Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rich Igbo Bride Vs Rich Yoruba Bride

Friday, January 06, 2017

Rich Igbo Bride Vs Rich Yoruba Bride

LOL....

I agree and disagree and hey,we need a new couch soon!

Yoruba Bride
The Yoruba bride like any other woman in the world takes her wedding day seriously. Obviously a day she has looked forward to after a long courtship and pressure from parents and society. She must wear branded Shoes (Jimmy Choo etc), her make up most be by (well known, high class makeup artists)Banke, Oshewa, BibiYounce. 

Planners are also Alist planners, some go as far as recommending Valentino shoes for bridesmaids. Popular Social Media blogs with a (vast following) must feature them. Some lose their sense of moral on the wedding day, scream and almost beat up anyone who delays (seems like an obstruction) etc. The rich Yoruba bride (does not include "low class", unpopular friends on their bridal train rather they enlist the help of ladies they might not be even close to but looks and dresses the part or maybe have a huge following on Instagram) might cut off close friends who do not make their bridal train lavish, colourful and link up with new friends who can keep up with the trend.

They must break the Internet, with A list photographers all at the Venue. They must Marry at some specific venues. The Yoruba bride will choose a rich colour (and lavish fabric) for herself but select the worst colour for her friends (only her must shine on the day 😏 ). 

You must not dress better than her, if your shoes glitter you get a funny look or get walked out. It is rumoured that they choose some of their husband's grooms men. The poor or not fashionable grooms men will be cut short while the classy men and dapper men make the list.

Rich Igbo Bride

The most expensive brides in West Africa, you can't marry a rich Igbo lady without closing your account.

Even if you hit the lottery the money might not be enough ( Please don't crucify me). You need to fly to the east to attend the traditional wedding, the dowry is somewhat heavy. She is expected like the Yoruba bride to wear the Zanottis, Vera Wangs etc. They are worse than Yoruba brides in the sense of hospitality. 

They don't host guests well (they are terrible hosts or are not receptive). Many friends have complained about the treatment offered by the rich Igbo bride. The Igbo bride is not too concerned about her bridesmaid package but the amount of Chiefs that attend the wedding with bags of cash. 

She is more interested in the money bags who will enrich(lavish) her day with bundles of cash and (expensive gold). She is very pretty and light skinned. You must be rich to marry a rich Igbo bride. If you have a PHD from Harvard and MBA from Stanford, the Rich Igbo brides parents are not concerned.

They will pick the billionaire drop out over the educated poor potential groom.

By Dokun Olumofin.

135 comments:

1. This guys should rest abeg. You can't just wake up and make such deduction. Hian! Over sabi is dealing with the two brothers.

2. I knew its this dude again
      What's with all this senseless epistle ?*mcheeew*gerrahia mehn shit

3. Jobless brothers whose claim to fame is to write rubbish on IG..... I blame people that take them serious.

4. Shebi, it's people like Stella and instablog that have given these boys popularity... Mschetwwww

Trying too hard all the damn time

5. Porrly written article. There is no difference between the two. And he is interchanging the two under the heading of one. Go back to school

2. Dokun and his brother should get a day job or go get married or get laid. Also, they should treat their body odour.
    Anyway, this is a typical instagram examples because they live on that damn APP and assume every bride is a bellanajiarian.

1. Chisos Doppelganger... I don't want to know you.

2. @doppel give me kiss, anh anh what is it with these boys na. They thing they know everything, they are rich girls that are simple and don't bother about all these. Who died and made them judges, every min they have something to say, well I don't blame them I blame their followers that see them as gods that have answers to every question.

3. My Case Is Different6 January 2017 at 13:29

Doppelganger lol, I have never seen you this angry.

4. Yes o, my dear. You are so right. This guy is doing everything to stay relevant on the social media

5. Chai...body odour kwa
      Hian

6. Thank you doppel.and I don't know where they got the always light skinned thing for igbo brides

7. From the authors name, you can see BIAS written all over.

8. We should be friends dopelanger

9. I am beginning to suspect you are wide eyed!

10. It's partly true.....they are usually light skinned or how else would you know they are rich?
      Excel

3. I guess dokun olumofin is our new blog boo

4. Please this is so not true for the info bride, I am an igbo lady and this write up doesn't go well with me.

1. Can't you see that it's written by a Yoruba person? We can never please them. But not to worry sha,the feeling is mutual.

