Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mercy Aigbe Gentry, Annie Idibia, Mary Njoku Et Al Star in About To Be Aired Movie 'Single Ladies'

Friday, February 10, 2017

Mercy Aigbe Gentry, Annie Idibia, Mary Njoku Et Al Star in About To Be Aired Movie 'Single Ladies'

Rok Studios, the award-winning Nigerian film studio, is set to air their latest original series, Single Ladies on Sunday 12 February 2017 at 20.00 CAT on DStv channel 168.

The launch of Rok’s 13th TV series further reinforces the production company’s offering to provide TV viewers with thousand of hours of Rok Studios-produced content.

Directed by actor-turned-director Desmond Elliot, the all-star series follows the lives of five single young women, Mara (Mercy Aigbe-Gentry), Tochi (Mary Njoku), Bidemi (Grace Amah) and Maimuna (Padita Agu), as they navigate the scary, exciting world of dating in Nigeria to find ‘Mr Right’. The search for such a man has so far been unsuccessful for these five young women from traditional Nigerian families. It is a race against time to snag one for keeps. 

We follow their friendships, the men they meet, their relationships, their break-ups, their highs and their lows; their successes and failures; their laughter and tears as they search for ‘The One’.

Speaking on the launch, Rok CEO Mary Njoku says: “After a long wait, Single Ladies is finally coming to DStv, in time for Valentine’s Day. For me, Single Ladies is very relatable. Whether you are male or female; single, in a relationship or married; old or young; you will be able to connect with the characters of Single Ladies.

This series really explores the types of single women that exist in Nigeria; we have the single lady that is searching for a rich Mr. Right, the side-chick, the lady that is waiting on God for her man and more. Whatever you do, don’t miss out on Single Ladies.”

Since its launch in 2013, Rok, headed up by actress and producer May Njoku has produced over 150 films and 13 original TV series, including blockbusters such as Husbands of Lagos, Desperate Housegirls, Losing Control and Cougars. In 2016, Rok went global, launching two Nollywood TV Channels, including Rok on Sky in the UK, as well as Rok on DSTV, across Africa. Rok viewers are the first across Africa to watch new and exclusive homegrown Rok content, such as Single Ladies, before it goes anywhere else.

Single Ladies will also premiere in the UK on Sunday 12 February 2017 at 21.00 GMT on Sky channel 344.

The official trailer of Single Ladies can be viewed here

44 comments:

1. The trailer go sweet pass the main film

1. And why are they all carrying same hair style? I love Mary Njoku and Annie even though dem too sabi act....... 👅👅

2. Hahahahahahahaha...
      Na true you talk.

3. I can't wait for this movie to be out

2. Will like to see this.
    Sounds interesting.

3. Seems interesting already....good one Mary ND rok studio

4. Mary Njoku that can't act? Thank God for Jason abeg.

1. Ago onugbu,bitter leaf Jasmine

5. This movie is the bomb
    Mary remmykeepingitreal

6. Replies
    1. Did you fall from the sky? Shoki for this post?? Kai!

7. Good for them. Annie Idibia is urg

8. I just watched the trailer. I think it's gonna be interesting...
    It's been long I saw Padita in movies. Grace Ama has added a lot of weight...evidence of good living I guess.

9. All these women acting single ladies na wa ooo.

Goodluck to all. I will watch it soon

10. Beautiful ladies

Pls fam where can someone download all these movies?????

11. Please houses, I want to know why is Toyin surname now Abraham?

1. Because she is a descendant of Abraham and so am I. Join us if you please.

2. Communities nko, anumpam ijuta isi nkita iji aba ya eme gini

12. Annie I hope you've improved on your acting o! Because if na that one wey you act for BlackBerry babes NNE forget it.....I'm not interested...

1. Lool! If i yab her acting nau she will come under anon to insult her aunty.
      Let me just pretend not to see her.

13. Annie Repping #TeamDarkSkinned

14. Mary Remmy Njoku is the CEO of ROK?
    Impressive!
    I like her.
    The first girl on the right kinda looks like Blac Chyna.
    Annie Idibia can't act to save her life but still like her;
    Something about her that's warm and pleasing.

15. Na wa o, I have seen single ladies US, another copy cat just like Desperate Housewives. Naija I hail o

16. All of them are FAT!!!! Annie is the only slim one there. See swollen faces every where. How them wan take catch man with all that rolls on their tummy

17. Jasmine please Mary Njoku has always been a good actress, I remember her from one hotel series then, I can't remember the name. She was a very good actress and so cute then. I think these days, she's kinda of a lil bit stiff like she's conscious of something. I don't know y, but when she was a spinster, I used to watch that series cos of her and she was so cute.

Btw y Single ladies ndi Nollywood bikonu? Why not another name, coz I can't forget the foreign single ladies series, I so loved it, d sound track is even playing in my head now. So since they know it's a popular series, y name yours thesame for comparison? When we all know 9ja version will be below par compared to oyibo own. Little things like the name of a movie matters nah

1. Mary cannot act please. She's on the same level with Annie tho a lil bit higher than her

18. Why did they leave Annie's name out in the write-up. Only four ladies were listed. Annie must be furious rn

19. The poster does no justice to them. They all look unrecognizable and horrific. Wrong choice

20. The poster does no justice to them. They all look unrecognizable and horrific. Wrong choice

21. Sounds interesting!

22. Annie looks way different from the rest of the ladies but I might give it a try.

23. will love to watch it