Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Woman Who Murdered Husband In Delaware Gets Only 4 Years After His Past Was Exposed.

Monday, January 02, 2017

Nigerian Woman Who Murdered Husband In Delaware Gets Only 4 Years After His Past Was Exposed.

No one disputed the fact that Adeyinka Adebamiro's wife stabbed him to death in their Red Lion home, but two very different images of Adebamiro emerged at his wife Temitope's sentencing in a Delaware courtroom .

Adebamiro's family said he was a respected pharmacist trying to follow his Nigerian family's values by saving a deeply-troubled marriage for the couple's two children. The evidence, however, pointed to a darker truth.

Temitope's attorney provided Superior Court Judge Andrea L. Rocanelli with evidence of scars on Temitope's body from his abuse and numerous videos showing that Adebamiro was not only unfaithful, but was having sex with prostitutes.

The 37-year-old man was also being investigated at the time of his death by federal authorities for illegally selling $20,000 worth of prescription pills each week through his six pharmacies in the Philadelphia area, her attorney Kathryn van Amerongen said. Temitope only learned of this when she received in prison a federal forfeiture notice saying the government wanted to seize nearly $300,000 from her deceased husband.

In the end, Rocanelli said little – but sent a clear message. She sentenced the 36-year-old mother to only four years in prison, a lenient sentence for a defendant who admitted to murder and could have faced up to 50 years.

Temitope rocked back and forth, crying quietly throughout the hearing. van Amerongen read a letter on her behalf in which she expressed remorse and apologized to Adebamiro's family for her "unplanned, yet inexcusable actions."

She said the most difficult thing will be, someday, to explain to her children, ages 5 and 8, what happened to their father.

By all accounts, the couple's marriage was irreparable long before Temitope stabbed her husband in their stately home on Healy Court in April 2015.

Deputy Attorney General Colleen Norris said Adebamiro wanted to end the marriage, but was stuck between two cultures and two generations. One side was telling him to get a divorce. The other pushed him to stick it out.

The ensuing drama was dizzying. There were trips back and forth to Nigeria. Children left with a nanny. And a post-nuptial agreement aimed at stopping the chaos.

None of this was discovered by authorities until Adebamiro's death led them into the couple's world.

New Castle County police learned the two had been married for more than 10 years. Temitope told investigators her husband was physically abusive to her and had been cheating on her with various women, including her own sister and the nanny's daughter, court documents said.

On the night of the killing, Temitope told investigators her husband had sent her to Nigeria for several months. After returning in December, she had to stay in a hotel near the Philadelphia airport for four days because her husband refused to let her into their home.

He then paid for her to fly back to Nigeria for a few more months to live with a pastor, according to documents and statements in court.

Temitope was only allowed to return to Delaware and see her children after she signed a post-nuptial agreement that turned over all control of the couple's property and assets to Adebamiro. The agreement also established rules for her return, including a ban on crying and allowing the nanny to control the upbringing of the couple's children, van Amerongen said.

"These were rules that are well beyond what anybody would call a normal post-nuptial agreement," she said. "It was entirely one-sided."

The written agreement was found by investigators on one of Adebamiro's computers in a locked office in their home. Also found on the computer was surveillance footage that captured images of Adebamiro having sex with other women and conducting a drug deal, van Amerongen said.

This data dump provided a significant break in the case, she said. While it did not show Adebamiro physically abusing his wife, it did show him using on other women sex toys that Temitope had claimed were used to assault and scar her, van Amerongen said.

"The big picture starts to look like he was sexually aggressive and violent toward her," she said.

van Amerongen gave the judge this information, as well as hospital and police reports that lent credibility to Temitope's statements about the abuse, some of which occurred while she was pregnant.

While the judge weighed this information, she also heard from Adebamiro's brother, Dotun.

"I'm sure it is a loss to him – and someone has to say that," Dotun said. "It is not just a loss to us."

He asked the judge to consider a lengthy sentence so the children can grow up without interference from their mother.