2. They did not say any ibo lady. They said rich igbo bride. Who is your father? Are the dignitaries to attend or have attended the wedding. If you take wedding pics will Bella naija carry it of thier own volition? Is youra and hubbies dady to day bank balance in the tens of millions? Do you live in oloti or lekki? These are the questions for you if not kindly park well thanks.

3. They did not say any ibo lady. They said rich igbo bride. Who is your father? Are there dignitaries to attend or have attended your wedding? If you take wedding pics will Bella naija carry it of thier own volition? Is you and hubbies day to day bank balance in the tens of millions? Do you live in ikoyi or lekki? These are the questions for you. Can you afford loboutins? if not kindly park well thanks.

5. I pray to get married before the age of 23 insha allahu. I love early marriage and I want too.

1. So you too na teen ? Never will I respond to anybody that say shit here again.

2. I told myself that long time ago @donmayor. We have more of teens here.

3. Christ, children don too much for this blog sha, insulting their elders with reckless abandon.

Anyway,the olomofin brothers are just too jobless abeg.Ugly urchins disturbing social media.

4. So you think all those s**t comments will be coming from matured ppl? Responding is very much a waste of time, I entertain myself by reading immature comments here.

5. A lot of teen on this blog, I added one on 's & m, she was still running national diploma in one funny polytechnic.

6. Bonario wife make sure u have something going for you before entering into any marriage n remember to marry right

6. So true, and Igbo brides are usually more beautiful. Yoruba brides and their families usually do most of the spendings, they are into unnecessary show of.

1. There is a livid difference between being beautiful and being lightskinned. Know the difference please

2. She didn't say anything about skin there oh. She just said they are more beautiful.

7. Dokun am not sure but you must be mad!!. Get you facts right before you write trash, whoever told you that igbo dowry is "heavy" don't generalize abeg. Any igbo parent that collects a huge bride price from the inlaws now is just plain hungry.

1. In general it is one of the heaviest my dear. In comparison to other tribes. This is because ibos consider wives as sold. The ibo woman's dowry is always a source of pride to the father. There is nothing bad there.

8. So he doesn't av any other topic to write on except this rubbish?

Mtchewww!

And pls, calabar and Hausa weddings are more expensive than the igbos!!!

Dokun, get a better paying job and stop forming 'psychologist'.

It doesn't pay in Naija.

Lazy man!!!

1. I'm a Calabar girl and our brideprice is £24(using current exchange rate, how much is that?) That's expensive abi? Say what you know please.

2. Pls send your parents account number, I will take you home tonight

3. Stephen πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. But you must fulfill the list items.

#calabarandproud

5. Calabar weddings are not expensive! Its akwa ibom wedding that is really really expensive !
      U guys always mix it up!

6. Calabar weddings are not expensive! Its akwa ibom wedding that is really really expensive !
      U guys always mix it up!

9. He should do his homework properly before writing.

Given my experience on weddings for these tribes, I can categorically state that his analysis is wrong especially on the part of the igbo tribe. We treat our in-laws with respect, and the educated igbo people no longer collect that high amount of bride price.

Will be back to read comments

10. Thats is so true of us, especially the 'RICH' Igbo bride/family. People should read well and see that adjective 'RICH'.

11. Crazy somebody...what is he talking about???

12. Not again!!!! Bia Stella what is the deal with the muffin brothers biko nu

13. I have made up my mind be it Rich or poor igbo wedding am not attending this year. Gosh their wedding. Sucks Nothing entertaining especially food aspect gosh, Annoying part is turning d reception to a fund raising affairs Abeg!!At d end of d day when u hear how much was spent on d wedding you will be surprised. Yoruba don't spend much on their wedding cos it's a family stuff, during my wedding we didn't spend much cos everything was paid for either by an uncle, aunt, cousin or COF and it was very elaborate and cololorful unlike igbo's they don't help their folks during wedding unlike yoruba where every member of d family comes with food.

