Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governor Yahaya Bello commiserates with the family and people of Mopamuro over the death of Madam Olu Abraham

Saturday, February 04, 2017

Governor Yahaya Bello commiserates with the family and people of Mopamuro over the death of Madam Olu Abraham

The Executive Governor of Kogi State has commiserated with the family of the kidnap victim, late Mrs. Olu Abraham, who died in custody of kidnappers along Kabba/Obajana road this week. 

In a statement through his Director General on Media and Publicity, Kingsley Fanwo, the Governor described the incident as a “draw back on the progress the state has made in ensuring security in the state."

“The Governor is gravely saddened by the unfortunate death of Mrs Olu Abraham, a staff of Mopamuro Local Government Area, who died in the custody of kidnappers this week. Reports at our disposal show that the unfortunate incident happened when some staff members were on their way to Obajana to obtain their statements of account for the ongoing Staff Verification exercise which is ongoing in the state to weed out ghost workers.

“Our hearts go to the family of the deceased and the entire people of Mopamuro over this irreparable loss. It is unfortunate that this is happening at a time we are recording steady progress in our avowed war against criminality in the state. We stand with the Olu Abraham family.

“We wish to assure Kogites that we have the capacity to win the war against men of the underworld, who are bent on cutting the lives of our people short. My administration will ensure that those who were responsible for the death of Mrs Abraham are brought to justice. Her death will provoke us to continue to wage a relentless war against criminals and criminality."

The Governor said the safety of all Kogites is Paramount to his administration, saying his determination to secure lives and property in the state led to the launch of the Operation Total Freedom. He said his administration will also use technology and jobs to stem the rate of crime in the state.

16 comments:

1. Na so so screening here in Ib too,my mum is always doing photocopy of credentials untop wetin? RIP ma.

2. Rip to the woman.

God Bless Everyone.

3. This is really sad. It is indeed an unending screening and many lives have been lost because of that. I don't know what type of people are involved in the screening, even my retired dad who can't walk right now is among those whose names didn't appear. I can't tell you how many times people were subjected to this screening, yet, genuine workers and pensioners have been tagged ghost workers. And Kogi has now become a den of kidnappers and these hungry kidnappers randomly pick anyone who is unfortunate to be on the road the day they decide to strike. I am truly disappointed at the governor, we thought the former was non performing, but this present one makes him look like a governor who performed. Security is zero now, hunger everywhere. And psychophants who get pea nuts from him keep deceiving and praising him on social media, meanwhile he has done nothing notable. Salary which isn't even an achievement but a right of the workers, he can't even pay it, instead he is putting them in harms way always with endless screening. May God visit Kogi state.

1. Stella please beam your search light into Kogi. My mother as not been paid for more than 12months in the name of screening and nobody is saying anything. Kogi is the worst state in the federation. Nothing is working. When a tout is the governor and senators are agbero. It's been from screening to screening. If you throw #200 naira in Kogi fifthy people will rush you before it land on floor. Poverty as slept with their great grand parents. Kai God save us

4. Kogi state screened her to death. They better take up her burial expenses.

5. I really don't know what these #politicians take people for. So what next? Will this bring back the dead woman or put money into the pocket of the people whose salaries you haven't paid all this while.

6. I really don't know what these #politicians take people for. So what next? Will this bring back the dead woman or put money into the pocket of the people whose salaries you haven't paid all this while.

7. It's almost as if APC came into power with one agenda only.... Destroy Nigeria.

8. Rest in peace ma. Bello keep sowing evil seed for urself and ur generation yet unborn. Bello u ll surely eat grass like Nebuchadnezzar if u don't pay workers salary.

9. So sad, and the kidnapper s had to takevon a poor woman, another victim of circumstances. May she rest in peace.

10. #Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out*