Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Stephanie Linus’ Extended Hands Foundation Repairs 35 Women With VVF In Kebbi State

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Stephanie Linus’ Extended Hands Foundation Repairs 35 Women With VVF In Kebbi State

The Extended Hands Foundation, a non-governmental organization with sponsorship from NNPC/SNEPCo has completed the successful repair of 35 Vesico Vaginal Fistula (VVF) patients in Kebbi State.

The pool effort took place at the Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development VVF Center in Gesse, Birin-Kebbi and received the co-operation of the Kebbi State Government.

Led by the founder Stephanie Linus, the Extended Hands Foundation team was received by the Governor of the state Dr Abubakar Bagudu and the First Lady Dr Zainab Bagudu. They both paid visits to the women at the VVF Center, showing their support for the cause.

All the repairs have been completed successfully and the women are recovering well.

Stephanie Linus, who spent some time with the women at the VVF Center during the course of the exercise, expressed her appreciation to the sponsors of the pool effort – NNPC/SNEPCo for investing in this cause. She also added that this was the second time the foundation was carrying out such an exercise in Kebbi state.

The team of medical staff was led by Dr Sa’ad Idris, a seasoned VVF Surgeon and former Commissioner for Health in Zamfara State with over 20 years experience in the field. He was assisted by Dr Abubakar Bawa, and other doctors and nurses at the VVF Center.

Against the backdrop of her Child Bride and Fistula advocacy movie, DRY, Stephanie Linus has been taking the message of restoration and hope to real women suffering from VVF. This pool effort goes a long way to show that DRY is more than just a movie, but a tool for touching the lives of women actually living with this condition.

38 comments:

1. Thank you Stephanie. All these their rich hausa women, what have they done to the girls there.

1. God bless him.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. Christians no get sense at all. How many times any muslim-owned organization go south go give Christians aid? She even had to seek for validation by dressing like them! Tufiakwa!

1. Coward. Why did you choose to go anonymous?

2. Anon 10:36 you are so bitter! I pray God supplies your life with abundant honey. These people need help and as a Christian that you claim to be, should know better to love your neighbor as yourself. Thank goodness Stephanie had the good sense to dress like them! Well covered up.... God bless you girl, and I will see you at the top in years to come��. She is going places.....
      I need to voluntarily help out in an NGO, it's a passion I have conceived for so long.....

3. Oh please shut it. What's the prevalence rate of vvf among the Christian states? Or. shouldnt she extend the hands where it is actually needed which is northern states because of early marriage amongst the girls? Why am I even wasting time with you? You're just a dim-wit. And What is wrong with her dressing? Anu mpama

4. That's why we are called Christians "Christ-like". Even Jesus prayed for his prosecutor.
      We are taught to do good to those who prosecute us, that way you will be heaping coal on their head.
      Well done Steph, they are so young @pics 18

5. @ anon it's another way of spreading the gospel. The bible says follow peace with all men. Including muslims.

6. Anon 10:36 u are right. Muslims only help themselves, and why is she covering with a veil? They won't wear her own clothes if they came to the south.

3. Awww God bless this woman.I watched her movie "Dry" last night.

4. May God reward you abundantly for this. There is joy in giving and the Lord that see the heart will reward you deeply. Nature will not forget this.

5. Hmmmmm I wonder what she is looking for

1. Can't someone help others in peace? She's helping women like her and girls who would grow into women, hian!
      You sha just want to comment

6. Well done Stephanie, Dry was actually one of the few Nollywood movies I cried while watching and it was both educative and entertaining at the same time. I'm glad it wasn't just a movie to you though, it's actually a course you're following through. Well done maam

7. God bless her lovely heart..
    Nice one..

8. THIS Vesico Vaginal Fistula (VVF) WILL "NEVER" END. AS THEY R REPAIRING THESE CHILDREN ,OTHERS R BEING FORCED TO MARRY AND FEW MONTHS DOWN D LINE,THEY ALL END UP HERE AND D CHAIN CONTINUES. Y NOT TELL DS HAUSAS TO STOP D BABY MARRIAGE THING AND LETS SEE IF D VVF RATE WONT DROP INSTANTLY. I DNT SERIOUSLY KW WAT SME1 WL ENJOY IN A CHILD'S BODY. IF A MATURED WOMAN CN DIE DURING CHILDBIRTH,OW MCH MORE DS CHILDREN DT THEIR BODIES AREN'T FULLY DEVELOPED?

1. We'll get there, that's what the campaign is all about

2. You made sense but your comment gave me headache

3. God bless you

4. Rhetorical question my dear!! They should stop this early marriage thing, it's disgusting

5. @Anon 11:19, I reason with you. To solve a problem, it has to be uprooted from the soil and not cut from the branches. I just pity the little girls who have no say in this. Imagine being traded off to a man who is like their fathers age mate or even older and having to endure sexual maturity at an early age.

Truly to eradicate VVF, marrying little girls should be stopped if not, this exercise carried out will be futile as it is a vicious cycle that will continue.

God bless Stephanie for at least trying.

9. THIS Vesico Vaginal Fistula (VVF) WILL "NEVER" END. AS THEY R REPAIRING THESE CHILDREN ,OTHERS R BEING FORCED TO MARRY AND FEW MONTHS DOWN D LINE,THEY ALL END UP HERE AND D CHAIN CONTINUES. Y NOT TELL DS HAUSAS TO STOP D BABY MARRIAGE THING AND LETS SEE IF D VVF RATE WONT DROP INSTANTLY. I DNT SERIOUSLY KW WAT SME1 WL ENJOY IN A CHILD'S BODY. IF A MATURED WOMAN CN DIE DURING CHILDBIRTH,OW MCH MORE DS CHILDREN DT THEIR BODIES AREN'T FULLY DEVELOPED?

10. God bless your sweet heart stephnie.

11. Good on you, Stephanie. Next time, do check what you are wearing closely when meeting with authoritative figure. You have a beautiful dress, but it shows Kamasutra's position. More grease to your elbow.

12. I see you going places Steph..... You is one smart woman who knows the drill πŸ‘ŒπŸ½ Use your name to impact the world around you, not post silly pictures on social media for followers to cheer on.

13. GOD bless you Stephanie

14. God bless you Stephanie. I served in Kebbi and I can say that state has the highest amount of women with VVF. That clinic in Gesse is almost not functioning. Maybe they will sit up now. God bless

15. Thanks Stephanie , God bless you richly

16. God bless you, Stephanie! Keep soaring...

17. I love her very much

18. This is a very good initiative but why not tackle the root cause of the problem which is child marriages. That is the only way that VVF can be curbed.

Why did she have to dress like a muslim woman? Somehow that didn't go down very well with me. You don't see muslim women doing this so why are some Christians so eager to join them?