Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Babys First Solid Meals. ...

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Babys First Solid Meals. ...

Those of you with little babies that you want to start giving Nigerian Solid meals..How do you go about it?

What kind solid do you give?We need to share ideas of different meals for our Nigerian babies.....

For example i would suggest yam,boiled with carrots and mashed with butter and a little milk...Yummy! You also use potato for this!

Those of you that cannot afford some certain kind of foods.what type can you afford and how do you do it?

When  is the right time to introduce 'swallow'?

What else?

97 comments:

1. When suffer reach one kain level pikin go deh swallow small balls of amala @4months, speaking from experience, and he liked it wella. But now I think solid should start from 6months and that would be the range of cerelac

1. God bless you Stella. This issue has been worrying me for days now cos my baby doesn't seem to like cereals. Let me learn from experienced mothers here.

2. I did 6mnths exclusive got all my 4kids. And @ 6mnths I introduced real food. Eba okra fish chicken rice macaroni etc all the food we eat. Mother's try and attend the nutrition classes when you attend anti natal you really learn a lot. My kids did not take any artificial food @ all.

3. On ome bless u! Not a matter of afford or suffer oo,my baby na Americana but immidiately we touch down naija @4 months,baby rejected every every oo,aside pap and swallow ! Draw soup is ha best!and moi moi,like she can eat swallow morning till night and wld still be ha jolly healthy happy baby,to me start early,like 4 months make watery pap,add little crayfish,if u like,if u start early,u will save more!most times,my 10 months old eat our normal meal,all tru, i make ha indomie with vegetables and crayfish (I don't add dto sauce);her beans I wash and remove d chaff before cooking with enough crayfish,no Maggi,ha potatoes I do with palm oil crayfish and onion,and Titus fish, her puree,I boil carrot,apple,Irish potatoes,banana if i see o,or avacado,I blend dem together,she takes dis,atleast twice a wk!and we are healthy!I save more doh!and I thank God she doesn't like cerelac and co,

4. I started solids at 7 months. Started with amala and ewedu, puréed root veggies like carrot, potatoes, always used formula to purée.

2. You start with soup, okro soup with little bit of eba. Babies love draw soup.

Mashed yam is also good for their first solid meal, you know when them start to get teeth, most will like to eat chicken

3. I did exclusive for 6months. After that I introduced water and cerealac. I tried Pap too but they both rejected it. I mashed banana too, then egg yolk sometimes. Avocado pear mashed . Then a taste of my soup while eating. They both rejected any form of swallow, even rice was a no. From age 1 they were able to take Pap,in addition with cerealac. Any fruit I take I give to them.
    My son started taking swallow and other food at age 2. My daughter is one now and we are still doing cerelac, pap and breastmilk. She likes fish too when mashed. Cerelac is the main meal. She eats about 4big tin a month.

1. 6 months exclusive for a boy? You tried. Or may be your boy didn't eat too much. I couldn't go pass 3 months. My boys have large tank as stomach, so it would be suicidal to try 6 months exclusive.

2. AgelessT, just like my son. His stomach is a tank. Never satisfied. If you don't pull his mouth out of breast, he won't stop sucking but I did 6 months for him..

After exclusive comes the problem. You have to try everything to see which he likes. He still doesn't like anything but we force feed him

I have this lady that makes pap for me. She Makes it with 3 grains ( millet, white corn and Dawa), so I give my baby this along side his milk. Then he takes cerelac and pudding( this he loves so much . We buy different flavours In dozens and keep at home. His best is cow and gate puddings and Heinz pudding. I'll start giving him indomie next month and other food. Let's see how it goes..

3. Oh! Me too oh! After three months i said i cannot come and die o! I added formula sharp sharp. Thanks stella for this post. I have been trying to alternate my sons diet.am sure i will get good ideas here.

