Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: This Is Wrong!

Monday, January 23, 2017

This Is Wrong!

We need to talk about this because I know it is happening every day in most homes....

Does it really matter whether one has a boy or a girl?who are the people with this mentality?Someone even said to me yesterday that its a pity i dont have a girl and that i must be happy..like for real?I said to her,its a pity she doesnt have a child yet and then she laughs and says that when she is ready she will,I told her ''how about respecting the fact that God blessed me with beautiful,intelligent kids that people stop to look at and tell me how lucky i am?

I know families that have all girls and are very happy,I know families that have all boys and are very happy.
In Nigeria if you do not have a boy,you have committed a major crime and people forget that the woman births what the man releases into her.
If a woman only births girls,why are you blaming her when the man is the one responsible?

Change your mentality if you are one of those guilty of this!...DAMN!

I am out!

131 comments:

1. Yuo ah out? I tot yuo sayed we kneaded to tok. Yuo beta cum bak lates tok o.
    Lolzzz

1. I have a boy n another boy on the way n I'm still wondering if I can I have a girl😢😢
      Two of my sister has only boys.
      I desperately need a girl..... 😥

2. It is women that have allowed men to put them through all these wahala.
      I always tell them

"Don't you read the portion of the Bible where Sarah held onto Abraham and said ""Give me a child"" ???

That was a woman who had sense. And we are supposed to be daughters of Sarah.

Don't wait till someone, ( hubby or his family) start harassing you. Once you see he won't be a sensible man and accept what God has given you both. Turn the table around . Tell him to give you a boy. Yes, act it out in high scale drama a couple of days and that nonsense will stop.

I told my friend this and she did it. In fact she did it when the mother inlaw was around..after the woman finished her that ' is this how she will be birthing girls girls?". After the 2nd child oh. 2 girls only. She just went crazy when the husband got home and held on to his trousers telling him to give her a male child. She went on and on about the Biology of it, after all dem all go school, even the MIL.

Lol..she flipped on him real quick. .The man shock - wondering what came over his loving wife. The MIL mouth open. She no fit talk. She did it like 2 separate days. MIL no yarn dust again. That's how my friend was able to have peace in her house.

She has a baby boy now. Took a 3 year rest after the 2nd girl. They had to do selection for the boy cos they didn't want to risk having a girl again. She told the man " what if it is girl again, that's how your family will be making me to born, born, born till I get dozen".

It worked for her cos she's bold... We still laugh over it till today.
      ..and she still thanks me for 'the wisdom'

Ehn, I know, I'm not a good peron 😂😂😂😂

3. Truth is same people that will say it does not matter usually will be the same people to scream out loud once you have a male baby.

In my family we are 3 all marired with kids. I had a girl first and it was like a basic celebration from my side . Ironically my husband's fam welcomed the news with great joy probably because my husband was an only child for about 7 years and his mother did not have him until 5 years after marriage. Neways when I had a son and the only son coming from my family and his as well, my mother was over joyed and did some things that I still get irratated by till today basicly because her daughter had a boy. That stuff hurt my elder sister real bad and at a point I had to shout at my mum to behave herself before she cause rivalry between siblings.

In my dic there is absolutely no diff between a male and female child but in Africa this stuffs matter alot. The reason why we probably have so many irresponsible young men today is basicly because of this same mentally that makes a male child to be superior to a girl child.

2. My people help me!!!! I never born d baby n I already have thick stretch marks after using olive oil n ori almost religiously, am just 39weeks. What can I use? Will it still appear thicker? Am not loving this at all

1. If you are meant to have stretch marks during pregnancy, no shea butter, olive oil, coconut oil and what not will save you.

2. Stop wasting your time and your energy, if you are going to have stretch marks you'll have them despite what you use. On the other hand if you won't have them you won't have them. The good thing is that it will fade away after a period of time. Calm down and enjoy what's left of your pregnancy.

3. U are really crazy,so stretch marks is now your problem.Ask God for safe delivery first,and let me ask you...is that your body for your husband and someone else?

4. Stellzs u can talk from now till 2mao oo..but this archaic culture of ours is going no where!

We just to backward! Its mostly d igbos that do dat male child tingy!

