Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Office Brouhaha -2

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Office Brouhaha -2

What if someone in the office threatens to slap you?

Hi Stella. I don't know if I should call this "Office Brouhaha" or "IT
Brouhaha." I just hope I don't send another "Office Brouhaha" when
the time comes, because I didn't really find my IT troubles funny.

I did my IT at a power station. I was posted to 3 different
departments. The first two departments were peaceful and the people I
worked under were awesome. The third department was something else.
The first shift was awesome(I was their baby. They all took their
turns to explain the system. I handled some things on my own under
their supervisions though) but the second shift was horrible.

My safety shoes got spoilt. It was terribly bad but I was still managing
it. One of the reasonable men there stopped sending me on several
errands, because- Safety first. The one that was always picking on me
said that he shouldn't pity me, that it was my job.

The third guy offered to give me a safety boot(because I wasn't being paid and I didn't have the cash to get new shoes). The next day, I was dropped at
the Control room, with no safety shoes. And because of that, I wasn't
supposed to be at the site because of "Safety practices." The one that
brought the shoes sent for me. I went to meet him without any safety
shoes(It's actually against the company's policy). 

I met them and the"Over sabi" man that said that i shouldn't be pitied picked on me. He said that i was lucky that i wasn't working under him directly that he
would have given me a serious knock or a serious slap. I told him that
he wouldn't dare try that. Something My dad has never ever done. They
were all surprised I talked back. They picked on me every other day
until I was forced to conclude my IT. It was that terrible.

*Na wah.

74 comments:

1. No worry that's how nepa is. Did my 3 months It with them.The only department I liked was disconnection and re connection. But years later those same people are working under me calling me ma now😅

2. Its nothing serious joor

So, if someone abuse me on the road for not greeting him, then I should bring it to SDK?

Grow up girl

1. Shut up Halaba, um sure ure like one of those that like to abuse people...

3. Are you that short and tiny?

1. Forget about physique o. Those people can bully IT students die. If you like, carry body like toolz, them go treat your fuck up if they want.

4. Oga you shouldn't have talked back, many times one has to stomach some insults and bad mouthing and just keep shut, God will fight our battles.

1. You are wrong Latest bride. If you don't talk back, the next time he will raise his hands and slap you the slap he promised you the first time. Remember humans have an elastic limit and there's a level of endurance ascribed per person. No matter what, you can't endure one kind of hardship. You will get to that elastic limit and retaliate.

5. If your senior in the office threatened to slap you, just behave like mumu and do nothing. Look for a secluded place where both of you will be alone and give him the curse of his live and threaten him too. That was what one junior in my office did and the senior was blamed for always picking on him because junior denied every accusations as no witness was around

6. He must be very silly to threaten to slap you. Under no circumstances will i engage in physical fight with anyone, the highest i could go is exchange of words but you must have pushed me to the extreme, in all i'd rather keep quiet for you.

7. Let me sit back and read all the comments

Rosa

8. For office work? Report to the HR and let them be issued a query. Thats a direct threat to your life.

1. Abi? There are company policies against verbal and physical abuse. I think the latter holds water than the former around here.

9. Stella I once worked in an Hotel in Ibadan, Town House Hotel, there is this lady at the Reception Busola, this lady is a witch, always spoiling people's hustle, she's very wicked. She's one of the Major reason I left the place coz I can't cope with her Hostility.

10. Madam this your office issh is very boring!Any ways make we dey use am they pass time,and as for me,any office brouhaha you passed through or passing through now sets you for the best tomorrow. This life is not a bed of roses and the only the people with the Lion heart gets the lion share. I'm out.

