Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG May Wind Up Arik Over Losses

Thursday, April 13, 2017

FG May Wind Up Arik Over Losses

The Federal Government has promised to take a major decision on Arik Airlines, according to the spokesman for the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON), Jude Nwauzor. Nwauzor made the disclosure in an interactive session with the media.

“Arik was in a precarious situation largely attributable to its heavy financial debt burden, bad corporate governance, erratic operational challenges and other issues, that required immediate intervention in order to guarantee the continued survival of the Airline.”, he said.

Penultimate week, the House of Representatives had advised the Federal Government to liquidate the airline, saying that the carrier was no longer viable and a drain on the economy.

Although, AMCON did not disclose what government wanted to do with the airline, there are indications that government might wind up the carrier because it is becoming expensive to run the airline after the firm said it had injected N1.5billion into the airline since February when AMCON took over the company.

Edited from New Telegraph

9 comments:

1. BASES ON LOGISTICS13 April 2017 at 07:24

We sure need a national carrier.The 2016 budget allocation has been expended, part of it should be used in relaunching it as a national carrier. Direct and affordable flights to the US and UK will do a lot for revenue generation. It must not be oil money alone

1. Good riddance to bad rubbish. This airline is a national disgrace to the country based on what I witnessed about their operations outside the country

2. Good riddance to bad rubbish. This airline is a national disgrace to the country based on what I witnessed about their operations outside the country

2. The Arik workers are not helping the situation. Corruption is in their blood.

3. No due diligence before it was bought? SMH for this country and the culture of waste.

4. The staff helped mess up the airline too. It's not just the owner. Most of them are thieves. They will hoard seats, sell at different rates and even end up not using up those seats meanwhile they have collected money. Aero staff then, you will see a contract staff living large. See them doing enough deals at the airport. Make I just keep quiet.

5. They should wind them up please. The way they embarrass the country and delay passengers is pathetic.....

6. So this useless Arik won't pay me bck my money God will punish all of u demons