Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DSS Flogs Unity School Teachers In Calabar

Friday, February 03, 2017

DSS Flogs Unity School Teachers In Calabar

Six teachers at the Federal Government Girls College in Calabar on Thursday alleged that they were beaten in the presence of pupils by operatives of the Department of State Services, Cross River State Command.

They alleged that the armed security officials stormed the school premises at about 10am on the invitation of a female DSS official who had come to beat up a teacher for flogging her daughter.

One of the teachers, Mr. Owai Owai, said he was flogged in front of his pupils by the DSS woman and her husband.

Other teachers, who claimed to have been beaten up when the school later became flooded with DSS officials, identified themselves simply as Ndarake, Inyang, Udoh, Agba, Njor and the college’s Chief Security Officer, John Ikpeme.

A security official, identified as James, said the DSS officials who stormed the school in three vehicles, shot repeatedly into the air before they forcefully gained entrance.

However, the state Director of DSS, Mr. Fubara Duke, said the matter was a case of mistaken identity.

Punch observed that the school gate had bullet holes, while some spent shells were seen on the floor.

Owai, who teaches Civic Education in the senior class, said trouble started when he flogged some pupils for failing to sweep their classroom.

He said, “I was about to teach when I noticed some junior pupils sweeping the classroom of the senior pupils. I learnt that the senior pupils had imposed it on them. It was a wrong precedent because all the pupils had been told to sweep their respective classes.

“I punished the senior pupils who ordered the junior ones to sweep. I gave each of them two strokes of the cane on their palm and one of them challenged me for flogging her. Before I knew what was happening, she telephoned her mother, whom I later learnt was a DSS official. The mother came to the school with her husband and they started beating me.

“They used my own cane to flog me in the presence of the pupils. My fellow teachers came in to stop them, but they were rebuffed. Later, the DSS woman called her colleagues for reinforcement and that was how the school became flooded with DSS officials. They started beating teachers who ran into them.”

Another teacher, Amos Princewill, said the DSS officials took away two mobile phones, a binocular and N80,000 belonging to his colleagues who were molested.

But DSS Director, Duke, said, “It was not true that they used guns. What happened was that there was a mistaken identity somewhere. Our people responded to a call from them and on getting there, a group of hoodlums that had earlier gone there took to their heels.

“Meanwhile, a parent had gone to the school to complain that her daughter was beaten up by a teacher. She (the parent) was mistaken to be among the hoodlums and some teachers from the school pounced on her. They even attacked a DSS official. I have complained to the school authorities to take administrative action against what they did to a member of my staff.”

From Punch

78 comments:

1. This Dss is one wicked unknown agency that needs to be scrapped. Hate them like kilode

1. What nonsense! That was my school. That child MUST be expelled immediately

2. Nigeria is back to full jungle mode. Time was, when democracy under Obj and GEJ made it a Zoo but right now, we are back to full jungle mode. Military rule under a dictator is the only reason DsS is flexing muscle everywhere...

2. The lies by the DSS is ten-much. Imagine!

3. This is bad, teachers please stop flogging students, there are other ways to mete punishment, parents should stop harassing teachers too, if you don't like the type of discipline given to your child, you report to the school authority and lay your complaints instead of beating the teachers or you teach your child yourself.

1. My dear the woman should take her child to a school where they do not beat. Simple. I was beaten and nothing do me. If u don't like the ways of the school then remove ur child. This is a case of misuse and abuse of power. The dss woman should be sacked.

2. Teachers should stop flogging Hian it's not the best way to make a child learn. I still have a mark on my fore heard sef from my secondary school maths teacher. Punishment like Cutting grass is much better

4. Imagine! So they can't beat your child again in school, madam. They will teach her outside

5. Mr Duke, that lying mouth of yours will be your doom one day. Idiot!!! Stupid DSS!!!!

6. That's the kind of parents produced in this generation. Little wonder children have no manners,some pple will tell you to ask for their permission b4 u beat their kids Choi. End time parenting.

1. Yes you can't spank someone else's child without permission. You dare not touch mine.report to me,i won't hesitate to do the spanking if he deserves it.

7. kai!! Naija which way now,am so shocked, can this really be happening in Nigeria? has it gotten to this extent? what are we sowing into the lives of the leaders of tomorrow to make them better human. I really do not even know what to say on this issue. my heard bleeds for my country. people who are to protect us are the ones bullying us...it is well

8. Imagine the stupidity of the parents.

Bad upbringing.

No wonder teachers these days will never flog a child.

