Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative..

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative..

Na wah....

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
WORRIED SECRETARY

Dear Stella, there is an issue(s) I’d like for us to visit, it’s quite worrisome for me.

This is my first job and I’m a secretary. I work with a popular lawyer. We don’t have a cleaner so I have to clean my office and his, that’s not actually a big deal. My problem is that my boss’ office is filled with load so if I really have to take time to do a proper clean up, it will take ages.

He expects me to be cleaning his refrigerator and toilet which I rarely do. Sometimes I intentionally ignore them so he would try get a cleaner but he wouldn’t. Books and stuff EVERYWHERE.

Secondly, I noticed he’s a bit indecent, he respects his wife but he likes to harass ladies. When I just started work with him, he asked me to kiss him which I turned down and he’s been behaving himself. But all of a sudden, he became more determined, thankfully, he always has visitors so he barely has my time.

He also says a secretary is supposed to be romantic with her boss in the sense that if she disperses her job well, she would be close to her boss and people would start thinking they are dating. Actually, I hate to be harassed so it makes me avoid him unconsciously which is partially affecting my level of productivity. 

He also said I should be dressing attractively and be applying make up (I don’t really like applying make up) which I don’t think is a must. He said I’m the first person people will see when they enter the company so I should be looking good always. 

The annoying part is that my salary is nothing close to 40,000.
Also, he expects me to be serving his food and then washing his dishes.

My questions now are:
1. Is it in place for a secretary to be the one cleaning the office, everyday?
2. Is it a must for a secretary to be close to her boss? I don’t mean “romantically”
3. Should I be the one serving him food and washing dishes?
4. Is applying make up now a necessity?
5. Must I dress to impress?
THANKS

106 comments:

1. You need another job. Your boss is an idiot. For one, he should get a cleaner or clean his own toilet

1. All are wrong except 4.
      As the secretary you are the face of the company. You.must dress to impress look smart, tidy and approachable. If this.means minimal make up that is OK. Picture yourself as a flight attendant. They always look well groomed and attractive at all times.

Note that attractive does not mean sexy. You.must be able to attract the attention of any person coming to the office but not in a sexual manner. But my dear find a new job. Whinisbthis yeye popular lawyer that is pay less than 40k? In this recession? My driver will probably earn more than that. Nonsense.

2. Kweshuns...Hmmm. My dear, it is either you keep the job or you leave it. Take your pick!

3. Dress to kill with 40k salary? Na because of the lawyer your papa born you abi?

4. My dear, almost all small legal firms use the secretary as everything. Legal bosses also like chasing their secretaries. If you r a graduate just get a new job. Its worthless.

2. Hian! You better start looking for another job

3. No, my dear. You don't have a job (yet). You report in 'hell' and your boss is missing his horns. Please search for another job. You're not a tree. Try to move.

1. Gosh you're a comedian.
      Funny as your comment sounds it's the absolute truth.

2. 😂😂😂😂😂@ you report in hell and ur boss is missing his horns.
      Chai....

Thanks for craking me up, I needed it.

3. Unfortunately change is difficult for people, but my dear move, you are not a tree according to chikito, lol

4. Chikito, I need your mail address pls. Would like to ask some questions.

5. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 this is hilarious

4. No, my dear. You don't have a job (yet). You report in 'hell' and your boss is missing his horns. Please search for another job. You're not a tree. Try to move.

1. Jokes apart though.... The fact that some things seem 'normal' in Nigeria doesn't make them right. She's not supposed to clean the office or wash his dishes. She shouldn't be asked to makeup if she doesn't want to. In many countries, a company would be sued for forcing an employee to do things against their will and tying their job to it - e.g makeup. Even if it's in the terms of employment, it should be discussed with the employee and straightened out. They should be allowed to accept or decline and then hiring manager can conclude from there. There are times when an organization can make an exceptions for: religious, health or cultural reasons; to very strong candidiates. She shouldn't be made to dress a certain way she's uncomfortable with. If all these things don't affect her productivity, or confidence within the work place then she should be left to herself. Is she doing her job? Is she in anyone's way? Is she smart, eloquent, possesses good communication skills? Does she have good work ethics? These are more pressing issues. Not makeup and cleaning.