11. What is this one na? Stella you have started abi?

12. You were not supposed to talk back,u don't talk back at your superiors, behave like a fool till u get what you want.

1. You must be in an abusive relationship for you to type that rubbish. Keep being a fool. Fools get nothing.

2. Anon 14:15 are you encouraging juniors to talk back at their seniors hmmm. It might be abusive but its advisable you to take a more mature and polite route. talking back will do more harm than good. If you value your Job avoid trouble

3. @ Becky don't mind her, she is looking for someone to make jobless

4. Becky, what do you know?

13. U for slap am back nah...silly girl
    People like u don't have respect..U are lucky u didn't work under me.I will make sure I instill discipline in u.
    See there is a something most of you don't understand.There are rules guiding every work place and when some of u are opportuned to get close to ur OGA or madam,u start disrespecting their office..when u went without ur safety boots, u expect them to clap for you...No one will just hate u automatically if u have a good character.
    Self respect is very important!!learn that!!!

1. If you don't want to be disrespected then you don't threaten to slap someone. He could have rebuked without having to threaten her. Culture or not, we all still have rights to human dignity whether young or old. I laugh whenever I see adults threaten children or teenagers randomly on the street, ATM queues, etc. It's because this is Nigeria na. Go and try it elsewhere, you would be on record.

2. You're actually the silly one. There are ethics that govern the workplace. On no account should colleagues physically assault each other, be it boss or subordinate.

3. Chysugar you have said it all. Nothing like self respect and carriage at your place of work. That way you cant be treated anyhow and you have no right also to respond to your authority in a harsh way whatsoever.

4. Thanks Sandy !!😄😄😄
      Happy Sunday hun!!!

Anon 14:20..Get lost abeg!!
      Ur reasoning is very backward!

5. Same to you darl💋

6. Same to you darl💋

7. I was going to say that too. Some of these IT students lack manners. All they know is to roll their eyes at you when you tell them what to do. When I was serving, my superiors loved me to a fault. I can't imagine anyone coming to threaten me with a slap when he's not an animal.

There was a time, one woman from another department accused me of snubbing her, if you see how they all stood up beating their chests that I couldn't have been the one, probably she was mistaking bla bla.

I actually snubbed the woman but I was too good and loyal to most people and that helped me a great deal.

8. Abeg shut up ur mouth...try dat with me d way I go take beat crase commot for ur body...body go tell u

9. Slap someone in the office? Because you are superior? What sort of office if I may ask? Is it Alaba international?? You guys are jokers. Try that shit with me and I will sue the hell out of your miserable ass.

14. Nna, u shudnt have said such to ur boss. I don't see a big deal with what happened to you. Sometimes bosses do such to toughen u up as u b IT student.... I guess ur attitude made them increase it. Learn respect.

1. See them. People in abusive relationships.

2. Hahahaha.... Seems u were d one that sent in this nonsense story. In a relationship, my partner and I are equals. If he abuses me, that's d end of d relationship. In an office, you and your boss are not equals. You either take d trash he dishes t u or u leave d job. You always have a choice.

3. I knew she would say I'm the one that sent in the story. Common sense is obscure. FYI not everyone is in an abusive relationship like you, and not everyone would lose their self worth for a job. In a sane clime, a boss has no right to threaten physical violence against anybody he can be sacked or sued for it. Guess you're not used to it.

15. This is no brouhaha joor. Anyways sha Orleans. I was praying that a colleague would slap him in my first place of work. I had policemen and lawyers ready to deal with him. How some women cope with such trouble called husband baffles me oo.

16. #Not everyone will understand your journey. That's Okay. You're here to live your life, not to make everyone understand*

17. I liked that you gave him a piece of us mind,but I do not know the manner of approach. Because everyone can't just turn against.

18. Submit yourself to authority. if them slap you, turn the other ear or follow love me jejelys advice

19. The response from you wasn't necessary at all. Patience is key dear.

20. I'll report him to the most senior in charge
    Because I can't stand the threat of someone daring to slap me

21. Submit yourself to authority. if them slap you, turn the other ear or follow love me jejelys advice

22. Lol see this one,you talked back because it's IT naa.Please i'm down on ma knees,begging you please,when you get a real job,do talk back to your superiors or exchange words with them.Nah you won't try it,afraid won't let you try it nonsense.stellz this is not office brouhahaha naa

