Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obasanjo Registers His Support To Igbos Over 2019 Presidency

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Obasanjo Registers His Support To Igbos Over 2019 Presidency

Former president of Nigeria, Olusegun Obasanjo, has urged Igbos to contest for the presidency in 2019.

He stated this when he hosted the leadership of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), Ogun State chapter, at his Abeokuta Hilltop residence on Tuesday.

Obasanjo said he was in support of the return to regional governance, as it will solve the problem of marginalization.

He also said the people of Ogun West senatorial district, should be allowed to produce the next Governor.

“Irrespective of the thinking of the people ahead of 2019, I personally think that South-East should have a go at the Presidency too.

“The same is happening here. If Ijebu and Egba have produced the governor, it is only fair and just to allow the Yewa or Ogun West to also produce governor. Or else, one day, they will also stand up and take up arms against this injustice against them. That is my personally position on this,” Obasanjo said.

Speaking on the crisis in Southern Kaduna, the former president said: “My findings so far show that everyone is talking from the position of strength. People are not talking from knowledge of what they know and this is not helping. We must be able to dump all our sentiments to overcome the challenges.

“Just like other cases of injustice around us, we need peace; it is only peace with justice that can solve all these crises. Genuine peace is what everyone is craving for and this can only come when there is justice.”

Dailypost

88 comments:

1. Iya Oshoronga of Blogosphere25 January 2017 at 11:34

Hmmm. Abosi awa yoruba no get part 2. We are masters of the game.

1. Yes but this hoe (Obj) ain't loyal

2. Azzin ehn! Not loyal one bit. He supported Yar'dua then Jonathan later Buhari now its Ndi'gbo. He's worst than a political slut. He goes wherever he can benefit.

3. Peter Obi is definitely the man. Remember say I tAlk am wen e happen!

2. true...buhari should not contest for 2019....apc should fill in their presidential candidate from the east..and please not rochas o..i love to see an igbo president come 2019..

1. Wily is the man for the job... Whivh yeye rochas

2. In Biafra. An igbo man can't head this country, NEVER

3. So who then should the Southeast nominate. For as it is Things have already fallen apart amongst them and the centre cannot hold. Yes we preach Biafra, but then if we were opportuned the freedom we so desire we'd ruin ourselves. On a more serious note 'an average Igbo man doesn't want his fellow Igbo brother to succeed. Uhmm'(this is somewhat applicable to we humans) Anyways Fr. Mbaka will make a fine president. Just saying.

1. God forbid that fr. mbaka becomes the president...
      I will root for Peter Obi.

2. God forbid that fr. mbaka becomes the president...
      I will root for Peter Obi.

3. What are you saying and what are they saying..

You lots are the reason why people have bad things to say about the igbos. Who told you an average igbo man doesn't want another one to rule

When ekwueme contested, who dragged with him or killed him?
      When Rochas contested, who killed him

What happened to the likes of Peter obi and several others?

Please respect yourself

Thanks

4. Don't mind that Rowland goat.

4. So who then should the Southeast nominate. For as it is Things have already fallen apart amongst them and the centre cannot hold. Yes we preach Biafra, but then if we were opportuned the freedom we so desire we'd ruin ourselves. On a more serious note 'an average Igbo man doesn't want his fellow Igbo brother to succeed. Uhmm'(this is somewhat applicable to we humans) Anyways Fr. Mbaka will make a fine president. Just saying.

5. My people are selfish naturally so, nope! I don't want an igbo man for president, the Yoruba's are very much liberal, I'll rather have a room filled with Yoruba people than with igbo people.

....yes, I'm igbo!

1. God bless you for saying the truth

2. Then contest for the presidency instead of making statements like this

3. I understand your point but the only way to stop this Biafra agitation is what Baba has tabled so that the some people can be silence and we can get the peace we want. I believe in our diversity as nation.

