Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Bans Helicopter Shuttling From Kaduna To Abuja

Monday, March 13, 2017

FG Bans Helicopter Shuttling From Kaduna To Abuja

The National Security Adviser, Babagana Munguno, has banned the planned helicopter shuttle service from Kaduna to Abuja by some helicopter companies.

In a memo banning the move, Munguno said, “In view of the closure of the airport, air travelers will be required to travel by road/train to Abuja from Kaduna International Airport. This will undoubtedly cause constraints on the movement of some passengers who will aim to travel using other means, notably the use of commercial ferry helicopters.

“Please be reminded that the airspace over the Federal Capital Territory Abuja is controlled and only security flights or those with the requisite security clearance from the Presidency are granted overhead clearance for obvious security reasons. Consequently, you are to note and ensure that no charter or commercial helicopter ferry flights are allowed to fly within Abuja airspace.”

Punch

30 comments:

1. Where on earth were they landing sef, shebi they have closed the airport. Why are we so stubborn like that?

1. Madam Helicopters can land in any spacious place, irrespective if it airport or not

2. Helis don't need a runway.

3. Arrogant display of ignorance Miss Ess. Wehdone ma

4. Choi anonymous take am easy with ESS na. Na village geh na

5. Choi anonymous take am easy with ESS na. Na village geh na

6. Choi anonymous take am easy with ESS na. Na village geh na

7. Over Sabi's too much Oyibo movies de worry una... Helicopters CANNOT land anywhere, there are certain criteria for a Helipad and not EVERY OPEN FIELD meets those criteria.

1. This naija sef. Why wud dey do that? Some of us can't travel by road mbok!if we can afford it den why not? Shorter n safer!

2. Mumu...Abuja is a restricted airspace for security reasons, can't you read?

3. Ever heard of rhetorical question? Probably not else u wouldn't have displayed your idiocy

3. It is for a good cause. If it actually works that means the rich will also cry.

1. Sadist...is that your utmost need? For the rich to cry? Whoever rejoices over the misery of others shall NEVER know joy and peace!

4. So many policies from the government of Nigeria

1. They should just sit & fold arms so that everyone can do whatever they want, abi?

5. I really hope they will stick to the six weeks cos that KD road is a death trap -from the careless drivers to bad road - and I'm talking from experience. Don't know about now sha.
    Which train are they talking about? Is it the same one that someone came on social media to complain about its over crowdedness. OK nah....
    I wish everyone travelling... safe trip.

1. Take your archaic experience and shove it up your ass! Have you traveled on that road now?

2. Uncle anon and recent experience. That road is still a death trap. From robbers to kidnappers to bad road. Death trap.

6. Hope the roads are safe for driving....
    Kidnappers everywhere on roads.

7. Good, so that it will affect everybody,and the repair will be done asap

8. Helicopter can land in any spacious place,don't need runaway

9. They should provide another free space for them to land safely

10. Sis is going to be so distraught with this news...😢
    Na wa!

11. Buhari is back, say hello to difficult policies that don't favour d citizens. So nobody knew this before Abuja airport was shut down? What happened to increasing the security protocol so that miscreants are detected early, rather than banning people that can afford to escape the long if not dangerous journey by road.
    OK, it wasn't Buhari directly, ehn but na im brother...

12. this is nonsensical breach of our right to freedom of movement. governmet negligence and incompetence brought about this dire situation yet government will not allow people to find ways of ameliorating the hardship it caused. so Buhari is the only human being in this jungle allowed to fly in helicopter while every other person is an animal with no similar rights.

13. APC and their stupid policies, Abuja/kaduna road is a death trap, the Kaduna airport is hell, no ATM, no pos, nothing works at that kindergarten airport, people were kidnapped on that road last week, some idiots are trying too hard to be seeing as working.

14. This is a typical example of how the incompetence of Nigerian authorities and the paranoia/overzealousNess of security forces causes unnecessary hardship. So because you are clueless and woefully unable to control something, you just ban it in a dictorial fashion? Don't helicopter flights operate in Washington DC, London, Moscow etc? Why not allocate flight paths and monitor them? And some people are here defending this lunacy? Some people actually deserve a chaotic government of untold hardship

In other seats of government