The DSS woman is just spoiling her daughter's future

9. Weak ass explanations!
    Nigerian security agents are thugs, let them go to sambisa and fight na, mtchewww!!!

10. I will have to look into this issue and deal with who ever is at fault drastically

1. I wish it was the principal that was beaten, that woman insults both the parents and her workers anyhow. always walking around with cane and flogging students, anybody that attended fggc calabar knows mma Ijeoma Essien, that woman is a she-devil so am not surprise what the teacher did.

2. Wait! Mrs Ijoma the princi Now?

3. Blessing, what year was the school established? If you're a true old student, you'll know this and review your blonde comment about "everybody who attended" knowing her.

11. DSS people can lie Sha. See their made up story. Smh. They better fish out those DSS officers and punish them.

So a teacher cannot correct a student again. Talk about silly mothers. Na those pikin dey grow up turn nuisance for society.

1. .....and soon the daughter will turn that nasty attitude towards the mother too and she won't be able to do shit about it!!

12. This is all shades of wrong! A female DSS going into a school with her colleagues to flog the teachers in the school, just because her child was punished for misbehaving!

Oh, I hate the oppression of teachers (even though some are not good), but they raised us along with our parents.

All those involved should be relieved of their duties to the States or federal departments they belong. They're not sane enough to walk among other Nigerians.
    They should be sued as well.

I can imagine what that female DSS husband go through at home, tomorrow she will cry fowl and all other women will cry along with her, forgetting how inhumane and aggressive she is.

13. Why is the DSS lying?
    So who shot at the gates of the school? Did The gun holes there magically appear?
    So all the Teachers made his up?
    The DSS couldn't even tell a believable lie.
    Mistaken identity indeed. Such blatant lie!

And by the way,I know we can be overly protective of our kids but I am wondering what sort of parents go to their daughter's school and flog her teacher in the full glare of his students.
    Na wah o!

1. A half baked parent obviously. Rada rada oshi

2. If I am the principal I will expel the student, her parents should go and train her at their home

3. Yes expel her. Let the Dss train her. Useless parents

4. What if a stray bullet hit some students? So because her own child was beaten for obviously been wrong she wants to kill other people's children. She is breeding a loose canon little does she know. That girl can never turn out well.

14. Power corrupt absolutely, I Pity d daughter future.

15. Uniformed people and violence... May God help us civilians.. it is well o.

16. All security apparatuses in Nigeria are jst bullies. But when they see ordinary armed robbers, they'll take to their heels.
    Anyway, i believe d version of d school teachers.

17. This is military RULE...
    All rights has been suspended

#PeterObiForPresident2019

18. What is happening in Naija???

19. Lol Nigerians are used to it under this change govt. Was it not the same manner the INEC officials were beaten in River State rerun by DSS and uptill this moment the DSS man is still walking freely.

Change begins with me indeed.

Godwin Alex

1. How convenient indeed. So the hoodlums were the one that flogged that same teacher??? Like seriously! They didn't students to kidnap or enter bursar's office.
      This bleeds my heart. I wonder what form of training that stupid woman is giving her child. A federal govt college at that. That school should expel that student and no govt school in that state or even private school should take her in. They are very very stupid, if they let it go, it will keep happening.
      The junior students they are turning into slaves are not people's children? Goshhhhhh!!

2. Jesus christ! Bullet holes at the gate? Just because of 2 strokes of Caine? What if it was sports time and students were playing? What if they killed someone? This is not acceptable. Girl, go home and receive classes from your mother.

3. Those stupid DSS and other law enforcement, shebi they flog civilians on a normal day, is that not someone's child? Father? Mother? Brother and sister? Now you can't even condone few strokes for your child that did something wrong.

4. They can't even say the truth. Even when we know you are lying, you will just keep telling korokoro lies. Abuse of power.

20. Na wah oh. If you don't want your child to be beaten at all or given corporal punishment then take her to an ajebutter school.
    I went to Fggc Akure and everybody know say Unity Schools no be beans.

Wicked seniors and a letter to Senior Pangolos

1. Gbam, I'm so pained by this bullshit, I weep for Nigeria.

2. Went to fggc Akure as well .

21. Say what?

What kinda nonsense is this.

22. Shaking my head for d rotten nation!

23. Lady T/ am worth more than a thousand dollars3 February 2017 at 08:08

The said girl who reported to her mum who is a DSS should leave the sch. Infact she should be withdrawn. Since she doesn't like discipline. She should go to where they will pet her. Nonsense. That's why we have children with no respect or morals...

24. Who do we believe?
    To start:
    1. Dose any DSS official have a daughter in that school?
    2. The claimed report about hoodlums was by who?
    3. Why beat teachers if they went for hoodlums?
    So many things is wrong with this our country Nigeria. I pity that girl and her parent,in as much as I don't like flogging a child, if the child was not wounded and flogged alone with a good reason why worry yourself. A little spank once in a while can't kill a child rather it build them to learn lessons

1. Good questions. They didn't even state if it was the principal that called Dss. Why will they come and attack that particular teacher first. And start beating the other ones. If it was school that called the DSS, why will they beat up school security?
      The bullet holes, that is the most scary part. This would have been a case of mass murder. How can you open fire inside a public place like school. Jesus! Just because of Caine. Rubbish.