5. Is it when you deliver that you're supposed to get the stretch marks? At 39 weeks you're already too far gone to worry about stretch marks. As they've shown already, there's nothing you can do. Focus on having a good delivery and a healthy child. Stretch marks aren't due to what you use on your skin. It's genetic predisposition.

6. Oh my!!! Hope u are not scratching your Tommy too much, heard it's one of the causes, and wearing too tight clothes causes it too, Please when did u start experiencing it? Am 37weeks gone and don't have any yet...don't panic Dearie, what matters most is birthing a healthy child at the end of the day... Congrats to us!!!

7. continue with d ori even after u give birth

8. They've said it all. Your stretch marks are destined.

3. It's mostly igbos that have this mentality. A woman is not a woman in her husband's house yet till she has a son. Even if the husband dsnt mind,his family won't let you rest. You want a boy so at least you'll rest.I doubt if this mentality can ever change

1. It's not just the igbos o. It's everywhere. It's just that the igbos take their own to the extreme and are most vocal about it

2. And why must you call the igbos into this? Cant we have a decent argument without calling out anybody , I was born and raised in Lagos, as a child I witnessed a Young woman thrown out by her Yoruba in-laws because she had only two girls in 5 years, she stayed in my house for days before her husband took her back... It depends on the family, my uncles wife is yet to birth any baby atall after 6 years nd we still treat her like an Angel.

3. Yea true to that! Like i really doubt if it will ever change in igbo land.*phew*

4. Valentine I'm igbo too so take a chill pill.I know it's common but mostly igbos are vocal and take it to the extreme like fab mum said and to us a male child is everything.if a womans husband dies and she has no male child she is finished.

5. Valentine, you're upset cos someone brought ibo into the conversation. Yet, you bring yoruba. How are you different from the other person.

It's ok to call one tribe and not another abi. Better go check ya head. Anuofia

6. I have a sister, who is married to an igbo man. She has a boy already, but her MIL told her that one boy is not enough as her husband is the first son, she has to give birth to at least 2 boys. I was speechless.

4. Stella you don talk am finish,people should change their mentality. A child is a child,and a gift from God no matter the sex. Though I want both sex.
    I want to go for omugwo and I also want to be a mother in law.

1. Na Yoruba woman your son go take come jam you for house. Fan yogo idiot

2. None of my children will marry from Yoruba tribe. Ngwa anonymous go and die!

3. Anon 13:32 wat did wrong did fan said to warrant d hate he just spoke his mind dat he wishes to have both so y cussing him out.....na wa o

5. Well you may think "their" mentality is parochial or archaic but it is the truth!

There is something the presence of a male child does to the family...

1. Something that the female child does not do? The problem is usually women not men but women. See what this one is talking. In this 21st century, pikin na pikin.

2. Make I ask your ID.

What does their presence do?

3. Abeg sharap

4. @bluntchic,please what does the presence of a male child do in the house?kindly educate me.

5. The simple reason a male child is important (no matter how useless he may be) is for the family name and home to be preserved. Where there are all girls and they all leave at some point, their father's home will easily go extinct and they can't visit their place cos they have no place to call home but when there is a man, the home is intact and ready to receive them should they visit.
      A male child is no biggie. Infact a female child to more useful.

6. Well you may think "their" mentality is parochial or archaic but it is the truth!

There is something the presence of a male child does to the family...

1. Blunt ijebu. Na wa for your anonymous mode o

2. Mumu, go and tell SDK, Linda Ikeji, chimamanda, Mo Abudu and all other powerful women 's parents that. Who boy child help.

3. Nawa o..whats there to hide about with this comment..mcheew

4. It is not intentional. I do find it hard commenting on SDK with opera mini.

5. Hahahahahaha. ..So many people get caught when they wanna do anonymous style😅😅😅😅.lol.

#AGIRLINLOVEWITHHERSELF..

☆☆☆♤♤♤♧♧♧♡♡♡

6. Gbemisola Araba (Bluntijebuchic).. I know you like being petty. Kindly take your short legs off my comment.

7. For the record its Olaniyi Oluwagbemisola Araba *you can take that to the bank*and unlike you fool*the only thing you will ever know about me is what google tell you..so my dear just shut d hell up and stop being a two face bitch...

