Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Aero Contractors Dismisses 900 Workers

Friday, March 17, 2017

Aero Contractors Dismisses 900 Workers

Aero Contractors Airline, which is under the management of the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON), has sacked about 900 workers representing 60 per cent of its workforce.

Letters of redundancy were issued to the affected employees during the week.

Simon Tumba, media consultant to the airline, confirmed the development in a statement, saying affected workers would be paid their pension and gratuity.

Before it suspended flight operations in September, the company had about 1,500 workers on its payroll.

Tumba said the airline had been grappling with huge and unrealistic personnel cost as well as other operational challenges, worsened by lack of enough aircraft to keep all the workers meaningfully engaged.

“The issuance of notification of redundancy is a business decision that will ensure Aero’s survival,” he said.

“The current situation where over a thousand people are basically not engaged due to lack of serviceable aircraft is not sustainable for the airline.

“The huge monthly salary associated with a bloated workforce will eventually kill the airline, which is not the intention of the current government.”

According to him, Aero Contractors currently has aircraft-to-employee ratio of 1:500, which analysts believe is perhaps the worst in the history of global airline industry.

Edited from The Cable

24 comments:

1. In this buhari time? I pity them

1. Gratuity and pensions not guaranteed sef. It is well...

2. Which way nigeria? These ones will now add to the already populated job seekers. May God help us.

3. Stella check the spelling of worker

4. Smh!! Do these workers cut across on-board staff, engineers and check-in staff? Or it's one major department? When you tell such companies to outsource their HR services now they will act like they're too big to. How can you have a ratio of 1:500??! Where were they looking when it was growing? Hian!

5. But they've not been flying na? Thought they've closed down

1. They started flying again. Someone I know used them this week

2. Exactly!!! They have closed down for some months and counting now so ayam confused at this writeup👆 Its sure well!

6. Is there anything good coming out of this APC government? Nothing at all, only wickedness and recession that they brought about with their change.

Shame to all of them making families cry every time

7. What a world we live in..

8. Lord have mercy!!!😰😰😰

9. Since they shut down last year, my husband has been looking for work! I have been carrying the family because for 7 months they told them to stay home, no salary at all and now I am hearing they wont even get this their so called entitlements. just go! Just like that! Father Lord! Please bless my husband. Tired of borrowing to sustain this family.

10. Na real WA are we heading forward,backward or at the center have been thinking of how to stop corruption and am hearing this kind news where are we going to start from

11. Wickedness is when aero contractors dismissed 900 workers. It is well.

1. I hate when people are not realistic, how do u expect them to pay those workers, with which income exactly. Try and open a business and employ pple then you ll probably understand what it means to cut cost.

12. I don't blame companies sacking their staff, I blame PMB. Sooooo much hunger in the land. Let's just mobilize and go stone this man. Many Nigerians have become bitter since there's no reason for a smile. Givers have become beggars and its getting worse by the day plus we still have a long way to go, 4years to Go 3Quarter year down. I miss Fela Anikulapo, he would have scattered their medulla with correct lyrics but you see that his son Femi, that one is an ass licker no wonder he isn't making wave. nonsense bastard. All he knows how to organise is felabration.... Living in his father's shadow.

Disclaimer for Stella: I said it, not Stella. Oya FEMI, I'm in my house come and catch me. Olodo rabata

13. Jesus!! 900 workers at once! But that's too much na,i pity those involved. In this kind of hard time? The Lord is there strength ooooo