Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Being a Mum: The Joy of Motherhood

Friday, February 03, 2017

Being a Mum: The Joy of Motherhood

“ I enjoyed the silence in my home this morning as I cleared the breakfast table after the Champs left for school. 

I knew the calm wouldn’t last for long, as in a couple of hours, the noise would return and the house will be turned upside down. As expected, only bread crumbs and empty cups (which contained hot MILO a very short while ago) were left on the table. Their appetite for breakfast has been very impressive lately.

My Mum calls at exactly 10a.m., our daily ritual since I got married over a decade ago.

“Maureen, did your father tell you he was traveling today?”, “Yes, he did Mum” and the conversation goes on.

“Love you more”, I have told her before ending the call 15 minutes later. I sighed and walked to the dining table to continue my much deserved breakfast.

Lately, I’ve been expressing love to my mum more than anyone else (don’t tell my husband) and I realise what we have by far outweighs our mother-daughter bond. I’ve literally stepped into her shoes from the first day I became a mum.

Being a stay-at-home mum of two beautiful miracles has been an exciting journey so far with many more years to go.

I’d like to think the pain of childbirth is one of the best feelings in the world, that my children saying ‘mama’ the first time was the best word I’ve ever heard and their cries were like music to my ears.

To know my mum went through this life transforming journey I’m currently on still amazes me and I know one day, we’ll sit together and have that conversation of how she did a fine job of raising me and my four brothers.

Surprisingly, my superwoman isn’t planning to retire anytime soon.

Sometimes, I cling to the memory of the young girl who was bursting with life before motherhood, but you know that feeling of being in a whole different place now, leaves me wondering how the future with my children would be like.

Will ‘having fun with mum’ be a drag because they think she’s boring and they are much smarter than me or is it something they’ll always look forward to?

And a part I dread the most, will they always listen to me?

I guess I’ll ask my mum if she ever felt these same fears while raising us.

Because, I know years from now, when they become parents, what would matter most is the unconditional love and the lessons I raised them with as their mother and hope they’ll teach the same to their kids, after all #MumsAreTheBest.”

What does being a mum mean to you? Do you have interesting Motherhood stories? Share your thoughts and experiences!

129 comments:

1. Calling my mom right now, I always enjoy that moment she picks my call and the first thing you hear is Chibunky Chibunky and I will reply Mummy Chibunky, God Bless her and my 8 siblings but that woman try Shaa, only her 9 Children

1. I can't wait to be a mom.

2. Lol.

My mum is 'mama ejima' and she'll reply 'nwanne ejima'

3. She try wella,tripple kudos to her.

4. This is the best feeling in the world.....
      My son's smile always melt my heart.
      I have another one on the way.

What more can I ask for?

Motherhood rocks big time

5. Being a mum, the feeling is so great. When I held my daughter the first time after delivery, the just knew I want to protect her from any harm. And it has been like that with all of them.

Even the joy of hearing them call u mum is something else. And when they start their necessary wahala that one is another feeling. But in all they are a blessing.

My pray that God make everyone ttc to experience the joy of motherhood.

6. I NEED to sleep but my son wont allow me oo...putting his legs onmy face, kissing ne, jumping all over me, touching my face...omg, I wish hr cud fall asleep. Hubby is already snoring, tired from today's hard work

7. I'm a first time mom, my daughter is 6 months old. I just realized that I'm pregnant again, I'm so disturbed. Please who has had this kind of experience? How did you cope?

8. I'm a new mom,my son is 2weeks old, everything has changed suddenly and i'm enjoying every bit motherhood.

9. I'm a new mom,my son is 2weeks old, everything has changed suddenly and i'm enjoying every bit motherhood.

10. This comment has been removed by the author.

11. Anon 22:47,you have nothing to worry about,I was 7 weeks pregnant with a 7 months old baby,and I was so bothered,but I encouraged myself and I breastfed the baby till 9months,guess what?she walked,started talking and eating all manner at 9months,she's 10years old now and the sister is 9years,my Sister Inlaw was pregnant 3 months after she had a baby,now she has two beautiful boys,so you have nothing to worry about,you will be fine.