4. @Fabbie, you tried o. You still did 6 months. Pap is good I tell you. And it's good you even did 3 flavours. Your baby should be orobo o. Try some of the things I listed in my comment below too. Break egg inside the indomine and make it very soft, put a little veg oil. Irish or sweet potatoes with butter and boiled egg, all mashed. Make the potatoes very soft in fact like pudding. Oat is another with plenty milk. You will find out that you may not need all those cow and gate stuffs. The food you prepare yourself is far better that chemicalised Foods. Hope you get?

God bless us all.

5. What I didn't try however is the fruit combo.

6. Hehhehehheeh@tank.abeg make ona free my boys mbok!let dem enjoy! I'm lucky den,my 10 months can go a day with adult food!na old woman I born,but my first dota na fake oyibo!did pudding and pap till almost 1,now na cereals and golden morn and bread be ha food!but good thing she likes eBa too,with draw,ha fav na white soup!den beans na ha butter lol!children ehnnn!I give it up to all mamas and up coming mamas,d journey no easy but it's worth it

7. @successful : Lol @ old woman. 10 months adult food all through? Beautiful!

It's a privilege being a mom God bless us and grant those TTC their heart desires. Amen.

Default Smiles dearie. I trust you will keep this link, cos you will need it soon, OK?

8. Fab Mum, can you please not give him Indomie? It's as empty and unhealthy as a sun-scorched worm,the thought of that seasoning in the little boys tender system makes me shiver.

Get Brown Rice and powder it. BabyGrubz makes it easier, used to buy her Natural baby products. You can make yours if you have the time or simply buy her Baby Food Recipe Book.

9. @ Fab mum, Indomie is high in soduim so not good for babies,u could surf the internet for healthier meals.

4. I did exclusive for 6months. After that I introduced water and cerealac. I tried Pap too but they both rejected it. I mashed banana too, then egg yolk sometimes. Avocado pear mashed . Then a taste of my soup while eating. They both rejected any form of swallow, even rice was a no. From age 1 they were able to take Pap,in addition with cerealac. Any fruit I take I give to them.
    My son started taking swallow and other food at age 2. My daughter is one now and we are still doing cerelac, pap and breastmilk. She likes fish too when mashed. Cerelac is the main meal. She eats about 4big tin a month.

5. Stella tnks for dis post!😘my 8mnths baby reject Anytin sugary!
    The only solid food he enjoys taken is moi moi n Titus fish.
    Anytin else is waste,
    I give only pap(baba) n Quaker oat for now.
    i dnt want to say am tired,cuz TTC women will do Anytin just to be in my shoes.....lol

1. And must u put 'lol' after women trying.... Keep mocking them

2. Anon 14:51
      U sound very foolish....mocking dem? How?
      *Tsk*
      Btw,next time use Ur Id n say it to my face.

3. The lol wasnt necessary pls. Take correction.

6. I offered Amala and okro soup to my 7months old last night and she loved it.... Had it for dinner lol

7. Hmm my sisters baby,she tried all the posh baby solid food but she wont eat. She followed tonto dikes baby food page on IG and made all sorts for my niece but she refused. Then her sis inlaw came and cooked good ogbono soup and made eba and started feeding this baby and she was eating it like crazy. When i firat saw my sis giving the baby swallow was so shocked. My mom said she had never seen that kind of thing but this is what the baby wants lol. So i think everything depends on the baby

1. Depends on the baby.

I remember my niece @10months likes garri.

2. My nephew likes egusi. He won't eat the swallow, he will lick the soup and bring the swallow out. He doesn't even like anything draw. He's 9months

3. LaFresh, Lol @ bring the swallow out. The guy's stomach dey do auto-select.

8. Potatoes mashed with carrots,fish and crayfish was and is still my baby's favorite. Blended rice with banana and milk too.
    Crated plantain with lots of crayfish and fish.
    Crated watery am with fish and crayfish.
    After 10months he started refusing apple puree.
    I'm glad he's now eating every every.His love for egusi and okra soup is something else. And he won't go a day without tea and bread.