"No matter how much love, effort I put into reassuring them... they are always reminded of his lack of presence," Dotun said.

Norris asked the judge to sentence Temitope to 12 years in prison. She claimed this was not a one-sided domestic abuse case, but instead a broken marriage with abuse coming from both parties.

The final trigger for this troubled marriage came last year when Adebamiro and his wife flew back from Nigeria together. As he showed her the cameras inside their home over his cellphone, Temitope saw the nanny's daughter inside the home, documents said.

At one point, Temitope saw several texts and images on her husband's phone, which she took pictures of using her cellphone. Some of the pictures included images of her sister and the nanny's daughter, court document said.

Around 9 p.m. on the night of the killing, the couple had been talking and watching television on the couch when her husband discovered the photos she'd taken on her cellphone, according to court documents.

As he yelled at her, Temitope told police there was a power outage, the court documents said. Investigators checked with Delmarva Power, which indicated there was no power outage at the time, police said.

Temitope then told police that when the power returned, she found her husband in the first-floor bedroom lying in the bed. As she got closer to him, she saw a knife on the ground which she picked up and took to the kitchen, according to documents.

Temitope suggested to police that her husband stabbed himself and changed her story several times, according to court documents. Police found him around 12:40 a.m. with a single stab wound near his neck.

She was charged with first-degree murder and has been held at the Baylor Women's Correctional Institution ever since.

Norris said the state offered Temitope a plea because the defense would have presented evidence from that night that could be considered a triggering event for extreme emotional distress. The state also wanted to avoid airing a difficult family situation.

Temitope was allowed to plead guilty to manslaughter under a section of the code for extreme emotional distress and a weapons offense in September.

van Amerongen said had Adebamiro still been alive, he could have faced 20 years to life for the abuse he inflicted on his wife.

"I respect the family members," she said. "But they have a vision of their brother not borne out in those videos."

from delwareonline - this article was published in December 2016.

87 comments:

1. Nawa o, and she will finally say Temitope just like her name. Just 4yrs, RIP to her hubby, nobody is holy

1. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm....... Lucky her

2. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm....... Lucky her

3. I in read all that one! Oyibo na oyibo. Give up d money for a lesser deal simple and sort.. All d allegations may be lies, na d money they want if d woman agrees , they cut back on d jail terms...well she made a smart choice 1m $ or not her kids and freedom shd come 1st. NNE Pele

4. All these men beating woman and maltreatment them up and down
      There is only so.much someone can take. Head of the house head of the house. Just like this week's chronicle. They will be doing them like slaves. One day one day the woman shall crack. I don't think killing is the right answer but I understand. How can you treat your wife like that ship her off to naija for months only for her 5o return and u want to ship her off again to stay with a pastor. A pastor!!!! They would have been telling her he is hour husband manage God said this and that. Jesus take control don't let me rise animals as son's

2. She has a good lawyer!
    4yrs! Na person wey die lose.
    When a woman's scorned, run!

1. Shut up your chauvinistic mouth...good lawyer my ass! Whether he was sleeping with an animal is irrelevant in a murder case. She claimed she was abused, why didn't she leave his abusive ass? Coz 2 cultures were confusing her, abi? How many of those advisers are going to be in jail with her? I'm glad she'll be haunted by the fact that she murdered her childrens father & has the herculan task of explaining it to her children.

2. You are the one to shut up you bastard.......thank God he is dead.....women should stop tolerating abuse...stupid family ranting like they didn't know the evil their son did....thank God she was abroad, if na naija now na life she for get...

3. Women should know when to leave this kind of marriages in order to avoid stories that touch.

1. She was the abuser. All allegations against the husband are lies

2. @Anon 22:21 you are right....... her story no make sense. Right from the time the news broke she hhasbeen lying endlessly. See her mugshot sef...... she could still find the strength to smile. The woman na winsh.

3. I want to beat up her sister so bad!
      What's her name

4. He cheated on the wife with her sister? Ha! That sister must be the devil in the home.

And their kids r still small.

