as his parents too are not helping matters, due to the support given to him whenever I reported to them about his bad attitude.”

The husband admitted the allegation, pleading with court to grant the divorce, saying that he was equally not interested in the marriage anymore.

Alade, a battery charger, described his wife as a deviant, who hardly obeyed his instructions.

He said that Sadiat had been warned several times not to touch his phone battery “because customers would not be able to reach me whenever my handset battery is down.

He said, “ I do not joke with my job and I prefer allowing her to go than doing what will affect my job negatively, so the court should as a matter of urgency grant the dissolution.”

The president of the court, Chief Mukaila Balogun, wasted no time in dissolving the marriage since both parties had agreed to part ways.

Balogun, however, directed the defendant to take two of the children in his custody while the plaintiff should take care of the other two kids.

He ordered the defendant to be paying N6, 000 as monthly allowance for the two kids in the custody of the plaintiff.

(NAN)

32 comments:

1. What kind of paying nonsense 6k for the upkeep? Monthly, in this recession? Then the court will now say the man took care of the child. They should better review this child support payment o, I am sure it's the same amount that was payable in the 80's, you all need to review these laws.

2. You need to know how much the man is making in a month to arrive at that. I. Don't know why most of you can't think very well.

3. After 18 years and two kids, her eyes opened?

2. Seems its the poor in this country that divorce alot. Frustration makes them take it out on their wives and beat them anyhow. And na them born children pass .

1. Says who? The rich and mighty battle too. It's actually the poor pple that struggle to keep their marriages. The rich can afford lawyers and easily move on

3. Poverty is a big case in marriage!!!!
    Oga judge,pls what 'll 6k buy for 2kids every month?????
    Madam he has been beating you so why is the New year beating any different???? 18years no be 18says\months!!!!
    Oga battery beater so you wantu panel beat your wife because of job you don't feed your family from as your wife claim.
    Its good as you both have gotten what you wanted,now the kids can have peace!!!!

4. Any marriage not backed by God will definetly end like this.

5. The phone battery was the the last straw that broke the Igando camel's back...

6. She shouldn't hv disobeyed a very simple instruction.

7. Heeeeeeeee, just like that.

8. The both of you are tired of the marriage. Madam you should have worked on your marriage because of your little angels.

1. She should have worked on her marriage when he beats her at least twice every week for how many years??

SAY NO TO DOMESTIC VOILENCE!

9. Wives of poor men are always quick to leave d marriage but if he's a rich man she will rather leave d marriage in a body bag.

10. I really do think see anything wrong with it. People are no longer In for it.

11. There wasn't a marriage in the first place!

12. Na wa. Poor men everywhere. Oga judge your head no correct oo. Can you give your wife 6000 a month. Shame

1. It's your head that's not correct here. Opolo eja

13. But this man could have bought himself a phone with embedded battery, at least the wife can't remove it again n safe d marriage.

14. Hian...end time marriage

15. Is better they go their separate ways instead of the man to go to prison and the woman goes to great beyond or the other way round.

16. am happy she is working away this domestic violence is becoming a daily activity...God protect ur people...

17. Stells! This caption is misleading. The marriage broke down because of domestic violence. According to the petitioner, her husband used to beat her at least twice a week. What broke the camel's ‎back was the beating she got on the 1st day of this new year for "tampering" with his phone battery.

Apart from the physical abuse, she claimed that he doesn't take care of her and their 4 kids. She also claimed that his parents are in support of how he treats his family. The respondent on the other hand, told the court he wants the marriage dissolved as well. He claims that she has been warned several times not to touch his phone battery because if the battery runs down, his clients would not be able to reach him. He also described her as a deviant and a stubborn wife. He also wants the dissolution as a matter of urgency.

The reason the court dissolved the marriage with little hesitation is, quite clearly, the marriage has broken down irretrievably. When love is gone in a marriage, the slightest offence will be blown out of proportion. One party can even kill the other out of frustration, so it's better to dissolve the marriage. Luckily for them, they were only married traditionally. If they were wedded in a church licensed to issue marriage certificates or at a Registry, they would need to prove much more for the High Court to grant the petition.

The marriage ended because the couple could no longer tolerate each other and not necessarily because the petitioner "tampered" with her husband's phone battery. Like I stated on another post, traditional marriage can be dissolved by merely returning the bride price to the husband. Couples only go to court where custody of children and upkeep are in issue, like the instant case.‎

18. They are not compatable so no need of being together.