Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DELICIOUS SOUPS TO RELISH WHILE IN EDO

Friday, March 10, 2017

DELICIOUS SOUPS TO RELISH WHILE IN EDO

Edo, the heart of Nigeria, is not only home to a number of national tourist attractions within its locales, but it’s also home to some of the best and most delicious local soups.
 Jumia Travel, the leading online travel agency, shares 4 delicious soups the Edo people are known for.

Black Soup (Omoebe)

This is a popular delicious Edo soup made from the combination of three basic leaves (bitter leaves, scent leaves and uziza leaves) which are ground together with the native edo grinding stone. It’s the grounded leaves that give off a very dark colour and coupled with the fact that palm fruit sauce rather than palm oil is used, the combination gives the soup it’s black colour. Asides being tasty the soup is also very nutritious because of the herbs used in making it. It’s best served with pounded yam, Eba or starch.

Omi Ukpoka (Corn Soup)

This is another delicious edo soup with a unique aroma. The various spices added to the soup is what gives the soup its unique aroma. The soup is mainly made with ground dry corn (the type used for Ogi) and blended with smoked fish. The soup is mainly from the northern part of the state, and common to the Afemai people. The texture of the soup is much like Ofe Nsala or light Egusi Soup. Because of it’s high carbohydrate content, the soup is not recommended for those on a diet. It is mostly served with pounded yam, Eba, Fufu or semo-vita.

Omisagwe (Groundnut Soup)
This is a very popular soup in edo state and considered as one of the tastiest Edo meals. The soup is a perfect, sweet and savoury blend of groundnuts (peanuts), tomatoes and onions, with local seasonings, leaf vegetables and either chicken, beef or fish to add extra flavour to the dish. The soup is popular with the Etsakor people, one the three major ethnic groups in Edo state. The soup is usually served with either pounded yam or starch.

Bini Owo Soup
This is one of the oldest dishes prepared and eaten by the Edo people. Unlike most Nigerian soups, the Owo soup is usually thick and bare. One of the main ingredients of the soup is potash (okawu or kan) and it is best prepared with smoked fish, prawns or bush meat and eja sawa. Most people who have tasted this soup consider it as a ‘stew baptized as soup’. The soup is mainly eaten with carbohydrates such as boiled yams, boiled plantains, sweet potatoes, boiled green bananas etc. Some also use the soup to eat boiled rice and beans.

156 comments:

1. Yaay!!! I'm proud to be one......We up by Dr sid is a jam. I'm so liking d song.

1. These pictures are not good for people in the abroad oooo.
      This na killer, you people wicked sha.
      Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeew

2. Stella u read my mind, I was telling a frnd about black soup just yesterday, peppery black soup na be d koko, owo and plaintain how I miss that food menhhh.

3. #proudlyEdo
      How I love my culture

Any bv in Benin should holla @me let's hook up and enjoy some of these sumptuous meals one of these days.

4. About the first soup, no uziza leaf is added ooo. Jumia where una learn that one. Rarely does anyone add bitterleaf to scent leaf to make black soup. They are both used separately to create their own soup.
      I am from Northern Edo and I have never heard of corn soup...abeg make jumia research the truth biko.
      All I see is groundnut soup. We estakos rock it with pounded yam , EBA or akpu. E sweet die.

5. @HappyHeart,
      U sure say u be verified Etsako?
      U Neva heard of corn soup aka ukpoka??😱😱
      Hmmmm!

6. Soups all look delicious!!!I can cook black soup and groundnut soup very delicious!!Thanks to my late mom who taught me!! But as a true esan woman ogbono(oyele)is man favorite with hot Pounder yam!!!

7. Bv Happyheart, they do add scent leaf.you gonna love the taste when you add it...The uziza was spelt wrongly, the correct spelling is oziza.combination of the three gives a nice aroma and delicious taste.😍😍😍😍.but make sure you include those small snail/periwinkle

8. Am from Akoko Edo and we eat corn soup there. No need for any research mbok. Plus beans soup too, but I prefer the beans soup. Ogboh?

9. Black soup is baeπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ Was craving it seriously and my mil sent me dey blended ingredients from Atl..Use better snail cook am with dry fish,you will testify πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

10. Happyheart, everyone with the leaf they like. I've tasted the bitterleaf own and that of uziza but we from Edo North don't use it.

2. My own is eating owo soup and starch chai at Ore. God let me travel again ooo, so that i can go to that place and eat the owo with big fish and starch.

That black soup looks yummy.

