Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NBA Proposes Law As Second Degree in Nigerian Universities

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

NBA Proposes Law As Second Degree in Nigerian Universities

In a move to raise the bar for Nigerian lawyers, the Nigerian Bar Association, NBA is seeking to make the study of law a second degree course in Nigerian Universities.

The idea was one of the issues contained in the agenda before a committee convoked by the national body of lawyers to find lasting solution to the seemingly low standard of legal profession in the country. Though, the idea is still an agenda for the committee, however it will change the face of law study in Nigeria, if the committee considers it worthwhile.

The 23-man committee inaugurated weekend by the NBA president, Abubakar Mahmud, SAN is chaired by Chief Anthony Idigbe, SAN, while Dr Aminu Gamawa is the secretary. The agenda states, among others: ”Given the current size of the legal profession, its exponential growth in recent years in relation to the needs of the Nigerian economy, the committee will consider the desirability of candidates seeking admission to the law faculties in Nigeria to possess a degree in another discipline as a condition for admission.” The statement signed by the NBA secretary , Isiaka Olagunju reads in part: “The Nigerian Bar Association has repeatedly expressed concerns in the falling standard of legal education and legal practice. 

This is a disturbing phenomenon that must be addressed urgently and adequately.” Other key issues on the committee’s agenda are that it should “review the current regulatory objectives and the regulatory architecture of the legal profession and advise on its suitability to meet the current requirements for a robust, responsive and independent modern legal profession in Nigeria.’’ 

from vanguard

51 comments:

1. Thats one thing with humans. You achieve something and hold every other perosn by your standard. So, after these double degrees, they'll still go for law school and eventually invest over 10years? I'm pretty sure at the end of that, they still have to contend with the likes of these people who still think they have something to prove even after the years spent.

They should look inwards, the law school should go digital and improve their MO. That's all they need.

1. I hope that as they intend to copy Harvard, they also up their standards. It's not to sit somewhere and make things difficult for people.

Don't be bored, read a story. Pay us a visit

2. Cool. I'll be happy to apply.

3. Better.I knew of a girl in my school then who got 40 in her PUME as against the 70 for the cut off marks for law,But with the help of her dad's influence,she was able to study law only to finish the course and jet out of the country to study "her own choice" as she calls it because she said it was her dad's idea to do law and not hers.Meanwhile there was a girl who scored 80 but she wasn't given law.If they re able to implement this,It will prevent some empty medulla oblongata (who rely on daddy's influence for everything) from gaining entrance into the course.😠😠😠

1. What makes you feel that she or her likes won't get their way again even if they change this?

2. Thank God!!! To avoid... the money that was spended, was well spended... Dalung has an LLM!!! JeezπŸ˜’πŸ˜’πŸ˜’

3. @Anonymous 11:08, nah you biko. Kai you got one in stiches with this perfect example of just why law needs to be a second degree.

4. Good for Law Students and Lawyers

5. If only they can make education affordable and fast.at 19 years you are done with 1st degree then this should not be a bad idea, one can get a 2nd degree in law.

6. This can never work in Nigeria. .nobe dis country agn..

7. Beautiful, such policy should also be xtended to medical profession as well.

1. In some developed countries law and medicine aren't studied anyhow. You do a first degree and then come back for it. At that point you are sure of what you want.

2. You are sick upstairs

8. so after studying it as a second degree I will still nah go to law school and den nysc ba?... is my destiny to be a student in life?... all this yeye yeye policies self

1. Just look at you! Did you type this or your subconscious did?

It's because of half baked graduates like you they need to raise the bar.

Too many incompetent professionals soiling the profession.

2. Just look at you! Did you type this or your subconscious did?

It's because of half baked graduates like you they need to raise the bar.

Too many incompetent professionals soiling the profession.

3. Lmaooooooooo Owen who born you lol
      Chi

9. I actually agree with this. You have someone leaving high school at 16 and becoming a lawyer at 21 and going to court to say nonsense. They have textbook knowledge but no practical skills. The legal profession has become a joke. Law is a second degree in most countries.

10. That's how it is done in the abroad.

11. Ndi lawyers how far. Is it a good thing

12. On what senseless base biko? Abeg make I read my own law finish before they start this one.

13. I concur with the opinion. I see my mates who am better off,not been proud,studying law,shey na beauty peagent dem dey do for there? Some of them can't even read a literature text straight up.studying law,what a joke.

1. Just shut up!!!what makes you think you are better than them?? You are better than them,but they will still graduate and get job before you.Let your body continue to pepper you there!!mtcheww

2. Kee urself ntor!

3. You think is easy to read law and graduate from law sch that u are speaking gibberish. What makes u think u are better than them or do u think intelligence is measured by looks. Fr ur information they dnt go to law sch to study literature, they deal with hard books that ur type can never comprehend.