7. It is just the Nigerian mentality. And it is so bad.

My cousin just left the husband cos of this same issue. When the husband's family will not just let her live in peace with her girls.

1. Any human being still carrying the male child on their head like gala is a compound idiot! A child is a child whether boy or girl! It has been proven time and time again that women are the ones who care for their families when their parents grow old. Abi na lie? Y'all should be truthful here.

Don't your brothers take care of their wives families? Don't your sisters get their husbands to take care of your families? Don't you ladies remember home when something gets into your hands? The ladies are far more useful to parents in their old age. Anyone disputing this should simply go on a fact finding mission. Examples abound!

This archaic mentality is largely responsible for the second class citizenship given to the girl child in Nigeria. And the most annoying part? It's WOMEN who have kept this tradition alive.

8. Enter your comment...Stellz am expecting my baby girl n ppl have not been making it easy for me. once went for ante natal n d nurse was asking if it's my first I said yes n d next thing she was like its going to be a bouncing baby boy, I corrected her that I was expecting a girl n she was like eeyah...I was speechless

a friend categorically told me dt its going to be a boy now, sure. like I can't be possibly having a girl, its not possible.

so many eeyahs dt I don't even bother anymore, to say am not worried at all or dt it doesn't get to me is a lie coz at times I wish am having a boy and I even fear if I will ever have a boy

please people should jx stop it, its not fair

1. Hmmmm. I have same fear and pray now for a make child. I love boys

2. Don't be worried. Eveyone desires to have both sex.If you desire a male child you will have one. Try and take a break after this pregnancy. When you are ready for the next pregnancy say a prayer and follow the scientific process for male pregnancy.

3. Is your first child for crying out loud.
      Don't let people push u into depression biko.
      When u will be going to America for omugwo,we will not be there

9. Its really a pity. I always tell God to bless me with Omo alalubarika and not a specific gender. Of what use is a boy child/girl child who will cause me sorrow? If only some folks can see beyond the gender of a child.

1. @Oluyomi, very true. A child that will bring me blessings is what I always pray for also. So many male children have brought sorrows to their parents. For instance look at the hippopotamus that raped and killed the single mother at Aberdeen. Who knows may be he was spoilt because he is a male child.I have come to realise that female children are more disciplined than male children.

God help me train my children right.

2. I ave four girls. My inlaws are very ondastanding but it's even my mum that carry the matter on her head like gala seller.
      She is still believing i will ave a boy. I have told her that we have stopped but she is in denial. This is someone whose two sons are giving us problems and we are praying that God direct them to the right path be cos they are spoilt and nonchalant.
      While me the girl,i have a very good job and I'm the one taking care of them.
      Me no send oh. My girls are doing great in school. Can't wait for them to become independent and start taking care of me.

10. All children are gifts from God. Whether boy or girl.

It's only an ignorant woman that will let people, especially her in-laws bully her for failure to birth a male child.

The best legacy is to give your children sound education irrespective of their gender.

1. It is not as easy as you think. These women that are desperate for male children are being harassed in their homes by in laws (some tribes are more guilty of this). They believe the woman has no children if no male child is present.

There is this story I heard of a man that told his wife not to bother her head about a male child because they were having females. Do you know that when this man died, the male child he had outside inherited his properties. He deceived his wife and went out to impregnate another woman. Now the sharing of the property between the other kids is left at the disposal of the male child outside.

11. it is really annoying but the women are also culpable. you will see a woman who has two daughters coming out for prayers for those looking for the fruit of the womb.SMH. whatever sex of children you have, be appreciative as some are looking for just one.waffi people say "omote jovkwo"(hope I got the spelling sef

12. Very good write up because there are so many sis-inlaws here that wouldn't allow their brothers wife to drink water and keep the cup peacefully because they couldn't birth a male child.anyway all this are Nigeria mentality, whether a male or female child they are all destiny to be great.

1. White berry the suicide bomber. Destiny to be great indeed! It is destined to be great.

2. Welcome back.obokhian...

#AGirlInLoveWithHerself...

