Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Approves N1.6bn For Women's Empowerment

Thursday, March 09, 2017

President Buhari Approves N1.6bn For Women's Empowerment

President Muhammadu Buhari has ensured that N1.6 billion was set aside for the National Women’s Empowerment Fund - the Jarin Mata fund.

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo explained yesterday on the occasion of this year's International Women's Day that the fund was to strengthen the economic capacity of Nigerian women.

Osinbajo said the present administration remained committed to protecting all women from all forms of gender-based violence, especially those living "where the security situation is difficult and living conditions are challenging."

The acting president assured that the Federal Government was determined to ensure that Nigerian women live to fulfill their aspirations in a peaceful and prosperous country.

"On International Women’s Day, I would like to, on behalf of the President, government and people of Nigeria, recognise and appreciate the very valuable work done, and role played by women in our country, over the years, since the struggle for independence," he stated.

Osinbajo, who said though Nigeria had made some progress over the years connecting women and girls with opportunities, so much more still had to be done, stressed: "We must strive to use our laws, cultural and religious institutions as well as our resources to empower women, give them opportunity, and protect their rights to a safe, healthy, stable life in our country."

He said the government acknowledged and valued the contributions women were making to national development, affirming that "They do this daily working within and outside the home as well as in public life. Indeed they sometimes are the sole providers for their families."

"This administration also established, as part of its Social Investment Programme, the Government Enterprise and Empowerment Programme (GEEP) which provides interest-free soft loans to artisans and traders. At the moment, 60% of beneficiaries under the GEEP programme are women," he added.

Daily Trust

Attachments area

7 comments:

1. Buhari has approved, abi Buhari had approved? They wan make e be like sey e still dey at the helm of affairs.

2. Am not impressed... Mtchew..

3. Stella, thank you for giving honour to whom its due by using d right pic even though osibande has to politick carefully.
    Please who knows d burial plans for the other guy?

4. Buhari should just excuse himself truly and stay away from governance until when he is fit

5. Abeg make una no vex, when him approve am and how? Na sos wan way him don travel and no fit communicate again abi. OSIBANJO!!! how many times I call u?

Them say d Kpai way wan Kpai bingo picken no dey let am smell s**t. No give dis people reason to remove u from office o. I don talk my own. Abi u think say as Dem never announce say him no fit continue na doctors report Dem dey wait abi? Kwantinue!