Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Should Exempt Women From NYSC Orientation Camp.

Friday, February 03, 2017

FG Should Exempt Women From NYSC Orientation Camp.

As a Philanthropist who cares for women and children, I have come to reason and also come to a conclusion that NYSC scheme is total waste of Public funds and precious time. 

More So, the female gender should be busy planning a financial secure future, setting up businesses , building their home than engage in futile and gratuitous exercise called 'NYSC'. Not that NYSC makes any sense at all for either gender but women are worse off in the following ways

1.Security: We have all observed over time, how we hear of women being taken advantage of in areas they are familiar with and unfamiliar with. 

Take for example a 21 year old lady gets posted to Sokoto; a state she has neither visited before nor has any relative. This is highly unsafe for her. In terms of culture, religious conservatives, environmental and many other issues which are best left unsaid. We can be caught in a situation that can cause her serious DAMAGE. 

2 Finances : The Federal Government of Nigeria will save billions of Naira by investing monies spent on contracts to purchase uniforms, boots etc on female Corpers rather on more prolific ventures. 

More so, "corpers" can start to earn real income that would in turn boost the economy. I recommend that the government either invest the funds in job creation rather than spending on NYSC or use it as an incentive scheme for graduates for the first year after graduation.

3 Monthly Period : From research, I know some women cry Lion and Fox when on their monthly circle. Some are so traumatised they go into coma. 

This is unavoidable as women don't have a choice in this yet they are expected to fully engage in stressful physical activities under harsh living conditions and in unhygienic environments rather than the comfort of their home.This is also a pressing issue that should allow FG exempt females from the scheme.

4. Pregnant Women and Mothers : This issue is not Rocket Science. We don't expect a nursing mother or Pregnant woman to be involved in the rigmaroles of the scheme yet there have been countless events of women going isn't labour in camp and some bringing their children to camp. What benefit is this to the country?

5.Monthly Payment : Rather than enforce NYSC, a sanitary incentive scheme should be put in place such that each female Graduates with Masters Degree is paid the sum of N20,000 monthly till she gets employed (capped at a year)while a Bachelor Degree holder should be paid N10,000 for Sanitary pads and maintenance. We all know men have never had to spend a dime on any such thing.

My stated points are recommendations.

BY DOKUN OLUMOFIN

*Do you agree with Dokun?

41 comments:

1. I don't agree with him
    Well, I didn't read the article.

I just saw the heading.
    I totally detest when women are exempted to do things because they are not "as strong as men" or whatever. I hate pity of any kind.

It's either nysc is scrapped altogether or it's still for everybody. Period.

1. No sense in the writeup, scrap NYSC completely or make it voluntary. Remove the clause of it been a prerequisite to get a job in the country. Let those interested in the fun, travel, new cultural experience go for it while the ones who have other things to do go for those things too. The Nysc has outlived its purpose of integration among tribes in Nigeria. The igbos are screaming Biafra louder than ever. My 1cent.

2. Mainland to Island no traffic! But get to toll gate u will spend ur life span there! Pls o what's the point of this toll gate??😡😡

3. I agree with him. Our women too like fuck fuck. See belle everywhere

1. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂Princess ooo😂😃😆😃😂😃😂😆😅choi!!!

4. I quite agree with Dokun, very nice idea. Meanwhile, someone should recommend any success rated Ivf clinic in portharcourt for me.

5. I quite agree with Dokun, very nice idea. Meanwhile, someone should recommend any success rated Ivf clinic in portharcourt for me.

6. I quite agree with him. Meanwhile,someone should please recommend any Ivf fertility clinic in port Harcourt for me.

1. Noble Clinic at NTA road PH.

7. This guy is mad

8. I totally agree.. in south korea, only men are allowed for their mandatory military service. they understand that women cannot go through such crazy stuff. hope the government have a rethink and develop another idea for the youths t serve the nation. NYSC has lost its appeal. #myopinion

1. I think he is a bv and his write up is based on some of the things he read here... I agree with him sha

9. What happened to Gender equality. Yimu! .if they are going to exempt females from the orientation camp then they should scrap the whole damn thing.