23. Well, in my office, we sell UK product but ours finished so we (the manager buys from a cheaper uk company) and sell to our clients. As a sales rep, I was against it maybe cos my clients wasn't in need of it @ the moment. Note: the owner of the company didn't know the manager buys from cheaper uk company in Nigeria but he's aware there's no product(he's the one importing it) He thought, we didn't want to close down the business with he appreciated. He's not even interested in what's going on there cos he has a big company he's managing. Meanwhile, my manager is a deeper lifer; At first I wasn't interested but when my clients called for business, I informed him and the product was bought and I was given 10percent of 600k. Then again another client called for the product; I told him since am aware is not our product and this own is cheaper, it should be shared equally. He convinced me that he will use the balance to pay salary after giving me 6percent. By then, he was owing us 2months. My salary is nothing to write home about is just the commission am using to hold body. In fact my salary is just 30k but if I have clients as such above I will be going home with 100k or below or even more but is not every month. By 28th of Nov, this my deeper lifer manager gave us sack letter and informed us that our salary will be in percentage if we sell anything if not nothing for us. The laughable one is that he paid me 13k chaii I haff suffered. I brought a business of 250k a week before the sack letter with a promise he will pay salary with the balance. I decided that I waste my time in that company in 2016 and also cos I have clients @ hand willing to buy first week of Christmas. So, I endure. He mentioned the giving us percent thinking people will drop or probably not having faith we will sell. I had to convince the cleaners not to resign and await the sale make will make cos am sure we will make sale. While I was given 13k for 2months, you can imagine how much the two cleaners were given. Note that he said nobody had business again, even I bring in business or he brings in or even walk in customer it will be shared according to the percentage he assigned to us. Meanwhile, we are five in that company. He gave the four of us 45percent and took 55percent. Accepted! First week of December, the windows of heaven opened and brought in customers in a week, we made sale of almost a million. He was shocked, he couldn't believe it even as a born again deeper lifer. He couldn't hide been angry. I quickly told him to give me my percent there's no need to waste time; in one week I got almost twice my salary. The cleaners were filled with joy. Everybody were happy except the saddist deeper lifer,a kill joy and non entity. I no send sef. 2nd week we made up to 500k money full everywhere; frustration wanted to finish Mr saddist. Everyone was happy except him. With wickedness in his mind he said our closing date is on the 15th dec. The company have never closed below 23rd. He was made manager in 2015 and I was even in the company before him but the owner thought he's a born again not knowing he's a born criminal. I carried my caya with my cash @ hand and left. I was so angry sha but is time to change to a better working environment with less baggage before the owner will find out and arrest all of us. I asked the manager when we will open and he said are we opening is there product? All the product we dey sell since ours finish na commodity? Abeg swerve. Meanwhile, he opened the 3rd and made the sale alone. I don't care let him soak himself in greed. Am in a better company now. He called me in January to wish me happy new year and to clear himself of guilt. He also called to know if am coming to work. Which work? I don tire biko

