Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Service Year Boulevard 56

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Service Year Boulevard 56

Professor Jega Corper!...LOL

My service year was 2010 (Batch A). Just like other Corpers, I also had the opportunity to runs where I wanted for service. So I opted for Ogun State since it's closer to Lag. Posting letter came, I wasn't surprised. Got to Abeokuta a day to camp opening so as to get to the camp early enough the following day. 

Four of my coursemates mates were also posted to Ogun State so we all left together. Very early in the morning, we left for orientation camp (Sagamu). Joined the queue, though not that long cuz we got there early enough. After the registration, my coursemates ates and I were all allocated to the same "Hall" (Male Block C). 

Stella, I wanted to cry, that was my 1st time of staying in a hostel! 

To make the matter worse, we were 100 in number with just two toilets n two bathrooms. Well, as a sharp guy that I is now, I braced myself together and made up my mind to enjoy the three weeks campaign exercise. I was famous instantly in our hostel because of my coursemates. I have a nickname that I have been given right from our undergraduate days, so everybody got to know me quickly. Charging of mobile phones in that camp was war, as they normally charge 100/phone. But as a correct guy that I is, I went to the camp with an extension.

Luckily, the bulb was directly on top of my bunk (Upper one) so I removed the bulb, fix the extension to it and allow people to charge freely. I was later made the hostel captain cuz I made an arrangement for people that would be washing our bathroom and toilet. I persuaded all other corpers to contribute token amount to be paying those people with and they agreed. 

I participated in so many camp activities, man o war, dancing, football. In fact, I was the female volleyball coach for my platoon and we were 1st runner up in the competition. Endurance trek inside the bush from Sagamu to Ikenne is a story for another day cuz I can never forget that day. Let me add this, I didn't have any camp boo cuz I made up my mind not to, even as a fine boy that I is. #winks

PPA. 
I got my letter and I saw Ojodu, I was happy as I realized my dream (serving closely to Lag). On getting to the school with two other Corpers, I was disappointed cuz the letter read ******* International sch. But Stella, there was nothing international about the school. Primary n secondary were together and the whole school was not even up to 150 pupils!  

Later I got to know it seems it's their way in Ogun State to always call their schools "International". Lol
Was given an apartment, a room to myself cuz it was part of the conditions I gave the Proprietor to stay. I formed for him very well since I knew the school was in dire need of a Corper that could teach science subjects (Other Corpers studied Art n Commercial respectively). 

Work start o, Stella I ended up teaching six subjects as against the two stipulated by NYSC because I wasn't satisfied with the way this "Student Teachers" were teaching the students. So I put the burden on myself cuz I really wanted to impact on them which am glad I did. Many of the students are in various higher institutions now and they are always very grateful to me whenever we chat.

The Proprietor was so impressed with my work rate and he made me the highest paid staff (not Corper o). At a time, I became the 2nd in command in that school as I was the go-to person whenever the Proprietor was not around. 

CDS
I contested as the Provost of my CDS n I won. There was a particular incident that happened after one of our weekly CDS meetings. My fellow Corper (a female) left before me after the meeting but before I got to our area, she has been harassed by a drunken Mobile Policeman. He beat her so much and left some marks on her body. Her offence, she told the Policeman to stop touching her! 

I was angry when I met her crying. I told her to get up and show me where the Policeman is. We met him in a bar, still drinking. I asked him politely what my fellow Corper did wrong to him, he threatened to beat me up too. That was how I got angry, I dragged him out and we started fighting. He tore my crested vest n i tore his uniform too. I later put a call across to our ZI and he reacted promptly by coming to the scene.

Am sure so many people around that place would not forget that day cuz we caused so much traffic on the road. We later went to the Police station to write statement (My first time of going to one). To cut the whole story short, the DPO pleaded with us, the Corpers and the ZI to let us settle the matter out of the court as the man might end up loosing his job bla bla bla. The wife too was always  in my doorstep begging everyday. So I told the ZI to let us drop the case. The Policeman apologised, paid for damages and we moved on. 