For her role as a secretary, appearance is key. This is because she is a frontline personnel. Frontline personnel should always look neat and speak very well. It doesn't have to be expensive, just neat. A normal organization should even have a dress code that every employee would agree to adhere to upon acceptance of appointment.

My dear, that's NO job. You won't grow in that place and you won't even have the white-collar experience you deserve as a graduate (are you??). Just accept that you don't have a real job yet. Everyday wake up and tell yourself 'I'm an applicant and one day I will get a real job'. Cos the fact that you have somewhere to go to everyday might becloud your thinking and make you feel you have an edge over an unemployed person. If you have the courage to, leave immediately. If you don't then start applying.

5. Be applying for jobs while you carefully avoid him.
    Trust me you won't last in that job so you better start looking for other alternatives oh
    Don't quit yet till you get another job oh!
    God bless you

1. Nice. Don't quit till you get another one. Hunger will kill u, e no good dey help. Jst be cautious.

6. I will just have to read comments to learn from this.

7. Nawa.

Please I think we should all learn to ask what the job description is when employed.

I know there are no jobs and everyone wants to latch on to what they find, but it would save you a lot of hassles if your job description is clearly stated.

Madam, that's no Secretary work, cleaning and washing dishes is for cleaners.

Dress properly not seductively. Corporate and approachable, wear a smile always, it's a better makeup.

Approach him and ask him to please define your job description, maybe he employed you as an "office helper" and just gave you a "Secretary" tag so you don't feel low.

I can't imagine Harvey asking Donna to wash his dishes and clean his toilet...#suits.

1. Well said

MrsBee

2. It doesn't help with these nonsense one-man orishirishi businesses. In fact, they will paint the job good to you until you start, then they try to keep you so busy, so you won't find something better to do than rely on them​. Only a few of them do what is right. Most of them are abusive, overwork their staff, then underpay them. Mtcheew... I don't blame them, it is the state of the nation that gives them the advantage... Mtcheew

3. Youngsters, avoid one man business like a plague. Aim higher government work better pass if you can't find a multinational. If private, make sure it is structured!

Madam, you no get work o. I wish you could get another job and then resign. On your resignation letter, tell him you resigned because of harassment and other abuses and advise him to seek forgiveness and change for the better. Don't forget to publish the letter and his response.

Thanks.

8. That ur oga na ashewo kobo kobo

9. He is a mad man he should get a cleaner that will clean and more so from the beginning you shouldn't have started cleaning for him. I always set my own rules where I work you can't be sending me unnecessary errand that is not work related except you are paying me extra for the side job definitely not sex.

10. Do you have a JD (job description).
    A secretary shouldn't be made to clean or wash plates except she is doing both in her own space and for herself.
    Who employed you? Didn't be see you and your no make up face during your interview?
    Not wearing make up doesn't also mean you should look pale or not dress professionally and yes he is right you're the first face visitors see when they come in, so your face should be appealing and welcoming.
    That romantic part doesn't come with the job description and he is just a pervert. Try as much as you can not to stay alone with him to avoid further harassment or him taking it too far and raping you.
    Ask for your JD and state it clearly that there is a distinction between a secretary and a janitor that's why they have different titles and job roles.
    And I know many one man businesses treat their employees this way but it's wrong. If you can't afford a cleaner then go out and eat. They want to pay little and get all the benefits of 5 hands from one person.

1. Cheap labor! Pervert bosses doesn't know such will be the beginning of the end of his company!

MrsBee

2. Some job descriptions will say ... and other duties and tasks assigned to you by supervisors and managers. Good luck claiming job descriptions. Nigerian bosses can be nothing short of pigs! I tell you.

This you will never find where your boss lived or studied abroad. Based on personal experience. It's very tragic yet these same people will be claiming holy holy but they wicked pass devil.

11. 1) It's not really your place to clean.. But it is what it is and clearly you need the job. So try and be doing the cleaning.

2) No, it is not a must for a secretary to be close to her boss "romantically". Avoid that the best way you possibly can.

3) Serving him food and washing dishes.. I have never heard of that one oo. Which kind of firm does he run sef that he can't hire a cleaner?? Hmmm

4)Nope! Applying make-up is not a necessity, it's a matter of choice. But you also should make it a priority to always look clean and neat.