14. I don't like the idea, what nonsense

15. Wow! I can guarantee the death of the Law profession in Nigeria overtime. Why would any sane human being invest over a decade of his life on getting a degree that pays less than 20k salary? Strike dey dia o. Law school, NYSC. Mehn, but why do these old farts hate the young so much? You were once young, did your own elders hate you this much for your youths. Why not let the young grow happily? Why deny them every opportunity to live a good life? You continue to ruin the society so much that our own children's survival is at the mercy of Providence. Posterity will judge you for your wickedness.
    Leave us alone. Many people choose the path voluntarily i.e take a first degree before Law as a second degree. If there is any benfits, they reap it. Stop making life more difficult for the young. Learn to age gracefully. It's inevitable. We all grow old.

1. You're the only one really thinking ahead here.
      20k sef is a bit better..... I know of a law firm that offered 15k. Some will not pay.... they'll say you're using their firm to gain experience. The top lawyers and officials in NBA are very suppressive people. They love to keep young ones down.
      Instead of being a lawyer in this country with their yeye standards, I'd rather go elsewhere or become a footballer. Nobody came to this earth with the intention of suffering joor.

2. The reason they are paying the 15K - 20K is what this new consideration is trying to address.

There are way too many lawyers that are half baked and don't have the requisite experience thus firms pay them peanuts as they are actually being trained.

If this way is approved, all fresh lawyers would already be graduates and thus would be at the Masters level, thus firms cannot pay them peanuts anymore as jobbers would have diverted to work after the 1st degree while serous minded people focused on being lawyers would proceed with it for their 2nd degrees.

3. While it's true that they pay peanuts to young lawyers, however, u can never be poor as a lawyer bcs they are so many things u can engage in tht will fetch u money irrespective of wt you earn. And mainly is not how far,bt how well bcs one transaction is enough to make u rich as lawyer. And once u gather enough experience and proceed to open your own chamber, that's when you will truly knw that u can nvr be poor as a lawyer. Though it may be rough at the beginning bt as time goes on, it shall eventually be smooth.

4. While it's true that they pay peanuts to young lawyers, however, u can never be poor as a lawyer bcs they are so many things u can engage in tht will fetch u money irrespective of wt you earn. And mainly is not how far,bt how well bcs one transaction is enough to make u rich as lawyer. And once u gather enough experience and proceed to open your own chamber, that's when you will truly knw that u can nvr be poor as a lawyer. Though it may be rough at the beginning bt as time goes on, it shall eventually be smooth.

16. Nigerians always want to copy policies but lack standards to apply it. Our educational system is fucked up nd most lawyers dnt knw d diff btw dea head from dea ass.

17. After years of studying law,will they guarantee us a Job. It's not a bad idea after all but I can't imagine spending years to study a course and when it's about time to make a living out if it there won't be anything to show for it.

Still struggling to get me a job, to enter ministry of Justice na by connect, this is not really fair.

1. My dear bola, it's just too bad. When were you called? Was called two months ago but still know not what to do right now. And to think that as a lawyer, people look up to you as a potential rich somebori lol. It's well. You suffer for six good years only to come back and start hustling. The profession boasts of nothing but prestige. Who prestige epp abeg. It really is well.

18. @ringing or whatever u call ur self... am half baked what's ur own inside... so I must agree with this new policy to show how educated I am... clap for ur self... I see how ur so called education has narrowed ur mindset that anyone who doesn't agree with u is half baked... obviously u know nothing about me... so I won't give someone like u d joy of exchanging words with me.... cos in a thousand years u won't be my class... so shift Jor... coming online to insult someone u don't know from Adam.... Wat insolence

1. Errrrrrrrm, you were 'featured' yesterday abi?? OK!!!!

Sha no vex for ringing, he/she didn't mean it like that!!!

2. I ain't perturbed about your opinion, my problem lies with the grammatical blunder, error and horrible abbreviations.

Learn to speak/write English properly or better still communicate in your native dialect.

3. I ain't perturbed about your opinion, my problem lies with the grammatical blunder, error and horrible abbreviations.

Learn to speak/write English properly or better still communicate in your native dialect.

19. Making it a second degree will still not improve the standard and quality of education in the Universities. It will only result in a decline in supply which will most likely drive the price of their services up. You can be sure that their own kids will be sent abroad to study and still come back younger and more desirable to top companies that set age limits for graduate positions.

They should focus on revising the courses and make them more relevant instead of burning the bridge after they've crossed. Nigerians are good at making life difficult for themselves while oyibo is constantly thinking of how to make life easier which is why we can enjoy the advances in technology and all.

20. Second degree my foot. Is that what will open the brain of the students. Rubbish. They should think of how to improve the welfare of lawyers like doctors.

21. Must everything be about money. Anyone who wants to study law should be passionate about it to pursue it as a second degree. I think this is a welcome development. At least it will reduce the number of quacks we have around cos if it's not truly your passion. You will probably be exhausted from the stress of the first degree. It should be implemented asap. Say no to amateur lawyers.

22. If this should hold, then what happens to the law school? Be scrapped?
    Impossible is the next word! All they need to do is to tighten, improve and standardize the existing "law school" instead of compounding the profession and making it hard for people pursue a career in it.

23. The most widely recognized activity offenses incorporate going over as far as possible, inconsiderate or perilous driving, drink driving, Estate Planning