1. Yeah igbos hardly help their folks during weddings.

You go to a Yoruba owambe, you'll see small chops sponsored by cousin, Chap man by uncle, Barbecue by one in law, and so many more...

Highest an ibo relative will do is to share souvenirs to selected people

2. Who told you Igbos don't help their folks?
      Btw,must people help you to get married? That's the more reason Yoruba people hardly value marriage.
      Go and marry in Igbo land so that when you think of divorce,you think twice.

This is the same reason we have Yoruba demons everywhere. Hustle before getting married so that you'll value your marriage. Ndi npoto!

3. Looking for relations to pay for your marriage ceremony ? You're not serious.

4. I don't know about igbos not helping oh but I doubt that. Anyways if they don't,it's to teach you marriage ain't easy. You must hustle to chop.When the marriage ceremony is done and you guys need something will you keep going from uncle this to aunty that for help?

5. Highest oponu,talking like an imbecile

6. And you call your husband a man when he cannot fund ordinary wedding? and tmrw when he can't feed the home we will not hear word here.
      I am not ibo or yoruba but I will still say any man who cannot sponsor a wedding without looking up to family members to cough out money is not a man but a child with adult prick.

7. No hurt me this new year o @ Fan Emmanuel. Im telling you o. Lol

8. Yeye,ewu makakwu,aturu yaraba
      Unam ikot!!!

9. I think what highest height meant is families coming together to support their own. If my kids want a classy wedding, I would definitely help out with the food, venue, decoration,DJ, photography, cakes etc. The outfit and rings can be sorted out by them. Don't want them spending all their savings on a one day event.
      No matter how rich you are certain relatives will still organize some chops just to make the place more graceful.

10. The only thing I hate about yoruba party is most times they look at faces before serving food. If you don't eat before going for one, OYO is your case.

14. If was looking for a husband, I will rather I attend an Igbo bride marriage, but if was going for an 'effizy" and surplus varieties of food, I will prefer a Yoruba bride marriage.

You can be poor and attend an Igbo marriage, even though you went there with no money in your pocket, there will definitely be money while returning home because some Igbo rich dude, will spray/throw money on every invitees.
    If you're a single lady, it might be your lucky day to catch your money bag (an Igbo rich dude, who only cares about the happiness of his wife and kids).
    Shout out to my Igbo brothers.

If you want to eat, I mean a buffet kinda, go to a Yoruba wedding; but you must have an invitation, except if the father of the bride is a jolly fellow who will not mind having every one whether rich or poor at his daughter's marriage ceremony.
    But if you're single, catching a Yoruba guy at a wedding ceremony is not advisable. Most of them will just eat you for a while and act like nothing happened.

But, I still gat lots of love for my Yoruba brothers.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…πŸ˜†

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

3. Lol.. You analysed it properly.

The best wedding I've attended so far is that of an Edo couple, the groom's father is an air Marshall and the bride's father is a Navy officer!! I swear, the wedding was lit, the food was in surplus (the buffet style), it was a 'jam' of money, class and prestige!

15. Well said jare... Infact, you have just written what happened recently at jakande estate between Osareme ...... And Offor ..

Mc pinky

1. Oh, you're back! Hope no pains in your chest region again. Thank God for life

2. This is Galore jare...

3. This is Galore jare...

16. Oh my God!! Can this guy STFU already!!! I'm about to pull my hair out. The struggle for attention is really real. I despise attention-seeking people jeez

17. D, i beg 2 disagree small...while some might be true concerning the rich igbo bride, (thanks to my darling couzin), we try to do our best while playing hostess.

18. Jobless yoruba demons, seeking attention on social media

19. Dokun olumofin change your reasoning/mentality.
    This looks like something I could have written when I was a junior in secondary school, not in 2017.
    No need to illuminate this your write up.. Let it remain dark!

Carpe diem.

20. THIS DUDE IS BEGINNING TO SOUND LIKE A BROKEN RECORD,IF HIS THAT GOOD AND KNOW ALMOST EVERYTHING ABOUT A LADY AND ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS,HOW COME HIS STILL SINGLE AT 36?WHAT IS HE WAITING FOR,GOOD ADVISERS OF RELATIONSHIP DON'T MAKE THE BEST IN MARRIAGES MOST TIMES...MY 2 CENTS, DUDE SHOULD JUST GO AND SETTLE DOWN MBOK.