INEC REGISTRATION
This was where I made my money. For training and the 3weeks exercise, Prof Jega paid us almost 65k per Corper! That was almost my Seven months allowee (we were paid 9,700/month or thereabout then). 

There's this funny thing I did during the registration. As early as 5am, I learnt people would be on the queue already, waiting for Corper to come and register them. So as a sharp Corper that I is, I normally have my own queue, these are the people that are not ready to queue for a long time, I was collecting N500 or 1k from them, depending on their status. Lol. 

I enjoyed my service year and the only thing I didn't like was the fact that FG Increased the allowee and only our Batch B enjoyed the increment as they were paid their arrears. But in all, God is still God. Am working now, married and doing fine to the glory of God. 

Note. No service boo throughout as I was very faithful to my ex. 
Hope I didn't "waist" ya time in Stella's style. Lol. 

*Stella, those pictures are for ur eyes only o. The one I took the day I fought the Policeman ,The one of INEC registration. And that of me presently. #winks

*Chai,sharp guy,sweet story.Bros you be my spec...Kisses to you *wink*

30 comments:

1. Hope u sha did not write 4 them in abbreviated English. U sound alright couldn't read d entire thing

1. U are a 'correct bro'
      I like sharp n active guys like u :-)

2. You seem like a natural leader.

3. I was part of the Batch B that received the 19k something in arrears in 2010. Choi! See money! I got like 150k+ in arrears the following February.

2. #Some people pass through our lives in a shorter time frame than we had hoped, to teach us things they never could have taught, if they stayed*

1. Honestly, you're getting annoying. We get it. Geez

2. Lol @anon 17:25 when I just see his ID, I jump and pass without reading. I nor just understand him new trend. Very irritating something

3. I love your story... You have a good heart. I hope your fellow men will learn how to be faithful. It's possible to be faithful men.. Stop giving us excuses

4. sharp guy I hail ooooo can't wait to experience service too,this year by God's grace

+ help a brother that is tired of staying at home,apply for any job applicable but nothing is forth coming......stays in lag nd study petrochemical science God bless you all + much love I get for U Stella

5. Inec registration.... Wow we made cool cash in rivers state that year.

Kool story guy

6. Chai...sweet story,i need to finish typing my own story..as a sokoto corper

7. I like your story. U sound focused. I hope you ave married your girlfriend.

8. N500 or N1,000, corruption lol. Your story is rich.

9. That is extortion. You should be ashamed of doing that.

1. Extortion? Mumu what are you talking about? Did he force them to pay him? Maybe you go and check the dictionary meaning of extortion, then come back to comment.

2. Won tun ti de oooo, awon judginas oshi

10. Well detailed.Looking forward to sending mine.

11. You didn't gbensh for a year??? O Hem Geeee

12. Love this story! Kudos bruv

13. Sharp guy that you is? Please do not repeat that phrase again. On behalf of your wife,colleagues and family members. It is annoying.

1. Who is this idiat again? Those his people you mentioned send you message? You better free the guy and send your own SYB, that is if at all you get to serve because with this your fish brain, it would be difficult. Oluku!

14. Omo Ogun, iseya. I served in Ogun state Ifo LGA 2011/2012 batch C. We were the 2nd set to use the new camp at sagamu.

1. Linux. .... u guys were boy even the 4th. Yeye dey smell.

15. He didn't say he did not gbensh for a year, he said he did not cheat on his ex. It means she probably visited him or they found an avenue to hook up.

By the way, I don't see any case of extortion here,I see a sharp guy who utilised an opportunity that stared him in the face... We all know an average Nigerian is allergic to 'due process', we just can't be civil. The guy use them shine. Weldone o jare!

I enjoyed your story, I am looking forward to NYSC as well. Good luck on your future endeavours

1. Thanks o Anon 20:47. The holier than thou attitudes of some BVs no be here. To me, the guy has done nothing wrong. Am even sure those people would be the one to bring such an idea (tipping) to him.

16. I like your story except the part you collected money from people on the resignation day.

1. Lol, the guy doesn't even know you exist. So ur opinion doesn't count. Send in your own SYB judgsina oshi.