12. My dear it's a blessing, please don't consider abortion

13. After reading the article up there, I just Thank God for His Love and Mercies upon every female. This article never gets old, I wonder the name of the author?

2. I spend every moment of my adult life wishing I could become a mother. I've not lost hope yet as God is still God. I really envy mothers.

1. I remember d moment I woke up from my surgery and held my son for the first time. The feeling of newness around me after I had my baby. The sky seemed bluer, the future seemed brighter, breathing the air was pure joy
      Every moment with my son is precious. God bless all mothers and open the wombs of all TTC women. Amen.

2. God ll make it happen in ur life. From ur lips to his ears. Amen.

3. Do not give up
      Your joy has come, just believe.

4. Your dreams will become reality soon inshaAllah.

5. Amen,God I can't wait to b a mother.the joy of motherhood,I must expirance

6. I dint feel all these when I had my daughter, but now I love her fiercely.
      May you experience motherhood soonest in Jesus name.

3. Soon I will share my story #byGod'sgrace

1. Most of u will come here now and start talking about how sweet ur mom is but u will use those same fingers to type curses and insults to someone else's mother.
      I cherish my family a lot hence the reason I shield them,coa God knows I will tear,cook,roast and garnish you with pepper and onions if u come for my family.
      Mothers are way too special to be Insulted

4. Being a mum is a job i never want to loose...i jst realized i'm 2months gone and my angel is jst 10months..at first i felt very terrible buh i will NEVER TAMPER with my unborn baby...i love my babies

1. 10months and you want talk. Adanma ohakim had her two kids in a year. Do d math

2. That's the spirit dear!

3. You will be just fine,my princess was 9 months too.Cant wait to me my lo...

1. Being a mum is the most beautiful thing that can happen to anyone. My girls are a handful but when they are away, I miss them like crazy. I am a career woman and my mum (God bless her) takes care of my kids when I'm at work. I have a maid but I never leave the kids alone with her. My kids give me the strength to combine an hectic work schedule with motherhood. No matter the stress at work, seeing dem at the end of each day makes me 4get. I can try my best to meet the needs of my kids. Even their dad thinks I over do it. I love my kids and I have the best mum and dad in the whole world. I am a daddy's girl also.

6. I lost my mum 12years ago and became a mum 4years ago. I felt lost as I didn't know a damn thing about handling babies. Some days I cried and everyday I miss her. It's not easy at all jostling homefront work and kids tantrums is overwhelming. I envy friends who have mums to send their kids to for a little me time. Hmmmm I pray for every TTC mums to experience all these I count all as blessings not withstanding. Raising kids is the toughest job of all.

1. Yeah,i can so relate.
      I thank God for my
      Sister
      Husband
      Mum in-law

They were of great help.

2. Amen,God pls answer me on time

3. I lost my mum more than 20years ago, never know what is like to have one,never felt loved,everything I know,I learnt on my own,God it wasn't easy but u made me what I am today,had a step mum who never want me and my brother, so much hurt and pain until I become an orphan 12years ago,had to see myself and my brother tru school,wow,TankGod,father as am TTC pls help me to b a good mother and live to them grow ijn amen

7. Simply put- Motherhood is beautiful.

My children, oh my babies!. I just don't know how they do it but they know how to break my frown to a smile especially when they've crossed aa line.

Every woman MUST enjoy motherhood.
    Those trying to conceive and those looking forward to getting married, you shall bear forth children.
    The feeling is bliss.

1. Amen!

Nothing beats Motherhood my dear. NOTHING!

2. Ooh BLOGYyy!!! I say a resounding Amen to your prayer.😇😇😇#GodIsNeverLate

I saw you shout out in this morning SP. Tanks swit.😄😄😄

8. I'm not a mum yet and besides, I was 3months old when my mum died. I pray to experience motherhood someday. so help me God! I wish I could send a message to my mum to tell her that I'm all grown.