1. Oooooh! Your mothers breastmilk was not in vain

2. But Dokun is married now.... it is Joro that is not yet married.

21. THIS DUDE IS BEGINNING TO SOUND LIKE A BROKEN RECORD,IF HIS THAT GOOD AND KNOW ALMOST EVERYTHING ABOUT A LADY AND ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS,HOW COME HIS STILL SINGLE AT 36?WHAT IS HE WAITING FOR,GOOD ADVISERS OF RELATIONSHIP DON'T MAKE THE BEST IN MARRIAGES MOST TIMES...MY 2 CENTS, DUDE SHOULD JUST GO AND SETTLE DOWN MBOK.

22. Shows how shallow this Joro guy is.. I'm Igbo and my people did not kill my husband with demands in the name of traditional marriage.. The food and drinks was in excess! Rubbish writeup.. Now I doubt the credibility of your other wwriteups..

23. Arant nonsense. Makes no sense at all.

24. Hahahahahahahaha...
    So true!...
    But you forgot to mention that after the ceremony,we make sure the marriage work whether the devil like it or not!...
    We stay with our spouse until death do us apart!..

Meanwhile,it's not every part of Igbo that spends huge money on bride price and all that!...
    Where I come from,you can do a traditional marriage with as little as 500k!...

1. Same here jare. Bride price in my place is 50k and that's for a graduAte. If you're not a graduate it's cheaper. Traditional marriAge can be done with 500k or less. We don't ask for much. It's Imo babes you need to sell all your property before you can marry them lol but their girls are fine

2. N50k ? You must be from IMO state. Most town in Anambra doesn't have a fixed bridge price. Cash as low as 1k is presented, just as a symbol of agreement. What if you want to divorce your husband and was seriously broke at that time. You will start to look for 50k to return ?

That graduate and non graduate divisions, doesn't exist either. My first time of hearing such.

3. Trinity na wa for u.... Our bride price is not expensive, moreover we always meet people that can afford it

4. @ordinary people well that's how it is at my side. And no I'm not from imo

5. You make sure the marriage must work. Yeah right, just like Mr victor ojika that beat his wife blue black insinuating that she was sleeping with his boy... Lol.

Memo to the lady that Stella didn't a post on few days ago, pls dont listen queen's advice nor family members. Pack your bags and leave

25. Lols. So true. The first paid bridesmaid I did was when I moved to lag. I had to pay to for d dress. I was so shocked cos I got them for free in d East. Later found out its a norm down here. If u ain't got d money. Don't bother bn in d train.

26. Dokun failed in this case about the igbos... The rich igbo bride cares about every other thing except the chiefs...

I personally don't care about the chiefs because le boo and I are from very influential families, I care more about the caliber of friends I'll have as my girls (I don't keep female friends), the Event decorator, the Cake maker, and of course the catering company to be hired..

Can't wait for my Big day.. jojo's touch is so doing my make up.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…πŸ˜†

2. Shut up bitch. Are you married ? Idiot.

3. Did I miss you? Yes I did. The real Ideato is back.

4. SandyπŸ’Ÿ swag boo.. I missed you too...

5. Ehen! So you reside in PH...

27. After all this serenre they break up and start calling each other out on social media abi πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

28. Dokun is really pained. Lmao she disappointed you I guess.
    You lots amuse me when you say igbo girls are expensive to marry, please have you seen the dowry list from Rivers and akwaibom states? Those ones take up-to two years to complete the traditional of a lady.

1. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

2. Heheheheee! Brideprice no dey finish.

3. Yes oo..I have seen akwa ibom wedding . they will give u 5-7-8-9 pages of listed things to buy! That's only d bridepice oo...u will still do d wedding proper yoursef!

God help you, your father is not alive to reduce d list for your hubby-to be, then your wicked uncles take over, IMO u will pay bideprice for all d dead people in their family!

29. You are very correct.

30. Igbo women are the best to get married to!...
    We respect and worship our husbands!...
    And our husbands do the same by taking good care of us and our children!...
    Giving us the best and making sure we don't lack!...