☆☆☆♤♤♤♡♡♡♧♧♧

3. She is truly back.... 😁😀😂

4. You people should allow whiteberry na! It's gotten old already. Stop trolling her abeg!

13. it is really annoying but the women are also culpable. you will see a woman who has two daughters coming out for prayers for those looking for the fruit of the womb.SMH. whatever sex of children you have, be appreciative as some are looking for just one.waffi people say "omote jovkwo"(hope I got the spelling sef

1. Na my bro wife type be that.

2. Please don't blame the women, when the pressure gets too much from the husband family they start getting desperate

14. Boy or Girl, I am forever grateful to God

15. It is really bad and it is still happening ooo. African mentality and to keep the family's name going.

16. That's an African mentality.Not just In Nigeria.

17. Most of the foolish men don't even kbow it's their fault.

The name their trying to even protect has not brought any good thing for them since existence oo.

God give us children that will be blessings.

1. That second paragraph so true in a funny wsy,see me lol.

18. Stella, our igbo background is the cause. They will always fight you and not regard one in meeting places, even in the homes sef.

I tire o. But God knows I need a Male child as my first child

19. The way we reason is so demeaning
    Women will suffering all alone and all they care about is the sex of the baby..absolute nonsense

20. Oh Lord, please weda na boy or na girl..abeg just bless me with one.

21. My mum after birthing me her first child girl, then my sister a girl again she became depressed. My dad kept consoling her that it didn't matter big girl nor boy but she no gree.
    Then the third one was boy that's her favorite til date she calls him her prince. then the last is girl.
    Well that's our mentality.

22. People with this mentality should stop it already. God please bless my marriage with 2 girls and a boy, God this is my prayer cos I'm yet to conceive

23. Ideato the big butt lesbian girl, no comment your own opinion make you carry yourself waka, dey there dey troll comment.

24. Stella, the people putting stress are mostly women and the illiterate and ignorant men. It is disgusting to hear women utter the phrase "you are not fully in your husbands house until you have a boy". Our women are very small minded. These same women raised and continue to raise fish brained daughters to believe they are inferior to a man and raise sons with fragile egos to believe that they do not play a part in child bearing. Stella I am sorry for the rant but our culture, our mentality is so backward

25. SDK ,forget all this ungrateful human beings roaming the face of the earth.
    Anything God gives is beautiful and perfect no matter the sex involved.
    In as much as we can not creates a single strand of hair on our head, then I don't see any reason to reject any sex God gives us as a child.
    Be grateful for any sex God gives you and bring them up well.

People that were calling my mum names years ago for birthing 6 girls are the same people coming to our house to beg her for food now. All her girls are doing well.

#trainyourgalswell#

26. Thank you @jostified RB.It's an African mentality not just in Nigeria.

@Trinity You are very shameless by tagging Igbos no wonder you are a baby mama

27. Replies
    1. The owner of shade room is my cousin,and their father killed their mum because,she gave birth to only girls.she gave birth to five girls.

28. Backward mentality.
    I always pray to God for him to give me the best kids.
    Some people even while pregnant are already scared of having a female child. Haba nor be God dey give children?
    If i have all girls and my husband or his family make too much noise about it, na to change their surname to my papa own i don't have time for such rubbish.
    If they are looking for who will carry their name till foreva, they should name a street now.

29. An average African man thinks that way, we are only two children in my family and we are both girls, my dad's family never one day treated us bad bcos we are girls not even after my Father's death. Some families are well educated and they understand

30. Boy or girl, children are a blessing.
    As long as your child is healthy, growing well, gender shouldn't matter. God that gave you the child does not make mistakes.

31. I need a mother-in-law like my grandma, very understanding woman. My mum has five girls, no boy And when my dad's pple were carrying d matter on their head, my grandma just told my mum not to bother herself, after all God gives.

32. It's actually and archaic thinking. Some times I get where they are coming from ( especially for only sons who need a male offspring for their linege to continue) but that doesn't mean you should take it to the extreme. It's okay to worry. But don't go about insulting your wife, beating her, maltreating her and cheating on her so you can get it outside.. That wouldn't be fair on the woman at all. Just pray together..