1. Awwwww
      I'm soo sorry darling.
      Come take a hug baby girl.
      Your kids wil make u happy. In them u wil see ur mom. And with them,u'l experience mother's love as well. Ok?

2. Dis touched me, dat I felt like crying...!!

3. She is watching u from heaven.may she continue to RIP.
      #hugs

4. Is well, mama is watching all over u😢😴😢😴😥😧😩😨
      You will experience motherhood soon

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

6. Awwwww...
      Come here
      *borrows hug from TGBaibay.*
      Big hugs darl
      You will make a wonderful mum. I believe so

7. Awww. I am sure she is watching over you. Amen to your prayer.

9. Sweet mother, I love you forever.

Nothing beats the joy of motherhood. IMO tho.
    Can still remember the day I held my son for the first time. He was just gazing at me with eyes wide open and bright. I was lucky to capture that mo on camera. The love, oh the love I felt that day is indescribable.

Or was it the first day he called me mummy, I picked him up and kissed him all over. He was just laughing.

It's been a wonderful journey so far. It ain't easy, but it's worth it and fulfilling.

#GodBlessAllMothers
    #MamaBoys

10. Our mothers are Bae
    Long live our mothers

1. Airmen!

I'yaff alwaz beleaf in lof at faze site cuz I loffed mai mom thee faze thym i opne mai ize.

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. Villager don't make me wake people from sleep,😀😀😀😀😀

11. I can't wait to be a mother. I have so much to teach my kids

12. proudly black/white
    #mixed baby

13. Not yet, I can't wait to be a mother of twins. God please do this for me, by this time 2018 I will be a happy of twins-Amen

14. God pls, make me a mom. I love to carry my baby, feel his skin against mine. talk to him, laugh and be with him. if being a mom is a wish, I would ve gotten millions. God of Hanna, pls, visit me. visit me sooner that I think ohhh. amen.

1. And It ll happen sooner than u expect cos Jesus lives.

2. It's done in Jesus mighty name, amen.

3. I got teary reading your comment, God ll answer you soonest in jesus name ..just a few months in marriage and I can't wait to conceive already. Btw, God bless mum, she can call for Africa bck in sch my roomie used to envy me, she calls me morning bfr she heads out or on her way out, calls in the evening to talk about how the day went,same thing she does with my sister, I pray to God everyday for the grace to give her the very best of things in life.

4. Ameen Ameen He has heard you, have faith in Him.

15. For all expectant women, This post shouldn't make u sad but hopeful, u will carry ur own childre amd experience the joy of motherhood(amen). Kisses to my mum and all other amazing mothers out there.

16. Please can someone refer me to where a BV described how to make ukwa, thanks.

17. I'm a mother of quadruplets (with faith). I love multiple babies. A ladies brought twin boys to my place of work today and I was just staring at them as if...

18. You are a fucking "house wife" don't come here to tush the word to stay home mom. Better go and look for sth doing b4 you will look like house help in the eyes of ur kids.

1. Anon 19:46 a stay at home mom is also a house wife. What you need is to take a tall glass of your bitterness and I hope you choke on it.

2. You're a fool oooh.
      So blogging is not a job?
      Double job at that n to think u are even her customer(bv).
      Olodo...

3. May God sweeten your life, so your bitterness would evaporate

4. You are a fucking "sadist" don't come here showing your bitterness. Better go and look for some sweetness before you drown in your sad and pitiful life!

5. Lol na your house wife? You sound stupid.

6. If she is a full time house wife no? Is it your "consign". What if she works online and bringing in millions of naira. Abeg free her jor

7. Frustration wan kill this one.

8. While working wives have d best marriages? Ask nana otedola which company she works for? Ask sade who is sh workig under? Ask Asba who she's working under, etc being a housewife don't mean u sit at home, marry a rich caring guy a u would never slave under any boss, you would have ur own company and work from d bedroom if u like.

9. I love being a house wife oo.

Ps: um not the poster.

