Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gospel Singer Eric Arubayi's Brother Says Expired Drugs Killed Him

Monday, February 13, 2017

Gospel Singer Eric Arubayi's Brother Says Expired Drugs Killed Him

Eric Arubayi’s brother, Derrick, has revealed what led to the gospel singer’s death.

The former West African Idol star, died on Saturday February 11 and the cause of his death was given as “brief illness”.

But Derrick says he took expired malaria drugs, which triggered his liver issues.

“He had malaria and typhoid, which was untreated. It later became worse after he took a medication that had expired and this triggered his liver ailment and afterwards, every other thing just followed at a fast pace before his death,” he told Vanguard.
“The only thing that we had to say is that he lived for Christ. We just want the world to know that the name Eric Odafe Arubayi was for a reason beyond the West Africa Idol show. For that reason, God would make manifest even beyond his glorious ascension.”

Eric, who was in his early 30s, passed on at the Delta State University Teaching Hospital.
He is survived by a wife and son.

55 comments:

1. Rip to him even though it's the first time I am hearing about him. My friend on the other hand can't stop talking and crying over his demise. May God give his family strength this season!

2. Rest well Ericoco!!
    Rest in the Lord my worship mentor, go sing Hosanna with the angels. You will always be remembered.

3. So he had liver issues? Eric does not even look it.

May his soul RIP

1. @swag lafresh
      The liver issues and death happened almost together so how can he look it

Some comment self

2. Doctor, where did it state that it happened almost together?

3. @swag

Reading us essential for success in life . The key word is fast pace

every other thing just followed at a fast pace

4. What an idiot you are sWAg lafresh.
      Its obvious Sense is common.
      So you mean you couldn't read this well constructed write up before commenting?
      Idiot.

4. Please check and recheck every medicine or product you buy for expiration date.
    Even though some of our brothers are so smart that they print new dates on already expired products especially that filthy thing called gala, I know a man who died of food poisoning after eating it.
    Just see how this young man's life was terminated. He had such great potential.
    May his soul rest in peace and may his family be consoled. His wife and child especially may God grant her the strength to carry on.
    What a great loss.

1. Its very important to check expiring dates. Its a pity he lost his life this way. Rip to him

2. That gala own is too much

It's jst God that can help us

5. He must have gotten those drugs from a big pharmacy. Only God will save us in Nigeria

1. Nice that you know whaf a pharmacy is, but I am sure e didnt get the drug from a registered pharmacy. There is a difference between a pharmacy and a patent medicine store (Chemist) A registered pharmacy must have a pharmacist on ground and one of the first things we check is the expiration date. The expertise of a pharmacist cannot be undermined, we get our drugs from manufacturers, licensed wholesalers or accredited medical representatives.

2. Shut up dear. Even shoprite sells expired stuff, and their employed nigerian staff help In changing dates.

This can happen in a registered pharmaceutical store. Corruption prevails everywhere. The guy is not broke

3. Ure a big fool Cynthia oboh; your name already says it all cos I don't understand how a normal person will bear such a name.
      Senseless comment, its obvious Sense isn't Common afterwards.
      Hilarious Post.
      Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeew.

6. May his soul RIP....so sad with all these fake and expired drugs circulating around...nafdac are trying but they can still do better oo

7. I heard this news yesterday!
    Terrible.
    Eric's love for Jesus was amazing.

Expired drugs ke?
    Chai! Ndi mmadu.

Heaven gained an angel!
    I pray that God will give your family the fortitude to bear this great loss!

Why do the young die??? And some very old people have refused to die???
    This life.

8. Still cannot believe this guy is dead. Some folks think I am paranoid when I continuously check out the expiry dates on drugs and other edibles. Even with that, some die hard criminals still find a way of replacing the expired date with fresh ones. God help us.

9. Chai'...
    May his soul RIP!..
    I pity that his beautiful wife!...

1. you're still shameless

2. Onye nzuzo what did queen say that is wrong that made u call her shameless, Nawa for pple ooo. R. I. P Eric,
      I pity the pretty wife & son though.

10. Chai!!!!!
    Just negodu
    expired drugs in a government teaching hospital?
    I weep for naija my country

1. Where in d writeup did they say d drugs were given to him in d hospital? Na wa.

An anon said it was CKD shey?

RIP AGAIN.

11. RIP Eric

How come I never heard about him all this while, the media should try and celebrate artist more while they are alive, not just artist people that have outstanding skills.

1. Same here,don't really know him that much.Rip Eric

2. Becky are you a new comer? 😊 I think Eric was celebrated. His wedding news was viral as well. In otger news, my mum has been crying since yesterday. She loved him on that show, with Timi and Oma. So so sad....

12. Ha my God! Iku le abiamo... God! So so sad. His wife and son ooo. God please comfort this family please please.

13. expired drugs? did he self-medicate? nigerians do that alot..instead of going to hospital and do the required test. they become their own doctor

14. Extremely sad
    This news devasted me to my bones.
    Ohh Ohhhh. Rest well

15. RIP beloved Eric. Your beautiful,gentle and cool spirit certainly belongs to heaven and I know in my heart your are certainly going to sing hosanna with the angels forever. Rest on beloved,you had this unique heaven bound cool,calm,calculated nature and you lived your style with God at heart and heaven as your destination.

16. Oh Eric! 😢😢😢 my condolence to Derrick and the entire family. This is really sad.it could have been prevented but God knows best 😢😢😢

17. So sad RIP Eric

18. Eyaa! May his soul continue to rest in peace.

1. Chai!RIP
      May God console his family
      What a big loss

19. Where did he buy the expired drugs? Shouldn't there be legal repercussions for this?
    Some lawyer should take up this case and set a new precedent.
    What a sad yet avoidable loss.

20. So so sad! see d way they cut his life,so short,may God give d family the fortitude to bear this shocking death.adieu Eric odafe my brother.

21. Continue to rest on Eric.

*sobs*

22. The liver issue was the major problem....they can sue the pharmacy that sold the drugs....dats if it was actually expired....rip bro Eric.....

23. I have come to the conclusion a long time ago that majority of Nigerians are religious cowards. This is why we do nothing when shit like this happens and hide under God and "godly messages" which are meant to comfort. What the hell is wrong with the people who live in that country? Why are u individuals so lazy intellectually and morally? Why are you folks so laid back and complacent with things like this?
    Who is next in this tide that seems to be sweeping across the country? RIP, fortitude to bear the loss, God comfort the family all mean nothing. These words do not wake up the dead nor compensate for the grieving son who will NEVER see his father again.
    What a country
    What a people
    F****

Concerned lassie

24. Rip Eric.
    May God console his family..

25. Which way Naija?What a loss!may God rest his soul and comfort his family..

26. It is known in medical circles that all pharmaceutical drugs are still effective up to two years past their expiration date.

27. All i can say is if Eric was in the USA, he would hv been alive. May he RIP

#My case is different

1. Exactly default smile. God pls may i never fall sick when ever i visit Nigeria. God pls console the ones he left behind

28. I respect him so much.
    He was An advocate for gospel music.
    He loved God and you could feel it.
    Rest with the Angels, Eric.