Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate Rejects Magu For The Second Time

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Senate Rejects Magu For The Second Time

Nigeria’s Senate has again rejected the nomination of Ibrahim Magu as Chairman of anti-graft agency, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

Magu was first rejected in December, 2016 when President Muhammadu Buhari forwarded his name for confirmation.

The lawmakers had argued that they could not confirm Magu based on security report available to them by the Department of State Security.

Magu who appeared before the Senators on Wednesday faced a barrage of questions and he looked visibly rattled, with hanging explanations put before him by the lawmakers.

“By popular votes, the nomination of acting of acting chairman of EFCC is hereby rejected,” the Senate said via its official Twitter handle.

Recall that the DSS said Magu failed the integrity test and was not capable of being the chairman of the agency.

The DSS in its allegations levelled against Magu said:

1. In August 2008, following a search at his residence during the tenure of Farida Waziri (AIG rtd), as a Commissioner, some sensitive EFCC documents which were not supposed to be at his disposal were with him.

2. In December 2010, the Police Service Commission found Magu guilty of action prejudicial to State Security, withholding of EFCC files, sabotage, unauthorized removal of EFCC files, and acts unbecoming of a Police officer and awarded him severe reprimand as punishment.

3. Magu is currently occupying a residence rented for N40 million at N20 million per annum. This accommodation was not paid for from the Commission’s finances.

4. Investigations show that Magu regularly embarks on official and private trips through a private carrier, EasyJet, In one of such trips, Magu flew to Maiduguri alongside the Managing Director of a bank, who was being investigated by the Commission over complicity in funds allegedly stolen by the immediate past Minister of Petroleum, Diezani Alison-Madueke.

5. The EFCC boss so far maintained a hog pigs profile life style. This is exemplified by his preference for first class air travel. On June 24, 2016, he flew Emirates Airlines first class to Saudi Arabia to perform the less Hajj at the cost of N2, 990,196.00. This is in spite of Mr. President’s directives to all public servants to fly economic class.

6. According to the report, Magu uses solely his Police cronies to execute operations and cover his tracks.

7. Such Police cronies have acquired a lot of landed property lends credence to the questions about his integrity, the report noted.

During the screening, the DSS report was raised by several senators to include Senator Dino Melaye, as the report questioned his qualification as the Chairman.

Magu, who looked agitated, however failed to satisfactorily vindicate himself of the allegation leveled against him by the DSS, hence his rejection.

From whistlebower

*Hmmmm Reject Magu and weaken the EFCC witch hunt..lol

15 comments:

1. Good for him.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. Senate says to find another replacement. That Magu failed the Integriry test???

3. Hmmm....why? Seems they don't want an honest man

1. There is definitely more to this than meets the eye.

4. I applaud the Senate's action. You can't head a corr organisation like Effc with skeletons in your cupboard or wardrobe.

Btw Stella, rejecting magu does not weaken efcc's neither does it make them less effective. Just like the university where a Chancellor is usually a politically appointed traditional ruler with no experience whatsoever, the vice Chancellor and Deans of different faculties are the core decision makers...

I believe efcc have competent directors. So therefore, magu would not be missed.

1. My dear, u don't know what's going on.

5. Hmmmm,whistleblower I hail thee. Because baba is not fit now that's why they rejected him,they know sooner or later, their individual yansh go open.

6. They just don't Magu to be chairman.PERIOD

7. Magu your matter needs deliverance only you all these rejection smh

8. He should step aside. See his ogologo head

1. Dis love me jeje u get sense at all?u just talk and act like an illiterate! U so daft! Am sure na midnite school u go!abeg be keeping ur cesspit mouth shut cos u write and act like an illiterate! No wonder u work for a pastor!na only pastor u go fit work with! No normal person go work with u!

9. Hmm....
    The Hunter has become the hunted...
    Mr Magu, you'll be fine.

10. Is it by force ni that he should be the chairman of EFCC ni. Can't Buhari find someone else.......In a country of about 180million people, why is it only Magu that can chair EFCC......I tire biko......WTH