Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lai Mohammed Thanks Whistleblowers And Says Looters Bury Stolen Funds In Forests And Burial Grounds

Monday, April 17, 2017

Lai Mohammed Thanks Whistleblowers And Says Looters Bury Stolen Funds In Forests And Burial Grounds

The Federal Government says its anti corruption agencies have been inundated with information of how looters have resorted to burying stolen funds in their backyards, deep forests and burial grounds.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, who disclosed this in a statement issued on Sunday in Lagos, said the whistle blower policy is working and has led to the recovery of more looted funds in many currencies.

Mohammed assured in a statement signed by his Special Adviser, Mr Segun Adeyemi, that all the recovered looted funds were safe and government will give full account to Nigerians.
The minister thanked Nigerians for their enthusiasm and commitment in helping the government to tackle corruption through disclosure of useful leads to appropriate government agencies.

“Since we launched the whistle blower policy, we have received immeasurable support from Nigerians.

“Yes, there is monetary reward for any information that leads to recovery of looted funds, but from what we have seen, most of the Nigerians who have come forward with useful leads were driven by patriotism rather than reward.

”Nigerians, fired by a fervid resolve to help banish corruption from their country, have daily inundated the offices of the appropriate government agencies with valuable information.
“We have been told how looters have resorted to burying stolen funds in their backyards, in deep forests and even in burial grounds.

”Thanks to whistle-blowers, it is now clear that a rapacious few have pillaged the nation’s wealth through a vicious orgy of corrupt practices,” he said.
The minister, however, noted that more funds were in the possession of looters than were available to government at all levels to meets its obligations including paying workers’ salaries and providing social amenities.

He stressed that the government will not abandon the policy for whatever reason, but will continue to rejig it and make it more effective as a tool for fighting corruption.

The minister assured that as soon as the necessary reconciliation process and the litigation in some of the cases were concluded, government would give full account of the recovered looted funds to Nigerians

Mohammed re-assured Nigerians who have useful information on looted funds that the government will protect their identities and give them their stipulated reward.

Vanguard

11 comments:

1. Lady T/ am worth more than a thousand dollars17 April 2017 at 10:21

How does he know people bury money in forest and burial ground? Or is he part of those doing it?

2. Whistle blowing sure die to make am big lol, but what is making him feel it's patriotism and not reward that is making people blow whistle anyhow like referee. 😂😂😂😂
    Iffa hear

On krakstv I saw a meme about how the popular FLORIDA whistle song... The can I blow ur whistle baby,whistle baby,let me know should be the new naija anthem

Na the nollywood movie of whistle blowing I dey wait for that na if he never come out already oooo

3. Stella looters bury stolen funds in empty plots of land in Abuja. You go see plot of land yet no house but plenty security. At night you see convoy coming to 'inspect' the land. Uncompleted buildings nau? Na money full there. Thats why you see many buildings looking desolate in abuja.

4. Lie lie. Lailai. Lai Lai. Lye lye.

5. ......were driven by patriotism instead of reward.#ifihear!

6. Ask Bala Mohammed were he buried monies meant for FCT mdgs and AEPB, na dem start to bury money when Buhari regime just start. Ask him if it's ghosts that live in that his estate opposite kubwa. Evil and heartless men.

7. Uncle Lai. Minister of lies, list of the federal republic of Naija.

8. #Stop telling God how big your problems are and start telling your problems how big your God is*

9. So to be rich in Nigeria is now a crime. Buhari Republic.........am done