Up Edo but I wont tell my bros to marry una girls at all. Una no be am. Man or woman wayo people

1. Can't you prepare it in ur home? You can't wait to travel there. Are you sure you are a good wife material?πŸ˜€πŸ˜œ

2. Lol. Wetin Edo people do You? We can make good husband and wife.

3. #sideeyes...not all of us are baddoo. I'm a good girl lol

4. I'm an Edo man and I must marry you, yori yori princess.
      A lot of us know how to take care of our wives.
      Ask Stephanie Linus Idahosa.

5. Lols u no well. We are the bestest.
      Cheers to all my Edo gals in the house!
      We have sweet wahala sha. Never a dull moment with a correct Edo babe/dude.

6. Even me???πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜….but I'm a genuine person nah😩😩😩😩

7. Abeg my sisters are beautiful and we don't tolerate o

8. I will teach you how to make an ogbonge owo soup if only you allow me marry your brother

3. Stella,y u do me longer throat this afternoon.

4. Kai! Malee, i miss your groundnut soup. Oya we'll make it this weekend, she sabi cook!

5. Put a lot of small snails in that black soup and watch me somersault after eating.

1. As in ehn and Uziza is not the leaf used for black soup

2. Lol@somersault,u crack me up. Are u jackie chan sis?

3. Chai!You be correct Edo woman,You sabi am..

4. Stella r u sure u no be winch wey dey my house? I ve planned to prepare Black soup tomorrow for over 1wk.

5. The main leaf which is called ebewiewie in bini language is not even mentioned here for the black soup.

6. Edo state?????? Hmmmmm one thing always come to my mind. Charms

1. Your hot ex girlfriend abi😜

2. Hahahahahaha. .Good you know this, So don't say shit about us because I will jazzify youπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

7. LA fresh and kidjo,ur attention is needed.
    BTW the first one doesnt look appealing.

1. You need to test that first one. Very sweet something

2. No it doesn't but it tastes fabulous.

3. I'm right here , a specialist in Black SOUP πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

4. Does the first one taste like afang?

5. Lafresh,u re from Edo state, no wonder I like u.

6. It tastes better than afang.I normally add snail (big and small ones, fresh fish and crayfish to my own

7. Sharon yes. I'm from Edo North

8. Oh Nigeria, the home of rich delicacy. When I was working in a hotel, a Chinese man ordered for banga soup and plantain flour, I was surprised, he said nigeria has good delicacies. I'm hungry now, let me go look for one. Of these.

9. Nice one... I would love to taste that.groundnut soup... Hope e no dey cause pimple cos me.and groundnut no paddy.

1. Not at all. Groundnut soup is one of the sweetest soup 🐴

10. They don't look appealing.
    Feel like throwing up

1. Sorry ehhh Edo guy has really deal with you

2. Take your myopic self out of this post.

11. Yummy!better soup,welldone edomites

12. It's amazing how Bisola is happily being a side chic without even knowing it.
    How does Tony sleep at night, knowing he is publicly cheating on and disrespecting his wife because of 25M?
    This is how some girls fall into trouble because of Men like TTT who lie about their marital status...

1. So what has that got to do with this post?.😞😞😞..my frd will you kpayevbanare jor

13. What a delicious meal, for a second I thought I was in another word.

14. So love the black soup
    I have prepared it Quite a few times
    will really love to taste the corn 🌽 soup.
    #it feels so good to be back#

15. Proudly edo woman
    I will cook owo this weekend for my family
    Delicious soup
    Black soup is medicinal

Tiwa

16. I'd like to try that Omisagwe. It will really go down well with a well turned, soft yellow eba.
    Just made and downloaded some soft ebay and egusi soup made with lots of okporoko, uziza seed, ọsα»₯ and a mix of okazi and ugu leaves.
    That type you eat seated on the floor with legs spread apart and the bowls in the middle.

Sorry if I made you salivate 😁

1. Omisagwe is better prepared with goat meat nd Titus fish....

2. No. I didn't salivate.
      I just imagined the smell of your vjayjay whiffing into the soup.
      Yuck πŸ˜–

3. "That type you eat siting on the floor with legs spread apart and the bowls in the middle" Got me laughing, you forgot to add "wearing only pant and bra to avoid any form of sweating" that's so meπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

4. Taaa kidjo do you wear bra? Which breast do you put in bra with that your flat chest. Why don't you get a job, office assistant or something. You dwell here all day. Do you feel comfortable asking your parents and men for money all the time? While waiting for post-UME get a job okay.I care dear

5. Anon.you re right, I don't put my breast in a bra instead I place stones inside the braπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜….hahahahahaha.I don't ask men for money,not even my boyfriend(hope he doesn't see thisπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ) I work hard and earn my money so I'm ok.thanks for your concern.πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹

PS.I'm not always here.You re having an illusion of my been here because you ve my name in your head.You re simply obsessed with me.πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

6. Plumpy J, thank you for that tip. Will try it soon.

Kidjo, you just know how well it's done. I gbadu you pretty

17. Omisagwe and Omiebe is the truth.

Can't wait to travel next week to go get some feel of Omoebe. I don't eat Omisagwe again.