1. He's greed is really deeper lolz...
      Best of luck this 2017.

24. Well, in my office, we sell UK product but ours finished so we (the manager buys from a cheaper uk company) and sell to our clients. As a sales rep, I was against it maybe cos my clients wasn't in need of it @ the moment. Note: the owner of the company didn't know the manager buys from cheaper uk company in Nigeria but he's aware there's no product(he's the one importing it) He thought, we didn't want to close down the business with he appreciated. He's not even interested in what's going on there cos he has a big company he's managing. Meanwhile, my manager is a deeper lifer; At first I wasn't interested but when my clients called for business, I informed him and the product was bought and I was given 10percent of 600k. Then again another client called for the product; I told him since am aware is not our product and this own is cheaper, it should be shared equally. He convinced me that he will use the balance to pay salary after giving me 6percent. By then, he was owing us 2months. My salary is nothing to write home about is just the commission am using to hold body. In fact my salary is just 30k but if I have clients as such above I will be going home with 100k or below or even more but is not every month. By 28th of Nov, this my deeper lifer manager gave us sack letter and informed us that our salary will be in percentage if we sell anything if not nothing for us. The laughable one is that he paid me 13k chaii I haff suffered. I brought a business of 250k a week before the sack letter with a promise he will pay salary with the balance. I decided that I waste my time in that company in 2016 and also cos I have clients @ hand willing to buy first week of Christmas. So, I endure. He mentioned the giving us percent thinking people will drop or probably not having faith we will sell. I had to convince the cleaners not to resign and await the sale make will make cos am sure we will make sale. While I was given 13k for 2months, you can imagine how much the two cleaners were given. Note that he said nobody had business again, even I bring in business or he brings in or even walk in customer it will be shared according to the percentage he assigned to us. Meanwhile, we are five in that company. He gave the four of us 45percent and took 55percent. Accepted! First week of December, the windows of heaven opened and brought in customers in a week, we made sale of almost a million. He was shocked, he couldn't believe it even as a born again deeper lifer. He couldn't hide been angry. I quickly told him to give me my percent there's no need to waste time; in one week I got almost twice my salary. The cleaners were filled with joy. Everybody were happy except the saddist deeper lifer,a kill joy and non entity. I no send sef. 2nd week we made up to 500k money full everywhere; frustration wanted to finish Mr saddist. Everyone was happy except him. With wickedness in his mind he said our closing date is on the 15th dec. The company have never closed below 23rd. He was made manager in 2015 and I was even in the company before him but the owner thought he's a born again not knowing he's a born criminal. I carried my caya with my cash @ hand and left. I was so angry sha but is time to change to a better working environment with less baggage before the owner will find out and arrest all of us. I asked the manager when we will open and he said are we opening is there product? All the product we dey sell since ours finish na commodity? Abeg swerve. Meanwhile, he opened the 3rd and made the sale alone. I don't care let him soak himself in greed. Am in a better company now. He called me in January to wish me happy new year and to clear himself of guilt. He also called to know if am coming to work. Which work? I don tire biko

25. If you want my candid opinion.....don't ever talk back at you boss in the office. An office is a formal setting, you're to respect and show restrain in the face of provocation. You can explain yourself later when tempers are down.

26. Why will your talked back at your senior in the office, if d person was your dad would you have talked back at him? You are rude and have so much air inside of you, pack well.

27. No be slap be the problem, na all those hungry dog like married men that will be using prick to chase young girls.

Haha una no dey give prick to your wives ni?

28. This new guy was transferred to my branch six month ago...he's so handsome and humble .everybody seems to like him..he melted my heart in many ways but we are both engaged to other pple.the chemistry btwn us is tight. .we tried but culdnt resist anymore...tho we have not had sex but we've been smooching...and I enjoy the way he kiss and fingers me..and he's big down dere ...am not sure I want sex cos I cum any time he fingers me...am just enjoying it ....so sweet. ...hope to stop once my wedding date is fixed

29. Lol. I'm sure that if I send all my office brouhaha this whole blog won't contain it. 😂😂

Its good you cautioned against it. Don't mind anyone saying you shouldn't. This is why Nigeria hasnt moved forward on some things. People are too intimidated by their senior colleagues. So when they get to those positions they intimidate their junior colleagues. Cycle continues. Junior staff cant grow intellectually because the work environment if run like a home. There are some attitudes you don't exhibit in a work environment. And there are some cultures that seize once u get into the work environment. It's just like saying if your boss is younger than you you can ignore their instructions because in your house younger ones don't send older ones. Does that make sense? No. So threats and slaps aren't accepted. And you should have sent a mail to HR copying all relevant parties and giving a report - not complaint, 'official' report.

30. And trust me, in 'real' organizations with good organizational culture a boss will NEVER threaten you. He can use the job to frustrate you or send a memo stating that discoplinary action should be taken because you didnt do right by company's HSE policy (safety boots) but threats of physical attack? It's against 'ideal' company policy. They can lose their jobs by doing that. So they won't.

