Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Celebrities Tweet Their Support for Attorney General Fired for Not Defending Trump’s Travel Ban

Wednesday, February 01, 2017

Celebrities Tweet Their Support for Attorney General Fired for Not Defending Trump’s Travel Ban

On Monday night, President Trump fired acting Attorney General Sally Yates for refusing to defend his controversial executive order on immigration and refugees.

The White House released a statement, writing that Yates “betrayed the Department of Justice by refusing to enforce a legal order designed to protect the citizens of the United States,” after Yates instructed Justice Department lawyers NOT to make legal arguments defending Trump’s ban.

“My responsibility is to ensure that the position of the Department of Justice is not only legally defensible, but is informed by our best view of what the law is after consideration of all the facts,” Yates wrote in a letter to Justice Department lawyers.

“In addition, I am responsible for ensuring that the positions we take in court remain consistent with this institution’s solemn obligation to always seek justice and stand for what is right.

“At present, I am not convinced that the defense of the executive order is consistent with these responsibilities nor am I convinced that the executive order is lawful,” she added.

Hollywood celebrities were quick to rally to the defense of Yates, with Community actress Yvette Nicole Brown tweeting, “Dear #SallyYates, you are on the right side of history.”

Jessica Chastain, Minnie Driver, Kathy Griffin, Ava DuVernay, Emmy Rossum, Patton Oswalt, Rosie Perez, and Nick Offerman joined the chorus of celebrities tweeting their support for Yates.

from yahoo celebrity

32 comments:

1. Trump is not a politician, you don't lead like this

2. Chaos everywhere, na wa! 2017 please be nice

3. Americans are simply confused

4. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

5. Campaign promises were made and the American people made their choice based on that hence I see no reason why Americans should be complaining now. I tend to love Trump for being a man of his words and the real Americans love what he is doing. This action of his will great more jobs for the Americans. Forget intentional politics , locally the people are happy. Let this matter rest jare

1. Getting fired because she don't bow down to trump and yet you see nothing wrong with that, yet you'll call another leader a dictator for doing the same.

Abeg remove emotions and use sense. People are not just protesting for fun

2. We have laws here John, you can't just fire anyone, this's not like my papa and mama company. There are going to be more lawsuits against the federal government now because of his dumb stupid ass. Lawsuits still loading and counting

3. Law suits....well, you guys really haven't started. If it were Libya, you will invade it because they have a despotic ruler. Watching the Trump with my popcorn.

4. Anonymous give yourself brain. She didn't get fired because she didn't want to bow to Trump, she got fired for defying her boss' order. She got emotional instead of being practical. If your boss at work asks you to do something, won't you do it regardless of what you think is right or wrong?
      That's insubordination. She deserved to be fired!

5. @ naija babe go and eat akpu. If you have no principles then clear road for self respecting individuals.

Are you a slave to your boss? Will you kill because your boss asks you to? Very wayward and backward mentality. The name naija babe suits you. Typical of the average nigerian

6. Why Nigeria Will Never Progress

1). The ill informed praise/criticise what they don't know and understand.

2). Hypocrisy and double standards. One man will be praised for one thing and another will be criticised for the same thing.
    E.g Trump fired the acting attorney general for not going along with his ideas which is the perfect example of dictatorship and fascism but nigerians will praise him whilst buhari will be called a dictator for doing the same thing.

3). Inferiority complex. Assigning divinity on others, calling them hero's, God sent and what not when they are humans beings like us, who do and will continue to make mistakes and are far from perfect. Leaders need criticism to keep them in check and are far from infallible.

4). Defending every action, right or wrong, of those we support, even if its to our own detriment. Yet we wonder why things aren't moving forward.

5). Selfishness and a lack of empathy. We do not care or wish to understand anything or anyone else. We just jump unto what we thing is right and run with it.

6). Laziness and ignorance. It's said the curse of a black man is the lack of desire to read and seek knowledge. We enjoin being misled will gladly believe anything anyone tells us without any research or enquiry as long as it's someone we like, and that's how politicians will continue to divide and conquer us while they chop and clean mouth.

To be continued

1. Like the brainwashed slave Christians and Muslims in Nigeria. Follow follow no brain.
      #support the protest/ y'all should come out , enough is enough

2. Christ!I want to commend you for making me see reasons for not only going to school but making it count unlike the hordes of dimwits crawling all over the cyberspace.

3. Please what post is the continuation coming up?

4. Please what post is the continuation coming up?

7. There cup of tea. In trump I believe. The banned people should relocate to Stella's house or Saudi Arabia .

8. Everywhere is full of wahala. wetin concern me

9. Trump don enter as president now, na every second USA go dey commot for news.

10. Protest is going on right now at F.M.C lokoja. They are playing Fella's "international thief thief" and "Suffer suffer" in front of the C.M.D's office.. They are protesting over unpaid arrears amongst many more. I heard the man runs the hospital like it's his father's own.

11. He made promises and they voted him so going against it nah...
    Vuharia that made promises and didn't even remember them nko?

12. U.S.A. is the only place I see people fighting against a president for fulfilling his campaign promises. If they didn't like his policies why vote for him? I tire o

1. Voting for him is one thing, violating the constitution is quite another! Educate urself, Madam Chidinma.

2. Mumu, how did he violate the constitution? Do you even know what's in the US Constitution or you just want to blow big grammar?
      Where in the Constitution did it say refugees or even foreigners can come to the US by fire by force?
      It's like a guest forcing the homeowner to allow him into his home by force.
      Canada is welcoming all of them, they should go there.

13. They should allow Trump do the job Americans voted him to do in peace.

14. Why are they complaining? Trump said all these things while campaigning nau. No be them vote him abi na we vote am? They should deal with their ish abeg we get our own wey boku for naija

15. Good for her. Having guts and a backbone is hard to find these days in ppl. She will forever be able to look in the mirror and be at peace with herself.

16. America should accept their President and stop showing the world their stupidity please......hian......I tire

17. American celebrities should know by now that their so called tweets of support does nothing,they are just wasting their time.If na support celebrities tweet Hilary would have won.