Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Geoffrey Onyeama Tells Nigerians To Ignore Dabiri-Erewa’s warning against US travel

Wednesday, March 08, 2017

Geoffrey Onyeama Tells Nigerians To Ignore Dabiri-Erewa’s warning against US travel

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama, has asked Nigerians with valid travel documents and plans to visit the United States to shun the travel warning by one of President Muhammadu Buhari’s aides.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Foreign Affairs and Diaspora, Abike Dabiri-Erewa, had on Monday advised Nigerians with no urgent reason to visit the US to suspend their travel plans pending when there is clarity on Donald Trump’s immigration policy.

However, Onyeama while speaking with journalists in Abuja on Tuesday, urged Nigerians to ignore the travel warning.

He told journalists that the US Ambassador to Nigeria and other top officials had denied reports that Nigerians would be affected by the travel ban.

Punch

18 comments:

1. Stupid woman raising unnecessary panic. We support Donald Trump

1. She's not raising false alarm Hyacinth Idibia was denied entry yesterday on returning from Nigeria,this is someone who leaves in America o

2. Why are ladies on this blog so quick to call people bad names. Anon 7.53 - Didn't you read that Dabiri got several complaints within the past 2 weeks before she came up with that announcement?

I mean sometimes it's so funny how we react to issues here. I love this SDK community but sometimes I don't want to be seen as one of the SDK ladies because of their regressive thinking.
    Gm All

1. And you know the anon is a lady because...?

2. Somebody I know was almost sent back ydy , he was drilled so much.....

3. In other words, he is not telling you that it's a TRAP!!!! If you know , your passport bears Mohammed, Abdul, Getatu, Taofeek, Musa, Idris, Sule! No near US ooooi

4. If you get mind, go find money buy ticket go risk am and come and blog about your experience. Abike doesn't make up stories.
    This minister is just reacting because he didn't do his job. He is the one trying to save his job instead of admitting he has been sleeping when Nigerians have been sharing their experiences for two weeks now.
    Abike is rugged in her approach, this Enugu man siddon for Enugu dey chip bitter leaf soup dey write nonsense!!!!

1. Anon 09:45,you know this about Abike right?.. That woman tackles issues head on. No sleeping on bike jare.

2. Laughing so hard

5. See i so support this minister, Mrs. Abike Erewa is not the minister she does not have the legal right to advice Nigerians on Travel plans if you have any reports on any country report to the minister and dont assume the post of the minister.

6. See i so support this minister, Mrs. Abike Erewa is not the minister she does not have the legal right to advice Nigerians on Travel plans if you have any reports on any country report to the minister and dont assume the post of the minister.

7. I travelled to the US last week,i was barely asked any question and I was allowed in and yes i bare a Muslim name.Let Abike get her facts right and stop scaring people.

8. those who sent in complaints to Hon. Abike dabiri also erred. That isnt the right channel. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs remains the only channel where diplomatic issues be forwarded.

hon. Abike should have forwarded such complaints to the office of the Hon. Minister and wait for the ministry to act on it. There is absolutely no need to induce unnecessary panic.

Diplomatic Channels are strictly diplomatic channels. The US EMBASSY will never to Hon. Abike but only to the ministry of Foreign Affairs

Finally, Hon. Abike is a liaison officer who is suposed to act as intermediary between the Presidency and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. She had better put herself together.