5) You don't really have to dress to impress, but like I said you should make it a priority to look good. Nothing indecent but classy.

All in all.. Start applying to other firms and companies for another job! This man might get out of control one day and you need a Plan B asap.
    It's well

12. Your boss needs a big slap on his face. What nonsense is that?

Where una dey meet all this kind of yeye boss self.

Your duty is not to wash toilets, floors or fridge.

Even making of tea or coffee is if you like helping him on that. Next time if he ask you for tea, abeg put spit join inside.

Idiot man

13. Yes,
    Professionally,
    Yes,
    Without degrading yourself,
    Yes, as the face of the coy.

14. He wants you to be his office wife.

15. You must apply Make Up. Do you want to chase his clients with horrible looks?

1. You seem like an idiot. This stupid 'bad ass' attitude won't help you dear. Mostly you just come across as a moron.

16. If he wants you to clean the office clean it. Do your job. Things r hard in the country these days. You dont need to clean the refrigerator youre not his slave .but pls stay away from the man. You are not meant to be close close to your. Your boss is your boss. When you apply make up it should be for yourself not for him.

17. Pls when next you apply for a job and granted an interview,always ask of job expectations.If per adventure u get the job ask to have ur letter specify your duties(that is if u are not provided one).But I feel u though, most times we are just too desperate to get a job that we are willing to do any job just to earn a living.The so called employers would now prey on our situations and abuse it.

18. Na wah! Na real wah!

Your comment will be visible after approval.

19. It's so sad these points you raised are done in so many offices and nobody seem to think there's a red flag there. Anyway I've worked as a secretary before and dose same duties were expected from me except the cleaning the office part though. Normally it's not in the place of a secretary to do all those things you just mentioned and for that amount, that's so unfair.but what can we do,when everybody is looking for jobs even if it's a degrading one like this.God help us in this country.

20. My dear, most men are like that to their secretaries,bt u need to stand ur ground and show him in word and actions that ur not that type of girl, do not be swayed at all by anytin. I promise u that he will not stop overnight bt he will eventually, bt he might want to fustrate you first thats wen u need to be more firm with him. And secondly advise him to get a cleaner!

21. Chronicles don finish??? I miss Empress cho and her advice. That lady serves it HOT🌶🌶🌶. Lemme do my bit; three reasons why you should quit your job and if you don't, face the consequences alone.

1) your boss doesn't respect you. Asking you to kiss him; Hian! Very soon he might graduate to forcing himself on you and at that point you'll probably be a rape victim.

2) the pay is crappy. So what's the point in staying then. You're harrassed everyday and not even compensated enough.

3) you're doing a job that's not even part of your job description. You're both Secretary and cleaner, continue down this lane and you'll probably look older than your age.

Some jobs are not worth it abeg and you know the solution to your problem. Don't let this work tie you down.

22. Who is your boss
    Is it Festus Keyanmo

1. Orishirishi, chai! Does Festus do this?

23. Welcome to the world of a one man business where the organisation runs on no policy and procedure. The dictation of the boss determines the modus operandi which is not even supposed to be.

24. Ermmm, let me read comments. ✌

25. You just got a maid job

Happy cleaning while it lasts

26. 1.Not necessarily but should have talked about this before you took the job.
    Subtly tell him to get a cleaner or ask for a raise

2.A must?No.Just do your work appropriately.But as time goes on, you'll get close consciously or unconsciously.How long have you been working for him?

3.Not your job but no big deal in that.

4&5.Always appear neat and let the few cloth you have be in good condition.
    You don't have to use make up to look good. Take care of acne,pimple and co if there are any.

But this your oga seems annoying and also wants to enter you
    Mtcheeeeeeeew

27. Review your job description again when you first got the job.
    Was all of this written?
    I doubt. Because all of those requirement of his are not the responsibilities of a secretary

Listen up lady, most employers now take advantage of their staff because they know the rate of un-employment out there is high.

Be bold and tell him that
    You are a secretary not a cleaner
    Secretary not a cook
    Secretary not a prostitute or fuck buddy.

If he is not ready to be disciplined, my dear, walk before he rapes you. Dude is a lawyer. He can wriggle himself off many things
    Don't be a victim.