10. He made alot of sense there, am more concerned about pads, please that stuff should be free for God's sake, it should be free or as cheap as Gold circle or even cheaper please. 480 Naira? I was shocked when my gf told me that, what about people in the village? Young girls in the village that cannot afford that?

1. For the NYSC, I'm still on the view that it should not be scrapped whether for women or both sex. Its a good experience and an eye opener.

11. NYSC to me is a great experience. The only problem is that we don't keep proper records. The camps should be upgraded and "real" medical report should go into files to avoid disasters. I enjoyed my time in Iselukwu
    Nigeria cannot afford paying degree holder shingbi

12. How do ladies cope when dey are on their period and in camp? Esp wit deir white outfits?

1. We wear pad na. If your flow is very heavy, you take permission at intervals to change your pad

13. Partially

To curb down sti n hiv too

14. This guy is a GOAT! The heading alone got me pissed, didn't bother to read all.

15. I know it's not a woman that wrote this but sometimes I don't even understand what we women want cos I know most of you will agree to this.

But I will like this clarified;

Is it that WE want to be treated equally with men but do less work than them?

Because sometimes I try to find the level ground and I cannot...

We want to become senators, ministers, presidents like them but we don't want to be insulted like they do to each other?

I am a woman and yes I deserve to be the world president regardless of my gender, but I don't want to be pampered if male presidents weren't pampered.

Everybody should do NYSC. I loooooooved NYSC and camp was FUN.

So the male should do NYSC but females shouldn't but then we should still get the same job with males abi? And be at the same level with them when they present a discharge certificate and we have an exemption?

I tire for women

1. Unless men have periods and carry Belle for stomach, I see no reason why this is hard for you to comprehend. Trying desperately to seem unbiased is really clouding your judgements. What rules have no exemptions? It's just the way it is. If you don't like the idea of a more just and ethical life for women, good luck. It's probably won't get any better in your life time anyway. Thanks to disloyal women like you.

16. Re u OK?re women complaining? What is wrong with u?if women re not going,men re not also going. I feel the alawee should be given to the corppers at once to start up something instead of the one year program not leaving anybody out abeg.

17. Oga Dokun,

You just want we the womenfolk to hail you and be in your side today shey?

I recommend that everyone be made to go for the 3 weeks orientation and then we get the salary for the remaining 10 months after we have dropped a buisness/entrepreneur plan subject to monitoring.

18. Replies
    1. 😂😃😆😅😀Epp me ask am again oo. Shuuuu!

19. First of all....this guy is totally sexist....women are not second class citizens and shouldn't be treated like that.....plus why he sound so stupid though ?

20. i'm a corps member serving at the cancer unit in fmc yenagoa. i'm from benue state and bayelsa was never my option but i'm here now and i've learnt alot about cancer. i've done research and interacted with patients. i embarked on a project to sensitize people on cancer due to the high mortality rate here. i learnt bead making in camp during the skill acquizition classes and thanks to google ive improved on it. i've met new people ans learnt so much. i can go on and on... i disagree with the writer. the fact we have cases of rape and stuff doesnt mean we dont have people who loved their service year. i sell pure original honey which i import from benue all thanks to my mum. so writer abeg park well

1. Just because you like it doesn't mean many other women like it. I mean you don't need visa to deploy yourself to any part of the country and serve there. You can spend as many years as you like. They need to scrap NYSC. It's bull shit!

21. Hmmm.....well I don't think it would work.

22. This guy is just getting on nerves with irrelevant issues. Is it his NYSC? Are women complaining and why should women alone be exempted? Chauvinist.

23. Mtchewww.

A girl who able to stay alone for 4-5years and av been changing pads every month won't be able to take care of herself for just 3 weeks in camp?

Oga dokun, u made no sense at all

24. This is the most stupid bullshit I've come across. It's like going back to the middle ages. FYI I served in Sokoto as a 23 year old and had no problems.

25. If there are no women in the orientation camp who will the guys "ball"?.....men?

26. Nonsense writeup...maybe women should also be exempted from attending tertiary institutions that qualifies them for the NYSC..as if they are not faced with those challenges stated during their school days ...women always forming weaker and vulnerable when it comes to issues like this one and on d other hand crying gender equality ....