Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LAUTECH Lecturers Say They Won’t Return To Classrooms Even If Students Resume

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

LAUTECH Lecturers Say They Won’t Return To Classrooms Even If Students Resume

Biodun Olaniran, chairman of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), LAUTECH chapter, has announced that its members will not end their 7 months strike if their demands are not fully met.

Olaniran told TheCable Lifestyle that the management of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology has the liberty to open the school but cannot force them to work.

“The university is at liberty to open the university at any particular time but what it means is that our union will not go back to the classroom even if the students are on ground until our demands are met.”

An official press release issued on the matter reiterated the union chairman’s stand.

“This is to inform members of the public that the on-going strike of ASUU LAUTECH is still very much in force. Much as we are eager to bring the struggle to a close, the government in its characteristic manner has been engaging in empty propaganda and politics of lies rather than honestly addressing the issues in contention.

“The issue is very simple: Adequate funding of the university. The only alternative to this is to insist on running in IGR. If we succumb to this proposal, school fees will be increased in astronomical proportion. This is a sure way of denying the seeming children of the poor masses access to university education. ASUU says NO to this.

“Presently, LAUTECH is being owed a whopping sum of N7.6b by the governments of Oyo and Osun states. It is out of this that a paltry sum of N500m is being released. The question is can we in good conscience say that LAUTECH’s problem has been attended to? It is better to solve this problem once and for all, rather than calling in the students only to resume our strike after one month.

“In the light of the above, ASUU LAUTECH to make it clear that its strike is still in full force. Don’t let them deceive you to send your children to school knowing fully well that we are not going to attend to them. ASUU will make a clear statement to the public when our strike is over.”

The vice-chancellor of the university, Suleiman Gbadegesin, was not available to make comments when contacted by TheCable Lifestyle.

14 comments:

1. Lord have mercy on your children...this is the worst government ever...my bunkie sister has spent 7yrs now for a 5yrs course...she was celebrating that they finally called it off o and now this rubbish again...
    Ajimobi is a curse to oyo state..

2. I really feel for lautech students. I can see the state govt and the school mgt really want to frustrates them.

3. Na wa oh. Our politicians are nothing but thieves and only care about their stomach. I don't even blame the union. The governors should do the needful

4. Virtually, every sector in Nigeria is on strike... It is sad

1. Oyo and osun government need to Decide who to own the school and there will be proper running of this school.

5. Constituted Authority Ajimobi and the goatee what are you guys doing. Pay them their money now. Kindly meet part of the 7 billion they are asking of.

6. Abeg which kind wahala. Be this

7. Why na
    Nigeria and way of study
    Government should intervene in this matter so that the students can go back before they forget the ones they have learnt.