31. Less is more.the craze to be featured on bellanaijaweddings at all cost make people outdo themselves. Whatever happened to being modest and spending according to your purse? Many couples are yet to recover from the debts they owe for the sake of throwing a lavish wedding. Now they are facing the the marriage....

32. Dokun be ready to be crucified for this write up. I laughed all through while reading.

33. Not true nah, so if you are dark skinned, you can't be a rich Igbo bride? and which one be heavy dowry again? Biko kwa its not true o. Everyone knows to cut their coat according to their cloth. huh

34. Please who is Dotun? And how has his write ups contributed positively to the intellectual community?

35. Will prefer to read comments in this kinda matter

36. Thank you doppelganger. I tire for these brothers. Stella Weldon ooo.

After all one anonymous dey ask how he go blow for popularity

37. THIS DUDE IS BEGINNING TO SOUND LIKE A BROKEN RECORD,IF HIS THAT GOOD AND KNOW ALMOST EVERYTHING ABOUT A LADY AND ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS,HOW COME HIS STILL SINGLE AT 36?WHAT IS HE WAITING FOR,GOOD ADVISERS OF RELATIONSHIP DON'T MAKE THE BEST IN MARRIAGES MOST TIMES...MY 2 CENTS, DUDE SHOULD JUST GO AND SETTLE DOWN MBOK.

38. I have never attended a igbo wedding so dnt knw about how they treat invitees,but the yorubas can like to make noise wen it comes to wedding they prefer to spend their last kobo on aso ebi and other necessities for the wedding and after the wedding they go hungry.

39. this post of "ibo bride versud yoruba bride" will result into tribal banter stella.. You should know the kind of audience you have.. Already some ignorant people spew nonsense about yoruba.. Its one Nigeria please. Every culture and tribe is beautiful in its own right. Imagine white people saying white/caucasian bride versus black brides..

40. Na lie O! Tell it like it is sister!

41. Well I don't really know about the igbo tradition but for the Yoruba I disagree with the statement "choosing the worst for your friends. My friends would be dressed in white and we would be the best looking ladies.

42. But why are you guys worried tho, this is Dokun's view and doesn't have to count.

43. Just reading commentsπŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

44. This is complete bullocks.
    Stella pls stop entertaining these jobless brothers on ur blog. I didn't even bother reading to the end bcos dis is a load of bull crap.
    And I am tired of hearing all this Yoruba versus Igbo on this blog. Yes I am a rich Yoruba bride, married to a non Yoruba. All dis crap he just wrote didn't even cross my mind when getting married. No wonder there is a high rate of divorce in young marriages now. When people take advice from instagram self claimed psychologist that are not married themselves and do not know what marriages entail.
    Did I see any factor regarding God or Love in all dese epistle he put down. Everything is about wedding ceremony and not marriage as an institution ordained by God.

45. Linda you said your eeboh brothers don't divorce.
    Please have a seat, all the marriage scandals we have heard of entertainers in the past 2weeks Stanley uzochukwu, Prince Eke, Jodi's husband and all the various actresses with crashed marriages. Please what tribe are they please.
    Majority of the actresses that have jumped in and out of marriages, pls tell me what tribe they belong.
    You will just be yarning dust with your halitosis infected mouth.

46. Stella because I advised you to stop giving them relevance, you refused to post my comment? It's ok

1. I support your advise cos they keep spewing rubbish

47. Trust igbos on dis blog to see dis as an avenue to blast yorubas and vent all their frustrations. This is just d writer's opinion and not like he didnt shade his tribe o. But dey r perfect in their own eyes. Always seeing everything as a comparision or competition with other tribes. Mtschew!

1. I can't stand ibos. Especially their men. With their horrible accent

2. If you like fall from the moon, if you must have accent

48. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I enjoyed the write up.jst for fun. All these bitter leaf people why don't you write ur own for SDK to post.

49. Does it mean that this instagram psychologist does not know the difference between dowry and bride price? There is nothing like payment of dowry in igbo or Yoruba cultures. What you pay is bride price. Educate yourself properly and don't fail to come back and thank me with a bottle of schnapps

50. This dokun is becoming too full of himself. Is his marriage still intact because he never wears his ring