10. The point the commentor above is trying to make is the poster didn't mention having any job whatsoever including blogging (of course I don't think the poster is Stella). Now before y'all start screaming "hater " upandan, remember how y'all berate women who send chronicles for not having their own jobs and only depending on their husbands.. that is when 'wahala burst'. So y'all should chill with the cussing

11. 19.46, the bitterness and frustration in you is so much that it is oozing out of every pores in your body, up to your anus!

Many housewives live better than some of you 'workers', stop tushing it up as career women! That was how a bv said a business woman is not a career woman.ORIEGWU!

My cousin was sacked last week from her bank job, i couldn't believe it is a miserly #60k she was paid! When many housewives get 2-3x of that as chop money.

That your precious job you see and worship as your god can be taken from you tomorrow. OLOSHI! ONIRANU! IMBECILIC BUFFON E-DIOT!

19. Being a mum is amazing, challenging, stressful and joyful. Its really hard cos small children are so demanding, they depend on you for everything.

But when I look into their beautiful innocent faces , i marvel that God gave them to me to bring up. I am not worthy. I love the fun times we have, they say such funny things,when we put music on and do crazy oyinbo dancing. I love my lambs.

20. God bless all mothers and intending Moms

21. Can't wait to see a miny me running around, but not until I cash this money first And I meet Mr left *chuckle* 👄

22. Motherhood rocks the feeling is out of this world, sometimes I feel like running away, most times I look back and thank God for I am living today because of my child. I am fully responsible of my child's life, may God visit all those TTC this year....

Long live SDK

23. God will bless us that are GTC, so that one day we all will share our experience

24. Anonymous 19:46,, may your frustrations never end!!

You never see house wife wey get pass working class???

You never see house wife wey working class d borrow from???

Respeck
    Your old age or sip sniper you blood bitter soul Vagabond.

25. Anonymous 19:46,,usu ra kwa gi.

Adviser.you wey d work,,how is your life???

You bloody swine.

Fuck off.

26. Annoy " house wife" u are silly.

Clear your bitter soul or u remain a miserable non entity.
    Waste of spermtozoa

#getAlife.

27. Love that moment when i return from work and all 3 coming rushing *mummyyyyyy*. Thank you Lord for making me a mother. Bless all those TTC father in heaven. Je ki ole ayo ko so ninu won loruko Jesu.

28. Motherhood!!
    I loooveeee it. My son is my world.
    May God bless every woman TTC.

29. Ermm you don chop today? This sounds like a "hangry" comment. Stay at home mum is used everywhere and everytime and we all know the meaning of it. What exactly is your point?

30. I can't wait to be a mum..
    God please hear my prayer and answer me.

31. Motherhood sweet and it's hardwork, d shouting part and chasing toddlers all over,praying for them to grow up n become great personalities, worrying on their behalf, gosh!

32. Whenever I c my daughter...I thank God 4 giving her to me n kiss her forehead...she's the best gift I got 4 days to my birthday...I love the way she rejects everybody and wants to to be with me whenever she sees me ...it makes me feel special n loved unconditionally...she's 8 months.

1. Hmmmm,when I had my first baby,I guess I was the happiest person on earth,I gave her over ten names,I will peck her,hold her,throw her up,I practically ran out of names to call her,my husband wanted to buy everything for her,he's questions would be can my Angel take this now?try this baby food,can she take this chocolate?motherhood is hard work mehn

33. Came back from work few days ago...have to buy ice cream from an eatery cos the weather was very hot..got to the house rushed to my ice cream and imidietly my mom flashed my mind..I just felt my mom really needs this right now.have to call my brother imedietly,trnsferd sum money to him and begged him to get ice cream for my parents cos I know nobody gives them such things in the village...I can't wait for God to bless me so that I too can bless my mom.please don't laugh at me..I have according to my size.

34. Been a mother is the best feeling ever,won't trade it for anything in the world..My daughter is just so adorable and makes me laugh all the time..May God bless all those ttc and safe delivery to all expecting their lo...

35. U guys be making we expectant mothers in the making wanna go get pregnant soon huh? OK o... Lost ma mum five years ago,wasn't really close to her cos I was daddy's girl... But I damn miss them a lot..... May their souls rest in peace...

