Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kogi State First Lady Rashida Bello Empowers Women

Thursday, March 09, 2017

Kogi State First Lady Rashida Bello Empowers Women

Mrs. Rashida Bello has through her pet project Kogi Women and Youth Advancement Foundation (KOWYAF) empowered women in Kogi State....

Twenty women from each of the Twenty-One Local Government Areas, making a total of Four Hundred and Twenty women empowered to start small scale business or boost their existing ones, in commemoration of the International Women Day 2017, which is themed ‘Be Bold For Change’.

International Women Day is a global celebration of past and present accomplishments of women and an opportunity to look ahead to the untapped potentials and opportunities for the future generations of women. The essence of International Women Day is to celebrate and appreciate the achievement of womenSocially, Economically, Politically and culturally.Our society has witnessed the development of women from being reduced to the background of hopelessness, illiteracy, inequality and poverty to producing trail blazers of high class and excellent accomplishments at different levels of human endeavors.

The 21st Century women have become bold and more powerful than ever because the women in every field of endeavor have risen to work shoulder to shoulder with the menfolk, and the women in their various chosen fields are reaching very tall heights every day. Today, it is noteworthy that we have women occupying positions like captains of industries and political leadership positions.

These feats were not achieved cheaply on the platter of gold, they were products ofa sustained struggle by women folk all over the world, An example is Clara Zetkin who in 1908 in the women Leader’s Office of the Social Democratic Party in Germany led women to march in protest, demanding for rights, better pay, and shorter working hours, she suggested the idea of every country celebrating women on a particular day every year to push for their demands.

Women as an important ingredient to development, should be ready to take their place in the society, they are to show sense of belonging and be involved in activities that will bridge the gender inequality between the female and male counterpart.According to the World Economic Forum, gender gap will not close entirely until 2186, which is a long time from now. Reducing the time frame requires very concrete actions like empowering women and girls educationally, economically, and in all other possible ways.Beneficiaries of the empowerment programme of today are urged to make good use of this opportunity as it is done to help reposition them economically.

We must all take definite and remarkable actions towards women empowerment and gender parity. Governments, corporate organizations, NGOs and well-meaning individuals should also fly the banner of gender parity and women empowerment.

16 comments:

1. But is she is first First lady or d second First Lady??

1. First and only recognized by the state, it's citizens and her husband self 😋

2. A good way of empowering women is by ensuring that those who are civil servants get their salaries without any delay. Sadly Governor Yahaya Bello does not believe in this. Salaries have not been paid to Kogi Workers for over 13 months. Madam First Lady this is just a cosmetic move on your part. Tell your husband to pay Kogi workers their salaries and see how women will become 'empowered'. Secondly, I am confused as to who the First Lady of Kogi is. A few days back we saw another lady who claimed to be the First Lady. A man who cannot govern his household properly cannot be expected to govern a state well. Kogi has finally entered 'one chance'.

1. Have you read Governor Yahaya Bello's inaugural speech? When thanking his family. He said and I quote "Hajiya Rashida Bello followed me on this chequered journey with a devotion and sacrifice that is astounding" so the man values this woman let's just accept it. She also occupies the ONLY official office of the first lady of the State.

Stop being bitter, Yahaya Bello inherited thrash and he is working so hard to fix Kogi appreciate his effort and stop bring bitter.

3. Nice one Mrs Rashida

4. Tell your horse band to pay people their wages.

5. Anon 8:02: I agree with the latter part of your comment. There seems to be a conflict as to who the first lady is in Kogi State. Yahaya Bello is not the only Governor in Nigeria that has more than one wife but the fact that he cannot control his home baffles me. El Ruffai has four wives but only one first lady and also most of the northern governors. I have also noticed that Governor Bello does not attend functions with any of the wives, probably, he doesnt want to offend any of them. However,the Kogi first ladies are very beautiful.

6. In this economy fa. The women must have prayed for her well. God bless govs wives trying so hard to better the lives of the people their husbands govern

7. The other lady you saw is Amina oyiza bello,that is his first wife,and she has been into charity stuffs before he became governor,she has a school for children with challenges thats why she is getting recognitions now and she is also from kogi state so her people love her,Rasheda is the second wife and is from edo state and you trust edo not to carry last,my two scent is the kogites prefer thier own as first lady,thats thier own confusion and cup of tea.

1. Are you sure they prefer their own? I live and work at a cement factory in Kogi State. I can say for a fact that Kogites have accepted Rashida. Rashida has her office right opposite the governors office and her Picture is seen all over. She is the only first lady recognized by the state. And I heard rumors of her husband warning the other ladies to stay away

2. I think the other wives are quite stubborn and adamant. Kebbi Nasarawa and Sokoto have the same issue though. However the most enlightened of the wives are the ones in the limelight. Kogi set his foot down too. From pictures from the Buhari wedoing you could see multiple wives from zamfara Jigawa Kebbi sokoto etc but Rashida was the only wife there. Amina and the other lady are trying all they can as Kogi State locals . But YB has chosen make them go rest abeg .

8. Fine woman tell your hubby to pay salaries instead of wearing fine skirt and blouse saying you are empowering women.