4. Rocky, you people are the problem. You are igbo and you don't want igbo. You use yours hands to cause disunity andnsay igbos are not united . Are you united?? Because if you are, you would ask for a chance to be giving so you see what they can do

Even when a family is divided you don't come out and say it. You don't come and wash your dirty linens in public. You protect Your Own outside and lash them inside. This is what other tribes do. That's why the seem united. But you opened your hands and typed that thing above, tomorrow if another tribe comes and call your tribe names, you will be venting

You think other tribes are united? No they are not but they cover there own

Learn from them

5. @Fabmum, They cover their own, and I tell you it's still in the spirit of unity. They cover and wait for the other person to come to his/her senses. But an average igbo man is arrogant and will rather be lord of his own ring. Even without saying it out, it is a well known fact that's known to everyone, it's no secret. Igbos disunity reaches compound to compound. Don't forget the definition of your name :
      I - I
      G - Go
      B - Before
      O - Others.

@rocky, God bless you for your truthfulness. I honestly pray the igbos can come together.

6. @rocky, you are right. For every faithful well-meaning igbo man, there are a thousand others ready to pull him down. I pity my people.

7. Not all igbos ooo
      Please speak for urself.

8. @Rocky, it's either you are ignorant or just suffering from chronic inferiority complex. What a shame!

With sell-outs like you Igbos do not need enemies

Igbo has men of class that can lead and make this country great. Men like Peter Obi, Chukwuma Soludo, Frank Nweke Jnr e.t.c with their integrity and track record can led this country.

So emancipate your self from self-hate and slave mentality

@Fab mum, you are a true Igbo queen, jisike o... don't mind the efulefus, no sane free born son or daughter will publicly disrespect and choose another tribe over his or hers

9. Which tribe is not divided? All these born throw way in Lagos who don't know the way to their father's compound be claiming Igbo.

10. You are the first reasonable igbo person on this platform. May God bless you

6. Good news for Ndi Igbo
    Oya make una start to campaign

7. I agree with Baba on the SE presidency, but I also believe the SE really need to become united in order to achieve this.

1. I believe everyone should be given an equal opportunity, be it igbo, yoruba or hausa. I don't just want an idiot for a president anymore

2. You are right, I guess this is one of the reasons Ken Nnamami joined APC I think the man is a good leader.

3. Thank you Oluyomi! You are a good woman

8. With the wordless post and this I believe he's looking at Orji Uzor Kalu and another ex governor. The grooming has started.

9. hahahahaha this man likes trouble sha. Igbos that are not together should come for Presidency. It is not possible jare.

1. Sharap, is Yoruba together?

2. Anon 22:38 in common sense yoruba's are together .

10. You see this man?...
    Very slimy!...
    I fear who no fear you!...

11. Peace can only come when there is justice, hmm

12. What????? NOOOOOOO

13. Stories for the gods. As if he cares about igbos. Soon them go say make we go swim for river Niger.

14. Igbo enweghi ezigbo mmadu ka achi,I will go for Chris Ngige though he is fair amongst others, I think he is good

15. For the very first time, you spoke to my spirit Sir.

16. This man is a crook. Very shady somebody. It's always about him and his interests. He doesn't care about anybody.

1. He is just being a Yaraba man.#Winch atitude
      Lolz

2. The reason why an igbo person can't be president is because an average igbo man suspects even himself. We have not had peace with the shout of biafra one old man is now saying shut up oya govern us and see how much you lack sense, you now start saying he has agenda ? Agenda at what age? Olodo rabata.

17. When it's time to choose a candidate, heads will begin to "roll upandan". I love the igbos but sometimes greed gets the better of them

1. When the likes of ekwueme and Rochas contested, how many heads roll?? Where is greed not found in the world??

2. Don't mind them, this is the reason why Igbos are being marginalised. Our own people paint us bad. Yoruba people can't say this no matter what.

18. Is Obasanjo god to tell us when to contest? Igbos shouldn't take him serious shah.
    Come 2019 Vuharia will still win...
    Despite the recession, these guys will vote for him again.

19. The Igbo are not United, how will it be possible

1. As they are not united, don't they have governors in their state? Don't they have destroyed representing them? Didn't ekwueme and Rochas contested before? Were they killed? Didn't nnamdi azikwe rule??

2. @fabmum, this one you are shouting rochas and ekwueme up and down, can't you see you are alone on this? Even the rochas, don't we read what his people say about him here?