5. Four years is fair enough....I only hope that her kids forgive her

1. Fair enough kwo? I hope it happens to you & your murderer is give 4 months not even years, idiot

2. Anon, taa mechie onu there. He was a yoruba demon.

3. Anonymous 17:19. I reject every evil prayer in Jesus' name. Anybody that wishes me death, may death visit that person and his/her household In Jesus name, may peace be far from his/her habitation, in Jesus' name. Amen

6. Stella, most nigerian marraiges in the US are a SHAM. All they know how to say is 'I'm good' even when everything don pafuka. I laugh at them a lot cos i get plenty friends there. They can sugarcoat their problems and criticize nigeria like mad. Meanwhile their personal issues weighs more than Nigeria's problems.

1. Keep on having friends there, others are going to America and you're here making friends with people in America, olodo

2. My dear i am enjoying the good of Nigeria. I live far better than some of them lol. You are the olodo for thinking living in america is the 'bomb'. Poverty has cleaved to you like second skin. Omg does anyone still aspire to live in america? Gosh nigeria must have dealt you a deadly blow. Pele

3. Same as Nigerians marriage in Nigeria

4. Discernment is needed in life. Bc some people can package for life! Vampires wizards

5. @ Freddy
      Thank u for giving it hot to d ann
      With his Poverty mentality, dat living abroad makes u richer than a comfortable person here

Anno
      I hope u know there are lots of Nigerians that can afford Vacation in any country every year

6. Anonymous 19.31 lol. Maybe she does not want to go now. Which one be oloyo in the matter Hahahhaha.

7. US the great!👏 🙆

1. You got that right! Tremendous amount of evidence and an excellent lawyer got her 4 years. The evidence spoke for itself.

8. A raging pervert and a crazy psycho killer. They both deserved themselves. I have more sympathy for the kids.

9. 20 years in prison for domestic violence. Please please and please let this law be put into effect in Nigeria. Useless animals with sadistic ego beating up women.

10. Oseeeee baddest lawyer

11. This is the wicked thing about our African people. They will know this man/woman is an abuser but will keep quiet. As soon as trouble comes than he/she is a saint. Too bad for both of them because he lost his life and her children might not forgive her because who knows what the uncle is telling them. Her sister needs to rot in hell.

1. Na wah oh.

2. I'm telling you! Very evil people! Always victimizing up and down. I just went back to read all the comments and posts from 2015 where he was being painted as a gentle saint who would go to heaven & hell for his wife, the kind of man other women dream of having as a husband etc. can they all see their lives now?

12. I didn't read. OK wife killed husband abi?. Na wa oo

13. Some people do not fear God even small, how can a sister have the mind to cheat on her own sister with the husband.

14. She'll serve maximum 3 of those 4 years & be let go if she's on her best behaviour & for the sake of the kids.

1. In 2yrs she should be out. One thing I love about their system is that the time already spent in jail awaiting trial n during trial is deducted from the sentence

15. The kids will forever hate her,4yrs, wish Nigeria legal system are like this

1. Shut up, they will not forever hate her if they know the truth....the stupid man deserved what he got

16. BV blessing is correct women should know when to leave a toxic marriage, haba!! Marriage is not do or die o! They were both psychopaths see where it ended.Father dead, mother in prison. I feel for the children.

17. BV blessing is correct women should know when to leave a toxic marriage, haba!! Marriage is not do or die o! They were both psychopaths see where it ended.Father dead, mother in prison. I feel for the children.

18. This comment has been removed by the author.

19. I hope Nigeria learn and implement such laws. 20 years for domestic violence

20. #Unexpressed emotions never die. They temporarily go away but tend to be more painful once they come back*

21. May God help her pick the pieces of her life together when she's finally out. Her kids will come around with time.

22. Getting 4 years is one part. Will she come out alive from prison now the info is out in public? Thst will be for another day.

1. Who will kill her? Bros/sis, she'll be hailed for standing up for herself. After pedophiles, abusers come second in most hated. She's oversafe in prison

2. @ Broomstick...you sound like a jail bird, very conversant with the inner workings of prison life. How many boyfriends you don kill?

