Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Job Losses Extends To Expatriates in Multinationals

Monday, March 20, 2017

Job Losses Extends To Expatriates in Multinationals

The wind of redundancy sweeping across the labour force in the country has affected expatriates employed in multinational companies, investigations have revealed.

It was learnt that most of the affected expats, who were majorly citizens of India, China, the United Kingdom and the United States, were employed in the food and beverage sector as well as the oil and gas sector.

According to sources, while some of the expatriates have been disengaged, others have simply been redeployed to the home countries or other nations where the companies are in operation.

As a cost-cutting measure, many employers have embarked on massive sacking of workers, a move which labour unions have vehemently opposed.

Findings revealed that many employers that could not sack their workers resorted to slashing of salaries and/or allowances.

The drop in oil prices and the country’s output has affected Nigeria, whose revenue generation is 90 per cent dependent on oil, adversely impacting its foreign exchange inflow. The scarcity of forex to import raw materials has caused many manufacturers to record low capacity utilisation and reduce their workforce.

Edited from Punch

20 comments:

1. I just tire for everything for this naijašŸ˜±

Una good morning

2. Hmmm, the expatriates are beginning to feel the heat we Nigerians are facing. May god help. Atleast these companies will look inward.

3. When people says there is a casting down,I will continue to shout there is a lifting up.

1. Choosing not to believe in the devil does not stop him from you

4. Lord have mercy!!! Good morning Stella and my fellow bvs... may we have a good week

5. My hubby was also given a sack letter last Friday morning, this is the worst thing a family should experience,I don't even wish it for my enemy but I have faith that this is just a stepping stone to greater things that God has prepared for my family. God bless Nigeria

1. Stay strong Ijeoma.

Sometimes it's just a necessary step on the ladder for much better things.

2. Stay strong
      Pray too
      Improvise quick
      Don't wait

6. The economy is affecting everybody

7. The amount they pay the expats can be used to pay many indigenes who do the actual work. I feel for the expats sha

8. Eayah Ijeoma. Sorry about that. God will make a way for him. He should just relax and dont stress his mind because something good will come.

Buhari has resumed now? Una vote for change ooo, lets manage it

9. Bad market for some prostitues and runz girls that feed through this expatriates.

10. Sorry Ijeoma,keep being positive, its well.

11. God help us all....Nigeria is becoming something else.

12. That was why my hubby had to relocate.. Nigeria is really though

13. My God bring Nigeria back to how it used to be