I don't like omi ukpoka

People use owo to eat rice and beans? Na wa... na real wa

1. @lafresh,y did u stop eating groundnut soup?

My hubby and kids so love that soup that it's high in cholesterol so i don't mk it often

2. Omi ukpoka is d truth wen cooked wit lots of pepper!

3. Etsako pearl,u can say that again

4. Victorious Ehis, na fat matter oh.

5. Edo don come wt dia winch.everything na O bcos they can bring gr8 ppl down to nothing.wicked souls.the men sit at home for women to feed dem while de women na free distributors of std and curse.keep ur soup abeg b4 person begin sick for 12 yes with no cure.

18. Nice one. God bless my people.

19. I can see my favourite soups there@blacksoup and OWO soup.😍😍😍😍😍

1. ewo!!! c all of 'em... Benin witches congregating, it is well. Anyway, I hate Benin Oghwo soup(correct spelling, tho pronounced owo), who in their right senses adds fresh tomatoes, pepper and onions to ogwho soup? They just spoilt the soup's reputation for we Deltans.

2. You should ve used your id so we can ve you as our meat inside owo soup during our meeting this nightπŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›

3. Anon, my mama na delta. The 2 soup are different. This benin own is mainly for yam like the type the itsekiri's do too.

4. Kidjo,ur life calls for concern as u get leaner everyday.could it be they are eating u little by little?sorry oh.raise the matter this nyt for meeting sha goodluck

20. All of them soup is yum yum πŸ˜›πŸ˜œπŸ˜πŸ™Œ

21. My late dad thought me how to cook groundnut soup. The pictures of the soup are ok but when they prepare it, you might not really like it shah. #Mythought

22. God bless this poster, may the good lord continue to favour you in everything. I'm cooking omoebe this weekend hopefully I get fresh leaves from Depford market. I believe you are from Esan.

1. Amen ×100.I'm gonna make owo with yam this evening, thank God I still ve some fresh fish.πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

23. That's edo people for you.
    We don't joke with our omoebe.

24. Proudly Esan.

The last time I had that black soup, I was 12. I've never had the others. I should visit the village more.

MISS Jacobs.

25. Omisagwe is a very delicious Etsako soup, our Egusi is also the best in Nigeria.

1. Of a truth....
      Egusi wit loadz of onions?? Baddest!πŸ˜‰

2. Mumu talk. It's best to you not in Nigeria

3. Egusi with loads of onions?yuck!etsaka egusi with loads of onions is not egusi soup abeg but onion soap,capish???

4. You know this? Correct Egusi wey no get mate.

26. These look so good and yummy, my days!!! no lies but eastern soups are lit!! i know edo isn't exactly eastern *side eyes*. gosh i have been craving 'abacha' since the beginning of the year.. damnn!!, do dey still hawk those things in lagos?

27. These look so good and yummy, my days!!! no lies but eastern soups are lit!! i know edo isn't exactly eastern *side eyes*. gosh i have been craving 'abacha' since the beginning of the year.. damnn!!, do dey still hawk those things in lagos?

28. No soup can eva take d plc of my afang soup

29. Chai! Black soup of life! Where can u get black soup in Accra?

1. You can make it yourself dear,very easy.Just get Bitterleaves and other leaves you wanna add.dried pepper,crayfish blend into paste. Parboil your meat,fish,snail or periwinkle.Pour your Bitterleaves paste into a pot and place it on your cooker.allow it to boil for some minutes.then add your parboiled animals(meat, fish, snail)πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…..add salt and seasonings,cook for like 5minutes before you add your red oil,just a lil quantity o.cook for 3minutes. .my sister shout hallelujah because your blacksoup is ready.withdraw from the cooker and settle down with correct eba,semo or pounded yam. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

30. Where can I get black soup in Accra?

31. Queen and boss of principalities of darkness..

U started dis last week and i will make sure i change ur tinkin level

You know wetin dey happen to people wey tink say dem sabi abuse pple, na d tin go soon happen go u.

Omo ale jatijati.. Oniranu

Olobo tankasu

Oloyan malu

Oponu ayirada

Omo pow b can malt

Omo wole iya bu ekun

Next time wen u see pples comment n u dont know wat to type den u ignore

Mc pinky

32. That groundnut soup looks good πŸ˜œπŸ‘Œ

33. My favorite is groundnut soup. I love black soup when I'm taking it like pepper soup and not with swallow.
    Stella be making me want these soup with these pix *licking lips.