3. Anon, you don't need to go to prison or even know anyone in jail to know that simple fact. It is common knowledge

23. If u are not compatible anymore better take a bow to avoid stories that touches the heart.

24. Thank God that the police investigated and found out the truth.A lot of people are rotting away in jail for crimes that were misconstrued.i pray she pulls through.in all this i feel sorry for the kids.imagine the stupid agreement,that's intimidation of the highest order.sending the woman back and forth like a Yoyo.wicked family that can't accept and admit the truth.

25. If she knew all this why did she lie in the first place? If she admitted to stabbing him from the onset, citing anger issues based on domestic abuse she might have had a better chance of avoiding even the 4 years jail term. But 4 years isn't bad. I just pity those children. She may never be allowed near them for a while. And children always take sides with the dead parent

1. 4 means she'll probably be out in 2..

26. Men please stop abusing your wives pls

27. She berra kiss her lawyer thank you,he too try selling the domestic violence story to d court!!!
    I pray your kids forgive you!

28. Now you people are saying she should have left the toxic marriage. Is it not you guys that keep advising those sending in their chronicles to endure their toxic marriages and pray? That is what she was doing till she stabbed him.

1. When the life of a spouse is evidently in danger, no sane person would encourage you to stay & die. What's the use of a dead body in a marriage

2. Lol please she went to church and the elders told her otherwise. Giving advise they would not giving advise they would not relay to their own kids.

29. That's the beauty of the American justice system. She had a really good lawyer and the jurors were kind to her suffering. She will be out in 3 years for good behaviour and because jails are crowded.

30. That man seem like he was a disciple of Satan. Ppl always use education and wealth as a determinant of character. Her husband was without character and a moral barometer, to him his wife was simply a conduit through which children would come, she meant nothing to him and he treated her less than the nanny. Yes, she had an outstanding lawyer, but the husband's computer and his own wickedness is what solved the case. I hate family members who act like their loved one was an angel when they all knew he was a beast. Hope he makes better choices in his next incarnation. The children will come around, the court documents will be their to vindicate their mother.

1. Ppl always use education and wealth as a determinant of character.
      Oh well said. Society has built ones mindset thus. But God heeds us to discernment.

31. That man seem like he was a disciple of Satan. Ppl always use education and wealth as a determinant of character. Her husband was without character and a moral barometer, to him his wife was simply a conduit through which children would come, she meant nothing to him and he treated her less than the nanny. Yes, she had an outstanding lawyer, but the husband's computer and his own wickedness is what solved the case. I hate family members who act like their loved one was an angel when they all knew he was a beast. Hope he makes better choices in his next incarnation. The children will come around, the court documents will be their to vindicate their mother.

1. Please what's this one saying? Who asked for your useless opinion?

32. I remember this incident but I do not remember if it happened in 2014. I am very shocked at most of the findings. It is very easy to condemn this Woman but I think she was pushed to the wall and reacted the way she did. I am glad she is thinking of what to tell her kids when they grow up. Her late Husband on the other hand was very shady. Don't get me wrong here. He did not deserve to die because cheating is not a death sentence. Having said that, Temitope will be out of Prison soon. She got four years but has spent over a year in Jail already which means she will get credit for time served. She will be out in less than a year or one whole year with good behavior.
    Her deceased Husband on the other hand escaped the jaws of Prison. I am not concerned about his escapades with Women. I am referring to his deals surrounding the sale of prescription drugs. He would have been caught sooner or later and would have lost everything. Temitope did not know any of these. She would not have killed him because he would have been sent far away from her. I know other Men in the same profession, who ran back home because the Feds were hot on their heels.
    All these Doctors and Pharmacists, mostly Men who are the sole breadwinners here mistreat their Wives here so much. Una read yesterday chronicle. Some Nigerian Women are suffering and smiling both at home and abroad. Most Nigerian Men need to change oo!!
    Word of advise, do not be totally financially dependent on your Man. Some of Them feel they have the Knife and the Yam. They will count every slice they cut out for you to eat. Men oo please no matter how the "Joystick" hard reach please have some decency. Not your Wife's Sister or relative. It hurts sooo much and can send someone into a rage.
    Happy New People. Let's all stay safe and be safe. May God Bless us all and make the impossible become possible this 2017. Many shall testify of your goodness o Lord.

