Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Re: Black Soot In Port-Harcourt

Saturday, February 11, 2017

Re: Black Soot In Port-Harcourt

This is currently in circulation,If you live in Port Harcourt and experiencing this black soot,please read this info......

To every concerned PH residents and friends, please read the information below:

After the press release of the 8th of Dec, 2016 by Rivers state Ministry of Environment which I communicated accordingly, the following are current update on the soot:

1. Government has just set up a task force comprising experts from Ministries of Environment and Health and professionals to resolve issues around the soot and its source.

2. Report of analysis on soot as monitored by an interview granted a radio station by the Commissioner of Environment Rivers state:

Sampling:
- Sample collected from Abuloma area and Peter Odili area of PH
- Sample collected in two time frames; 12midnight – 6am and 6am – 8am
- Date of collection of sample 23rd Dec, 2016

Result:
Particulate Matter Size;
- Average of 270 micron/m3 for Abuloma & Peter Odili area between 12midnight – 6am
- Abuloma area 6am -8am; 125 micron/m3
- Peter Odili area 6am -8am; 62 micron/m3
Acceptable size is 25 micron/m3

Chemical substance:
- Additive for making tyres
- Nickel – high
- Lead - Low
Test shows that soot is petroleum based as a result of incomplete combustion of petroleum products

Suspected source of soot:
- Refineries
- Petro Chemical companies
- LNG
- Activity of Illegal refineries
- Gas flaring
- Burning of tyre (to access copper imbedded in the tyres)

The Rivers State government cannot for now ascertain which of the above activities or any company or group of persons responsible for the soot. This is what the Tax force set up by the government is to achieve.

The report as monitored indicates that the activity mainly takes place at night which may indicate that the source of the soot will likely be from an illegal activity.

While we await further update from the government, please observe the following precautions:
- Cover all foods
- Don’t drink rain or exposed water
- Don’t eat expose roasted plantain and Suya
- Don’t expose your skin especially at night
- Keep doors and windows closed
- Mop floor regularly
- Keep children indoors and away from the floor
- Use nose mask (if intensity of soot is much in your area)
- Asthmatic persons to take extra care

Please find below Emergency number you can call for complains and information on the source of the soot;
- 0806 576 8366
- 0803 662 1345
- 0803 750 3473

Pass on to friends and family

21 comments:

1. Please o, they should do something, my white towel is something else, I'm tired of washing it.

1. All the other refineries has been there and nothing happened until you people started bombing pipelines and pursuing multinational oil companies.
      The sole cause are those illegal refineries that are now set up and growing in numbers. I don't even see them stopping so ya all better get ready for Cancer in a few years.
      Enjoy your OIL.

2. Who is suffering now? Is it Buhari?

3. Anon 11:43, we reject cancer. Back to sender in 7 fold.

2. I pray for my fam in ph ,let them be safe pls, i noticed the black soot thingy when i went home for xmas, but it looks like its getting worse!

3. My PH bvs make una adhere to all these instructions oo

4. Na wa! Black soot kwa. It is well with ph residence and Nigeria as a whole

5. I tire for this soot here in ph
    God help us oo

6. We are left with no option. We have to protect ourselves since our government can not protect their citizens. Why do we have ministry of environment, what's their job? Why is it taking them eternity to identify where this black sooth is coming? Is because they appoint an unfit, incompetent and ineligible persons. May God help us.

7. So they expect people to keep windows and doors closed in this heat... na was o!!!

8. OK oo we ve heard...so I have to start wearing nose mask now its alright

9. Eyah! It is well

10. Reading things like this makes me weep for my beloved mother land!! Who know how many innocent children this will affect now? "Keep children indoors"?! Like really?!! with the heat and no electricity situation in Nigeria?!! God pls help your people. Halv of my farmily members in Nigeria lives in PH.

11. God be with every citizens in ph

12. Am in port harcourt and we are dying of this black sooth. I need to Mob my home everyday to be safe. The curtains are worst. My bedshits are black and guess what. My house is interlocked ans tiled . Where is the black sooth coming from?

As usual, it will take 100 years for the government to solve this problem. And they are the cause already.

13. Can you imagine?
    So keeping doors and windows closed is the solution. When we aren't in Winter?

The time I was accused falsely

You are not holier than me

14. This soot is not funny. Have been having breathing problems. God please don't abandon your children at a time like this pls

15. I fly over the refinery, that's where the soot is coming from