Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: SERAP Gves Ministry 7 Days To Recall Sacked Whistle-blower

Monday, March 13, 2017

SERAP Gves Ministry 7 Days To Recall Sacked Whistle-blower

Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project, (SERAP),, has
given a seven-day ultimatum to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Geoffrey Onyeama to unconditionally reinstate a whistle- blower, Ntia Thompson sacked for exposing an alleged $229,000 fraud in the ministry.

Thompson was recently sacked through a post on the Directorate of technical Cooperation in Africa’s notice board.

In an open letter to the minister made available to Vanguard, SERAP, through its Deputy Director, Timothy Adewale, urged the minister to use his position to ensure and facilitate the immediate and unconditional reinstatement of Thompson, or “SERAP will be compelled to pursue appropriate legal action against your ministry to challenge the unfair treatment and victimisation of Mr Thompson.”

The group urged Mr Onyeama to, “act swiftly to comply with the whistle-blowing policy of the federal government and international standards, which guarantee full protection and restitution for any whistle-blower against harassment,
intimidation, victimisation or any form of retaliation.”

*I dont think its a good idea for the whistle blower to return back to the place he blew the whistle on oh...hmmmm

8 comments:

1. I think he should just sue em for the unlawful sack,BT as for going back there to work a capital no

2. He wouldn't dare to go back if recalled

3. I fear oooo.. Make dem no go kill d whistle blower.. His life is more important than the job ooo.. Abeg

Mc pinky

4. The whistle blower should borrow himself sense and leave this country.

5. And they had to mention his name kai,my brother run for your life o

6. Nigeria is a mess!How can Federal government dedicates lines for whistle blowers with out adequate protection for the individuals that will blow the whistles!

7. I agree that it's dangerous to go back there because human's heart are desperately wicked and conspiracy may be huge against him, notwithstanding, it's dubious to have had him sacked, it's his choice to stay or leave.

8. How did they get to know the whistle blower? Are they not supposed to.protect the identity of the person? Going back to work there is not even safe for him.