On Nnamdi azikwe, you obviously don't know history, I'm sure you don't know his house was burnt down by his own people.

Icing of the cake :

During the biafra war, who supplied the ammunition to the then government? An igbo man! His name is Francis Arthur Nzeribe - FAN youghort. And today you all are drinking it, aren't you?

Fabmum, just quit this ranting and baseless defence, we all know what's happening.

Igbos should put their house in order, we will vote them. But not until they are united or at least perceived so!

3. Anon, when you are my baseless comment, do me well by skipping. This is my opinion, either baseless or how ever you term it. Do. Me well by leaving your own useful, sense filled comment so I learn from it.

For now you haven't said anything I need to learn from.. Thanks

4. Dear Anon 16:12 if you must talk history then don't be selective about it.

There are saboteurs in every tribe or group, even Jesus had a saboteur among his 12.

Yes Igbos are united but like every tribe there are dissidents especially in politics.

Recall the political enmity between Awo and Akintola which led to the infamous wild wild west crisis? Perhaps Awo would have been President if Akintola didn't oppose him.

Also it is on record that Chief MKO Abiola was badly betrayed and sold out by the Yoruba elders during his attempt to reclaim his June 12 mandate. According to Al Mustapha, Abdulsalami Abubakar settled Afenifere leaders led by Pa Abraham Adesanya in hard currency soon after MKO was killed.

Even Obasanjo was never supported by the Yorubas during his first term as civilian President.

So disagreements and betrayal is not peculiar to Igbos

In the spirit of equity and fairness and with the current state of affairs in the country, it is overdue to produce a President of Igbo extraction. The only concern should be electing a performer with integrity and fear of God

5. Now you are interested in producing a president that will perform? No more biafra, a tribe of jokers.

20. Hahaha. Not ever again. Useless tribe.

21. He just want buhari out, we all want that. Twale baba smooth operator

22. I know that this man is planning something
    I know for sure!
    http://dollarmilk.com/?ref=55261

23. Ebora owu have spoken...can I even make common sense..?

24. Hell to the no! Let Jonathan do a second term first or any other candidate from Niger delta, then an Igbo man will be considered. Obj, do your political calculations, because if you are considering Orji Kalu or Rochas, that is dead on arrival. We will rather have Osinbanjo than any of those two buhari ass lickers.

25. Since they hate other tribes, let the igbos unite to form a political party first and let's see if they would agree on who that President would be. Then we shall see if they can. The igbos have always rode on the shoulders of others for relevance yet they hate.

26. Nawao!! I disagreed with some of your analogy. Why? Your claims do not have facts to back it up. Ok!! let me accept it the way you put it. IF 38 percent of Nigeria women do not cheat, validate the saying that not all women are wife material. As the Bible says, He who finds a wife and not he who finds a women. Women are everywhere and wife are hidden. If you marry a woman you dam fuck up, zip your ass and stay with your mess.

27. Hmmmm, something fishy but then it's a very good suggestion. This is what Biafrans are agitating for

28. Thanks for your concern, we no want again, Biafra all the way.

29. I reserve my comments

30. #Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened*

31. Baba don talk but am not sure the Igbo's are ready.

32. Replies
    1. Snitch! Snitcher!! Snitchest!!! @ OBJ
      Lolz

2. He said take a shot at the presidency not become president . GNS101 . OLODO TRIBE.

33. I hope other tribes will allow it. It's long overdue for an Igbo person to be President of our country oh......but coming from Obasanjo ehn. ..

34. i don't know politics

whoever is chosen by respected Igbo leaders in Nigeria, can be President of Nigeria if he or she wants to be

35. I believe Peter Obi will be a wonderful candidate for presidency if he runs for the position due to his general/vast knowledge, and brilliance which we as a nation lack in this recent and past presidents..

I am stating my two cents on this, if there is going to be a strong candidate from the Eastern region.

36. Peter obi maka why? A political prostitute that couldn't stand with the party that gave him relevance? Ode ni yin Mr homeland security .

37. Anon 19:17,

Kindly respect yourself. I won't stoop so low to insult you so, find someone else for that and don't be a canker. Don't be impolite! Thanks!