36. Motherhood Rocks ,I thank God for my mum and for the baby in my womb already.
    Pls protect my babies O God.
    #Side eyes at Coded Milo Advert Stella #

37. I can only thank God for my daughter as she add another year tommorrow, dear God I know it's not been easy but with you we can go a long way.I can sacrifice anything to make her happy and though it's been rough and tough from the pregnancy stage till this present moment. I remember how I would stayed over the night to rub your mum's tummy each time U kick her stomach, I remember every contraction and immerdiately I touch Ur mum's tummy, U stay calm, I remember how you use to move Ur mum's navel each U are feeding in her womb, I remember every antenatal and postnatal and how the nurses called me "the only man that anttends antenatal, I remember how I slept at the hospital reception for days after Ur birth, I remember how I cried when the nurses called me while I was away searching for how to clear the hospital bills and they told me U had jaundice and U were placed on phototherapy treatment, I remember how I change diapers for U, I remember this love has been there for long and all I can say today is to thank God for your life, you are 5yrs old tommorrow but I know there is more to celebrate in life. My wish for U on your birthday are so large but God can address it all. To all great mothers who love their children and stood by them, God bless you and may those children grow up to be that child that will reward all your struggles and efforts over them. Lord grant my wish for this lil girl, I wish I can take you on a trip soon. I'm throwing a small party for Her tomoro. I will always be your daddy forever Bell😇

1. Such lovely words,James Ade my prayers for you is for God to open strange doors of favor for you and you will continue to be a good father and husband,IJN happy birthday to your daughter.

38. I miss my Mom so much. May God bless her with good health and keep her for me till we see again.😇😇😇

39. Yes. that is the best feeling. whenever I see my son after each day's work I smile and say a silent prayer to God for blessing. I am almost due for the my second child. God grant me safe delivery in few weeks time. Amen.

To all TTC especially BV, my friends and family. I use myself as a point of contact that God will bless all ur wombs and cause children to come forth in Jesus Name Amen.

Bv CARROT.

40. I loveeee my mum. Can't just wait to be a mum to my wonder kids soon by God's grace. Amen

41. I pray this year will not pass me by.

42. This story is so similar to mine, I have two boys and four siblings, all boys too. I call my mum everyday and can't thank her enough for all the advices, raising kids is not easy but the joy is profound. I work 9-5, same as hubby, my only issue is that I don't have any friends, just me and my family. If there's any one trying to make new friends, kindly reply my thread below.

43. To the frustrated anonymous(es)
    Some of you are so uncouth and lousy because you believe your lives begins and ends with your jobs.

When a housewife does giveaway here without revealing her status, many of you will download your family history and beg with your ancestors to be picked for the giveaways, then come here to open there mad-cow diease infested mouths to vomit the bile in their stomach about stay at home mothers.

Many workers are also poor! Nothing to show for their years of working! Apart from buying clothes, shoes and jewelries, what else remains? Some of you don't have savings! Your children suffer in the hands of maids and relations, and you come here to abuse women who made sacrifices for their families.
    GTFO!

Sdk do post.

44. I remember in 2008 I was called that my mum was sick... i entered the next available vehicle to see her. getting to the hospital I saw my mum inside the ambulance with my siblings crying and shouting. I felt this sharp pain in my heart and ever since then my life has never been the same. I hated this world and everything about it.
    May your soul continue to rest in peace my dearest mum...your little daughter is now a mother .

45. The joy I get when I call my mum and first thing she will say is Adanne. I love my mum so much!

46. So unfortunately that she's gone forever.

Motherhood rocks

47. This is my prayers every day,the way I admire pregnant women ehn.We have new born twins in my church,my husband always want us to sit close to their mom so he can carry the girl,she is so chubby & cute.May God look down on me and all women in the waiting room,our testimony will be permanent in Jesus name(amen)

48. Motherhood rocks and it means so much to do, love my boys. God answer all TTC women.