1. Imagine a "post nuptial" that say "no crying" ? Na wah for Nigerians oh!!!
      White people do pre nuptial contract or agreement & now Nigerians are doing their own as post nuptial.
      WTF ?
      Why are many of them educated naija people abroad psycho bastards & bitches? Full of wicked craft, very sneaky & deceitful. On the outside they present a responsible & decent person image, but inside they are full of evil manipulations & hypocrisy.

To them marriage is the #1 weapon of choice to arrest the life & kidnap happiness of a fellow human being.
      In this marriage they bring out the worst in each other, turn their home into a theatre of absurd & madness of the highest order.
      My concern is for innocent being brought into this world or being raised in these sorts of homes & by such people as their parents. We all psychological trauma & childhood exposure to bad things or dysfunctional family life have far reaching implications!!!
      We worry of the several millions children today in nigeria (the next future genetation) blighted & affected by poverty.And also we still have to worry about the ones born or being raised abroad, supposedly expected to be shielded from the ugly things of life compared to their mates or peers in nigeria??? Why???
      Children abroad born to doctors, nurses, engineers, professors, social workers, pharmacists like this one here now.... tragically affected by dysfunctional home & very wicked family environment.

Tufiakwa for the Nigerians abroad....oh!!!

2. Assumptions...Nigerian men this, Nigerian men that, what of the Nigerian women...are they saints? Instead of focusing on the issue at hand, you just appear from nowhere & spew bile

33. Let me try to explain what transpired. The reason she got only 4 years imprisonment is because she accepted the plea deal offered by the District Attorney through the prosecution. The deal was, instead of facing the original charge of first degree murder, where the trial can linger on, a lot of tax payers' money spent and very sensitive evidence would be tendered "that could be considered a triggering for extreme emotional distress", she should plead guilty to a reduced charge of manslaughter which carries a maximum of 14 years imprisonment.‎

Of course she accepted the plea deal knowing that she, most likely, would have been found guilty of murder because by the time a jury hears all the inconsistencies in her statements to the police, she would be done for. By accepting the plea bargain, there was no trial per se, no jury, only the judge. Her lawyer had to furnish the court will credible evidence so the judge could see how toxic the marriage was and all the emotional and physical abuse she suffered. Her lawyer succeeded in swaying the mind of the court to see the accused as a victim of abuse, hence the lenient sentence of 4 years imprisonment instead of the 14 year maximum sentence the prosecution wanted.

Perhaps, being a woman herself, the judge ‎felt the pain of the accused after examining the evidence of infidelity and abuse. This is evident in her closing remarks. The judge said she respects the family members of the deceased but she thinks the image they have of their brother is not the same image she has of him after watching the videos revealing his shenanigans.

If the prosecution didn't offer that plea deal, she would have stood trial for murder. I'm sure the prosecution will regret offering the deal in the first place because they had no idea the court would be so lenient.‎

1. Always on top of your game

2. Gbam! I've found another smart one. The woman is guilty as hell. Just managed to wriggle out of it all.

3. Sense pikin Ronald. Yes the lawyer was smart.
      Only God can heal all parties such a painful path for all involved. Peace

4. This is a good write-ups.However l disagree with you that the final outcome would have been different if it had gone to trial.She won't be convicted of murder as it was not planned.lt may interest you to know that whether she was offered a deal or the case went to full trial she most likely would have been freed based on the overwhelming evidence of physical and emotional abuse. She is only doing 4 years because she lied from the onset and kept changing her story until the investigators cornered her.Truthful Admission of the offence at the beginning plus the evidence presented by her lawyer would have freed her.She won't spend more then 2.5years with good behaviour and she has spent almost 2 years. Also the judge was sympathetic as a woman and also had no sympathy for the husbands criminal tendencies.lt is sad he died but if one removes emotions from this case and the truth be told; the man was a very wicked individual. Imagine the sex toys he uses to pleasure other woman, he uses to injure the wife even when she was pregnant. She could have died. Then the post-nuptial agreement amongst others. The society should stop pressurizing people to stay in toxic marriages. Most lead to death of one of the patners