1. Exactly, in my work place there's zero tolerance for verbal and physical abuse. No matter who you are you dare not try it even with the least of the workers. if you are reported then you are a goner.

2. You can imagine!! Slapping subordinate at work. Give the person a memo or do whatever but to threaten to slap? The person is mad. I can't even slap my younger sister who is now adult.

31. Let me give this story sum1 told me. She said she was in the exam hall writing and also chewing gum (not loudly tho). So the invigilator asked her to throw it away. She refused.

The man said he'll slap her and she said she'll return it double fold if he dares it.

Ha!

My friend said her mouth was wide open (as per, u won slap lecturer). The man got angry and slapped her, babe returned it as she promised. Hall scatter o. Already before the slap, one lecturer was warning his colleague that he shouldn't slap the girl o. That she did nothing wrong and her chewing gum ain't disturbin any1. Sha the babe and student faced panel o. As per lecturer to lecturer, they wanted to defend the man and deal with the girl but students refused and said they will have an external body judge the issue.

External body came in and started blaming oga lecturer o. Why should u slap her? Did u see her with anything implicating? Did u see her talk? Did she cheat? Blah blah blah.

Sha they warned the babe and everything went back to normal.

Moral of the day : dear poster, u did well. Ordinary IT? Free self? Lol

1. And she passed the exam and graduated with her mates? Did this happen in Nigeria? Definitely not my school.

32. lol this reminds me of my friend dat was serving in a multintional construction company in lagos. the day his direct boss, a lebanese said he will slap him, he replied the man, that its his in his own best interest not to try that, cos he will give him the beating of his life lol
    the lebanese now went and reported him to the head of dept, that my friend threatened him, when my friend was called by the HOD he told the HOD that the man wount slap him, and he will fold his hands, that was why he told him, its his own interest not to try it, the HOD asked him to return to work, my guy get strong connect for the company sha, and back then in uni him sabi slap guys, imagine we were in 200level and he slapped a final yr 500L guy during exam period, cos d guy occupied his seat to write carryover, he is a very tough bad guy sha, so he definitely cant allow one useless onyibo to intimidate him.
    later they got a new HOD who disliked lebanese people, his direct boss was fired, and today he is a full staff.
    NB no try that shit if you no get strong connect o

33. If I share my own office story ehn. Let me save it for when I'm in the mood. Because if I try it now, it's only cusses that will be coming out

34. There is actually a book on how to 'Manage your Boss'
    This is to show you how imperative it is to have a cordial working atmosphere with your boss.

Your boss doesnt have any business using such unprofessional language on you,it makes him seem unintelligent,pedestrain.

I feel there are other ways you would have responded without coming off as rude.
    At the end of the day,it will not be about what he said to you,but how you retorted back at him.

There are proper channels for reporting abuse in the work place. Use it next time. Notice how everyone else treated you like a plague after your issue with him?

Dont think because you were there for your IT,you could get away with anything.
    Proper work ethics are imbibed in you over time and it reflects in your personal life.

Learn professionalism today.. it will definitely help you,even when you start up your own business.

35. Thank you Chikito. You are one of the few sensible/experienced people that comment on this blog which is why it's disappointing to see you come down to their level when they poke you.
    I wonder if all these people that feel the writer is wrong to standup for herself actually have any job experience. This stupid mentality is why Nigerians are treated like dirt by some foreigners once they realize that most people don't understand their right at the workplace, are too timid or just want to keep the job even when physically abused (including the HR team whose job it is to ensure such doesn't happen).
    On no account should a boss or colleague whether older/younger/senior/junior threaten to physically abuse you at work and you accept it. Even if he feels like slapping you, he has no right to do so and must conduct himself in a professional manner. In any proper organization, he will be cautioned by the HR for that threat if reported and lose his job/get suspended if he did slap you. If he beats his wife and sisters at home, that is his business but he must hang his Mike Tyson gloves at the gate before stepping into the premises.

36. Na wa o... some people like to think they own the world...rubbish
    just like one mumu in my office...very annoying