1. Ola wealth, boil the rice till soft & pour it in a blender...you can blend it with any fruit of your choice....apple,carrot,avocado etc

9. I’m not a mother yet but we introduced swallow to my little boy when he was close to 3months.
    I recall when he just arrived, baby boy could eat for Africa. lol and things weren’t that smooth so we had to device a means.
    Since his mum left the day he arrived, he didn’t take breast milk, he was taking at least 5 tins of SMA Gold per week (that was like N10,000 plus every week, yea he could eat that much). It got to a point that we couldn’t afford it any longer.
    So one day, mumsy cooked one delicious soup and the baby was just looking at my mum as she swallowed her eba. #longerthroathings.
    Na so my mum dip her hand inside the soup come put for him mouth…….Gracious me, baby nearly ate my mum’s hand, na from there we begin give baby boy Eba ooooooo. From less than three months till today. (3yrs and 10months).
    He eats everything now including Eba but will never eat it twice a day. He will be the first to ask you what you are cooking and if you tell him, you are making Eba, he will just say ‘Pls make Eba for you and your mum cos I won’t eat. lol
    You won’t believe his age, he is one of the healthiest child in his class. They even nicknamed him ‘Biggie’. Lol and I must add intelligent too.
    Story Over.

1. Liar, no child can finish 5 tins of formula in a week.

2. Lol! Sweet child!! I had a good laugh just reading this..

3. Anonymous 14:14
      Say what you know.
      My baby brother are 3 tins of big cerelac in a week and this was 19years ago.
      3 big tins of Cerelac is more than 5 tins of SMA. SMA na small thing. If you see babies that eat, you go fear fear.

4. @coprer W, lwkmd! I can so relate.

Before I resumed Mat leave, I sent my house help to get me stuffs from the eatry. As I was eating my boy was looking at me. Lo and behold immediately I finished eating see the way he burst into tears! I was like what? Do you expect me to give you meat pie at less than 3 months? Hot tears o. Hmmmm... It was then I knew, he will grow up to like food. @anon 14:14 forget it o, some babies has got tanks in their stomach.

10. When I had my first baby I introduced all the posh imported Foods you can think of, the purees and bla-bla... from 6monts. He took some and refused some. But the day I made a sharp U-turn was the day I went to buy food for him as usual and I saw imported dry pap beautifully packaged from UK. I then asked myself why am I deceiving myself? Who am I forming for?

Next day I went to the market got guinea corn and made my own ogi, I prepared and added enough milk, you should see how my boy was gulping it. See him blow up like Michelin.

After a while when he was 7-8 months, I introduced soft amala with ewedu and with Mashed titus fish, chai see happiness written all over him. Then very soft noodles with eggs broken into it, cooked together . Mashed Irish potatoes with boiled egg and butter. Very soft beans. He was strong and healthy. Its not like I gave him those local Foods all through. I still ensured he drinks his milk in between. I did it gradually, from one normal meal per day, then twice a day and so on as he was growing.

So for me, giving foods prepared by yourself is better than all those canned imported Foods with chemicals to preserve.

1. Did i just type this too?
      👇👇👇👇👇👇👇

2. Hi five @ iphie dearie and Etsako Pearl.

#waytogo

3. My daughter like fufu & onugbu soup from her 4th month, she is a very strong girl she doesn't like breast or milk she prefer pap mixed with cooked soya bean, unripe plantain, crayfish, all grinded into powered that's her milk.

4. She like rice & indomie alot like me her mother.

5. Wow........... Ageless T, I want to be like u when I grow up.

6. OmoT, are you being sarcastic? OK oh, just be like Jesus, OK? lol

11. My wife did exclusive for months. After that we introduced EBA and ogbono soup,cerilac,tea an bread, munshed jollof rice.And enough water.

12. Anything my sister eats she will give my son, tea and bread, yam, eba and soup, I think he was 6 or 7 months then and I love it because it really helped me. The boy rejected cerelac but loved pap and milk a lot. My girl started a bit late 9 or 10 months, she eats all adult food(s). It depends on the baby and how you handle it.

