Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Service Year Boulevard 37

Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Service Year Boulevard 37

*Rolling my eyes*

Dear Stella,

Greetings to you and the blog visitors. Please don't mind my very long epistle.

We were at the graduation get together organised by my fellowship when I got a call that the Nysc call up letter was out. Lo and behold I checked and sadly was posted to Kogi state.I called my mum and she was happy happy her reason being that it is closer to my home state.

All my friends got the state they wanted. As a Unilorite....Friday was our Convocation and camp opens the next Wednesday and we were told to wait till Monday to get our certificate, so you can Imagine the stress of travelling during that week.

After googling all the googleables about kogi state that weekend, I got to asanya camp around 1 pm on Wednesday. We were ask to put our bags on our heads. I don't know what I was thinking ooo,I came to camp with a big box and a big Ghana must go bag. The officials were even making gest of me asking me if the loads were for two people. I was relieved and happy when I saw my fellow unilorite in our Aso ebi Uniform( some people can die for that T shirt den).

After the registration, I felt very sick and I couldn't breath. I had chronic cough and catarrh I went to the clinic to complain I was given septrin, I jejely carried my self to the mammy market bought correct cough syrup and hot water and Aboliki for drinking and to massage my chest. Camp was very interesting , made few friends and learnt a lot from the saed and the other lectures. I had a lot of toasters then but I was faithful to my boyfriend.

The bathrooms were averagely neat and the toilet because they were always being washed. The taps were always flowing. I practically fed on gala and Pepsi for the first one week thinking the camp food was going to be nothing to write home about. But trust me when I tasted the camp food,It wasn't as bad as people say and I forgot about my gala and Pepsi.

By the 3rd week in camp we were hearing rumours that we were going to be used as electoral officers for the then gubernatorial election. It was later announced on Saturday and we had to spend Four weeks on camp. We were posted to different local government, I was posted to a village in Okehi local government where I had to sit beside a smoking fire to conduct the election. 

On returning to camp. God kept us, most of us got camp around 2am in the night and none of the Batch B 2015 Corp members was missing...my fellow corps members were just talking about how much they made during the election. I didn't get a kobo.

My dad works with the youth and sport ministry back at home, I had to call him to help me influence my posting after hearing names of places like Ogorimangogo where I heard you have to cross 3 rivers before you get there , he told me that shebi I was doing shakara then that I want the will of God. 

Since I don't know anywhere in kogi state. I called my sis and she said I should choose Ajaokuta. I was eventually posted to Ajaokuta. I was posted there with a platoon mate of mine that had been on my neck. We were posted to the steel company. The company sent down their bus to pick us up.

On getting to Ajaokuta ... It has a good road network, neat environments, uninterrupted power supply and old biudings we had to stay back for documentation for a week before we were posted to our various departments ....I was posted to their staff school to teach Biology. We were given accommodation. We were taken round the whole company. I almost cried when I saw the huge numbers of buildings, machineries and other equipment wasting out.

The Ajaokuta steel company is bigger than the three big refineries we have in Nigeria all together. Their water treatment plant is built on river Niger. The town is densely populated but you wouldn't know. Almost everyone there is a civil servant. As a corps member whenever the federal civil servants salary is being paid , you dear not go near the ATM because of the long queue you will meet there. We had to travel down to lokoja which is about 20minutes drive from there. Ajaokuta is filled with different people from different tribes.

I really enjoyed my Nysc even though there was scarcity of water and hot climate because of the river they say.I had amazing students, kind teachers, nice church member(St Peters Catholic Church). I served as the mama for my Corper's fellowship and also as the Cds president. I learnt a lot by holding this two positions. I met God personally there and also fell in and out of love. I was happy because I was able to impact lives and got impacted too.

Wow nice story oh....so you stayed Faithful to ya guy in Camp but fell in and out of love during service year?Eyaaaaaah.

37 comments:

1. The falling in n outta love, I hope it came with carrot benefits?
    Lol!

2. lolzzzzzz, aunty stella wat is eyaaaah, no pity her jor

nice story

3. the sender of this story, Na wah for u o. you will not cross ANY river to get to ogori magongo. it is less than 10 mins drive from Okene. Kai, no dey spread wetin no dey o. my dear ogori aka small London. corpers there have only good stories to tell.

1. Defender of the state.

U guys don't need a governor biko.

2. You re right anon...And ogorimagongo is beautiful according to the corpers there..

3. Yea Ogori is a small beautiful hilly town. It's also the smallest LGA in Nigeria

4. Please sombori shuld mail me na😀

Do you have any lappy yu want to throw away.. Please just dash me

1. something they want to throw away is obviously useless. beg with boldness no need for corner corner style.

2. Lol & Candy YumYum. Abi oh

5. kogi camp food is not that bad... I remember the chicken and rice Sundays, bread egg and tea, (though the tea is usually useless)... I think kogi is a cool place to serve...

1. Yeah. .you can say that again😅😅😅😆😅😆😅

6. hi lucile coconut oil, please i want to know if coconut oil can congeal if placed in a freezer

1. No....you should place in a fridge not freezer.

2. Oil doesn't freeze.. Don't allow water to enter the bottle
      😄😄😄😄😄

7. Haba poster ogorimangogo is a beautiful place to be,u wld av loved dere as well.and deres no river to cross too,muchless 3 rivers Lmao.nice story tho.

8. Clean story. U try.

We want rough stories jor

9. please ooo. I don't know and I want to know the meaning of mammy market... This market is virtually in all syb that I have read on this blog... Explain to me ooo

1. its a mini market that is mainly for officers/men, you'll find it in most locations of Militaries and para-militaries barracks/quarters.

10. Say the truth. This is a faceless blog..you claim that you were faithful to your boyfriend yet fell in and out of love. Nice story anyway

11. Nice story poster. Personally I like kogi state visited so many times my ex was from igala but the place is so hot o!

1. Chei ! Why you no marry us now? We for take care of you well well oo.

12. I know you very well, abi you want me to mention your name my beautiful mama you served in school 1.Thanks for your compliment of the camp.

13. I know you very well, abi you want me to mention your name my beautiful mama you served in school 1.Thanks for your compliment of the camp.

14. So poster you think people were envious of that uniform, you guys looked stupid on it. I remember when I had to board from kwara express, no you guys looked horrible. You have sensible ones that didn't wear it. Some of you wear that uniform all Sundays and anytime you can wear mufti.