The annoying thing is why do you put your frustration on the woman when she gave birth to what you released into her? You can't be giving her x and expecting y

33. Of what actual use is Rob kardashian to the kardashian clan? Male child indeed. Bobrisky sef follow for male child.

1. Chai! Why naa Candid? 😂😂😂😂

2. Lma😂😅😆 @Candid! Savage!

3. Even the frustrated Rob we have here that should have channelled his frustations outta here is a confirm he-goat. Hater oshi! Smh

4. Savage!!!

Even some guys here

34. I know a lady that was crying on the morning of d naming ceremony because she had the 4th girl.
    Though the husband has never once complained, but his mother keeps making funny remarks. bcos most of her son's wives have been having girls.
    I heard she's had a 5th child now, a boy. They can afford it anyway.
    I don't believe in all this girl/boy thing. But I know most men always want to have atleast one boy. So if you as a woman has ur 1st as a boy you can atleast rest from his family wahala. But economy is not smiling to be having kids upandan.
    I just believe in a healthy child abeg.

35. So true,i have a boy and 2 girls and every one is on my neck to get pregnant again so that I will give birth to a second son,and I kept on asking them what if it is a girl?that means I will have to get pregnant again?thank God for my hubby that is indifferent to sex of the child jaree

36. My husband is an only son and I have just had a girl, my in laws seem to be happy with me. I'm waiting for them to say something about a boy let me remind them that I birthed what their son gave me. I want to have both sexes though.

1. Exactly. Twas what I was talking about 👆 there.

It's what a man puts in the woman brings out. So why shame her alone?

37. When some people are still crying to God for a child. The sex of the child is determined by the father...so it makes me laugh when they're the ones making a big deal out of it. As long as the child is healthy....all children are gifts from the Almighty.

38. You are right, it also happened to my mum, she gave birth to four girls and my grandma was like my dad should marry someone that will give him a male child, even my dad started misbehaving and bla bla bla, at the end my mum was pregnant and give birth to a boy, I have 3brothers now.

39. MAKE UNA GO REST JOOR, IN ALL ISSUES IN LIFE THIS DAYS LOTS OF PIPU FINK DEY VE AN OPPINION ON IT. EVERYBODY IS NW AN ANALYST ON LYF MATAZZZZZ. #whenureinitugoknow

40. This ish happened to me when I gave birth to my second daughter,I met a woman on the way while going out and she asked me u don born I said yes ooh,she said boy or girl I said girl and she just girl again I said yes naa God dey give pikin,not to talk of my own hubby own sef but in all am grateful to God for giving me grace to become a mother.

41. And one came for antenatal care visit last week, I asked her if she feels her baby kick; she said yes and next thing I heard was "but she is a girl and started crying serious cry ooh" she said she has 3 baby girls already. I told her to be grateful to God that so may women are still ttc, I still consoled her any way.

42. this must be unique to Nigerians... in Ghana, boy or girl, nobody gives a diddly squat..people actually wish a girl for you..i wish to have 4girls, no boy

1. Yes, many Ghanians prefer a girl. The Ashanti's practice matrilineal inheritance.

Stella Sweety, happy new year!

43. That is just me on the cartoon. Infact, I think the new mother up there is even better. My own husband left me after I had a girl and boldly told me that he would have stayed had it been a boy. I nevet got a call from him or his ppl. Thank God for my family, I d hav run mad if not for them. My daughter is my pride and joy. Hubby is now ex. God is at work in my life.

44. I ave four girls. My inlaws are very ondastanding but it's even my mum that carry the matter on her head like gala seller.
    She is still believing i will ave a boy. I have told her that we have stopped but she is in denial. This is someone whose two sons are giving us problems and we are praying that God direct them to the right path be cos they are spoilt and nonchalant.
    While me the girl,i have a very good job and I'm the one taking care of them.
    Me no send oh. My girls are doing great in school. Can't wait for them to become independent and start taking care of me.

45. The way my husband is praying for girls ehn!!Northerners don't care about boy or girl.My prayers is to have healthy kids,who will make us proud everywhere.Children who will love God and worship him all their lives.