13. It depends on the baby. MY kids don't select food and I thank God for it.

14. Spread mat, lemme learn as my baby will be six months in a few days time.

1. Same hear.#motherhoodrocks

BV kanorian

15. Spread mat, lemme learn as my baby will be six months in a few days time.

16. After Exclusive,I introduce Milk immediately.. then comes the cereals.
    I tried Cow and Gate,Nutriben,Heinz,Gerber etc. I tried them all!
    But one thing that has being a constant and i derive joy in making is PAP!!
    Yes! And i make it myself.. all 10-15 Mudu(Its a type of measurement).
    I use Dawa,Millet and Corn. Its soooo nourishing.. Use just Baby Milk or any other thing your kids can accept and viola... You have a great meal for 5 months and up. If you cant make it, don't beat yourself up, i hear custard isn't bad.

The Solids.. For me,I introduce meals one after the other,so i know what they react to easily.
    We never lack Okro soup made with titus fish in my house. I don't use Crayfish because one of my babies react to it.

I always make sure they get their fair dose of fruits.. My kids hate it when you mash a lot of things together for them,maybe cos i didn't start early enough or wasn't consistent.. So I just give them the water melon,Apple etc to eat.

Thanks to TGW, I can make healthy pancakes for them too.
    Yam is another must have for kids.. You can prepare anyhow you want. I try to make sure they take theirs with palmoil sometimes.. apart from the normal stew.

I discovered that I can make my own Mashy Rice at home instead of relying on Nutriben. Shebi Its to Cook it until its soft na?

Never introduced Indomie.. So they don't know what it is, I substituted with Pasta. Boiled egg with Pasta and chopped Carrots is really nice.

Beans Is also a regular for us.
    By the time you know it.. You have a nice meal for their lunch pack and a week Time table.
    The rest of my concoction I get from August's secrets.

They dont know any beverage either,for now.. They take their bread with just Milk.

Finally,I corrected some of my mistakes with my second child. I went Cheaper,and Healthier.

1. @Iphie, cheaper and healthier - way to go. You don't have to rob a bank abeg.

2. My baby never liked Nutriben. He loved Friso and Nutribom.
      He was eating Gerber like no man's business so I advised myself. Lol
      I don't even like noodles so it's a no in my house.
      Thanks Iphie for reminding me pancakes, I don't know why I'm lazy at making it. Will try again.
      I don't know what dawa is but I'll like to try for my second child. I've heard alot about it.

3. Awwww, my august secret sister. My baby loves her millet/guinea corn

17. Urgent please I need a good hospital around Maryland ikeja axis... Am expectant and due in weeks Pls I am new in the area.... Advice needed on good affordable private hospital thanks bvn

1. Eko hospital

2. Mart Medicare.
      Safe Delivery Ijnmn.

3. Eko Gini??? Blood of the Lamb! This anon you are heartless!! Please try triumph medical centre its on Toyin street.just ask people when you get to that area.even if you don't use triumph Never! Never go near Eko hospital o!!

4. Mother and Child Hospital.

5. Hold Gbagada

6. I meant Jolad hospital Gbagada.

7. Motayo hoapital, st Julius hospital

8. Triumph hospital on unity street off Toyin Ikeja...

18. My baby will be 2 yrs old next month but won't take any solid. I have tried all I could, I even prayed, for wia...
    We do only cerelac and water. He wouldn't even take tea or juice or anything. 1 big tin of cerelac lasts for 2-3days. AYAM TIRED

1. 😂
      Mine reject cerelac n all oda canned cereals expt Quaker oat.
      It's well.

2. Mine don't like liquid food she really suck breast sef but she sabi eat another food wella so I didn't buy celerac, but enough rice ooo, beans & any other food.

19. My little one was exclusively breastfed for 8 months.. After that it was mashed potatoes, amala with correct ewedu with loads of fish and blended crayfish. She also liked moimoi a lot. Had to make it very soft though and with fish as well. Then there's this brown pap [oka baba] its really healthy as well. I'd add her milk in it and put in her bottle.
    Lol. It was a relief when she started with regular meals.