5. God bless you Dottie! Exactly what I was about to type.

6. Ronalda talks shit sometimes and all applaud....how would she have being tried for murder? It was obviously self defense. A history of abuse sef.....did u not read what they said happened on that day? He obviously attacked her cos he saw the pictures she had on her phone of his escapades....am so freaking happy this happened abroad where they investigate properly....

34. Thank you so much Ronaldo . Happy New Year.
    Chinwe Ubanii

35. @ ROLANDA nailed it.I just had a discussion few days past with a friend, about this case when the verdict came out and shocked!a lot of people (myself included).when i read of the new and interesting developments introduced into the case,i laughed and knew "bloody plea bargain or deal" at work again! I, like a lot of other people who knew about the whole story believed this was not a case of DV as raised in defense by the wife,in actual fact ,the late husband took exceptional care of her,(they like millions of people out there had their own marital issues) The irony of life was people back then always speculated that this lady would eventually kill her husband either by the man dying of Hypertension or heart attack due to her stressing him out,people never guessed she would eventually murdered him.
    It is what it is in law at times,especially when bigger things comes in to play,the state got what they wanted and the lady got herself literary walking free off committing murder, her defense team only had to portray the late husband as an immoral ,unfaithful sex fiend who dabbled into criminal activities(unfortunately with proof of such criminal acts)
    Justice is a two edged sword and in this scenario,the scales were set up to tipped heavily in her favour!!
    '

36. @ ROLANDA nailed it.I just had a discussion few days past with a friend, about this case when the verdict came out and shocked!a lot of people (myself included).when i read of the new and interesting developments introduced into the case,i laughed and knew "bloody plea bargain or deal" at work again! I, like a lot of other people who knew about the whole story believed this was not a case of DV as raised in defense by the wife,in actual fact ,the late husband took exceptional care of her,(they like millions of people out there had their own marital issues) The irony of life was people back then always speculated that this lady would eventually kill her husband either by the man dying of Hypertension or heart attack due to her stressing him out,people never guessed she would eventually murdered him.
    It is what it is in law at times,especially when bigger things comes in to play,the state got what they wanted and the lady got herself literary walking free off committing murder, her defense team only had to portray the late husband as an immoral ,unfaithful sex fiend who dabbled into criminal activities(unfortunately with proof of such criminal acts)
    Justice is a two edged sword and in this scenario,the scales were set up to tipped heavily in her favour!!
    '

1. Dame shut your stupid mouth.....what do u know? What is normal in an abusive man? U making it sound like the guy was a saint.....he was physically abusive, did drugs and was sleeping with prostitutes.....it's a shame she did not leave him earlier cos of what society will say

37. They gave her 4 years bc her hubby was doing something illegal n abusive! Bc of that white people will see the man as a bad person n side the lady thanking her for taking a criminal out of their system..she's lucky he's already committed

38. I think the federal probe into drug dealing at his pharmacy did him in in the eyes of the judge. Once the feds got after him, that was a sign he was extremely corrupt. The other piece is the videos of him cheating and abusing her. The evidence must have have been very damning if they were suppressed for the sake of his family. Sad tale all around.

39. Well, by the applause Tiwa's getting for reconciling with her philandering, thieving, drug sniffing husband, who accused her of sleeping with her boss and colleague, divorce is worst than death in Nigeria. It's only when one of the parties is killed at the hand of their spouse that the seriousness of their marital problems are accepted. No wonder this woman stayed in spite of everything that was going on in that marriage.

1. GBAM!! People be talking from both sides of their mouth.