34. Wow!!! I just had to come outta my shell for this post... Uniben daysssssss tho! I miss groundnut soup sooooo much,I just couldn't do without it back then in school.oh no! I wish me some groundnut soup and starch.#heavenlycombo

ThatproudEdogirl!

35. Wow this INCOME GURU is really paying!!! I did the 50k package and got 100k back today. Just wow!!!

36. Yummy.... My first time of hearing corn soup,,, I dnt understand dat one oooo.

37. Groundnut soup my favourite so far. I shall try the omi ukpoka one of these days. #proudlyEdo

38. That omisagwe looks good mheen!
    I need to learn some new recipes now.

39. The black soup is not complete without the big wide leaf. I don't know what it's called. But black soup is bae. As an Esan lady, if you can't make black soup, sorry for ya.... i love it especially when egusi is added. Yummy.

Esan way of preparing ogbono is bae. With dried mushrooms and okpan leaves. I wish i can see all these things here....

Esan oye

1. Big wide leaf is "ewiewia" very medicinal

2. Thanks. I've been trying to remember the name...

3. I love ebusira in black soup

4. The wide leaf is ebusira and it is mostly use by esan people, it gives out that unique aroma...... Esan Oye!! Oye!!!!! Esan babes are dam beautiful!!!!

5. No joor, d wide leaf is eburomehen....it's d somewhat peppery leaf that is Usira

40. Stella why now. I dey fast o.

41. The best groundnut soup i tasted was @ auchi,but bini owo soup with plenty smoked fish serve with boiled yam/plantain or eba is everything and more to me biko!

1. Yeah...combination of fresh fish and smoked fish inside owo soup is bae😍😍😍

42. That first soup make sense for eye, Kai I don't know any Edo person oh!

1. Y? U want to go and do "I Waka well"?

2. Chyachebe you mean if an edo person gives you food you will eat? Don't you know that the international headquarters of witchcraft?

3. Edo people are truly horrible.especially esan. God forbid bad thing.

4. Tah!!!!I jump am pass.I no fit chop wetin Edo give me.winches the lot of dem.

43. Replies
    1. I know someone whose groundnut tastes like heaven ☺
      The picture of this black soup is fine compared to the one I see here, I'm not sure I want to even eat it sef.

44. Am from Edo state and my best soup isn't there. Beans soup with scent leave and flush it down with original pounded yam. Una wan try?

1. Nor be only 'flush it down'
      Your belle na soakaway pit?

2. Beans soup......let me guess,u are from akoko Edo,igara,bcx thats their food .
      Personally,i have never eating it tho I am an edolite

3. Edolite, Edomite na una sabi. #next

4. @VictoriousEhisRebranded yes am from Akoko Edo.
      @anon 13:51 u no well.... πŸ˜‚

5. I guess too @VEhis. Them wan use that beans soup kill us for boarding school then for Igarra

45. Omg, I miss black soup and owo, I am so making owo and yam this weekend, my favourite food of all time

46. Omo na to Cook these soups this weekend. Thanks for this Stella.

47. My first visit to Benin was amazing...I attended a traditional marriage and was served with a plate of pounded yam and Black soup with assorted meat..at first i was scared at the sight of it...after seeing those beside me eating the food and the excitement on their faces...oh boy na im i wash hand oooo....The rest na history....I Hail dem Edo people o...

48. Oha soup with egusi akpuru akpu for me ooo

49. wow i love black soup . I cooked it and got stuck to it ..I havent cooked it since I graduated from UNIBEST. Esan people dey try

50. hahahahaha Kidjo oya ooo come and teach me jare

1. How much you go pay or you go let me marry your brotherπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜….

51. Edo wadoooooo..... proudly edo, esan back and forth.....

52. Lol. I will be in Benin from Monday and it will be my first time sha. I want to know what it is over there, so I knw wat n how to arrange n pack my stuff. Any help?

53. Proudly Etsako. Any Etsako woman @ Ogudu Ojota Lagos hala me ohhh

1. Yes o i be Etsakor babe... west to be precise

2. Messi rip in advance.

54. My mum Esan and dad Auchi so enough black soup nd groundnut soup, than esan way of cooking ogbono GOD!!!! Heavenly nd the way Auchi de parpare Egusi kai!!! Proudly Edo!!!! 100%

55. Abeg tell me oh....how do you prepare groundnut soup?

56. Good to know but why is garden egg soup left out?

1. Garden egg is not a soup per say.... it like a sauce for eating yam and potatoes... na omimegi( fresh zobo leaves) i no see for there...that's my dad favourite..