28. Hes wants a wifecretary, u clean n fuck him in his office for low pay!
    What a wawu!

29. My dear I was a PA/ secretary To a commissioner, I travel about with him, I ease is tension by giving him blowjobs in d office,car and plane, he loves to stare @ my VJ wen he is drinking, I wonder if dats occultic or he Is checkin If I put charm there, all he keeps ssayinh is dat. U beautiful after. Staring @ my VJ, he pays me well sha, if u want to continue working wit him, tell him to increase ur pay if he needs u to du all dat u listed there, to me no bi life ooo, I don be born again ooo, did plenty deliverance when I discovered d man na ogboni, shine ur eyes well ooo.

30. What was in the job description when you applied for the job? If you read it thoroughly, I'm sure you'll find something that looks like "general assistant". We need to perform due diligence before we sign up for stuff.

31. As a secretary you must make it your point of daily duty to look presentable. Always! For every other thing, your boss is not serious.
    In the end you alone know what you want

32. Poster I'll advise you start looking for another job asap. This is slavery & not job, I can't deal abeg

33. Your qualification determines the answer to your question. If you are a Bsc holder, u can talk to your boss that " our company needs a cleaner to keep the office neat.Then interms of food and washing of his dishes u can do that just assume that u r doing cos u r neat and as a lady u must always look good for yourself.My dear i was once in your shoe that was how i approach the issue. And if he refuse, pray seriously for a better job.

34. The shits people take in the name of scarcity of work bikonu. I cant manage such sha if I were to be in your shoes. Capital NO to all your questions. That your boss is just a silly randy thing. Mscheeew! Left for you to take all those shits from him with that peanut salary though.

35. You are expected to always look good. There is nothing wrong with applying light makeup as a secretary. Abi u be deeper life member ni? If yes, then u need to upgrade your looks atleast to a level that ll not go against ur religious doctrine... But washing of plates and all the rest is not your duty.

36. Oh 😳 you should have a job description. Only in this part of the world do you employ one and make them your corporate maid. Applying make up is not a necessity but you should always appear smart since you are the first point of call in the office

37. End time job.

38. An educated man behaving this way, sad.
    Request to have a talk with him and table all these respectfully.
    Don't hint at it, some people never take the hint unless you say it straight up.
    Start sending your CVs out. You shouldn't be working in an uncomfortable place.
    Good luck

39. I'll answer your question how you've listed them.
    1. You do not have cleaners so yes it's in your place to clean the office. From your description i have a feeling its a room or two rooms office. So what is he employing a cleaner for when it is just a room. What if the cleaner he employs is a saboteur and steals a document. My dear you are the best person to clean your boss's office.

2.It is not and shouldn't be part of your job description. Don't ever mix business with pleasure.

3. You are his secretary for crying out. He trust you more than any body in his work force so yes you serve him and wash the plate. He pays you, no matter how small the money is, you knew about it before you accepted the job. I'll advice you to go read on the job description of a secretary. You do these and sometimes more sef.

4. No. Make up is not a necessity. Just dab a little powder on your face and lip gloss since you don't like makeup

5. How do you want to be addressed?,That's how you should dress. You can't be working for a law firm and dress any how to the office. You never know the calibre of client that will come visiting one day. So yes as a secretary you must dress to impress.

I see no case in your chronicle apart from the harassment part which you can use wisdom to treat. As long as a man knows you have a hole in between your legs, he will try to make a move but be smart.

1. You've said it all.
      You can as well work in a dirty environment if you like.
      My boss trust me with his food than his PA.
      In fact, he believe my words more than anybody in the office.
      He trust me with some sensitive documents.
      You're his secretary for God sake.
      You don't have any case here apart from the sexual disturbances.

Leave what they might say here. Read the work of a secretary in firm.
      After your boss its you. And you're answerable to only him.

2. @minnie, u are right in all except the aspect of working as a cleaner. Haba, that is the job of an unskilled labour, he rather reduce my salary and employ a cleaner. My boss once tried this with me including buying food for contract staff, i have to call him to order, say work no dey no mean say u go rubbish me, finally he apologized to me and asked me to look for a cleaner. Case stettle.