25. What a shame. DSS shame on you guys and shame on that IDIOT DSS woman that called for reinforcement. Shame again

26. All this parents who feel thief kids are too precious to be disciplined by teachers just make me angry....during my TP days I saw alot of scenarios like this when parents would storm the school to challenge or even fight teachers.

1. I saw more than enough too but my principal was a radical. U beat a teacher, ur child will cry till he/she leaves the school.

I miss my secondary school principal o. Oga Williams, we still love u

27. Can u just hear the stupid explanation the director is giving? Does she even believe her own story? All these our Nigerian forces have turned savages.

28. DSS you are lying. We know how most force personnel always treat civilians anyhow. The teachers are the ones telling the truth.
    That student should be expelled from that school and her parent should be ashamed of themselves.

1. It is very clear. The teachers are saying the truth.
      The DSS couldn't even say who in particular call them. Cos it is definitly not the school authority. So if it were one of them, what was that person doing in school to need a back up.

29. They should post the pic of the girl and her parents here.

30. Abuse of power everywhere.Smh

31. The DSS Director should be questioned himself. What does he mean by it is a case of a mistaken identity. Their daughter has a name and that name can be used to fish out her parents. This is how so many of our security/uniform men/power seeking individuals in our society act so irresponsibly. If I were the school, I will dismiss the student whose parents are DSS. This is madness of the highest order.

32. The worst problem we have in Nigeria,is lies!! Lies!!lies!! Starting from the presidency. God help us and deliver us from this liars.

33. I wish Mrs Ndonofit was there to b flogged too.. Wicked vp

1. What ever did she do to u to demand such a verdict!
      She was also my VP and she was not wicked!

2. What ever did she do to u to demand such a verdict!
      She was also my VP and she was not wicked!

3. You're a sick child. You are the problem of Nigeria(you and whoever trained you)

4. She is not sick lulu, and who doesn't know mma ndonofit? Abeg fggc calabar teachers are too mean, especially Ijeoma Essien the current princi

5. You are foolish. Mrs Nduonofit was never wicked. Except you didn't attend FGGC calabar. The DSS are liars. They have become invincible since buhari entered office. Let me go anon on this one. My ID is precious

6. Blessing, are you sure it's the same fggc calabar you went to?, Mrs Nduonofit wasn't wicked at all, actually the teachers didn't even beat much, the real torture was from senior students. I hope the stupid girl is expelled.

7. Oh so already there were people who've come hear to question if you've ever been a student there? Hope you're not from those schools down Atim both that wore a similar uniform.

8. Lululious u must have been trained like a tout.. What do u know about Mrs Ndonofit, I'm sure u were just a student,mrs Ndonofit frustrated both the students and the staff of FGGC calabar, so don't say what u don't know u uncouth child..dont ever bring who trained me into such Petty talk.. Go around and ask how she humiliates both staff and their children

9. Mrs Ndonofit was wicked Ohhhhh. I'm a staff of FGGC calabar, u dare not dress well to school. The eyeing no be here.. One of the staff had to go spiritual for her..she had one junkie son like that..

10. Thanks blessing.. No mind the mumu idiot that am sure was even a day student.. I schooled and lived there.. Always having and opinion of what they know nothing about.. Umam FGGC calabar atimbo

11. Precious u are more foolish.. Can't u idiots make a point without insults... Who raised u fools. It's the same FGGC, go and ask around ...bloody idiots that didn't even know how she smells are here commenting rubbish

12. Wow mrs Ijeoma was the boarding house mistress in my set.. Don't know if she is the one u are talking about sha.. She was alright then ..maybe power is now shaking her

34. This is just all shades of wrong! If u do not want ur daughter punished, pls take her out of our FGGC..

Now, this mom will cry foul when her own daughter stands up to her in d future right?

This DSS people that just respond to any kinda call, is that part of their training???

I wonder u w that over protected daughter of yours sees you now woman? Pls, when she begins to bring men into ur house to have sex with them in ur glare, I hope we will b spared d woes!

35. Stella, thanks so much for posting this. I can't assess the blog with my phone today, dunno why. I'm using my mum'said phone.

Update: The lady has been queried and has pictures of her back with a mark that could easily have been made after the fact(shinkini mark at that). President of USOSA, who also happens to be the head of human rights activists, is on the case. Thanks so much for helping out cos the news has spread. God bless. BV Broomstick