Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Reps Say March 30th No Longer Feasible For Budget Passage

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Reps Say March 30th No Longer Feasible For Budget Passage

About 86 out of the 96 standing committees of the House of Representatives have failed to produce any report on the 2017 budget......

The development is an indication of more delays for the N7.29tn budget.

The Committee on Appropriations wrote the House for the second time on Thursday to complain that “over 80 per cent” of the committees had not reported on the budget.

This implies that just about 10 out of the 96 committees had produced their reports after over three weeks of consistently failing to meet the deadline for the submission of the reports.

The committee’s complaint, which was read to members on the floor of the House by the Speaker, Mr. Yakubu Dogara, noted that the House might be forced to pass all executive proposals in the budget in the absence of the committees’ reports.

“Three weeks after the deadline, over 80 per cent of standing committees have yet to submit their reports,” Dogara read from a document submitted to the House by the Chairman, Committee on Appropriations, Mr. Mustapha Dawaki.

As of Friday, investigations showed that the committees were still struggling to reconcile figures after receiving budget details from “a number of MDAs.”

Edited from Punch

10 comments:

1. Nothing is ever feasible in their own lives except for winning their electoral seats.. Nonsense

2. Thats what happens when the larger population of the legislatures are first timers or ammateur secobd timers, legislation gets better with experience, all these useless grass root politicians will keep voting u oyt after first tenure because u have failed to share money for them or your brainless opponent will rig himself in. This change begins from the low class, their mentality of leadership must change, they should be properly guided on the roles of legislatures not just to share money and rice for them. God help us all

3. Na WA ooo,that budget is so important to me ooo.

4. Since there is little room for padding their incentives have been taken away!

5. They are looking for the safest ways to pad and not being caught. Hey thieves here this Nigerians are wiser we will catch you

6. They are looking for the safest ways to pad and not being caught. Hey thieves here this Nigerians are wiser we will catch you