Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governor Bello Talks Tough...Says No Hiding Place For Criminals In Kogi

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Governor Bello Talks Tough...Says No Hiding Place For Criminals In Kogi

In the wake of pockets of crime and security challenges in parts of the state, Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, has restated his commitment to rid the state of criminals and reduce the incidence of crime to the barest minimum.

In a statement through his Chief Press Secretary, Petra Akinti Onyegbule, the Governor expressed genuine concern over the incident stressing that criminals can never have a conducive environment in Kogi State.

According to the statement, Governor Bello has yet again shown leadership by paying a visit to the crime point to condole with the Nigeria Police and the families of Sergeant Nurudeen Audu Richman, Inspector Oga Festus and Mallam Sadiq Salawu, two police officers and a community leader who fell to assailants in Eika-Ohizenyi, Okehi LGA.

The unfortunate incident which occurred on Thursday, February 9th, is currently being investigated for possible connection to a Boko Haram affiliate group reportedly embedded in the state for several years now.

In recent times, effective crime fighting and prevention methods have drastically reduced the spate of armed robberies and high profile kidnappings in Kogi, which used to be a source of funding for these terrorists. Consequently, they have now resorted to random kidnappings, relying on small ransoms they demand for their unfortunate victims.

"But because the lives of all Kogites and residents in the state are sacred under my watch, we do not intend to rest on our laurels. My team in consonance with the security agencies in the state will stop at nothing to make Kogi crime free, irrespective of who is directly affected."

Calling on members of the public to remain vigilant and continue to partner with law enforcement by availing them of any useful information they may have, Governor Bello seized the opportunity to remind Kogites of their important role in crime fighting as the need to ensure security is everyone's business.

"The strong conviction of my administration about the importance of combating crime at community level explains the ongoing training and strengthening of local vigilante groups. Adequate vigilance in our immediate neighbourhoods and communities will make it that much tougher for terrorist cells and any other form of criminal enterprise to take root."

While appreciating the Federal Government for its very strategic role in ensuring calm and stability in the state, including deploying the military whenever the need arises, Governor Bello appealed that those efforts be consolidated on, especially given the strategic geographical position of the state.

"Considering the strategic position of Kogi State as a major transit route in the country, and as the most interconnected of all the 36 states, effective policing and crime control in the state will have a positive ripple effect in neighbouring states and the country at large. Crucially, it will help prevent the spread of Boko Haram as their fighters flee from the northeast where they have suffered crushing defeat at the hands of federal forces."

To buttress the importance of keeping the state safe, the Governor also visited the training ground of the Kogi State Vigilante Service where he congratulated trainees on their selection and prepared their minds for the task ahead. Governor Bello issued reminders about the nexus between security and economic development, stating that his New Direction vision will be a lot easier to achieve if lives, property and investments in the state are safe and secure.

18 comments:

1. Supported and a good step by him.

2. The rate of criminality where I reside its something else. We all living in fear

3. Thanks for talking tough bello.

4. Don't just be running your mouth in an ac tight room you call office, get out and do something Mr governor.

1. Your secret admirer πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™12 February 2017 at 07:42

You ma sef...Hope you don chop sha ooo... The man resemble Sylvester Stallone for your face?

2. Lol@Sylvester Stallone,He's stronger than Stallone jor, You think say e easy to be husband to two wives?

5. Stella biko tell this Pharoah to do the needful, he should pay workers their full salary, in this hard time some have not paid for almost a year and they continue going to work.

6. Talk is cheap

7. Story.kogi wants action and not this media propaganda. I just wonder who sends this piece to Stella . ' 'politricks'

8. Whats he saying?
    He was given a helicopter to curb kidnapping only for him to say he cant buy fuel.
    Hes the luckiest gov yet the worst.
    He was given bailoyt of 50bn, contract refund from ibros tenure of 10bn and paris club refund yet not a single project to show not even on going project.
    He maims and intimidates any1 that steps up against him

9. That is a good one....more of this is needed

10. A mistake of a person. Kogi as never been lucky with governors. God will pay you exact way you pay ur state workers and pensioners. #uselessgovernor.

11. Idiota talk is cheap oga Bello. The blog governor. How won't crime increase when you refused to pay people for 13 fucking months? May God punish you and all your generation. May your children experience this untold hardship you have brought on people . Worst governor EVER!!!!

12. A colossal disassater to the people of kogi state. God have mercy on u bcs u deserve non. The untold hardship under your tenure is enormous and immeasurable and yet u come on media to propagate lies.

13. This comment has been removed by the author.

14. Kidnappings in the state haven't reduced one bit, stop lying on blogs. Maybe if you pay people their salaries they won't resort to crime. This man has caused the death of people in the name of screening. How can you not pay people for 9 months? Including pensioners. There's a special place in hell for people like you