Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UK Okays Diezani's Trial In London For Money Laundering

Monday, February 27, 2017

UK Okays Diezani's Trial In London For Money Laundering

The trial of a former minister of petroleum resources Diezani Alison-Madueke and four others for alleged corrupt practices is set to kick off in London in June.

The Nation reports that the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) at the weekend took to the United Kingdom more evidence which included proceedings of a Federal High Court in respect of the order of final forfeiture of $153million allegedly traced to the ex-minister.

The EFCC also denied on Sunday, February 26 that it was engaged in a secret negotiation with Diezani ahead of the trial.

A source in the anti-corruption agency, speaking on anonymous grounds, said it is set for the trial.

The source said: “The UK investigators have gone far on the allegations against Diezani. From the records made available, the ex-minister and four others will face trial as from June.

“We have taken more evidence to the UK, including all court records relating to the final forfeiture of $153million. We have a huge pile of documents.”

The source added: “In fact, one of the suspects on the radar of investigators has been located in London and he is under surveillance.”

On reported negotiation with Diezani, the source said: “There is no basis to negotiate with the ex-Minister in view of the overwhelming evidence at our disposal. You should ask yourself what purpose the negotiation will serve.

“The EFCC is set for the trial of the ex-minister at home and abroad. It is curious to be talking of a curious negotiation with someone who has a prima facie case to answer.

“The ex-minister has forfeited $153m; we have had far-reaching investigation on her involvement in the $115m poll bribery scandal; we have seized some of her choice properties and she has consistently maintained that she is ready for trial. So, what is the basis for negotiation when we have a good case?”

Meanwhile, Chief Richard Perekeme Kpodoh, a kinsman of former president Goodluck Jonathan (under whom Diezani served as minister) and former special adviser on security in Bayelsa state is asking the former president to explain how trillions of naira grew wings under his government.

Various amounts as well as assets are being recovered from former top government officials of the government of former President Jonathan and Chief Kpodoh says he could not understand why this could happen under a leader.

From Naij

20 comments:

1. They should free this woman abeg. Is buhari not corrupt? Where did he get the money he has been spending since in UK? I mentioned buhari because I know his hand is in it. Selfish man

1. Han Han!!!
      Aunty fan,why u dey fall my hand like dis nau?
      Buhari Na oga@d top.....all his hospital expenses Na taxpayer money.in oda word,na govt money him dey spend...inugo?

2. Oh shut up!!!stupid idiot!! What do you even know? Follow, follow absolutely no opinion of your own!!!

3. Where is the evidence that buhari is corrupt? So they should free a thief right? Do you think of our future at all?

4. You are truly fan belt!Senseless

5. God...am soo amazed at how completely foolish and little brained ( if there is any word like that) some youths can be, so because buhari too is corrupt...they should leave diezani alone...I weep for you...sincerely..

6. No wonder mmm duped you,brainless being. So Buhari won't get salary because he's in the Uk. Na to dey spread legs like dogs on heat una sabi,babu ankali.

7. The way you bend like a senile snake is the way your brain bend.

8. So they should leave the corrupt woman? You sef leave mmm now.

9. U r so brainless.

10. Fan belt is the definition of a proper idiot.

2. She should tell them there what she been saying that she is not the owner of the stolen loot recovered and traced to her.

3. She should have come home.. Now she will be jailed like Ibori. If that Yoruba pastor and oga of a bank did not come home, he would have been jailed.