1. So not true, they care! Just say you and your husband are not into that

46. So many folks are still backward in their thinking. May God grant the heart desire of women who want male children

47. my mum gave birth to two beautiful intelligent smart ass girls and never for once did she wish she had a boy or either of us was a boy. my dad on the other no even care sef coz he loves us like madt. for me i think ts an individuel thing. tho na our naija peolpe they carry the thing for head like dada. my aunt gave birth to six boys and and she is contented and doesn't wish she had a girl child bcoz the boys can do house chores like maids. people need to learn to appreciate their Children irrespective of thier sex.
    like my mum will always say with her disjointed pigin "any pikin wey go take care of im parents will take care of im parent e no matter weda na boy or girl" meaning any child that will take care of his/her parents, their legacy and keep the family together will do it irrespective of his/her sex"

48. This can be likened to the mumu guy that said something nasty about Obama's wife just having daughters... whether boy or girl , a child is a child created by GOD, if you're not happy about your child's sex, then oga/madam abeg try create your own.

49. I have three brothers I'm the only girl. I'm the only one taking care of my mother, i built dem a house in my early twenties, opened like 5 shops for my mom, trained my 2 brothers in university same time, from eating , clothing, Visas that i have spent millions on for them but they rather squander the money. They can never gv my mom they call me for virtually everything would have become multi millionaire if they atleast help me but no they can't. She was sick few weeks ago I spent so much money. I'm married now with 3 kids , 2 boys and a girl my mom 's always begging me to have more girls that girls never leave their families that girls are important that if she had 2 girls like me that she will never know what suffer is. She calls me 3 men in one😊I'm happy she's proud of me not easy to carry the responsibilities of the whole family.God bless every child making their parents proud

1. Awwwwww
      May God bless u dearie. You shall live loong to reap the fruits of your labour.

#GirlsRock!

2. Bless your heart❤
      My momsie always says a girl is equal to 5 boys. She born plenty boys and girls o

50. I have never commented on this blog, cuz i am quite shy but this topic really got to me. Women are suffering. I got married to my hubby who happened to be an only son and also an only child. Luckily for me, I am blessed with 3boys and a girl. I wonder what my life wud have been if I had given birth to only girls or didn't conceive at all. Be kind to people you meet, some are fighting unseen challenges.
    A friend told me how her hubby impregnated someone else because she gave birth to 4 daughters, the mistress delivered a set of twin boys for her hubby. Now the man's family is preparing for introduction.

51. I used to say I didn't want to give birth to a girl. I was so vocal about it and would tell anyone who cares to listen that I want 2 boys only. Not for the above mentioned reasons but because of the wahala that ladies go through. The discrimination, pains, discomfort and heartbreaks associated with being a woman. I thought it would be nice to spare my children that by just having boys. God in his wisdom gave me a son and later a beautiful little girl. I fell in love with her at first sight. I see now that it's a responsibility to raise a daughter in such a good way as for her to grow in God and avoid the same mistakes and heart breaks and discomforts I went through. Challenge accepted! I pray for God's help daily in raising her right because it's actually harder to raise a girl than a boy. God help us all!

52. In dis day and age, if you have money a lot is possible.
    There is gender selection through IVF, it is even done in this country.
    So for all dos Igbo women looking for boy. Cos some go as far as having 2nd wife for boy.
    Pls just read up on gender selection ivf.

53. Girls or boys all na children.

54. pls who knows about Twinkas.com

55. sometimes couples want to have both gender. but laying too much emphasis on a particular gender is not right. well i dont blame anyone, IF YOU MARRY FOR 20YEARS AND NO PIKIN BOTH THE MAN AND WOMAN AND YOU SEE GIRL, AM SURE YOU GO RUSH AM.

mind you girls take care of their parents at old age beta. make anyone no argue with me

56. Its a serious matter among the igbos. ........abeg as for me, a child is a child no matter the gender.

57. I remembered wen I was pregnant of my second child,my hubby is always threatening me that if I give birth to a girl,na deportation to my parent house.
    The day I went for scan,I was shaking seriously even inside AC.
    I sha gave birth to boy,he was overjoyed.

58. My dear I guess I'm lucky. Married an Igbo guy. Have 2 girls and that's it. Family has never harassed me. Treat my girls like royalty. I thank God. I think it's the level of exposure. The poor people r the ones that harass a lot. I guess that's what makes them feel special.