1. Can one do exclusive for more than 6 months?

2. But WHO said EFB is for six month,how come u did 8mnths??😱

3. You can't do exclusive for more than 6months...by that age, a child needs more than breast milk bcos of increase in appetite

4. I was forced to cause she didn't want anything else at 6 months. Cow and Gate oh Gerber oh, she didn't take nada. So I had to be creative with food.

5. Yvonne, you can and I did. Yes, she was exclusively breastfed for 8 months. Like I said she didn't take anything else, should I have starved her? By the 8th month, I started introducing the meals I mentioned earlier. She skipped formula Totally.

20. It is advisable for children to start solid at 6months.

There's variety of fruit you can blend with rice...Rice with banana or apple or avocado or carrot or mango. this combo should be accompanied with milk

You can also blend rice with fish or chicken.

Irish potatoes which can also go with carrot, avocado etc...you can alternate the combos for variety.

Swallow- eba,amala or semo with blended okra or ewedu soup.

all this combo above should be blended for children that are between 6-12 months old.

21. If you are looking for a surrogate mother plz contact Jennyopus@yahoo.com l would luv to put a smile on a couple face

22. I did exclusive for 5 month+. After which I introduced Tombrown, prepared by my sis (she sells it). After like 2 wks I introduced home made rice, prepared by me. (I sell it). I also gave her mashed sweet potato, egg yoke n carrot. I gave her whole oat(granted) mixed with her formula. She is 8 month now. I stopped puree,
    She ate all very well. Chai my baby like food like her father sha.
    U can contact me for ur home made baby food

23. Please is it cooked or raw rice?

1. Cooked rice without salt

2. Boil rice till very soft then blend. Try not add salt to the rice especially for babies less than 12months

3. Haba na, you will cook the rice very soft like pudding/oat. You can also blend it with other things like fish, egg, etc

24. please help, the rice you people blend is it just white rice or jellof rice? please respond i want to try it out because my 16 months old baby rejects food a lot and can eat only bread and tea for 5 good days.

1. Cook rice till soft & pour in the blender with enough water...you can blend it carrot or apple..serve with milk..

2. It is white rice oo, cook without salt...

3. Preferably brown rice-ofada

4. Sometimes cook rice very soft then blend together with the carrots and fish.
      At a time I washed the raw rice clean, sun-dried it then blended into powder so I just scoop the powder and cook.

5. Try give him these fruit blend. Boiled carrot, Apple, pear and banana.

6. White rice or brown rice. Preferably brown rice. You can buy grounded Brown rice from baby Grubz. Check them out on fbk or Instagram, it is quite affordable and chemical free. I got 1kg for 1700 naira.

25. Did exclusive for 6 months with my boy, we then turned to purée food bought form store and now adding amala and ewedu, blended indomie with veg, blended pasta with veg and so far so good he's taking to it all.

26. Amala and ewedu / okra with boiled tutus or Panla fish
    Eba and ewedu / okra with boiled tutus or Panla fish
    Soft boiled rice with fish
    Soft boiled peeled beans
    Mashed yam,potatoes, cocoa
    Pap/akamu/ogi

27. God bless you for this post madam stella

28. After 6months exclusive, my son refused baby formula. I give him peeled cook beans, sweet potato and Titus fish. I blend carrot, Apple,banana, and avocado together and keep in the freezer. Boiled chicken, French fries, indomie with undetectable seasoning. He eats whatever I eat in little portion especially when i am drinking garri, he won't let me rest. Rice with okro, I make sure my food is not spicy. Boiled yam and plantain, boiled Titus fish. He also like vegetables

29. The much needed post...really learnt alot

30. Go buy Amaka Benson $47.00 USD LUXURY BABY COOk BOOk - it has luxury recipies inside - haahahahhaahhahahhahahahhahahha

1. This comment just killed me - Luxury recipes indeed! FOH makybenson madam fake lifestyle. Wehdone to the famzing fools dumb enuf to buy the luxury cookbook , what'eva fat means lol