3. The man is indeed addressing you based on how u dress.

40. Before I even got to the part of your pay I just knew this kind of boss won't pay well.Pele,wahala of a one man company.

I remember when I relocated to Lag, The first job I took was about 30k pay though my boss gives me tfare almost everday.my JD was frontdesk but she used me die,from running personal errands to babysitting her grown kids(university kids o).Never got my half day Saturdays, worked full time.I endured cos I didnt want to stay at home.

Then God showed up, a job I cant remember when I applied for it came up and start off salary was 3X what I was earning.I left without goodbye, I didnt even go to drop the office key.

If only your boss would stop making pass at you I would have said you should endure till somethong better comes .Just ask God for wisdom to handle him.Ive left jobs for less serious reasons but "yam luck and cassava luck no be the same o".

All the Best.

41. I guess it is just a small office space?only you and him?imo I think you need to clean and help him with buying his food aswell abi you want him to employ a cleaner and a chef inside one room and reception office?unless if the compound has a cleaner that cleans the compound you can get the cleaner to help you

42. Yes as a secretary/receptionist/front desk staff in a developed country you have to dress impressively, have great personality and speak beautifully. However, I see most coy doesn't adhere to that the times I visited Nigeria and I unconsciously was being friendly and gifting the ones that looks good.
    My advice, look good for your career growth. You can get your dream job from your present position via your bosses clients, on your way to work etc because not only your boss will be seeing you.
    As per the cleaning, was that part of your job description when you were taking the job? Are you sure you were not desperate and didn't mind at the time? You should work on your CV and start applying afresh.
    Cleaning is for cleaners!

Don't forget you will be addressed as you are dressed. Many coy will go for looks and speech before asking for your certificate for the position of a front desk.

MrsBee

43. End time boss, I'm loving today's weather mehn.

44. This must be my yori yori, love me jeje.. your Oga don know say na tv you dey watch.. LOL

In case you secured another job as a secretary, you must make up and look good, because you are the first face of the office.

I will advice you to leave you if can, there's no point going on if you know deep down that you are not happy with what's going on there and the way you are been treated.

Some boss can be an animal sha.

45. If you don't scheme to leave that pervert, you will not only serve food, you will become food!
    He will eat you raw; without spices
    He will defecate you

46. Why do I feel like I sent this chronicle... Urs is better position, my dear, my own salary is way below minimum wages, lemme list what I do in my office and yes I am working for a lawyer..our office is a two bedroom flat, so he automatically turn one room to his own and d other to his office, I sweep d two rooms, I clean d toilet, I clean d bathroom, I serve him food, I wash the plates, I weep f stairs that led to our office meanwhile we had a Neighbor that uses the stair as well but he makes me sweeps the stair... In all, he expects me to warm his bed which I refuse bluntly..na dere wahala con start....i seriously don't know what to do and I am a part-time student, I pay almost 60k as school fees per semester...there was a time he attempted to touch my breast, I gave him one bad look that day and I started misbehaving since then.. I wasn't so surprised when I resumed on a Monday morning and he asked me to back home.. I didn't beg him, he now call me back to ask me if I am serious about not dating him....lawyer B...

47. I will just read comments cos mine is worse compared to what poster is experiencing at work..
    I work with a lawyer too. Story for another day.

48. i work as a secretary and none of these apply! your boss is a perv period! even when i wear the skimpiest of clothes to work just because i can, no one can harass me or be inappropriate. let your job description be defined and keep doing those, if he gets worse....cos he will, get out! i hate pervs!

49. Please where are u? This looks familiar.
    My ex boss does all the above (exept the makeup part, am a slay queen👅). He will even be dragging my phone with me dat he wants to snap me (end time boss). A client was liking me and he warned the man not to try it again, that he's very protective of me(my jaw was hanging for minutes) . But month will end 'hoga' will not even move a feet to pay me salary.
    What kinda boss asks if u wear G-string? Or that u should go swimming with him?
    I borrowed brain n left without saying goodbye because he said something terrible to me.
    I cant come n be servicing hoga for my salary n when he's tired of my punani he'll then switch to d next girl. Besides, I wasn't created to compensate married men. If I want to eat frog I'll go for a better one.

50. The man is a pervert and he's trying to take advantage of you sexually. Don't allow him do that. Always be professional because you don't know who you will meet while working there. Someone might be observing.
    Start applying for something else. If the alternative is staying home then please keep doing those chores till something else comes up.

51. That is usually the case with one man business. There is no job description and you end up doing everything. Even in government parastatals too. Nigerians don't know when to stop or draw a line.
    During Nysc in a govt agency, they would send us to wash plates, microwave food, buy food, go to the bank, go pay for dstv, go buy things etc. Say no and see how they will say you don't have respect.

52. Oh God Anon 15:18 what did i just read from you Chai na wa ooo

Anon 15:41 you wish it was me. Chai.. nothing i never see for this blog. hahahahaha abeg continue wishing ooo. I hope your wish brings goodluck to you

53. This sounds like what Barr. Ken of Mimerc chambers does.

54. Der is nothing more worse dan not been happy in ur place of work...it can eat u up gradually cos u spend most of ur day right der & fewer hours at home

55. BABE,. START LOOKING FOR ANOTHER JOB. THAT MAN HAS PLANS FOR YOUR KPEKUS

56. And he is a lawyer? A popular one at that? Nigerians have the poorest taste!

Dear, You go school at all? Why would some old fart be dishing out trash to you and you are here asking? So if people here advised it's okay, then you would go right ahead and let him use you like a slave? He wants to enslave you; you clean his office and toilet (gross), you get his food, wash his plates, makes you spend your less than 40k salary on fine clothes and make up, use you to dump some frustrated semen and what have you? The core office job included. Get yourself out of that place pronto! Before he breaks your spirit entirely.

He knows very well what he is doing is immorality and illegal, yet he feels invincible because he thinks you are desperate for his 40k. Look him straight in the eyes and tell him to go fuck his daughter in the ass!

57. One thing we don't know is, almost all this below question is called "Service", cos In the absence of a cleaner and you are the only one there, will you avoid doing this? At least twice in a week. But,working there shouldn't mean you should kiss him or be romantic for him. Only appear decent and if you're not ready to work, you back out. My questions now are:
    2. Is it a must for a secretary to be close to her boss? I don’t mean “romantically”
    THANKS

58. One thing we don't know is, almost all this below question is called "Service", cos In the absence of a cleaner and you are the only one there, will you avoid doing this? At least twice in a week. But,working there shouldn't mean you should kiss him or be romantic for him. Only appear decent and if you're not ready to work, you back out. My questions now are:
    THANKS

1. 1. No.
      2. HELL NO!!
      3. WARRAHELL?!!
      4. How does makeup affect her productivity? If she doesn't have giant scary pimples and/or black heads; she's alright
      5. Impress? Errr.... I won't use that word but I'm of the opinion that appearance is key.

59. Poster I can relate to your story.
    I work with a politician and have been through more than I bargained for.
    First of all, I spent the first 3 months cleaning the entire office until they hired cleaners after I staunchly refused to clean any further. I serve tea, snacks, even food to him and his guests and carry plates after they eat. I run menial errands like going to the bank, buying suya etc.
    At the end of the day, I work overtime on a daily basis closing at 7,8,even 9pm when I'm supposed to close at 5.
    The only thing that consoles me is that the pay is average.
    I've learned so much from this job. One is to always clarify your job description/expectations from the beginning.
    The issues you mentioned can be managed with time and patience but the sexual harassment you face is completely unacceptable and should prompt you to look for another job and get out of there asap.

60. It's not easy. pray angels protection

61. No. 1 No
    No. 2 No
    No. 3 No
    No. 4 No
    No.5 Yes, to impress not to seduce.
    Good luck

62. MY DEAR, SORRY TO SAY THIS: YOU ARE JUST A GLORIFIED OFFICE HELP!

63. Poster,its ok to clean. I worked with a boss who was very dirty. Yes,we had a cleaner,but I monitored her. Sometimes, I even did the cleaning. The man loved me like his sister. I know he had eyes on me,but respect and fear no gree am talk. Oh! I carry myself gracefully. I drive his car to buy him lunch, I tidy up, I wait on him and his visitors. I enjoyed abeg. I didn't live on my small salary then- gratification.